reviews for: listing #65268 - Luray, Virginia House rental

Sunridge Retreat: 2 bunkrooms, gameroom, hot tub, views!
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  25
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $275 - $1,000 /nt
    $1,675 - $7,000 /wk
    $5,000 - $10,000 /mth

sort by:

Perfect for our Fall Youth Retreat!

Review submitted: November 21, 2013   Date of arrival: November 15, 2013

This place was absolutely perfect for the youth retreat we had there. The house was nice and clean. The bunk rooms allowed us to have a good number of kids without having to rent a huge expensive house. The game room gave the kids plenty to do during free time. The fire pit was good for camp fire and smores. The view was great and the proximity to Shenandoah National park allowed us to go for a quick hike. The owner was nice and helpful as well. Like I said, it was perfect for our retreat. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sunridge Retreat

Review submitted: March 27, 2013   Date of arrival: March 22, 2013

Four adults and 8 children stayed at Sunridge Retreat for 3 nights in mid March.
The house is large and extremely accommodating for a family gathering of 3 generations. It is clean, well stocked with linens and kitchen gear, warm and fun. The mountain and valley views are exceptional, the hiking trails well maintained, the fire pit of good size with surround seating. The hot tub was clean and the children enjoyed it immensely. The game room was a bonus attraction as well as the sunroom with gaming table ( great for large card games ). There are toys even for infants. The owner is readily available for service and had the roads cleared of 6" of snow before our checkout time arrived. The activities on the property were so plentiful that none of us had any desire to leave until we had to. The house is easy to find ( if you follow the directions ) and the road up the mountain well maintained

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Sunridge Retreat

Review submitted: November 18, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

The place was great! It sleeps about 28, but we only had 3 couple. Plenty of space to do most anything. Very quiet, spectacular views. Would stay again if we go back to Luray

The drive up to the house is interesting. Gravel driveway with some steep sections. Fine in good weather. Not sure what it would be like in snow or heavy rain with out 4wd

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Great place to stay!!

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: June 10, 2011

We had a guy's weekend (11 of us) away from the wife and kids :-) and had a great time! Home was exactly what was expected! Very spacious and the views were unbelievable! Spent a lot of time in the game room and loved the "sun room" with the poker table. This place is great for all ages. Owner was very responsive throughout reservation process. I would highly recommend this place. Plenty of sleeping room with the bunk rooms. We plan on going back one day with the wife and kids this time! :) Highly recommend this place to anyone for a weekend or longer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

SO MUCH FUN!!!

Review submitted: November 16, 2010   Date of arrival: November 5, 2010

Sunridge Retreat is SO MUCH FUN!!!! The views are stunning!!! The home has just the right ammenities and a cozy feel. The game room is GREAT!!! We were able to spend time together, yet spread out when you wanted some privacy. This was my second stay, and I plan to visit again before next summer!!!! The friends I brought were so impressed they talked planning their OWN trip!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Deanna, you folks are welcome anytime!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: April 20, 2010   Date of arrival: April 20, 2010

We've just completed our fourth stay at Shenandoah Woods. We LOVE this property! This was our first time at Sunridge Retreat however, and it exceeded our expectations! Our mouths dropped when we opened the door! The house is incredibly spacious, the amenities are top-notch and the view is SPECTACULAR. The view brings a sense of calm and relaxation to the entire house. We thought we had a favorite house on the property...now that house has competition!!! Sunridge Retreat provided everything we were looking for in a weekend getaway and more! We even joked that we weren't leaving! :-)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

I LOVE Sunridge Retreat!!!

Review submitted: April 20, 2010   Date of arrival: April 16, 2010

We've just completed our fourth stay at Shenandoah Woods. We LOVE this property! This was our first time at Sunridge Retreat however, and it exceeded our expectations! Our mouths dropped when we opened the door! The house is incredibly spacious, the amenities are top-notch and the view is SPECTACULAR. The view brings a sense of calm and relaxation to the entire house. We thought we had a favorite house on the property...now that house has competition!!! Sunridge Retreat provided everything we were looking for in a weekend getaway and more! We even joked that we weren't leaving! :-)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We now have 2 large properties. It's good to know Sunridge Retreat is a hit with our repeat guests!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: March 1, 2010

Our weekend was amazing! And, Jason, who booked it, was so hospitable. The house was beautiful and the towels and sheets were a huge hit!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 17, 2010   Date of arrival: February 17, 2010

This place was PERFECT! I took a group of middle
school boys (19 including leaders) and we had
plenty of room - which is saying a lot because
although small in stature, these boys really fill up a
space. Jason was great to work with, the yards and
woods immediately adjacent to the house were
absolutely perfect for us, and other than it was a
little daunting to get up there (that was the
weather's fault more than the house), we had zero
complaints.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice house in the mountains

Review submitted: January 5, 2010   Date of arrival: December 30, 2009

Overall, this house was very good. We had a group of 12 adults over New Year’s for 4 nights. The owners were still fixing up the place so there were still some things that needed work (dumpster in the backyard, exposed wire in living room, missing faceplates for light switch). However, we were given a discount on the rental to account for this. Note that if you have more than 2 couples staying here, the other double beds in the bunkrooms are bunk beds. This was slightly awkward for adults. However the beds themselves were comfy. The in-room sinks in the bunkrooms were also handy to cut down on the bathroom back up. Plenty of blankets, linens, towels, and dinnerware. We especially liked the hot tub and game room with arcade, pool table, and air hockey. The house was in a great location – secluded on a mountain (definitely recommend 4WD during the winter), but still close to Luray for sightseeing (Luray Caverns, Shenandoah National Park) and grabbing food at the grocery store. Would definitely recommend this place and would consider staying again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: These were our first 'guinea pig' guests. All the issues they described have been fixed.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review