reviews for: listing #65525 - Puerto Rico, Caribbean Condo rental

Elegant Spacious Beachfront Condo, San Juan
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Condado Beach
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $400 /nt

sort by:

Great Place for Family Vacation

Review submitted: October 28, 2013   Date of arrival: October 23, 2013

My family of 7 used this spacious condo for our weekend in Puerto Rico. The place completely met our various needs. We were right on the beach, and close to Old San Juan.

The close by grocery store is a major bonus, and nearly everything we needed was within walking distance....including many fabulous restaurants.

There really isn't much better than to wake up and see the Great Atlantic Ocean from your windows.

I would recommend this rental for large groups.

The owner is attentive and helpful!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Condo Stay

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: July 15, 2010

I had a fantastic time in Puerto Rico..... The Apartment was amazingly spacious clean and well maintained and very comfortable it fealt like home... the Market was walking distance a bank right across the steet .... we took a 75 cent bus ride in to Old San Juan and the bus stop was right in front of the house there is a frieght elevator in the back which made unloading our luggage very easy.... and the Beach is just right there open the back gate and there you are on the BEACH .....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Spacious / Great Location / Many Amenities

Review submitted: August 6, 2010   Date of arrival: June 29, 2010

After searching through many vacation rental properties in the Condado area, the pictures and location of this condo really stood out. It was very spacious with 4 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms for our two families of 8 people. It is in a great location. A 24hr grocery store only a few blocks away with resturants, fast food, and cyber cafes just minutes walk from the condo. Easy drive to Old San Juan or to the rain forest. Bus stops and cabs just outside your door. This is a very safe and secure property; gated entrance, sercurity guard, and locked door that leads directly to the beach. The beach is great for tanning and has a few palm trees for shade. Having dishes, dishwasher, and washer/dryer in the condo is awesome for any travler who wants to save some money by cooking or not having to pack extra clothes. We felt like "home" in the tropics. We had plenty of communication with the owner making sure our stay was perfect. We will definitely stay here again with our family or with other couples who enjoy the warmth of Puerto Rico.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

A slice of heaven

Review submitted: August 6, 2010   Date of arrival: July 15, 2010

Dear Condo Owner,
We cannot thank you enough for our wonderful vacation! Your condo provided us with all the amenities of a 5-star hotel: privacy, security, beauty, luxury, breathtaking ocean views, stretches of magnificent beaches, entertainment and excitement provided by the kayakers and the sky divers, local talent that made our evenings enchanting, local dishes that delighted our palates and, not to overlook the diversity and graciousness of the people we met on the beach: everything combined made our vacation a real haven and heaven of rest, spiritual restoration, peace, serenity, tranquility and relaxation. As we love to cook, we mostly appreciated the kitchen which was stocked with the latest in comfort for haute cuisine and the convenience of the washer and dryer made it so simple to return from the beach and get the towels easily laundered and ready for the next day while enjoying the luxury of the dining room.
The short cab ride from the airport was most pleasant as mostly everyone on the island speaks English; the drivers were most helpful in pointing out several spots which we found entertaining and fun filled. The cabarets and the multitude of restaurants filled many of our evenings as we mingled with the island people and had a great time! We are looking forward to spending another week there in 2011 and become more familiar with the island, its enchanting forest and its many historical sites. We particularly appreciated the beauty and the architecture of old San Juan Cathedral and the charm of the old Santanco restaurant which brought back many sweet memories of the Flying Nun doing her acrobatic stunts. Summer of 2011 will not come soon enough to bring us back to your spacious and luxurious condo and all the pleasures it offers.
Thank you from the bottom of our hearts,
Agnese and Gianni Castello

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Comfortable / Accomodating / Spacious / Location!

Review submitted: July 10, 2010   Date of arrival: June 23, 2010

This property served our family very well. It is very spacious in both size of rooms and quantity of rooms. It's accommodating with a fully equipped kitchen, dining room table that seats 8 (can fit 10), and a washer and dryer for laundry. It is clean and and comfortable. While the building and property can reveal its age in some places (the only reason my rating is not a 5), it is still well kept. We understand the maintenance challenges when competing with the salt air and the climate conditions because of our many stays over the years in Puerto Rico to visit family. The property is in the high-end Condado section and is an excellent location. The beach is immediately out the back door of the property. A 24 hour grocery store is within two blocks. Numerous restaurants, cafes, bakeries, shops and additional beaches are within walking distance or a very short drive. Historic Old San Juan is only a short drive, cab ride, or bus rider away. We were very pleased with our stay at this property and highly recommend it for anyone looking for an alternative to hotels; i.e spacious and convenient "home away from home" options such as the convenience of eating and snacking "in" when you want, laundry facilities, and multiple bedrooms and bathrooms. That convenience also comes with a ocean view, beach, and easy access to all that San Juan has to offer. We would definitely stay at this property again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Spacious and Gracious

Review submitted: June 25, 2010   Date of arrival: October 13, 2009

I have stayed at this property 3x and have thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The location is unbeatable - whether you rent a car and enjoy off-street parking, or use public transportation(trolley or bus.)It is SPACIOUS! The best view is from the master bdr which faces an unobstructed view of the ocean. The building sits sideways therefore most windows do not offer full ocean views. This did not interfere with our enjoyment. The building is mostly owner occupied and among the priciest real estate on the Island. What keeps this elite property affordable is lack of pool - which was definitely not a problem for us. Also, bring your own internet (I have a Blackberry) although there are various nearby places )think Subway) with free wi-fi. Elevator was fine and security guard always present. You need a code to get into electric gate if driving. Otherwise a key is used when walking. Nearby excellent restaurants, clubs, even grocery store.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Spacious and Gracious

Review submitted: June 25, 2010   Date of arrival: October 13, 2009

I have stayed at this property 3x and have thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The location is unbeatable - whether you rent a car and enjoy off-street parking, or use public transportation(trolley or bus.)It is SPACIOUS! The best view is from the master bdr which faces an unobstructed view of the ocean. The building sits sideways therefore most windows do not offer full ocean views. This did not interfere with our enjoyment. The building is mostly owner occupied and among the priciest real estate on the Island. What keeps this elite property affordable is lack of pool - which was definitely not a problem for us. Also, bring your own internet (I have a Blackberry) although there are various nearby places )think Subway) with free wi-fi. Elevator was fine and security guard always present. You need a code to get into electric gate if driving. Otherwise a key is used when walking. Nearby excellent restaurants, clubs, even grocery store.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Horrible Experience

Review submitted: June 10, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

This place is awful. The plumbing is broken. The shower poles fall down. The windows are filthy, broken and locked so do not expect to see outside or breath any fresh air. There are major troubles with the lighting. The curtains are broken, filthy and falling down. The place is more like a prison than an apartment. There is 1 tiny little television in one of the bedrooms. Cell phone service is sporadic. The beach shower does not work so you will be using a garden hose to clean up after yourself. You will be given one set of keys which are needed to exit or enter both the apartment and the beach, making everyone have to enter and leave at the same time. The intercom is disconnected so you cannot let people in or out without a key. The elevators do not work properly. There is no common area in the building or on the beach. You will not feel safe in this environment. Please do not rent this place. This property is not fit for rental.

Owners response: This is known as one of Puerto Rico’s elite properties. Our product is known for its quality, and our main concern is to make it an unforgettable stay for our guests.
There is nothing wrong with the plumbing.
Check out inspection revealed that the new shower pole may have been
vandalized.
This is not a beach cabana with open, swinging windows. It is a private
home not a hotel; for security, cleanliness, and maintaining the air
conditioning from escaping the building, it requires windows to be not
broken, and maintained shut. Only occasionally camay they be opened.
There is no trouble with the lighting. It is up to code. Any burned out
lightbulbs can be replaced from the storage closet.

The curtains are all new and designed for beach-side buildings.
We have 3 of the latest model TVs with cable-service.
We are not responsible for the quality of cell phone reception from your
own cell phone service.
The beach shower is kept in operable condition; the hose next to it is for
the janitor's use.
We do not issue keys to adolescents or children for obvious reasons. More
keys are available upon request.
The intercom is only available to residents, guest use their cellphones.
Lobby and beach elevators are routinely inspected.
The beautiful beach that faces the Caribbean Ocean is the common area.
This is an enclosed property with security from evening ‘til morning, and a
building caretaker on duty during the day.

This is the only negative guest remark. Other guests have provided, or
expressed willingness to provide very favorable remarks, and many have
reserved for next year. Unfortunately this is the only guest, who after
enjoying the accommodations for the entire stay, wanted a 100% refund.
What some people will do for a FREE vacation!

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review