reviews for: listing #65737 - San Diego, California House rental

Gorgeous Luxury Pool Home
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Point Loma
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $500 - $700 /nt
    $3,500 - $4,500 /wk

sort by:

Rain or Shine - This house is FINE!

Review submitted: March 5, 2014   Date of arrival: February 27, 2014

We happened to stay at this property during one of the worst storms in San Diego history, but that did not prevent us from having the most wonderful time in this home. There was plenty of space for our group of 7 adults. The pool and hot tub are fabulous, even in the pouring rain! The city views from the upstairs balcony is truly exceptional.
Best of all, Bruce and Susan are wonderful Property Managers. We had a small issue with the cable (user error!) and Bruce was right there to fix the problem.
This property is so wonderfully comfortable, we didn't want to leave the house at all to sightsee.

A stay in this house really is Point Loma Paradise.


We can't wait to come back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind words. We were very pleased to host such a lovely group.
And we look forward to hositng you or your friends again.

Remember, we offer discounts for repeat travelers!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

An Amazing Vacation Getaway!

Review submitted: February 2, 2014   Date of arrival: January 20, 2014

Words are inadequate to describe this amazing property and vacation home. It is spacious, luxurious--simply put, top of the line! The pool is better than one could imagine and worth the small extra cost for heating. The listing does not do justice to this remarkable home away from home. The property was clean. Susan and Bruce went beyond the call of duty. Bruce was at the home the evening we arrived (after 8 pm) to "show us around." His only concern was that we relax and when he said he would be available "24/7" for any questions, he meant it! For example, the microwave wasn't working. We called him around mid-day and by the time we arrived back home that evening, we had a new microwave (too good to be true, right?). The kitchen has everything one could need. Susan was a pleasure to deal with from the reservation process through our stay. The views of the city and the sky are breathtaking from the wrap-around balcony outside the master bedroom--not to mention the sunrise view. We loved the various gas fireplaces and most of all the "fire pit" fireplace in the patio area off of the kitchen. The property and customer service/satisfaction are second to none (and we have stayed at some other nice homes on vacation). They even provided us with Ralph's and Vons' cards (for the local supermarkets--which are great)--talk about thinking about everything that we could need. The property is also conveniently located -- the San Diego airport is approx. 5-7 minutes away; La Jolla is approx. 20 minutes to the north; Cabrillo National Monument approx. 20 minutes to the south; Mission Bay, Coronado Beach as well as downtown San Diego are each also about 20 minutes away and LEGOLAND is approx. 35 minutes to the north. Did we mention the "surround sound" stereo system in the living room and the bedrooms feature TVs? We would HIGHLY recommend (and that is an understatement) this property to any family seeking a getaway--and we have already begun recommending the property to our friends.
We cannot thank Susan and Bruce enough for an unbelievable vacation in sunny (and warm) San Diego--hope we can visit again!

Owners response: Alan,

It was our pleasure to host you and your family and we appreciate your kind words. We do work hard to ensure that our guests have the maximum vacation home experience possible and we are so very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

By the way we do offer discounts for repeat guests and can even extend that offer to their family and friends.

Hope to see you soon!!

Best regards, Susan and Bruce

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful House

Review submitted: December 17, 2013   Date of arrival: December 4, 2013

My extended family including 6 adults and 3 little kids stayed at this house for 5 nights. We fully enjoyed the facility. It is wonderful that it has almost everything we needed, especially in the kitchen and the toys for the kids. The heated pool and whirl pool are very nice for the kids. The house's location is very close the San Diego Zoo, Sea World, other attractions, and the Airport. Quite convenient. Oh, the Ralph Supermarket is in a walking distance that really helped. All in all it is a wonderful rental house. I highly recommend it.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Vacation with family

Review submitted: August 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 16, 2013

Everyone in our group loved staying at this Point Loma home! We were a family of 5 adults, 2 kids, 1 toddler, and 1 infant and all enjoyed all the conveniences and luxuries this house offered. The highlight was, of course, the pool and hot tub!! Highly recommended

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Just what we needed.

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 23, 2013

This house was just what we needed. Plenty of room, in the perfect location, quiet and secluded, and you couldn't beat relaxing in the pool and spa every night. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful home!

Review submitted: July 16, 2013   Date of arrival: March 18, 2013

We had a wonderful time in this home! The location was perfect, almost every destination we wanted to see was within 15 minutes. There was something for all of our family in this home. We have young children, and the cabinet full of toys and books was great to entertain them. The pool and outdoor patio were gorgeous and everything was very well-maintained. We would definitely recommend this house to anyone! Thanks for such a fantastic week!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guest

Review submitted: July 11, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

very impress, i love the home Bruce was great and my family had a good vacation living in that home. thanks Todd for a wonderful home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Thanksgiving Retreat

Review submitted: November 27, 2012   Date of arrival: November 18, 2012

My family, all ten of us, loved our stay at this house. We watched breathtaking sunrises from the balcony in the morning, traveled the city by day, and soaked our aching muscles in the beautifully lit hot tub at night. We also enjoyed the pool when we weren't sightseeing during the day- the pool was heated so it was delightful for all of us. With ten people living together for the week- we all felt that it was still spacious and comfortable. We were all reluctant to leave this beautiful house. Susan was fabulous to work with as she was prompt with communication; and Ed, the man who showed us the house, was equally a pleasure to meet. He was flexible and welcoming. Thank you for the great memories!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: It's always so nice to hear that family's enjoy their stay at our home- particularly during the Holidays. We were happy to host this group and thank
you for taking such good care of our home. We hope to have you back next year-
we offer discounts to returning guests!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Lovely stay in early October

Review submitted: November 3, 2012   Date of arrival: October 4, 2012

Our family, two adults and two children under 8, and a family friend stayed here Oct 4 - 9, 2012, and loved every second of it. The owners are great sources of information, it's close to everything, the house is nicer than it looks, (but not soooo precious that you are frightened of your kids wrecking things).

The kitchen is well stocked, the beds were comfortable, the pool and hot tub was a great treat every afternoon when we finished sight seeing. We also had a fire in the outdoor fireplace almost every night with everyone's favourite treat, S'mores. I'd recommend this house to anyone!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fantastic vacation in a fantastic home

Review submitted: September 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

I booked this house as part of a surprise vacation for my husband's 40th birthday. It did not disappoint! Bruce was extremely nice and gave us a thorough tour of the home, as well as letting us know where all of the amenities in the area where, which was very helpful. We felt at home right away and the pool was heavenly, and definitely the highlight of the house. At that time of year we did not pay extra to heat the pool, and it wasn't required. It was great to be able to jump in at the end of the day; and if it wasn't my first time in San Diego I probably would have just stayed in the house all day and lounged by the pool. The house is very well maintained and it was great to not have to worry about towels, as there were plenty in supply. The washer/dryer could do with updating, but that didn't bother us as we did not need to use it. It was a beautiful house in a great location, and we would stay there again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Get-away seeker

Review submitted: July 22, 2012   Date of arrival: July 16, 2012

We had a family vacation at this site and it definitely did not let us down. The pictures displayed are exact. We were in amazement to see the beautiful pool and its amenities. This was a big hit with everyone in the family. The bedrooms were great and it was nice that the house had all the supplies that it did, when we arrived. It was also nice that the house is secluded even though it is surrounded by other homes and plenty of parking space for 3+ cars. It is also centrally located to downtown, the harbor and Sea World. We could not have been happier with our choice. If your on the fence about this home, don't be. You won't be disappointed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous home for a family vacation.

Review submitted: June 26, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

A week in San Diego with my husband, my sister and mother, my brother, his wife and 2 children ages 5, and 8. How do you please everyone? Rent this house.
We had such a fabulous time in San Diego, and a big part of this successful trip was our choice of this house to rent. The house was beautiful, and clean, with a great kitchen. The pool was spectacular, larger than the pictures show. We visited the Zoo, Seaworld, Zoo Safari, Belmont Park, Coronado beach, and La Jolla shores. Everything was only 10-15 minutes away, except the Zoo Safari, which was 30 min. We were amazed how great a location this house was to everything, even the airport.
At the end of every busy day, we hit the pool, and hot tub, such a treat. The outdoor fireplace was great and we managed to have a fire in there one night, the last night, and just enjoyed the final night talking about our favourite part of the trip. The house has so much to offer, for all ages.
Bruce (the owner), met us at the house when we arrived and was so nice and friendly. He gave us a tour of the house, and lots of information about San Diego. He was super warm and friendly, and you can tell he was very proud of his house, and wanted to make sure we enjoyed it, and San Diego.
The people of San Diego are super friendly and nice, and all seem so very happy, that it enhances a visitors experience while on vacation.
Dinner in old town is a must, and for an awesome burger at a cheap prices, we loved Hodads at Ocean Beach, again both only 5-10 min away.
I would definitely recommend this house for people of all ages.
Our only regret was not staying longer.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Look no further !

Review submitted: April 3, 2012   Date of arrival: March 23, 2012

Location: Awesome
Layout: Nice and Roomy
The view: Beautiful
The pool: Great

Many thanks to Bruce for his detailed tour upon arrival!
The house easily handled our three kids, Grandma, my husband and I.
It was close to everything you will want to do in San Diego.
We felt like we were 5 minutes from everything.
Our kids loved the pool and hot tub....and YES the heat was worth it !
We would not hesitate to rent this home again....and hopefully revisit it again soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent home with great pool

Review submitted: March 18, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

We stopped off in San Diego for 3 nights on-route from the UK to a snowboarding holiday. Our group was a mix of ages and families but we were all able to find time and space to recover from jet-lag. Bruce's walk through was very friendly and thorough and he made it clear we could just call should we have any problems.
The master suite was amazing, with stunning views of both the city and down over the pool and jacuzzi which were well used over our stay (thanks to the additional pool heat).
The kitchen had all the appliances you may require, however we felt a few more plates and bowls would be of benefit and certainly some more wine glasses!
The location was good, just minutes from the airport, plus not far from downtown nor from La Jolla. A trip to Cabrillo national park is a must.
Overall we thought the house was brilliant and we would love the opportunity, if re-visiting San Diego, to stay at the property again. We'd highly recommend it to anyone.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful home!

Review submitted: September 27, 2011   Date of arrival: September 19, 2011

Our family came out to Point Loma to rendezvous with our son and his family who live nearby. This house proved the perfect gathering place for all 7 adults and 3 small children. Afternoons were spent in the amazing pool (getting the extra heat was a good call) and evenings cooking in the well equipped kitchen and fantastic grill area. This was a first time rental experience for us so we didn't know what to expect. Needless to say, we were all incredibly happy with this house and grateful for Bruce's thorough walk-through and willingness to answer any questions and help out in any way. We hope to return here often! For families with young children there are 2 cupboards full of toys!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Spot for family get together!

Review submitted: September 14, 2011   Date of arrival: September 4, 2011

Our Family had a fabulous time enjoying your beautiful, clean and quality home! It felt like our home away from home! We enjoyed the warm pool, hot tub and of course the wonderful kitchen! Thanks for letting us use the toys, beach chairs, cooler, baby bed....etc. It made it easy to fly in and not have to drag everything along! Great location - close to lots of things...Padres game, beach, shopping, hiking ....love love love it! Thanks Bruce for taking such good care of us while we were there! We highly recommend this beautiful home for all ages!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: August 26, 2011   Date of arrival: August 19, 2011

Absolutely Amazing! Wonderful place especially with 2 youg kids. The girls had wonderful time. Lots of items for the kids to play with at the beach, the pool, and in the house. Pool & Spa & Patio area were wonderful & so relaxing! Can't wait to go again next year!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Absolutely amazing!

Review submitted: August 26, 2011   Date of arrival: August 19, 2011

Our family just spent 5 days in this amazing home. It was way more than we expected. The pool & spa were amazing and the outdoor firepace and BBQ outstanding. We had 2 small children and they enjoyed themselves to the point of exhaustion. Well equipped with toys and pool games for the kids! Can't wait to go back again next year!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

East meets West

Review submitted: April 2, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

This was a fantastic property. We spent four days here with my nephew and his family. We flew in from Phila and they drove from LA. We weren't quite sure what to expect but the house was everything VRBO said. It was fully equipped. my chef son enjoyed the kitchen and outdoor BBQ and we enjoyed excellent meals. We were glad we paid for the heated pool...it was well worth the money as it was a bit chilly. My nephews two year old twins had plenty of room to run around. Bruce met us there and gave the grand tour. I would definitely recommend this property.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Great Home

Review submitted: March 23, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

Our recent stay here was great. There were 2 families and plenty of room for all 8 of us. The heated pool and hot tub were awesome during the day and the fireplace outside was perfect in the evening. The house is close to many San Diego attractions, which made it very easy. The only downside would be there is no gate around the pool, so you do have to be very cautious with little ones. Highly recommended and would consider staying again in the future.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house for the whole family!

Review submitted: December 11, 2010   Date of arrival: November 4, 2010

Our family stayed here for a Navy wedding and the house was a perfect for us. The views from the master bedroom are amazing. The pool was terrific.

We cooked a huge breakfast every morning for everyone and the kitchen handled it all with ease. The house is well stocked, everything you would ever need is there. The extra bedroom on the main floor was great for our grandma who can no longer climb stairs with ease. The place was great.

Bruce, the property manager, was a great help from the minute we all showed up to well after we left. He even mailed back my camera charger that I left plugged into the wall. We will definitely stay here again when we come back to San Diego.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Property

Review submitted: August 27, 2010   Date of arrival: August 11, 2010

We had a wonderful stay in this property. It has everything you need for a short or long stay (clean, conveniently located). Plenty of room and the pool is just outstanding. The view from the master bedroom is also great with a full overview to San Diego.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

FANTASTIC PROPERTY

Review submitted: May 23, 2010   Date of arrival: May 13, 2010

Our extended family of 12 stayed in this great house for 3 nights. We rent a vacation home every year in a different location. This house was voted as our all time favorite. It was very nice, clean and well equipped. The large kitchen was beautiful with granite and stainless steel appliances.

We had 7 adults, 3 children, a toddler and an infant. We used the portable crib for the toddler. The 3 children were able to sleep in a room together by using one of the air beds in the room with the twins. There was plenty of space for all 3 of them. The kids quickly found some books and toys to play with.

The 2 separate outdoor spaces are beautiful. The pool has a ledge around a good part of it which was really nice for the children. We did pay extra to have the pool heated, which was a good thing since the weather was pretty cool while we were in San Diego.

The jacuzzi was on the other side of the house, along with a beautiful outdoor fireplace, BBQ grill and a charming water feature that comes on at night. All of the outdoor spaces have lots of comfy patio furniture.

We wanted to be in the Point Loma area and this was a great location near Rosecrans and Nimitz. The driveway was a little tricky to back out of but there was plenty of room on it for our 3 vehicles. We would definitely stay here again if we ever rent another house in San Diego.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is our highest priority to maximize the comfort and cleanliness of this Vacation Rental for our guests. We also
very much appreciate the care that each tenant extends to
the home, which makes it enjoyable for all.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Outstanding!

Review submitted: April 27, 2010   Date of arrival: March 19, 2010

We stayed in this fantastic home for one week with another couple. Between the two couples, there was 6 children under the age of 5. We all had a wonderful time. The pool is exceptional as it has a ledge almost completely around the pool and on one side, it has a wider ledge so that the smaller children can sit there and play. The house was massive and we enjoyed every bit of space there was. The view from the balcony was beautiful. A great place to enjoy a morning coffee. There is lots to see and only a short drive to get to them all.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: March 20, 2010   Date of arrival: March 20, 2010

My family and another family stayed for a week at this
Point Loma home. Great location, great home and
great pool! We all loved visiting the San Diego area
during the day and spending the evenings hanging
around the pool. Would highly recommend to
anybody visiting the San Diego area.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: January 22, 2010   Date of arrival: January 22, 2010

My vacation here was truly magical. I loved waking up to see the sun rise over the Coronado Bridge!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 22, 2010   Date of arrival: January 22, 2010

This house offered a wonderful experience as I transition to living in San Diego. The view was incredible! I enjoyed the hot tub and other amenities.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review