reviews for: listing #65776 - Seattle, Washington House rental

Ideal Home For Family Reunions or Out of Town Wedding Guests
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $295 - $595 /nt
    $1,855 - $3,955 /wk

sort by:

Jill

Review submitted: May 5, 2014   Date of arrival: April 30, 2014

Thanks for a great property. We enjoyed this house during our stay for our daughter's wedding. It worked great for our family. Everyone was able to have a room. Large bedrooms were great. Worked well for a brunch the day wedding. Nice landscaping in front.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

A real home away from home!

Review submitted: March 22, 2014   Date of arrival: March 18, 2014

A truly great house with all you need to have a great time! King beds, bathrooms in all 5 bedrooms except 1. The feel of a great old house but decorated with an up to date feel! Clean and filled with all the necessary amenities. A very comfortable feel almost homey! Loved the Taste of India restaurant. Excellent food and service. Home is close to a beautiful old church and of course the university. Great places to just walk and enjoy. The YMCA is close as well and was free if you go for 3 days. Owner is very available and was easy to work with. A home that I would recommend to anyone!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Housed 10 of us comfortably in a great location.

Review submitted: February 27, 2014   Date of arrival: February 20, 2014

The home was beautiful, complete with everything necessary to make our stay both comfortable and enjoyable. A great kitchen, lovely living room and good-sized bedrooms, and plenty of bathrooms. Even local friends commented on how nice the house was. Easy access to all local attractions, and close to great restaurants and markets such as Whole Foods. We would definitely stay here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Stunning and tastefully furnished

Review submitted: February 18, 2014   Date of arrival: February 10, 2014

Joe's place was everything I expected and more. I had some out of town coworkers here for a conference, and we decided to avoid the typical hotel stay. This property has a great location, walking distance to fun restaurants, grocery store, coffee, etc. and was great for getting to our office in Fremont. Joe was a pleasure to work with and the house was sparkling clean. I would definitely stay here again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Just as Advertised!

Review submitted: December 20, 2013   Date of arrival: December 10, 2013

This house was clean, conveniently located near the Children's Hospital, and in excellent condition. When we had a question for the owner, he was very prompt to return our call and solve our problem. The bedrooms were huge! The three upstairs Bds. each had a private bath and the two downstairs Bds. shared one bath. All baths were updated and well stocked. We would definitely recommend this as a vacation home!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

CLEAN, WARM AND COZY!!!

Review submitted: November 24, 2013   Date of arrival: November 7, 2013

The home was in a great location. We were up for a family wedding and there were 7 of us , one of which was a 2 year old. The home was spacious, clean and very child friendly.There were pack and plays, baby gates, a stroller and a special little chair for her to sit in at the table. Thoughtful pleasant surprises. The home is close to shopping, restaurants, and UW. I would highly recommend this home. By far one of our best experiences. I am crazy about things being clean and it was hotel quality. We will definitely be back!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

What a terrific space for a stay in Seattle!

Review submitted: November 7, 2013   Date of arrival: October 29, 2013

This was our first experience with renting a house via internet. Needless to say, we were a little apprehensive. However, there was absolutely no need to worry. The listing description was accurate and just what the photos showed. The space was clean, well maintained, and well supplied with essentials. Joe was prompt with all communications and was very helpful with making our stay in Seattle for our son's wedding a pleasant one. We will rent again when making future trips to Seattle.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Wonderful large home for out of towners

Review submitted: September 14, 2013   Date of arrival: August 29, 2013

My family rented this home to accomodate overseas and out of town family for our son's wedding. First of all Joe is a wonderful owner he was very responsive to my many questions. The house was great in an ideal location for downtown Seattle and the U of W.
Lots of space inside at one point we had 14 people for a sit down meal and there still was lots of room. Great kitchen, with space for several cooks.
Bedrooms all very comfortable and large. My nearly blind mother loved the ensuite bathroom in her room as she felt very safe there once she learned the layout.
Garden was lovely, my 6 year old granddaughter made friends with several of the plants and insects in the garden which were very different from our Eastern Washington garden.
Highly recommend this property to people looking for a large rental.
The U district is very close with too many to mention great places to eat and drink, close to Husky stadium so a great place for the Apple Cup, close to U of W so ideal for graduation.
Thanks Joe for maintaining such a welcoming place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Perfect for a large group!

Review submitted: August 29, 2013   Date of arrival: August 5, 2013

Our stay at this house was perfect! We had a total of three families and grandparents stay I'm the house and it never felt too full. The bedrooms were excellent size, kitchen was perfect and living space was large enough to gather. The front veranda was great to sit out and enjoy a glass of wine.

Parking is tricky if you have more than three vehicles.

My only complaint is that we couldn't stay longer!!

Will definitely come back.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great house!

Review submitted: July 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 12, 2013

This house is exactly as it appears in the photos - comfortable, clean, and spacious. Everything you could possibly need is provided and it is only a short walk to a couple of grocery stores and to some decent restaurants and bars. A cab ride to Pike Place is about $15; cab from the airport was about $60. This was the perfect spot for our large group to spend the weekend while we were all in town for a wedding. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Perfect house for multiage family gathering

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2013

Thirteen members of our family, 2 grandparents, 3 young couples and 5 grandkids ages 1 year, 2 years, 4 years (x2) and 7 years gathered for a week in Seattle. The bedrooms and baths were perfectly configured, multiple pack and plays, a fold out sofa and a blow up bed gave more than enough sleeping options. Large walk in closets were perfect places for the pack and plays in the parents' rooms. The open floor plan and large interior meant we could all be together but have space. The kitchen is COMPLETELY equipped, linens and towels very high quality, plenty of fans,TP, paper towels, kleenex - unusually thoughtful. Large front yard meant the kids and adults played "soccer" each evening, and the close proximity to the park (1/2 mile walk) made it a favorite destination. The whole group is already asking if we can make it an annual event, at this house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfort and Convenience

Review submitted: June 26, 2013   Date of arrival: June 16, 2013

The house was better than listed. Bedrooms were phenomenal and the kitchen was spacious and allowed for 10 people to spend a week comfortably together. The convenience of buses within a block of the house provided freedom to tour Seattle without the need for a car. If you have a family that is planning to rent 5 hotel rooms, this is absolutely a better option.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place for 8 people

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 13, 2013

The house was perfect for our family visiting Seattle for my niece's graduation. Close to the University in a nice neighborhood. Five bedrooms with four baths. (No waiting.) A great kitchen for family cooking and bonding. Close to Seattle'a great attractions. Perfect for our infant grandniece. All the modern conveniences with WIFI HD TV and sound system.

A perfect solution for a family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Large Sunny House

Review submitted: June 12, 2013   Date of arrival: May 23, 2013

From the front this house does not look as large as it is. This 5 bedroom home worked great for our group. Joe was easy to work with, and was gracious to allow for a late check out, while we let a baby sleep. The location is close to dining and a short drive to grocery stores. It is also very close to I5, but once in the house you don't hear the freeway at all. Most unfortunately the downstairs has been carpeted, no pretty wood floors. The carpet needs to be cleaned and the area rugs are hazardous. We ended up rolling up the area rugs as everyone was tripping on them. The kitchen worked well, everything you need is somewhere. The first thing I wanted to do was reorganize the cupboards, kind of messy. The house is clean but maintenance seems a little forgotten. There is plenty of off-street parking, which is a huge plus in Seattle. The front yard is very charming. A great house for our large family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: I'm glad these folks liked the house. Pam called me after she checked out and told me about the carpet issue. I agree with her. The rug under the dining room table needs to be replaced. It was new from Crate and Barrel 1 year ago but was of poor quality in spite of costing quite a bit of money. A replacement has been found and this issue is now addressed.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for the occasion

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 15, 2013

Our daughter was getting married in Seattle and most of the family came from Minnesota. This house was the perfect place, neat, spacious, good kitchen and seating space, as well as close to the bus stop and lots of other fun shopping. We had a wonderful time hanging out at the house when we weren't catching the bus downtown to sightsee or preparing for the wedding. We did all the baking for the wedding which was a ton of fun and we had plenty of space. On wedding day her bridesmaids and she got ready at the house, followed by the photographer also coming to the house and snapping a bunch of pictures. It was fabulous.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful House for Wedding Guests!!

Review submitted: February 21, 2013   Date of arrival: February 14, 2013

We were very pleased with the house on 55th in Seattle...it nicely accomodated the family members & guests for our Son's wedding. There were 11 family members from Canada that needed a place to stay during the wedding. The bedrooms are spacious with 4 King size beds in 4 of the 5 bedrooms. The kitchen had all the equipment & utensils for making meals and we did not have to eat out all the time. Close to downtown Seattle and located close to transit for catching a bus to see the sights of the city. This is a Wonderful House for weddings or special family events!!
We enjoyed our stay and will be coming back again!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family of the Groom!

Review submitted: February 3, 2013   Date of arrival: January 23, 2013

I agree with all of the comments above. Clean, well maintained, good location. We were nine adults and two children two years and under. We had a wonderful time mingling in the large living room and kitchen between wedding events.. We had everything we needed. Beds and bedding were very comfortable. One couple had two young kids and they found the large walk in closet in the front bedroom upstairs perfect for the two year old to sleep. They could put her down at her normal early time and come and go to their room without disturbing her. Joe provided a Pak and Play, stroller, kids' games and books and several other necessitous for children. We felt the neighborhood was safe. Were able to walk to the restaurant, Ristorante Doria, on 50th and Roosevelt, where we had the rehearsal dinner. That is a great find and we highly recommend it. Joe readily responded to our questions and needs both prior to and during our stay. There wa no long list of do's and don'ts, but I would appreciate marked canisters and a written explanation of how to sort recyclables in Seattle. I felt badly putting soiled paper in recyclables instead of the garbage, for example, but know they do it in Seattle. I picture a wall tree to the left of the door to hang coats on and an easily laundered rug for our shoes. But cannot think of anything else to recommend! We were too busy to be able to use the bikes, but would like to come back in summer and take them out. Neat that they were there. Every one who stayed with us was appreciative of the wonderful place I found! Good to be appreciated!! .

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Parents of the groom

Review submitted: January 23, 2013   Date of arrival: January 17, 2013

The house was just beautiful. We had plenty of room for the entire family. Joe was very helpful answering all our questions. The house was clean and very well taken care of. The only problem we had was that the heat was not turned up prior to getting to the house. The temperature was 43 degrees and took several hours to warm up. All in all the house was just terrific.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Sorry about this. I asked the cleaners to turn the heat down, not off when they left.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house convenient location

Review submitted: December 10, 2012   Date of arrival: November 30, 2012

Love this house! Spacious as it looks in the photos and the house was clean and fairly polished. It has everything that was listed. We had a total of 10 guests in the house and it was more than enough space for our group! We also used it to host a party with a caterer, able to utilize the large kitchen area. I had my little dog with me and with the backyard fully fenced, it was perfect!
Joe, the owner, is also great in responding to any questions that I had, willing to accommodate my request for a later check out time. Very kind of him!
The only small advice I have would be if you have delivery sent to the house, make sure you are there to sign for it. I had my flower delivery taken away from the front porch by someone in the neighborhood. Other than that, it was a very pleasant stay, couldn't ask for it to be any better! Definitely would rent here again if I'm in town! Conveniently located right off of I-5 and near grocery markets too :D

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect house in a convenient location!

Review submitted: December 10, 2012   Date of arrival: November 30, 2012

Love this house! Spacious as it looks in the photos and the house was clean and fairly polished. It has everything that was listed. We had a total of 10 guests in the house and it was perfect for our group! We also used it to host a party with a caterer, able to utilize the large kitchen area.
Joe, the owner, is also great in responding to any questions that I had, willing to accommodate my request for a later check out time. Very kind of him!
The only small advice I have would be if you have delivery sent to the house, make sure you are there to sign for it. I had my flower delivery taken away from the front porch by someone in the neighborhood. Other than that, it was a very pleasant stay, couldn't ask for it to be any better! Definitely would rent here again if I'm in town! Conveniently located right off of I-5 and near grocery markets too :D

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spacious house for large groups

Review submitted: November 9, 2012   Date of arrival: October 29, 2012

This house has everything as promised. It is in very good shape with nice amenities such as plush towels, a kitchen generously stocked with china, glassware, utensils and implements, and up-to-date electronics.
The beds are very comfortable.
While there are 6-day, 2-hour parking restrictions on the street, the driveway has a capacity of four cars, single file.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

For my son's medical school graduation....

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 31, 2012

This was a great house for my 9 guests and myself. Comfortable, clean, and well stocked. Joe was also responsive to my needs, such as removing the trash from the overflowing cans, which he did right away. The backyard is tiny, with only a barbecue. However, the barbecue worked perfectly and the front yard and porch compensate for the absent backyard. Also, with Joe's permission, I included my labrador retriever. Wish I could go back in time and do it all again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Graduation

Review submitted: June 1, 2012   Date of arrival: May 28, 2012

Excellent property, convenient, well maintained. Slight problem discovered on arrival with window covering was addressed quickly by maintenance staff. Very accurate description of the amenities. I will use property again if need arises and would highly recommend to a friend.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family of the Bride

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 23, 2012

The house is spacious, nicely decorated and provides ample room for a large family to get ready for a wedding with a private bathroom in each of the 3 bedrooms upstairs. Pictures truly reflect the home decor and lay-out. Plenty of dinnerware/silverware in the kitchen. We held rehearsal dinner gathering at the home for a large group and found it to be functional with the rental of cocktail tables and additional folding chairs for use on the large front porch. Plenty of street parking for guests in the evening hours and easily accessible from Highway 5.
We walked the bikes to the local bike shop to inflate the tires and after that used them for a long bike ride. From the home we walked to local museum, U district shops and Green Lake (great location) The neighbors next store were friendly, donating herbs from their garden to our salad mix.
House does pose a challenge for seniors in that it is missing a hand rail to walk up the steps to the front porch and the large rugs in the house pose a fall risk (Joe was going to address this - thanks Joe, very friendly, accomodating, flexible and does respond to emails promptly.)
Would defintely recommend this property for rental and would rent it again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family weekend getaway

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

We stayed here with 4 adults and 4 kids. There was plenty of room for all of us, we even had one empty room because some of the kids wanted to share a room. The king beds made it easy to fit us all in. The kids loved playing hide and seek because of the large closets. The house is nicely decorated and furnished, as shown in the photos. The neighbourhood didn't feel like it was the safest, but it was an easy drive downtown and a short drive to the zoo. One of the downstairs rooms apparently had a bit of a smell to it, as well as the downstairs bathroom. The bedrooms could use curtains or other window coverings, because it got quite bright at 5:30am. I would have also liked to see a clock or two in the house. It was great having wifi and digital cable (once I figured out how to use it. Someone left the box unplugged. Would have been nice to have an instruction sheet on how to operate the tv and dvd player.)
Joe was very helpful in arranging to rent the property. He responded to e-mails promptly and helped us decide which of his several properties was best suited to our group.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bar Mitzvah Mom

Review submitted: February 23, 2012   Date of arrival: February 16, 2012

The description of this property perfectly captures its best features. It is an ideal place for a family gathering. Lots of space with many bedrooms for out-of-town guests to stay and to gather with local folks. I am already planning to book this home again for our next gathering. I highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place for family reunions!

Review submitted: January 25, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

Excellent home - beautifully decorated. Has ample space and facilities for children too. Even has bikes & strollers!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

WOW! What a great place!

Review submitted: January 17, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

Beautiful space! Super clean! Very affordable. Our out of town staff came to stay for our local retreat. We were so thrilled that all of our local partners that joined us for the retreat part of the day are excited to use this place for other future gatherings.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Wedding in Seattle

Review submitted: November 23, 2011   Date of arrival: November 8, 2011

My wife and I brought in our large family of five adult children and three grandchildren for a wedding in Seattle. The house was large enough for us, the beds were great, the kitchen was well-laid out and the location was excellent. We have rented houses in Las Vegas and Virginia and this house was by far the best.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Perfection!

Review submitted: October 24, 2011   Date of arrival: January 22, 2011

This home was just exactly what we needed after a long day's work..."home away from home". Our group enjoyed coming back after work to a place where we could be relaxed and comfortable. We hope to stay again next year when we come for business.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Rental Experience

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: October 13, 2011

This rental property was fantastic. Plenty of space, great appliances, cookware and although we didn't have an opportunity to use them it comes with bikes and strollers. We really enjoyed the location, the house and how seamless the rental experience was for everyone. This wasn't my first VRBO, but it definitely reinforces the high caliber of renters on the site. Thanks again for making this a fantastic trip to Seattle!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family gathering

Review submitted: October 8, 2011   Date of arrival: August 18, 2011

We were all there, from Grandma and Grandpa to niece and nephew, gathered for a family wedding. The house made the experience exceptional for all of us - a beautifully appointed, well- equipped gathering place. If we had it to do over we'd stay there again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just Perfect for us!

Review submitted: September 25, 2011   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

We rented this home over the labor Day weekend since my son was getting married in Seattle and we had many out of town family members flying in. All weekend long everyone just kept saying how wonderful the house was and how much nicer it was to be there rather than a hotel. Not to mention that when you figure the cost of a hotel room this ended up being very economical). Don't let the outside worry you when you drive up (the lawn and landscape could use some TLC and the white picket fence isn't so white anymore)...the house is just fabulous! It is spaceous, is well cared for, & beautifully decorated. With four bathrooms there was never a problem even though there were 7 women staying there. It came in handy to have a washer and dryer as well! We had a very informal rehearsal dinner there and it was perfect. I will be posting this on tripadvisor as well and will download our pictures. We put up bistro tables and hung paper lanterns in the front porch, and set up a long table in the driveway and lit the drive up with twinkly lights on the fence. It looked wonderful and accommodated 22 easily (we could have had many more!). We highly recommend this home to anyone who has a seattle wedding, reunion or is attending a U of W event with other couples. My siblings also rented another property owned by Joe (Moderna, also a five bedroom home) and it was also lovely! Very hip and has several "living areas" which worked out well for them...kids downstairs, adults upstairs. It has LOTS of stairs, but is even better equipted in the kitchen than the University house! Plus, if you have a large group he also owns and rents out the five bedroom (just remodeled) home next door!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

I wish I actually lived here!!!!

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: September 15, 2011

What a wonderful rental in a fantastic location! It had all the amenities of my own home, I wanted to just move right in! The beds were so comfortable and the towels and linens were super soft! We didn't have our kids with us but the house is definitely kid friendly with pack-n-plays, booster seats, and even a few strollers too! There are even three bikes with locks that we used to ride around the neighborhood on, so convenient! The house itself is immaculate and so beautifully remodeled! The rooms are huge and we slept 12 adults comfortably, and everyone had their own bed!
We stayed three nights with only three of us on the first night and twelve by the last, it was the perfect place for all of us out of town guest for the wedding we attended.
The location is ideal. So close to shopping, restaurants, and there is a beautiful Catholic church that is visible from the living room, which is where the wedding was located!
I would recommend this house over and over again!
Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home with us!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent House!!!

Review submitted: July 27, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

This was a terrific house! My family, my mother, my brother's family, and I stayed here - five kids and five adults - and we could not have asked for a better deal!! My brother has a 6 month old and appreciated the extra touches of the jogging stroller, the high chair and the pack 'n play. It's not often you rent a place and have baby stuff waiting for you. We also appreciated the bicycles that the owner left for us to explore the neighborhood. The kitchen was well-equipped. We were even able to grill while there. Loved it!!

This is a great neighborhood, especially with kids. It's on a dead-end so there isn't much traffic going through, but it's pretty close to the highway, supermarket, restaurant, and stores. The zoo is close-by as well. The house is not too far from downtown.

The owner was extremely helpful in answering all my questions, and made me feel welcome even before I got to the house. I really appreciated doing business with him.

A definite must-stay if you're looking for a large house that close to everywhere!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect house for family gathering/wedding

Review submitted: July 2, 2011   Date of arrival: June 21, 2011

This house was a perfect match for our family coming in from out of town for a Seattle wedding. Plenty of space for sleeping, hanging out on the front porch, and getting all 13 of us ready for the wedding was easy with the 4 bathrooms. Very nice low key neighborhood with lots of walkable restaurants and shopping. We had ages 24-62 and all had a fun time. Would recommend strongly to family/friends and sure hope it is available when we return to the area. The owner was very responsive to our inquiries and questions.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Home In Seattle

Review submitted: May 2, 2011   Date of arrival: April 21, 2011

My family just returned from a stay at this beautiful home. With its large bedrooms, comfortable and tasteful furnishings, and character charm, we had an incredible vacation. The location is conveniently close to shops, parks and a 10 minute drive to downtown Seattle. I will definately stay here upon return. Thank you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Rental for family attending wedding

Review submitted: April 21, 2011   Date of arrival: March 30, 2011

This house was beautiful and well furnished for accomodating our out of town families attending a wedding in Seattle. It exceeded our expectations- the dining room seats 10, WiFi is provided and having 4 bathrooms was heavenly for getting everyone ready for the wedding!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great house and location

Review submitted: March 25, 2011   Date of arrival: March 15, 2011

My son got married and his immediate family is from Michigan. This house was great for everyone to stay together and located very close to downtown. A few of us mastered the bus to get around without driving and parking fees. The website is an accurate description and the owner was accomodating. Would recommend to anyone needing this kind of space.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful rental!

Review submitted: February 16, 2011   Date of arrival: February 3, 2011

The photos for this rental very accurately capture the home. It is beautiful!

I rented this house for me and my family (8 adults in total) to stay for my wedding. We couldn't have asked for a better place! Not only is it is immaculate and attractively furnished, but all of the rooms in the home are very spacious. The house was fully equipped with everything we needed during our stay.

I would definitely recommend this house to anyone visiting the area.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wedding Visitors - Family of 8

Review submitted: January 18, 2011   Date of arrival: December 29, 2010

Our family of eight, including 2 sets of grandparents and 2 college students, thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this beautifully decorated home! We were in Seattle for a family wedding and the 4 bathrooms came in very handy as we prepared for the ceremony. The grandparents appreciated not having to climb stairs, with 2 very comfortable bedrooms and a bath on the main floor. The living and dining rooms were spacious and comfortable. The kitchen was well appointed, and we prepared breakfasts and a few lunches and dinners there. The groceries were just a few blocks away, and we enjoyed walking through the university district on a particularly sunny day. One of our students had several "online" school assignments to complete, and the wireless internet was much appreciated. The house is easy to find, just a few blocks off I-5. We've already shared the owner's contact information with Seattle friends for future rentals!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Dorine and family

Review submitted: January 8, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

If you are looking for a home to accommodate a large number of people, look no further. My family rented this gem, located in the University District, for a family reunion over the Christmas holiday. The photos accurately portray the beauty of this 100+ year old craftsman house. The furnishings were similar to what one would find in a upscale boutique hotel, comfortable, immaculate and well appointed. We had everything we needed to prepare Christmas dinner for our large family. The location was perfect; public transportation, grocery stores, coffee shops, restaurants and the beautiful Green Lake area all within walking distance and with easy access to I5, trips to downtown and beyond were without hassle. Joe, the owner, went out of his way to provide what we needed to make this a special visit. I would rent this house without hesitation the next time our plans call for a trip to the Seattle area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Seattle gem!

Review submitted: November 29, 2010   Date of arrival: November 23, 2010

The University District home far exceeded our expectations. The house is spacious, spectacularly clean, tastefully decorated and sumptuously furnished. The kitchen and dining room are well-appointed; we couldn't have asked for a better place to prepare and enjoy our Thanksgiving feast. The living room fireplace provided a warm, cozy, inviting atmosphere, WiFi kept us in touch with friends back home, and the large (yet inconspicuous) HDTV with satellite kept football fans happy. As the rest of the house, bedrooms/bathrooms were super clean and comfy; a welcome pleasure for family members who had travelled from Oregon, Texas, Ohio, Illinois, and Washington D.C.

The location was perfect: centrally located, easy to find, convenient to downtown, within easy walking distance of Whole Foods, Trader Joe's, shops and restaurants. We enjoyed walking about the quiet, friendly neighborhood, especially the trail around Green Lake (by foot, just take 8th to Ravenna). Had it not been for the ice/snow on the ground, we would certainly have taken advantage of the great bikes provided. Though the owner was across the country, he remained accessible by phone/email and very responsive to our questions and needs.

We really can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay. Highly, highly recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

University District House

Review submitted: November 15, 2010   Date of arrival: November 12, 2010

Fabulous house - a perfect configuration for our large family of eight adults and four kids. This property is clean, newly remodeled with plenty of bathrooms (a real plus!!); a large table for family dining; good sized, workable kitchen; lots of room for the kids to play (inside and outside); nice amenities throughout (Pack and Play, air mattress, ironing board, etc.), great, centralized location with easy access to downtown. Everything about this property is first rate. We would definitely recommend this house for larger groups/families and we hope to use it again in the future!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely Perfect Home for Families Visiting Seattle

Review submitted: November 10, 2010   Date of arrival: November 4, 2010

This beautiful home is conveniently located in the University District in Seattle. The listing description and photos provided an accurate description of the property. Upon arrival, we found it to be everything we had expected and more. From the outside it looked like the perfect place, and the moment we opened the door, we were pleased to find a sparkling clean, fresh smelling home away from home. It was surprisingly well furnished for a rental unit. The kitchen was well supplied with all that anyone could need - even a waffle iron. The architecture, detail work, and furnishings were very attractive and comfortable. There were big fluffy beds, comforters and towels. I can't say enough about how nice and clean everything was. The whole house seemed brand new.

The neighborhood was friendly and nice for walking or biking (on the bikes that were provided). Renting this house made visiting Seattle much nicer than staying in a hotel. It provided us with a place for visiting with family and friends. It was admired by everyone that stayed there and everyone that visited us.

It was a quick and easy drive to everything we wanted to do. We were in town for a wedding and the accompanying festivities. The rehearsal dinner, wedding, and reception were just minutes away. Our first restaurant visit was to the Latona Pub - very close to the house - where we had great food and drinks. We also visited Pagliacci Pizza Restaurant which was quite good - near the University. We had Thai food at a nearby restaurant. Restaurants, markets, and shopping are all easily accessible to the house.

It was also a quick and easy drive to the center of the city - where we visited the famous Pike Place Market, the Rock n Roll Music Experience and the Sci-Fi Museum. We had lunch on top of the Space Needle - which I highly recommend. We also took the Bainbridge Ferry to a lovely island with nice shops and restaurants.

I think this is probably the nicest rental I have had. I could not have been more pleased with the entire experience. The owner was very helpful from the initial contact through the visit follow-up. He was easy to contact and provided assistance, advice and ideas. I highly recommend this property and the owner to anyone planning a visit to Seattle.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house in great location

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

I recently rented this house with eight friends for a reunion of sorts. We all loved how the home had a traditional craftsman style, but was thoroughly updated. It turned out to be the perfect layout with large bedrooms, spacious (and many) bathrooms, a great living area, and a nice updated kitchen. There were often four or five people cooking at a time and it was never overly crowded.
I would recommend this house for groups 8-12 in size. There isn't a backyard, but there are parks nearby and the front porch more than makes up for any lacking outdoor space. Lots to do nearby. The U district is within walking distance and Greenlake is a very short drive. No hassle rental.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This place really works

Review submitted: October 8, 2010   Date of arrival: September 30, 2010

We had a big crowd for a wedding. Needed space, found it with five bedrooms and four baths but there was also a wonderful sense of home and intimacy. We had little problem picking out bedrooms. They were all good. Modern kitchen in an antique setting. Wi-fi woked fine. Only complaint was limited cable TV for watching college football. Great location, close to city, the university and movie theaters. We loved it. Would recommend it without hesitation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Highly recommended!!

Review submitted: September 30, 2010   Date of arrival: September 9, 2010

I rented this house for my family to stay in for my wedding weekend. I was really impressed with all the amenities and the quality of materials. The beds & linens were really nice, the kitchen fully equipped with a great gas grill in the back. There´s a great front porch to sit, chat & relax with a glass of wine It´s situated in a really nice neighborhood that is centrally located to the rest of Seattle and has easy access to I-5. My family was really happy and comfortable here and I won´t hesitate to rent it again for our next family event.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This house was perfect!

Review submitted: September 7, 2010   Date of arrival: August 19, 2010

We rented this property as a home base for family during a Seattle wedding. It worked out perfectly. Everyone had their own space (all the bathrooms were definently a plus!) It was so much nicer than being in a hotel as we tended to gather in the kitchen and on the big front porch. Everyone was relaxed and comfortable, which is how you want people to be prior to and after a wedding. I would highly recommend this property to anyone staying in the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

It felt like home

Review submitted: September 5, 2010   Date of arrival: August 10, 2010

My family rented this house to attend a wedding in Seattle. The house was absolutely beautiful and clean. The neighborhood was very nice and safe. We had 12 adults and 4 kids, ranging in age from 3 mos to 79 yrs. Everyone was very comfortable and really enjoyed the stay. It felt like home. One of the highlights was sitting out on the porch at night and reminiscing about old times. It reminded me of where I grew up. The house was fully equipped with everything we needed including a crib, blankets, towels & wash clothes, soap, toilet paper, napkins, papertowels, pots & pans, cups, utensils, coffee pot, filters, dishwashing liquid, Plasma TV, DVD player, movies, router to access the Internet, washer & dryer, laundry detergent and more. In the past, We've had to buy some of these things with previous rentals, so it was nice that it was included. The bedrooms were very spacious with ample closet space. There was also plenty of parking. We had approximately 3 cars. In addition, the entire rental process including check in/out went very smoothly. We would definitely rent this property again and recommend it to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Beautiful House !

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

I hosted a family reunion in seattle ... the house was perfect! Very clean and very tastefully decorated. Tons of space for everyone .... It was a great find - - i'd recommend this place to anyone!
Also, the owner was very friendly and helpful when making all the arrangements

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for family gathering.

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: July 22, 2010

We rented the U District home to house out-of-town family attending a giant family reunion. The house exceeded our expectations. Immaculate, beautifully decorated (but durable) and a very sensible floor plan. We brought our Wii for the kids. The living room became Wii central, while the older folks sat on the huge front porch (that looked into the LR) and teenagers took over the dining room table (that also opened to the LR). So it never felt like we were separated. A true family reunion.

There's a lovely back porch with a nice BBQ, plenty of dishes in the kitchen and so many bathrooms there was never a wait.

I would rent this house again in a minute.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We Loved This House!

Review submitted: July 10, 2010   Date of arrival: June 20, 2010

For a week-long family gathering, this house was perfect. Easy, neighborhood access to groceries, farmers' market, and assorted services; close to I-5 for whale watching, Pike Place Market, the Museum of Flight, and similar outings; a kitchen and dining space that readily accommodated meals for a dozen; a porch that gave readers a refuge from the World Cup on the large-screen TV and the games of young ones; and furnishings that were both comfortable and stylistically appealing--all of our needs were met; all of our expectations, exceeded.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Dream rental home!!

Review submitted: July 7, 2010   Date of arrival: June 30, 2010

We stayed in this lovely home for five days, and we cannot say enough good things about it!! It is beautifully remodeled and impeccably decorated, right down to the elegant sheets and towels! It has every convenience we needed and then some. There were nine of us, ranging in age from 20 months to senior adults, and each of us felt right at home. The neighborhood is lovely, amenities are close by, and the location of the house makes it perfect for Seattle sightseeing. The photos of this house perfectly capture its beauty, but they don't come close to describing the wonderfully comfy beds in every room. The kitchen was a dream to use as well. When we return to Seattle, this will be the place we'll stay again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely Home ... Perfect for Hosting Pre-wedding Gatherings

Review submitted: July 7, 2010   Date of arrival: June 20, 2010

Our family enjoyed the beautiful well-kept, clean home for accomodations for our son's wedding. We easily housed 10 adults, l baby and 1 toddler ... out-of-state family members. We were able to host gatherings at the home the week prior to the wedding. The kitchen was a delight with plenty of placesettings for a crowd; as well as essential equipment for cooking. The front porch was a delight. There were plenty of towels and linens, paper products and cleaning supplies. Having the use of a washer, dryer, bikes, travel crib and stroller were all pluses. Plenty of parking, wifi, cable TV with DVD and large flat screen TV were all enjoyed. Joe, the owner, was extremely helpful, making sure that we had an expandable gate to close the stairs from the small ones! The home was an easy drive to our son's home, the wedding site; as well as site seeing activities.
We highly recommend this lovely home!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for Large Gatherings

Review submitted: June 22, 2010   Date of arrival: June 10, 2010

The place was perfect: clean, well maintained, and immaculately furnished. Ideally located near the U-district and Greenlake, it has easy access on and off the freeway. What I remember about the place was the comfortable beds, the free internet access, full working kitchen, and the large flat screen TV. But what I will probably stick with me was the sense of home. It was large and we all had our private spaces, but the living room, dining room, kitchen, and porch allowed us to all be together.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a blessing!

Review submitted: June 22, 2010   Date of arrival: June 10, 2010

The house was everything and more. With it's three upstair suites (bedroom/bath combo), two bedrooms and bath downstairs, and a sleeper sofa, there was enough room for the twelve of us. It was clean and immaculately furnished with ultra comfortable beds, a huge flat screen tv in the living room, and a full working kitchen. Plus it comes with free internet access. It was perfect for our large family gathering in Seattle, celebrating my daughter's graduation from SPU. It was easy access on and off the freeway, and we loved being near Greenlake, Cowen Park, U-Dub, SPU, and the surrounding neighborhoods. The owner was responsive to all our my questions before we arrived, and was nice enough to join us for a quick meal on the porch when we invited him. It was truly a sad day when we had to leave and check-out of the house.

The next time I travel to Seattle and need to house a large group for an extended stay, this place will be first on my list.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review