reviews for: listing #6558 - Ocean City, New Jersey House rental

NO Storm Damage 847 5th St Townhome Ocean Views - Clean
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $162 - $425 /nt
    $1,200 - $3,350 /wk
    $1,295 - $12,000 /mth

sort by:

Excellent first experience in OC,NJ!!

Review submitted: June 3, 2013   Date of arrival: May 31, 2013

This place is exactly as the owners say it is: clean, well kept, so close to the beach and the boardwalk, everything in the house works- we didn't want to leave!! It was a pleasure to meet Karen and we can't wait to come back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Rental

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

Excellent rental property. Very clean. Everything worked. Multiple skylights ensured that spaces were very bright. Good communications with the rental owners. Two sets of keys provided. Parking for 4 vehicles; under house parking tight for large SUVs.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Time!

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

I am not usually a review writer, but after seeing what another tenant wrote on here, I felt compelled to write one myself. When we arrived on July 14th, Karen and Jim were both there to greet us and give us all of the information we needed to enjoy our week. The house was immaculate and everything we needed was there. I did not have to contact either one of them at any time with any type of problem or concern. We had a blast and made memories that will last a lifetime. Thank you both so much for opening your home to us. If we decide that OC will be our vacation destination again next year, we will definitely be staying here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Good Times

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

When we saw the house at 847th 5th street, it was like a breath of fresh air. Half a block from boardwalk, spacious rooms, views off the balconies were gorgeous. Karen and Jim were there to meet us and very friendly, they made us feel at home instantly. The house was very cozy, very clean. We enjoyed our stay very much and hope to come back next year.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Superb vacation property!

Review submitted: June 29, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

My family of 7 adults (grown children plus grandparents) spent a really terrific two weeks in this property. Landlords Karen and Jim met us on arrival, and the house and everything in it was immaculate and ready for us. Everything worked perfectly during our stay - - all appliances, A/C, ceiling fans, etc. The home is bright and colorfully cheerful, and it has plenty of space so we had lots of room to spread out. Multiple balconies, several TVs - - it was really nice, so family "togetherness" stayed fun and enjoyable. It is only 1.5 blocks from the beach, an easy flip-flop walk, and the high school track across the street provided a convenient work out alternative to running on the board walk. Easy parking under the house also added to the convenience. I strongly recommend this property. Great house, location, and landlords. We'll definitely be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fiasco

Review submitted: June 19, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

From the moment we checked in to the moment we left...FIASCO! We arrived to NO A/C, owners in the unit waiting for us, sweaty from cleaning the unit. Still washing linens. They said 2 techs had come out to the house that am but they think they were pulling their leg saying it was the a/c motor. So they were waiting for there personal friend to come service the a/c. AT 7PM! So they hung around, asking ?s and washing linens. A/c didnt work that night, neither did TVs or ceiling fans. Obvious electrical issues with this house. Owners blamed it on previous tenants running a/c with windows open. Next day, another tech came out to say it was infact the motor...we are sweaty the whole time. Here come the owners and tech at 9am...stayed til noon. We stayed in too. didnt feel comfortable leaving our things with a random tech. Again that night, tvs off and ceiling fans wouldnt work either. I called owner back, she sent a tech over again!! More time we stayed in. She says" you know we have gone above and beyond to make your family comfortable, life isnt fair" Wow! All I did was state that we were disheartened with all this madness and our children were too! Carpets were so filthy, if you walked barefoot, your feet looked black as if you were outside on the blacktop. The mattress in master smelled like mildew. We found socks and boxers in drawers. Tvs arent flatscreens. No tv in one of the kids rooms. I had to ask for beachtags THREE times...she kept ignoring it. She then says "I purchased more tiks for the boardwalk because i feel horrible" uh the date on the back of the tiks said 2001(purschased that year. Id prefer functioning a/c and tvs then tickets for the boardwalk. We wanted what we paid for!!! The owners of this house obviously dont take pride in being owners and stated a couple times that they are thinking of selling this house because it has become a "pain" to them. Dont stay here! Spend your hard earned cash at another property, more updated and better owners. If I had to say one positive thing about this home, nice location. Thats it. Rent at your own risk. The homes right next door are much more modern and much more beautiful. RENT THEM instead. This home may look ok in the pictures, but who knows if a/c will work, tvs...oh I almost forgot, the refrigerator is old, and NEVER got cool enough the whole week. I was scared to mention it to owners because "life isnt fair"... We are not first time renters in OC. WE WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN!

Owners response: Very disheartened by this review. Yes, the 5 year old a/c was down when the guests arrived. A holiday weekend, we made numerous calls until we found, and paid extra for holiday Sunday service. The a/c was up and running 21 hours after check-in. We, the owners did not hang around. One piece of linen was taken out and returned that evening, freshly laundered. We were phoned @ 11:00 pm with a complaint from these guests, yes the tv and fan went out due to a loose connection in 1 receptacle, had the electrician out immediately to repair. This guest never had to ask 3 times about beach tags, they are kept in a basket and shown to them upon check-in. We take pride in our home, it is definitely clean, and we have repeat guests year after year. Yes they are correct, we did give the guest $40 in amusement tickets for having no air the first night when the temperature was 56 degrees and the guest was wearing a long sleeve sweat suit when we were called to the house @ 11:00 pm because "she was so uncomfortable. How sad a guest must exaggerate to this extent. We had the a/c problem and 5 minute outlet repair resolved within the first 24 hours, not an easy feat on a Sunday, Memorial Day weekend. This guest will certainly be put on the landlord do not rent to list.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

A return to OC!

Review submitted: January 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

We had an incredible time in OC and stayed in the perfect home. Karen and James were there to greet us when we arrived and went out of their way to make us feel welcome and at home. In fact, after we returned from our vacation, I told Karen we would definately be back to "our" OC home again. The house is immaculate. Everything was exceptionally clean and neat. We had private parking with a drive (did not have to fight for a spot on the street), two patios with furniture and lovely furnishings with plenty of room. We were more comfortable than any hotel we have stayed at, and I would guess this home was much cleaner than most hotel rooms! We have already booked our stay for 2011.

My husband's family vacationed in OC every year when he was a child. It was so nice to take our children and re-live the same experiences on the boardwalk! There will definately be another generation of OC memories for our family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 25 / 26

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review