reviews for: listing #65467 - Treasure Island, Florida Condo rental

Sunset Chateau on Treasure Island and Directly on the Beach!
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Sunset Chateau
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $800 - $900 /wk
    $2,400 - $2,500 /mth

sort by:

Great Vacation Spot

Review submitted: June 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 10, 2013

The condo was great, it was very clean, had everything we needed, and the view was beautiful. I would definitely recommend this condo to a someone looking for a quiet, and relaxing getaway. There are lots of things to do within a walking distance and a bunch of really good restaurants. The beach is just steps from the condo and it was not crowded at all. The view of the sunset every evening is breathtaking. The owner was very nice and did everything she could to make us feel at home. My husband and I had a wonderful vacation.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Fair

Review submitted: July 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 16, 2013

Although all printed advertising was accurate, there were issues.
I have allergies to environmental influences.
Upon arrival all appeared great! After first night I woke up not able to breath. The bed is soooo old, I can only assume it was full of dust mites beyond what is normal! The A/C filter was packed with dust.
I purchased new A/C filter and installed only to find it just as dirty only 3 or 4 days later. I paid apx $100 for a zippered mattress encasement for dust mites, and installed. Also went home (more than an hour drive) and returned with my personal bed pillows and an air purifier. I ran the purifier and it also was caked with dust within a couple of days. I was so sick for the entire stay that I went home early from my month's prepaid rental.
Although it was a great location "on the beach", the A/C unit needs to be cleaned professionally and a new bed is necessary.
If these things were done, I may consider another stay. If not, I would not risk my health, as there are so many other units available for rent.

Owners response: Thank you Margaret for your review. If I had known about your allergies to environmental influences I would have put in a hypo-allergenic filter for you. The AC unit is absolutely brand new and the filters are changed every month. I have not had any other complaints about the bed but I will look in to it. I know that being on the beach there can be additional allergens coming in from the Gulf of Mexico, this I suspect may be the reason for sensitivity to environmental influenes. Also, you cut your monthly vacation short by 2 days and I would be pleased to offer you another opportunity to return and enjoy the beach. I will contact you shortly.

Sincerely,

Denise

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Nice relaxing vacation in Treasure Island

Review submitted: August 10, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

We had a really nice time on our vacation. The condo was in great condition upon our arrival with the exception of the dishwasher and we had trouble accessing the Wi-Fi. We called the owner and she was great to get back to us immediately to help with these problems. The condo is updated and in a great location right on the beach so that was nice to look out on each day. I do wish there was a private balcony but this was a minor issue because we could still look at the beach each day anytime we wanted to. There were lots of things to do pretty close to the condo. We really enjoyed visiting John's Pass, a great boardwalk and fishing excursion area...lots to do and see there! Treasure Island is a great little beach town! I would recommend this condo for sure...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

location, location, location

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

Our first time in Treasure Island, and we were not disappointed! Denise was great to work with in our last-minute vacation plans. The beach was steps from the condo and in a quiet residential neighborhood that afforded us an uncrowded beach within just a few blocks from many restaurant and shopping options. The condo was clean, updated and had all the amenities we needed! The only negative was that laundry was not in the unit and was quite pricey for a family with 2 small children.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Vacation in Treasure Island

Review submitted: May 27, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

The condo located directly on Sunset Beach, Treasure Island was clean, well kept and well stocked. You awaken to a beautiful view of the beach and the Gulf of Mexico watching the dolphins playing and the fascinating birds flying about. There is a sand bar before the buoys that our teenage boys snorkled around discovering many unique shells. We saw manatees one day.
There are bbq's available at the condo. You can purchase charcoal and firestarter at the Publix. The Publix ready to eat Fried Chicken from the deli was also good for something quick.

Caddy's on the Beach is within walking distance for great food, drinks, live entertainment and amazing sunsets, and the Ka'Tiki Bar across the road, no food but drinks and the live entertainment were great.

Other restaurants you can drive to are Ricky T's for all you can eat Crab nights, Dockside Dave's for their signature Grouper Sandwich, Gayle's for breakfast, and Sculleys in John's Pass had an awesome Panko Chicken Sandwich and also offers a fantastic view while you eat.

To note:
you can still drink alcohol on Sunset Beach in front of the condo,
bring lots of quarters for laundry, $3 a load.
There is a bus that goes all the way to Clearwater with multiple stops along the way that you can ride for $4.50 for the day.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great vacation

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 4, 2012

The Sunset Chateau is very nice. The condo we rented was clean,well equipped,wonderful views and close to everything we needed, just bring your toothbrush. We were close to lots of shopping (Ross, TJ,s Bealls,Malls)and love the flea market on the weekends. Restaraunts to suit any taste. What we really liked a lot was the lack of traffic so we took lots of walks and the boardwalk and beach were our favorites. All in all we had a wonderful time and look forward to staying there again. P.S. Don't forget to go to the Don for icecream.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 4, 2012

Sunset Chateau is a great spot! The condo was great, nicely decorated,clean,well equipped, nice beach and views. I would recommend this property to those that want to be at a not too crowded beach, close to great food, shopping and local attractions. Don't forget to visit the Don for icecream! All in all I would definately stay there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great place!

Review submitted: September 28, 2011   Date of arrival: September 19, 2011

What a great time we had. The condo was wonderful and had everything we needed. The view from the balcony couldn't be better. We will be staying here again on our next trip to the area!! No regrets... other than having to leave.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Pleasantly Surprised

Review submitted: June 23, 2011   Date of arrival: June 8, 2011

We recently rented this condo for 10 days and loved it! We were pleasantly surprised when we walked in and saw how gorgeous it was. The wated is only about 10 steps about. The condo is completely stocked with anything and everything you could think of! The owners were very accomodiating and called periodically to make sure our stay was going well. There are many restaurants, shops, grocery stores, gas stations etc. nearby. We would have rated our stay 5 stars, however, some things seemed not thouroughly cleaned to us, such as countertops & pillows/pillowcases. Other than that we were thrilled and would absolutely recommed staying here!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the comments and I appreciate all feedback. With regards to the pillow cases I know what you mean. The sheets are not a wrinkle free set and they may appear to be not thoroughly cleaned. I intend to get new wrinkle free sheets so the misunderstanding does not happen again.

Again, thank you for the feedback.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review