reviews for: listing #65428 - Lake Placid, New York House rental

5 Bedrooms in the Center of the Village
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Village of Lake Placid
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $250 - $500 /nt

sort by:

GREAT house for the rental price...

Review submitted: September 24, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

A couple of years back we rented a home on the outskirts of Hyannis, MA and realized that having to drive to the town and/or beach was nothing that we would ever want to do again. It's all about location for us. This home is the perfect location, being right off the "good" end of Main Street...you can't find anything comparable for the price.

The thing I noticed most, and appreciated about the house, was its cleaniness. Everything was spotless...nothing was skeevy. The other greatest attribute was that it TRULY was turn-key. They had all of the linens, towels, pillows (with tons of extras), washing machine with detergent, toilet paper, paper towels, etc. They really made it easy to travel with children.

The layout of the house was perfect for our situation (my husband and I stayed in the 1 large room with master bath). The room was huge!...and we could have even fit the pack and play in the bathroom if we wanted because that was huge too. My 80 year old parents used the queen bed on the first floor (so they didn't have to do the stairs) alongside a bathroom. My niece (2 years old) was separated from my daughter (2+ years old) and my sister was in the room between them. Again, perfect layout for us...we all had our own rooms and everybody was comfortable and happy. Great for families with children.

The kitchen was nice and large, although we did not spend a ton of time at the house. Still, it was great for breakfast, and keeping cold cuts, etc readily available.

We plan on making Lake Placid a new annual family trip and will certainly return to this home. The owner of the house was helpful and friendly (we had to call a couple of times). Definitely recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect House

Review submitted: September 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

THANKS a ton! We had a GREAT time...the house was PERFECT for our families. My 80 year old parents didn't have to do the stairs AND had a bathroom right next door. The kids rooms were great. Glad it had a large kitchen. We definitely noticed and appreciated the cleanliness of the house. Also, loved that it was turnkey (we didn't even have to pack sheets/towels). We are planning on making it an annual tradition and will definitely use your house again (you made packing much easier). Again, much appreciated...
The only side note (which you would have no way of knowing) is that the interior of the tea pot is rusty and needs to be replaced (we just boiled water in a pot...you had a fully stacked kitchen for us otherwise).
Again, couldn't be happier.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great place

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: March 24, 2011

very nice place would recomed it to all my friends neven is a really great guy

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

great house and owner

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: March 24, 2011

very nice house

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Extremely Comfortable

Review submitted: February 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 12, 2011

The house was extremely comfortable and met all our needs. I hope we left only an acceptable level of mess, because we will most probably want to return. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Loved our stay, thanks!

Review submitted: August 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 26, 2010

We just wanted to thank you for our recent vacation stay in Lake Placid. This house exactly represents itself in the description – it was everything we were expecting and more. The town is beautiful and we will definitely consider this rental again if we find ourselves in LP in the future.
• Very well equipped – had all the conveniences of home – NEVER ran out of hot water for showers
• Lots of parking
• Great wrap around deck with BBQ for hanging out on with ample seating
• Excellent location to town
• Very clean and well maintained
• Most importantly, easy transaction, owner was a breeze to deal with promptly answering all enquiries and providing suggestions for area activities

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Location

Review submitted: June 11, 2010   Date of arrival: June 4, 2010

The house was wonderful, and we had a great time. I will certainly try to stay each time I visit Lake Placid. It’s a wonderful location and everything was very clean and thoughtfully kept.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Canadian March Break

Review submitted: March 19, 2010   Date of arrival: March 13, 2010

We decided to spend the Canadian March Break in Lake Placid, and booked this rental place at the last minute. We were extremely happy with the accommodation. The house is very clean, cozy and spacious, with lots of character. It seems that the place was just recently renovated, as most of the ground floor and bathrooms upstairs were brand new. But, the best of all was - the location!!
Except for our daily drives to the Whiteface Mountain slopes, we never used our car in the village. Olympic center, with skating rinks and the museum are about 500 meters away, and not even 5 minutes of easy walk away are the village restaurants, coffee shops, the movie theater and the beautiful stroll along the lake.
As per dining out, Jimmy's 21 is a great Italian restaurant close by, the same as the Starbucks and few other small coffee shops. We had probably the best pizza ever at the Ere's pizzeria, next to the lake.
Shopping was surprisingly affordable with plenty of bargains around – the best deals were at the Van Heusen and the IZOD shops just down the hill from the rental house.
We fell in love with the Lake Placid village, and would definitely come again and stay at the same place.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 7 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Place worked great!

Review submitted: March 19, 2010   Date of arrival: March 5, 2010

"Place worked great ! I would not hesitate to rent it again in the future. "

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hopefully again next year

Review submitted: March 19, 2010   Date of arrival: February 12, 2010

"we’ll keep you in mind for our future travels to Lake Placid…hopefully again next year!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Feel right at home

Review submitted: March 19, 2010   Date of arrival: February 26, 2010

The house was great -- thanks so much. Loved the heated floors in the bathrooms and wish we discovered those right away! Lots of space, and the odd kind of character that you feel right at home in. It's a great spot and we would like to come back again!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Time

Review submitted: March 19, 2010   Date of arrival: February 5, 2010

Please rest assured that my friends and I had a great time in Lake Placid. We are an easy group to please and the house worked out for exactly what we needed it for!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Recommend to our friends and family

Review submitted: March 19, 2010   Date of arrival: January 22, 2010

My family and I greatly enjoyed our stay in Lake Placid.We were really pleased with the house. Maybe add a toaster and wine glasses for the kitchen. I would also just clean up the backyard in order to make it more esthetically pleasing to the eye. Honestly, it was very nice and neat. It is definitely a place we would recommend to our friends and family.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review