reviews for: listing #65757 - Puerto Rico, Caribbean House rental

Luxurious Mansion in Future Ritz Carlton Reserve Hotel
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Dorado
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $875 - $1,200 /nt

sort by:

Dorado is beautiful but this is not a mansion

Review submitted: April 2, 2013   Date of arrival: March 24, 2013

Location is outsanding and being able to join as a rental member of the Dorado Beach club is a must. If you do not join the beach club you can use all of the other beach are but would have to provide your own seating and shade, difficult since there weren't any beach chairs or umbrellas at the house.

This house is very tired, the pictures shown must be from a number of years ago, much of the furniture in the pictures is no longer there. The house is not maintained well and needs a thorough cleaning from top to bottom. The oven door does not close all the way so they left a piece of tape there to secure it closed while in use. The kitchen utensils are a collection of pieces thrown together and upon arrival there were 5 forks in the draw for a house that sleeps 12 and boasts seating for 14 in the dining room. In fact there are only 8 chairs in the dining room. There are at least 3-4 light bulbs out in each room and a few broken light switches.

I can certainly appreciate the reality that a rental property takes some abuse, but considering the rental price of this property the owners should pay a lot more attention to detail, after all it doesn't cost a fortune to clean the place properly or change the light bulbs.
Valeria the property manager was very nice and went out of her way to address our needs. When we informed her about the broken oven she indicated she in fact knew about it and had informed the owners, but as we experienced nothing had been done about it.

Too bad, Mahi Mahi could be such a beautiful house, it is in a perfect location.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Highly Recommended!

Review submitted: July 21, 2011   Date of arrival: May 11, 2011

This was was exactly as represented in the listing - fabulous! Huge, spacious and very high-end property very well maintained. We had 9 women for a girls weekend, and we had plenty of space (and bathrooms!)

Valeria was very responsive to text messages or phone calls whenever we had questions. We did not see another tourist the whole time we were there, it was like we had the place to ourselves. We spent time at both the pool and the private beach and it was always just us.

Maria was great too - she kept the place immaculate and she cooked us breakfast and lunch (we bought the groceries, or she did and we reimbursed her.) The beach club membership is a must if you have a larger group (30% discount on food/drink at the beach club bar and restaurant.)

The golf carts came in extremely handy when we wanted to go to the pool or beach. I would suggest in the future that the Albino's leave clear instructions on how to light the grill, because it's not a typical gas grill and it could be dangerous if people are playing around trying to get it started. Luckily no permanent damage was done. :)

Definitely stay here if you're going to PR!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 15

 

Fabulous Resort Home! Great for Families!!

Review submitted: April 28, 2011   Date of arrival: April 17, 2011

This was perhaps our best vacation ever, in no small part due to the wonderful home and hospitality of the Albinos. We can't say enough good things about the home. Very convenient to San Juan (30-40 minute drive) yet feels a world away. Very exclusive neighborhood with a private beach, golf, pools, best kids pool area that we have ever seen (kids will be entertained for hours)! The beach is only open to residents of the community and during the week we felt like we had our own private beach. The house is spacious, modern, high ceilings -- just gorgeous. We can't wait to return!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Raj, Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to have you in our vacation home and we look forward to have you again in the near future!

Regards,

The Albino family

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

high end, luxury stay in an amazing community

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

If you can afford to stay here it is very much worth it. It is quiet, resort style secluded area with beautiful large homes with a community pool and easy access to the beach and golf courses. The house is as picture and more than you can ever want. It is very secured and even though they are other homes it is very private. The house has golf carts but to get to the pool and tennis courts you don't really need them (no more than 3 minutes walk) but my 13 year old loved them so we rode them everywhere. The owner is amazing and only a call away if you need him. We hired the cook/house maid for 3 days since we were only a party of five with older kids. She was an amazing cook especially if you are looking to try traditional food and did a great job keeping the house and patio clean. The area outside of this secured community has many fast food restaurants, pharmacies and 2 very good supermarkets that you can buy food to cook (which is what we did since we hardly eat fast food). We did not do to much activities around Puerto Rico this vacation so it was really nice having the space and such a beautiful home to relax in. Not sure about the nightlife since my 2 college kids went into San Juan to party which is about 25-40 minutes at night depending where you are going.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: We appreciate your review and we look forward on having you in Puerto Rico in the near future! It was our pleasure to serve you!

Regards,

The Albino's

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Amazing and Memorable Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 21, 2010   Date of arrival: July 16, 2010

My family had a truly amazing and memorable time this past July 2010 in this property. The Albino Family went out of their way to insure that every member of my family (from my 18 month old to our eldest family members) had a totally relaxing and overall enjoyable vacation experience. We decided to fly to Puerto Rico to enjoy our annual family vacation which we had originally booked in Pensacola Beach Florida. Due to the BP oil spill, we collectively changed our plans and decided to book our reservations with the Hiram and Albino Family Estate. We had family members that flew in from Spring-Texas, Atlanta-Georgia, Port St. Lucie-Florida, and Pensacola-Florida. Every day our children would wake up and look forward to taking the golf carts to the beach and beautiful waterpark facilities. The property is totally secure, all-inclusive and a luxuriously designed home to address every persons taste/need. We had small children and Hiram and Valeria made all of the necessary changes and accomodations needed for our children to have the ultimate vacation fun. We were able to build life memories together as a family and we look forward to adding a few more chapters to that book in the upcoming years... The private beach, golf country club, waterpark, pools, tennis courts, and overall Dorado Beach community were outstanding! Thank you Ms. Maria for cooking such a delicious arroz con fricase chicken y tostones! It was delicious! If you are planning your family vacation, we totally recommend this beautiful estate without any reservations. Thank you so much - Albino Family, if you are ever in the Houston, Texas area - please let us know!
Sincerely,
The Lebron's, The Bradford's, The Nuriddin's, The Still's, and the Davis' Families
July 2010

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Review submitted: March 22, 2010   Date of arrival: March 22, 2010

Our family just returned from staying at this beautiful property over Spring Break. It is outstanding! The owners are wonderful people. The accommodations are FIRST CLASS! You won't be disappointed. I highly recommend booking this home. We have stayed at many VRBO properties and this was the best property and location we have stayed at to date!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 22, 2010   Date of arrival: March 22, 2010

Our vacation to Dorado - was outstanding!
Beautiful beaches, wonderful weather and many
exciting things to enjoy for our family. The Albino
family are some of the most generous people I've
ever met. Upon arrival Valeria showed us the
beautiful home with the many amenities. The home
is very well planned with an amazing Master
bedroom. We truly enjoyed maria the
housekeeper/cook. She is extremely friendly and
prepared delicious food for our family. Mr. and Mrs.
Albino went our of there way to make us feel
comfortable and welcome in their home. There is an
amazing water park for the children to enjoy.Mr.
Albino gave us a tour of the property which was
extremely interesting...again amazing. We are very
grateful for this opportunity. Our family has said
this is the best vacation ever! Many thanks!

The Snyders
Ames, Iowa

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 22, 2010   Date of arrival: March 22, 2010

Dear Hiram Wanda and Valeria:

Your accommodations compared to few I have experiences in my lifetime, but
the real difference was your family! The level of hospitality, kindness,
generosity, and service you have shown my family is truly above and beyond
anyones expectations. Each day the experience continued to exceed the
previous days, incredible journey. Our family will never forget this vacation.
The wonderful time and cherished memories we will take with us always. You
may be the kindness people we have ever met and hope to stay in touch, it
will be a pleasure to spend time at Dorado Beach next spring break! I also
hope you will take us up on our offer to come visit the Dallas-Fort Worth
Texas area. The invitation is always open and we would love to host you to
return the favor. Of course, at no cost to your family! You are all amazing
people and I am very proud of have had the good fortune to meet you!!
Words will never properly thank you for this experience, but I hope our
recommendations will be posted on the trip advisor referrals/ comments and
will bring you much or many dissevered new clients with the highest of hope
that you would once again succeed in surpassing all expectation. Much
success and fortune in all you endeavor to come!
Tracy, Bob, Blake and Brook Berwick

South Lake
Texas

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 22, 2010   Date of arrival: March 22, 2010

Our vacation to Dorado - was outstanding!
Beautiful beaches, wonderful weather and many
exciting things to enjoy for our family. The Albino
family are some of the most generous people I've
ever met. Upon arrival Valeria showed us the
beautiful home with the many amenities. The home
is very well planned with an amazing Master
bedroom. We truly enjoyed maria the
housekeeper/cook. She is extremely friendly and
prepared delicious food for our family. Mr. and Mrs.
Albino went our of there way to make us feel
comfortable and welcome in their home. There is an
amazing water park for the children to enjoy.Mr.
Albino gave us a tour of the property which was
extremely interesting...again amazing. We are very
grateful for this opportunity. Our family has said
this is the best vacation ever! Many thanks!

The Snyders
Ames, Iowa

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 17, 2010   Date of arrival: January 17, 2010

For those who are considering whether or not to stay at #29 in Dorado East, I can tell you that you should consider yourself fortunate that this fine family is willing to allow you to stay in their house. We are currently staying at the property in January, 2010. Dorado Beach East, it is a very upscale neighborhood that has secure access including a manned guardhouse and private security vehicles regularly patrolling. The streets are very quiet and we feel entirely safe here. This is an example of how safe residents feel here. We have many relatives who live in Dorado and all have advised us that this community is the “jewel” of Dorado and very safe. The house itself is gorgeous and presents in person even better than on the internet. All of the regular bedrooms are upstairs leaving indoor and covered outdoor space on the spacious first floor to entertain and enjoy. The master bedroom suite is spectacular with high ceilings and a very large modern bathroom. The amenities of the community are spectacular, and include but are not limited to, a world class private beach protected by wave breaking boulders, a small tropical rain forest, several excellent restaurants, multiple pools, and many community buildings with unique designs, and multiple, well thought through and large recreational areas for children of all ages. And of course world-class golf courses and nice tennis courts. Golf carts are used by the residents to get around the beautifully landscaped community which also contains a myriad of lakes and it is unnecessary to drive a car around the property. What really makes the experience comfortable and special is the Albino family. Whenever something small would arise (e.g. how do you use the outdoor grill?), one of the family members would answer the telephone promptly and patiently help. They insisted on providing us with a personal golf cart tour of the very large community which probably lasted two hours. The tour was not only informative but very interesting. They even permitted us to utilize their domestic help, Maria, to cook and clean during our stay. This was wonderful as she was incredible in the kitchen cooking traditional, delicious Puerto Rican food and helped keep the place tidy. I think right now is a great time to visit since the hotel properties are closed and the important community amenities are still open. We have been to Puerto Rico four

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review