reviews for: listing #65454 - Jaco, Costa Rica House rental

*** Rated #1 in Lonely Planet - Sonidos Del Mar
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  South Jaco`
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $225 - $325 /nt
    $1,575 - $2,275 /wk
    $4,000 - $6,000 /mth

sort by:

Spring Break

Review submitted: March 26, 2014   Date of arrival: March 18, 2014

This property was exactly as described and the owner Antonio was very nice and very easy to rent from.We didn't have any problems or questions during our stay.The grounds are well maintained and access to the beach is right next door.We would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise at the beach

Review submitted: November 15, 2013   Date of arrival: September 28, 2013

What a great place to stay in Dorado. Everything was as advertised. We felt very safe inside the gated community but also the privacy desired. A short walk from the beach which was perfect for swimming. Antonio was a phone call away and was very helpful. We would definitely stay again. Perfect retreat for any family style very clean house.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise on the beach.

Review submitted: July 3, 2013   Date of arrival: June 13, 2013

This house is a piece of paradise on the beach. I can not say enough good things about this property. The location is excellent, 3 minutes walk to the beach, 5 minutes from Jaco. I would recommend this property to any one that is thinking about vacationing in Jaco. The swimming pool was nice to relax in after a hard day on the beach. Thanks to Lauri for having such a nice piece of property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spacious Vacation Rental, Especially Great for Families with Kids

Review submitted: April 12, 2013   Date of arrival: March 25, 2013

We had a wonderful family vacation, thanks to the comfort and convenience of Villas de Playa. The owner, Antonio, is very professional and gave us an orientation at the vacation house, despite a late evening arrival. We have two young children who were delighted to find a playground just steps away from the house. We also enjoyed the pool and beach, both within short walking distance.

The vacation house is spacious, clean, and well-stocked with basic applicances and utensils for home-cooked meals and entertainment. There is air-conditioning in each of the rooms, which made the evenings comfortable. The ample supply of bath and beach towels, as well as the laundry room, came in very handy after afternoons at the pool and beach.

It is located in a quiet and friendly community of homeowners and renters. We stayed during Easter weekend and expected it to get very noisy, but neighbors were very respectful in the evenings.

Overall, I highly recommend this vacation rental. You will not be disappointed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fun at the Beach

Review submitted: March 20, 2013   Date of arrival: March 12, 2013

Very comfortable, clean, and private. Would stay there again without hesitation. Very nice for families with children because of playground, pool, and grass to play in when not on the beach. Nice to have full and complete kitchen and two bathrooms. Beds were comfortable and bedrooms had own air-conditioning.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for choosing our beach-villa for your vacation. It was my pleasure to have you and hope you come back again in the near future. See you next time! -Antonio

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beats a hotel any day!

Review submitted: March 17, 2013   Date of arrival: March 5, 2013

I was very satisfied with my stay at this property. It had everything that I needed (and more) at half the price of the hotel next door. The owner was very helpful and concerned with any needs that I had. The villa is very nice, comfortable, roomy (two-story), and fully stocked with everyday items. The location is fantastic (beautiful beachfront), in a gated community, and close to shopping and activities. What more can you ask for? I will definitely stay again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for choosing our home for your vacation. It was our pleasure to have you and hope you come back again in the near future. See you next time!, Antonio and Marilu

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Stay in Dorado

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 27, 2012

My wife and three kids had a fabulous time here - they spent 5 1/2 weeks while the kids went to camp. The location was great, working with Antonio was very straightforward and the place was clean and well-appointed. We plan to stay again during our next visit to PR.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Retired

Review submitted: April 5, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

Just as the photos show, this unit was in mint and excellent condition and value. We enjoyed the fact that we were close to many restaurants and the Embassy Suite Hotel which by the way has a great Japanese restaurant with excellent sushi. A great place to relax. The owner provided all necessary information about the area and was very responsive when I called with questions. The only point I found cumbersome was need to have a key or a clicker to exit the facility, especially on my last day.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Dorado beach front condo

Review submitted: March 31, 2012   Date of arrival: March 3, 2012

We stayed at this property March 2012. The set-up was clean,spacious, comfortable, and reasonably priced. We really enjoyed nearby public beach and golf course for walking and enjoying the views. Antonio was extremely helpful, honest, and accessible to answer any questions. The people of PR were courteous and there is too much to do on the island. Do NOT miss the chance to dine at Metropole early in your stay- for PR and Cuban cuisine. We ate there our last day and regret not being able to go again during our visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

beach villa

Review submitted: March 14, 2012   Date of arrival: February 23, 2012

every thing we needed for a great stay was provided clean and comfortable great pool close to beach and hotel pools and casino enjoyed the stay antonio was very helpful would recomend this unit

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for choosing our villa for your vacation. It was my pleasure to have you and hope you come back again next year. Hasta pronto, Antonio

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

At home away from home!

Review submitted: March 10, 2012   Date of arrival: December 20, 2011

This place is the perfect spot for an extended vacation. It is clean and quiet, close to groceries, beaches, restaurants and pharmacies. The condo has all the amenities you need to feel at home. Antonio was always responsive and attentive to our requests. I definitely recommend this place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thanks for choosing our villla for your vacation. Hope to have you again in the near future. Gracias, Antonio

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Totally Destressed

Review submitted: March 10, 2012   Date of arrival: January 17, 2012

My wife and I, my kids,grandkids and other family members who visited us were impressed by the condominium and its immediate and close by surroundings. It's a great choice if you want the beach, a pool and all the amenities of home. By car, you're half an hour from San Juan and all that it offers. We stayed locally a good deal of the time and had no problem when it came to grocery shopping, eating out or enjoying the local movie sixplex. Our host, Antonio is very amicable and always a phone call away. I think the best recommendation is that my wife and I are going to return in May.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you Michael. It is always a pleasure to have you and your family stay at our home. See you on May. Hasta pronto, Antonio

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

a home away from home

Review submitted: March 4, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2012

We stayed at Sonidos del Mar for 11 days so got pretty familiar with the house and the area. We loved the house - it's beautful, comfortable and spacious. The grounds are gorgeous and the house itself is clean, well-equiped (except could use a few good kitchen knives), very well maintained, and only half a block from a beautiful beach. We could hear the surf from the house. Jaco town is a bit touristy but there is a lot to see and do within an short drive. Really enjoyed our stay - we were very sorry to leave. This was our first trip to Costa Rica - it is very beautiful part of the world. Look forward to returning.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We hated to leave as this place is perfection!

Review submitted: February 7, 2012   Date of arrival: January 22, 2012

We came to Sonidos expecting a nice place but we were so very pleasantly suprised to find perfection. The pictures of the house don't do it justice. It is very comfortable, clean, & you have a feeling of complete tranquillity & relaxation. The pool is fantastic. The location is wonderful.....just steps from the beach & very close to restaurants & shopping. Our favorite restaurants were Lemon Zest & Rancho Manuel & our favorite attractions were Pura Vida Gardens & just hanging out at the house. The only thing we didn't like was having to leave!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing villa in great location

Review submitted: January 8, 2012   Date of arrival: December 28, 2011

We had a great experience renting this villa, and would definitely rent from Antonio again. The place was clean, comfortable and about one minute from a great beach. I'd highly recommend renting this villa if you'd like to get out of San Juan and be near a beach in PR!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm happy you had a wonderful time spent at our villa. I am looking forward to have you again in the near future. It was my pleasure to meet you. Best regards, Antonio

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

amazing stay in Jaco

Review submitted: December 23, 2011   Date of arrival: December 15, 2011

Sonidos Del Mar is a wonderful place while staying in Jaco. My husband and I stayed here for nine days and fell in love with the place. My parents came down for three days and stayed at the guest house, Sonidos Del Rio, and were very sad to leave it. Jan, the manager, is such a doll. Was very helpful. When my husband and I arrived there was some unlikely rain for this season but did not ruin the time spent here. There wasn't a washer and dryed availble on site. Yet there is a laundy service that picks up and delivers for a resonable price. We say iguanas, lizards and tucans on the property. I couldn't asked for anymore while staying here. Definitly made the right choice with renting the house here Jaco.

Thanks for a wonderful stay!!!!

Rob and Kathleen

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This place has it all!

Review submitted: October 23, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

The Condo was a great place to stay for our short vacation. Very comfortable and everything was in good working order. The place has everything you can think of and is very clean. The pool and access to the beaches are just a short walk from the condo and we enjoyed both . We were able to get a WiFi connection when seated on the patio. Antonio was a great host and provided us with helpful information about the island via web links and literature he has at the condo. We are looking foward to next year's P.R. vacation. This is where we'll be staying.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We are glad you had a good time and enjoyed the villa. It is a hidden paradise! Happy Holidays!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My 2nd Home in Puerto Rico

Review submitted: August 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 13, 2011

We stay for a 2nd time at this villa because we love it since the first time. We love everything about it and we were very please with all the amenities and the courtesy of the owner. The kids had a great vacation and we enjoyed every day. We are already planning for next year. Thank you so much Antonio for a great service!!! We hope to see you next summer again!.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: June 29, 2011

We recently stayed for almost two weeks at this villa in Dorado. The location is perfect for the beaches and travel around the island. It was very clean and had everything we needed. We have previously stayed in other villas in this complex and this one is hands down our favorite! We will certainly stay here on our next time in PR.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for visiting Puerto Rico and choosing our beach villa for your stay. We are glad you enjoyed it. It was our pleasure to have you and hope you come back again in the near future. Our best regards. Antonio & Maria

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful, private & unique

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

The pictures, although BEAUTIFUL, don't quite do this house justice. It is absolutely BEAUTIFUL; clean, spacious, unique artwork, lots of light, awesome pool area with comfy chairs and futon... also spacious kitchen. Had a BBQ to use and washer and dryer which original posting didn't note.
The owner, Lauri, was SO HELPFUL leading up to our trip; she provided directions, things to do, places to eat and answered all my emails very quickly. It was a huge relief, it being my first trip to Costa Rica. Also, they had two locals there to setup tours and help out with anything around the house, which was also great.
Location was nice, not being right smack in Jaco (house is in South end of beach), but definitely recommend renting a car. House is about 2 houses from the beach, a very short walk. There are a few companies offering surfing lessons right there.
Bring a laptop as house has internet and this was super helpful to look up things to do and maps. Lastly, bring an alarm clock! Highly recommend this house! And it's for sale so take advantage while you can :)

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our expectations were totally fulfilled....for four weeks

Review submitted: March 9, 2011   Date of arrival: January 18, 2011

My wife and I felt totally at home as soon as we emptied our suitcases. Our accommodations were immaculate and it came with all the basic necessities (towels, linens,personal hygiene products etc.). A much better choice than a hotel, because we had a kitchen, two bathrooms with showers, covered patio and porch, washer and dryer and besides A/C every room has a ceiling fan. The grounds, including the pool, area are well maintained on a daily basis. The property is adjacent to the Embassy Suites and as an option you can use both their pool and beach area.
We found Dorado to be a well kept welcoming community with grocery stores, 24 hour CVS and Walgreens and many restaurant choices and a six plex cinema. We enjoyed eating at Morenas and Sweet Anns Panaderia, however, there are many more choices including the fast food chains.
We were also in close proximity to San Juan, which is only a half hour drive and offers a diversity of shopping, restaurant and entertainment choices. I almost forgot to mention the beach and ocean views, but they are spectacular.
Antonio, the property owner, was helpful and accommodating both when we arrive and departed. I was given a complete tour of his condo and assured that he was only a phone call away. I spoke to Antonio before leaving and assured him that we would be back next year.
Thank you for sharing your home. See you in January 2012.

M and H from New Jersey

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for choosing our beach villa for your vacation. It was our pleasure to have you. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Dorado. We look forward to see you back this January. Our best regards. Antonio & Maria

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our expectations were totally fulfilled....for four weeks

Review submitted: March 9, 2011   Date of arrival: January 17, 2011

My wife and I felt totally at home as soon as we emptied our suitcases. Our accommodations were immaculate and it came with all the basic necessities (towels, linens,personal hygiene products etc.). A much better choice than a hotel, because we had a kitchen, two bathrooms with showers, covered patio and porch, washer and dryer and besides A/C every room has a ceiling fan. The grounds, including the pool, area are well maintained on a daily basis. The property is adjacent to the Embassy Suites and as an option you can use both their pool and beach area.
We found Dorado to be a well kept welcoming community with grocery stores, 24 hour CVS and Walgreens and many restaurant choices and a six plex cinema. We enjoyed eating at Morenas and Sweet Anns Panaderia, however, there are many more choices including the fast food chains.
We were also in close proximity to San Juan, which is only a half hour drive and offers a diversity of shopping, restaurant and entertainment choices. I almost forgot to mention the beach and ocean views, but they are spectacular.
Antonio, the property owner, was helpful and accommodating both when we arrive and departed. I was given a complete tour of his condo and assured that he was only a phone call away. I spoke to Antonio before leaving and assured him that we would be back next year.
Thank you for sharing your home. See you in January 2012.

M and H from New Jersey

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

STAY HERE

Review submitted: December 21, 2010   Date of arrival: October 11, 2010

I had an extended stay in Puerto Rico and it was a delight to come home to this condo everyday. This home had it all. Everything you could think of and then some. Even had snorkling equipment ready to use. Stepping out the front door to see a reef, and breaking waves every morning was a great way to begin. . Beach access within steps and local supermarkets within a minutes drive. I would definetly stay here again and plan to on my next trip to Puerto Rico. Do yourself a favor and stay here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sonidos del Mar House

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: August 6, 2010

The Sonidos del Mar house was one of the best experiences my husband and I had. Not only the house itself is wonderful, tastefully decorated, completely private and ideal for a romantic or family get away; it also has a perfect location where you can either go to the main Jaco strip and find amazing restaurants and shops or go 150 feet and have a nice walk at the beach.
You can hear the ocean all day long and enjoy the beautiful pool while waiting for a nice BBQ on the outdoor grill. We definitely recommend this house as a relaxing and enjoyable experience!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect getaway!

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

We loved this home! I don't have enough good things to say about it.......great location, walking distance to beach, pool, playground just outside front door, friendly neighbors, short drive to stores and restuarants. Villa was perfect for our family. Clean, comfortable, cool A/C, hot water, washer/dryer, fully equiped kitchen, covered patios. We arrived later than we had planned and Antonio was kind enough to wait for us. I definitely recommend this property! Thanks for making our first trip to PR an enjoyable one Antonio!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place in Dorado, Puerto Rico!

Review submitted: July 30, 2010   Date of arrival: July 14, 2010

I have to say that I got everything I wished for!!. I love everything about the Villa it is an amazing place to stay with the family. My kids had an awesome time they love the playground, and the beach. My husband's only complaint was that there was no internet. One recommendation: It will be nice to have blinds or curtains on the first level glass door. Overall we liked it so much that we are thinking about staying again during our next trip, hopefully soon!

Thank you so much Mr. Russe for everything!! I will definitely recommend your Villa.

De verdada que el lugar es excelente, cuando visiten la Villa del Senor Antonio no se van a arrepentir!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place for the family!!!!

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: June 17, 2010

Great location, great home & great island = GREAT VACATION!!!!! This place had all the requirements for my family and I to enjoy ourselves. the kitchen was small but perfect, the 2 patios were awesome! and the fact that the A/C's worked....dream come true! hahaha
We were so several feet to the ocean, pool and playground!
If it were not that I now live in Puerto Rico, I would rent the place again!
I do however have an area I was a bit disappointed in....no internet! It could have been helpful to have but nonetheless...the place still ROCKS!!!! Thanks Antonio!!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review