reviews for: listing #65518 - Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina House rental

Great location in Island Park! Lots of extras!
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Island Park
  • sleeps  11
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $75 - $350 /nt
    $500 - $1,850 /wk
    $1,200 - $5,000 /mth

sort by:

You'll be happy, happy, happy

Review submitted: September 7, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

When I rented this home, I was looking for something I could rent for a partial week that could accommodate a family of 7-one with special needs. The owner was very flexible and straight forward. And this home was perfect; it was more than I asked for and was also very affordable.

Its location to the beach was perfect: you can hear the ocean from the deck, it takes all of 2 minutes to walk to the beach, and the home is nestled inside a gated community with very little traffic. Someone with autism or a sensory disorder can be comfortable here; the decor is beautifully understated and cozy. I would not recommend this home for someone with physical disabilities or joint problems as there are many stairs.

As picture perfect this home was, there were a few minor things that could put a hiccup into someone's plans. If you are planning on spending a day in bed watching TV, avoid the room with the bunk beds. The TV turns on for 10 seconds before turning off. If you are planning on working on your laptop or tablet, the Wi-Fi can be troublesome. IF you can connect, it will only work for around 15 minutes before you have to reconnect. But who plans on staying inside when you can relax on the beach, right?

If you plan on eating al fresco; use the bar height table and chairs. All other outside table and chairs were broken, at the time of our visit. The bench swing and rocking chairs are usable, but are also broken. Despite pest control, you must expect to see critters along the coast in a warm and humid climate. We saw VERY few pests, but a couple of roaches were found. However, it was nothing to worry about; they weren't crawling on everything and died in the home due to the pest control the owner uses.

Despite any negative things I may have said above, this home is worth every penny you will spend. Get outside, enjoy the beach and the lovely town. Plenty of shopping, homemade ice cream and restaurants nearby.

My family and I plan on returning to this home as often as we can. If you rent here, please take care of it! The memories you will take home are priceless.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0


AWESOME- Location,clean,amenities

Review submitted: April 23, 2013   Date of arrival: April 13, 2013

Great vacation... perfect house and location for my family. Maybe 100 yards from ocean. House has everything and all the extras... bikes, basketball goal, beach wagon and other stuff, digital cable, etc. Close to sound and community docks are perfect for launching kayaks, fishing, crabbing,etc. My wife said this was the cleanest vacation house she had ever stayed in and loved the kitchen. Cannot wait to come back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0


Buyer Beware

Review submitted: April 2, 2013   Date of arrival: March 8, 2013

What a disappointment this house turned out to be.

In my original inquiry I stated I was looking for a 3-4 bedroom house for 6 adults and 1 child for the week-end of March 8-10. I explained that we would be flying in from out of state. The owner replied to my inquiry, and we agreed on a price. Because we were flying, the price was to include cleaning, linens and towels. All are listed on my contract.

The directions were good, but we arrived to find a door off on the hall closet, the handle off a toilet (making it inoperable and it was the only bathroom on the main floor), dirt so thick we could write our names on the glass top nightstands, some unknown brown stain splashed above the microwave, and a dead roach in the middle of the living room. The unit was not clean!

All of the sheets were randomly stuffed in a closet with no labeling as to which size/bed they belonged to. The towels we paid for consisted of 3 bath towels, 2 hand towels and 2 washcloths (for 7 people!)

I immediately contacted the owner and conveyed my disappointment. He said his wife had visited earlier in the day, and found the house clean (no mention was made of the broken toilet, door, or layer of grit. When I asked about towels, his response was that I should go buy some and he would reimburse me (why should I have believed him?).

Previously, we have rented through a realty. I had hoped that by renting from an owner directly, things would be in better condition. Never again!

Owners response: This review is not at all representative of the feedback we can get from any guests and why we have so many return visitors. But, it is consistent with her prior communication and demands. First, we provided sheets and towels completely free as a courtesy, and there was a whole basket of brand new sheets and towels purchased for them and placed in the owners closet for them, as I directed.... very nice. Second, the house had not yet received its spring cleaning or carpet, which it gets every April. They arrived at the house early .... our handyman was scheduled to fix the broken toilet handle that aftenoon and before our Cleaning crew could do a general clean. They arrived early because they felt entitled but did not tell me. Thus, we could not address the toilet handle and general clean. However, the house was very clean except for some dusting. There was dead "roach" because we pay for the highest level of of pest control and these water begs do not live in our house like they do many beach houses. Anytime, someone needs something at our house (waffle maker, blender, iron... basically anything that is broken or needed by special request) we reimburse the guest 100% immediately. I also offered to completely refund this lady all of her money, but they preferred to stay and just complain. Not surprised she would write a complaint based on all of her previous conversations.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1


Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: September 15, 2011   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

This was a fantastic rental and we had a great time. Four adults and a toddler fit with room to spare and all the kid-gear was available to make life easier. We have rented elsewhere on the southern NC coast and found both the house and the location to be at the top of our experiences. Can't beat the proximity to the beach, easy walk even for an older generation. Owners were great to work with and we really appreciated their local suggestions as this was our first time to OIB. Only downside was the grill is not in the greatest (usable) condition. Otherwise, everything was wonderful and we hope to return next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4


Ocean Isle vacation

Review submitted: June 24, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

My family (husband, daughter, 2 grandkids) enjoyed the stay. The layout was very good and it was great to have both bedrooms upstairs with private baths. The kitchen was big enough to accomadate several "cooks" in the kitchen at one time. The turtles were a pleasant surprise and we feed them constantly.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2


Fantastic Week! Family Friendly! Great for Kids!

Review submitted: June 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

Our family vacationed for the first time at Ocean Isle. A return to the beach will be a definite and we plan on renting the same house again. The house was very roomy, clean, had plenty of cookware, and lots of extras to make our vacation perfect.

While the house exceeded our expectations, our favorite thing was the location and the kid friendly neighborhood. The beach house was very close walk to the pool and the ocean. The neighborhood was very family friendly with several families having children. Our kids were never bored and enjoyed riding bikes, walks, feeding the turtles, and socializing with other families. We felt that the price was extremely reasonable and we'll definitely be returning!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4


Prime family rental

Review submitted: June 18, 2011   Date of arrival: May 8, 2011

Ideal vacation spot for families with young children. Proximity to the beach and neighborhood pool was key to keeping our3 and 4 year old entertained. We forgot all of our beach toys, but this was no problem as the house was stocked for any recreation we could have needed (bikes, bocce, shovels/buckets, etc.). Additionally, we did not have to bring bulky items like a pack-n-play or high chairs as these were all provided. We have rented on the West end of Ocean Isle for years now, and we found this property to be better maintained and more updated than any other house where we have stayed for the last seven years. We have already booked for 2012.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0


Great Location, But House Needs Some TLC

Review submitted: June 12, 2011   Date of arrival: May 14, 2011

Based on the information provided through regarding this property, my husband & I chose Carter's Crib at Ocean Isle Beach, NC as the place to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. The owner was very easy to work with and made sure we had ample information about the area before our arrival. The cost for the total week of R&R was very reasonable as well. It was very quiet & we enjoyed the swing, hammock & grill. We did find, however, that there were several items missing that were indicated to be available on the property information page. There were supposed to be beach chairs and bikes (because of this, we did not bring our own)...but we could not locate them. Also, we realized that the pipe to the outside shower was busted when we attempted to use it on the first day, so this feature of the property did us no good. The deadbolt to the front door was broken (wouldn't lock) and the frontmost bedroom had a ripped window screen. Although it was very convenient to have a washer & dryer at the house, the dryer was very noisy (squeaky) and must have been on too hot of a setting because it actually left burn stains on several clothing items of mine & my husbands. We didn't use it again after that for fear of it being a fire hazzard. We also found that the filter for the air conditioning system was extremely dirty & definitely needed to be changed. Overall, the house is very spacious, well stocked w/furniture & kitchen supplies & in a superb location (within easy walking distance of the ocean), but needs a bit of maintenance & upkeep. We would recommend the house to families with children (the turtles & birds on the sound were so fun to feed in the morning!), but not for a formal gathering like a wedding, etc. We would consider returning to this house in the future only after speaking with the owner before our next stay to ensure that the basic maintenance issues had been taken care of.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: This family was our first guest of the spring and we had not been to the house since Thanksgiving. All all of these items have been addressed. Shower had a busted pipe and was fixed within 1 hour from when I learned of it. The deadbolts rusted and were also fixed. The bikes, baby strollers, beach chairs were in the owners closet and available for their use. We usually leave them out during the spring and summer months. It is disappointing that that this guest did not mention these issues, because all of these items would have been available to them. We have a great handyman and all these items would have been fixed within a couple hours of their arrival. We provide guests all of our contact information and ask to let us know if they need anything. We have even made kayaks, skim boards, rafts, baby items, and even golf clubs available.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4


great vacation rental

Review submitted: June 10, 2011   Date of arrival: May 30, 2011

this was a great place to stay on vacation ,we enjoyed it very much we had 9 adults ,a 2yr old and 4month old there was plenty of room and it was nice when taking children along not to have to drag everything with you almost everything you would need was there down even to toys the house was clean and well taken care of .The only thing we found not to be exactly perfect from the description I thought we would have access to the sound which we didn't or we did not find it and the beach seemed to be further a way you had to cross 2 roads to get to it so we had to load up in the car when ever we wanted to go to the beach ,The pool access was great never found it crowded going up and down the step was not so great but we would gladly stay again and plan on making a yearly trip the owner was easy to work with and friendly

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1


Love this every time!

Review submitted: November 3, 2010   Date of arrival: June 7, 2010

Always our choice when visiting Ocean Isle Beach. Very spacious vacation home great for a large family or when going with friends. Love being so close to the beach, and this beach is clean and quieter than most. Pond is fun for the kids to feed the turtles while mom and dad relax on the swing. Island has great pier, miniature golf, museum, video game room, to name a few activities available. I would highly recommend this property to anyone who is looking for a great vacation at the beach.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2


We really loved it!

Review submitted: October 10, 2010   Date of arrival: August 26, 2010

My son, 9 years old, my husband and elderly mom stayed at Carter's Crib. We really liked it. The house is nicer than the pictures portray. My son so loved the pond in the back. It is a great house and the owners are very nice to work with. Overall, we loved it and want to come back. Great community too! We do recommend renting a golf cart, we did and had lots of fun driving it to the pools and beach.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2


Wonderful Vacation Rental

Review submitted: August 26, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

Four Adults and 6 children had a really fabulous week. Comfortable beds, lovely fridge, dishwasher and huge washer and dryer made this a very easy week. Beach is a short walk, local pools are lovely and feeding the turtles and seagulls was great daily entertainment. Myrtle Beach attractions an easy drive away. Lowes Food store was a pleasant suprise. Spacious nicely furnished well stocked house.
We will definitely return.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3


Carter's Crib

Review submitted: June 28, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

Nice place to stay. Very convenient to beach. Enjoyed having tv's in every room. My grandchildren enjoyed the pond; my grandson caught a bass and several bream. Would stay here again.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 4 / 4


Reviews are the subjective opinions of travelers and not of, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review