reviews for: listing #65920 - Isle of Palms, South Carolina Condo rental

TWO Oceanfront deck w/PRIVATE STAIRS & PENTHOUSE
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $280 - $575 /nt
    $1,300 - $3,450 /wk

sort by:

Excellent condo

Review submitted: October 28, 2013   Date of arrival: October 12, 2013

This is the nicest condo that we have EVER stayed in. Very clean,and plenty of room. We had 3 generations on this trip, so for my father who has a very hard time walking, it was wonderful with the elevator, steps to the pool and boardwalk to the beach. For my daughter and son-in-law, who have 2 children, ages 3 and 1, it was so convientent, getting out to the beach with the children.
The pictures of the condo don't do it justice, it's much bigger than it looks.
Thanks for sharing your condo, we loved our visit!!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities

Owners response: Wonderful ! I love to hear you and your family enjoyed our beach condo. I know how important family is and to have everyone come together is great.

We bought the condo so our grandchildren and children would come to visit and have a vacation at the same time.

Glad you appreciated how close everything is from the deck - a few steps and then you are in the pool or going to the beach. I enjoy sitting on the deck and watching the grandchildren in the pool.

You are not the first person to say the pictures do not do the condo justice. I think we will need to get some professional pictures to showcase the condo.

Hope you have found a new home and come back again ! Nancy

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Youngsters 87 & 90 still beach vacationing

Review submitted: October 1, 2013   Date of arrival: September 21, 2013

We were with our elderly parents and we stayed in unit 201. The condo was everything that was promised, it was great and it has a spectacular view of the beach and ocean. I relaxed on the balcony every morning and drank my coffee, read my book and listened to the calming ocean. My father-in-law just kept saying "Now this is the life" & "It doesn't get better than this”. The wide hallways, large master bath with the walk-in shower made things really easy for our parents to get around. The access to the beach was great to get them to the beach. The location is great and within walking distance of shops and restaurants . We were only about 20-25 minutes to Charleston where there are a lot of different things to do and see plus great restaurants. 10-15 minutes to Mt Pleasant where we tried a couple of good restaurants, "Paige's Okra's Cafe"-breakfast, lunch & dinner & "LaPizzarria"- authentic Italian. The owner was great and was always available to address any questions or concerns. Our vacation was wonderful and I have already recommended this condo to a friend of mine. Thanks for making our vacation so nice. Thanks, Susan

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so very much for the glowing remarks. I love to hear that the visitors to our condo found everything they expected.

Wonderful that you got to experience Charleston and Isle of Palms.as they both offer so much to see, do and enjoy. The variety of food is also a treat. You can find anything you are looking to enjoy.

You proved that age is not a requirement to enjoy the beach. I hope to be visiting for many years.

Please come back again - birth celebrations for everyone !!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

FIREWORKS - watched from our deck OUTSTANDING

Review submitted: August 22, 2013   Date of arrival: July 4, 2013

This was the first time we saw the fireworks on Front Beach. They were fantastic - best part we sat on our deck at the condo and they were incredible. I can't believe how long they went on - I would say over 30 minutes.

The City of Isle of Palms really put on a wonderful show.

The condo we stayed in was 102 - it was beautiful - clean - perfect - 5 stars does not say enough - it is outstanding. The ocean front view is fantastic. There was not one thing missing from the kitchen to the locked storage unit filled with beach chairs and sand toys, The kids are all ages and everyone found something to play with from the littlest to the oldest. OK my husband did use the boggie board and loved it.

Thanks for letting us have a wonderful beach vacation and 4th of July to remember.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Breathtaking ocean view

Review submitted: June 7, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

I just wanted to tell you how much we enjoyed our vacation and our stay at your beach home. I can’t even begin to tell you how lovely your home is. We felt so comfortable and so welcome. The condo is stunning! It was perfect for the four of us. We each loved having our own baths and the “extra” hall bath was perfect for the guys. (the girls claimed the attached baths and told the guys to “rough it” sharing the hall one!) We loved the view …we just marveled at the breathtaking ocean view. Such a welcomed change from white, white, white snow!

The area is beautiful. We had never been to South Carolina before and we were so taken back to how lovely Charleston is. It is a charming city. It was nice not to see skyscrapers and glass buildings. We toured the harbor by boat and then did a horse drawn carriage ride just to get our bearings so that we could decide where we wanted to spend our time. We toured the Magnolia Plantation and the lovely gardens with all its flowers in bloom and even caught sight of a few alligators! We drove to Savannah, nice but not as nice as Charleston, toured around Hilton Head, (not impressed by any means) and went to Daniels Island and of course Sullivan’s Island. Tried to get shrimp off the boats at Shem Creek but we missed the season by one day! We ate our fill of seafood, fish, seafood, shrimp, seafood, collard greens, and did I say seafood? Made great friends with the cashiers at Piggly Wiggly off the 517 connector in Mt Pleasant. They were sorry to say goodbye to us Yankees on our last day.

I have so many beautiful shells and starfish that are a pleasant reminder of our vacation. It was fascinating to see all the dolphins too.

We loved all the restaurants ….we dined at the Morgan Creek Grill, the Boathouse, Water’s Edge, A.W Shucks and RB’s (the only one we didn’t like). We also had drinks and appetizers at Pearlz in Charleston which was divine. We did a Gullah buffet on the road as soon as you come over from Charleston, can’t remember the name of the place or the street but it was good too. We didn’t do any cooking in your kitchen other than breakfast. After all, we were on vacation! I wouldn’t mind cooking there tho, just standing at the sink and looking out at the ocean would inspire me to be more Martha Stewart-like! Having coffee every morning on the deck watching the sun come up soothed our winter ravaged souls!
We walked across the street and rented bikes one afternoon.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Condo 302/Dunescape IOP

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

We have rented several privately-owned condos and houses in the past. There is always a bit of anxiety for me as we open the door and actually see the property. Condo 302 was a very pleasant surprise--spacious, clean, well-equipped, and exquisite views.

As I looked out from the living area, I felt like i was on a cruise ship as all I could see was ocean. If i am anywhere near an ocean, I want to be on the ocean. This was certainly the case for Condo 302. We spent lots of time at the beach, but also very much enjoyed our time on the large lanai--particularly morning coffee. The pool was fun, too, and we were pleased with the daily cleaning of it.

Our daughter, son-in-law, and year-old grandson joined us for the week. The spaciousness of the condo was ideal for all. We were together, but everyone had a place of their own, too. We especially appreciated the high chair and pack n play for the baby as we were flying and, obviously, couldn't bring much with us. Having the washer and dryer in the unit was very helpful, too, after a day at the beach.

The location was excellent, We could walk to many places, but also drove into Charleston several times. Having two parking spaces was great!

Thanks, Nancy and family, for sharing your condo with us.

Jill R.

Owners response: Jill,

Thank you so very much for the wonderful review. I appreciate the time you took to write the review. I remember checking to be sure that housekeeping knew the baby was coming.

My favorite place in the condo is outside on the deck. We have most of our meals outside so we can enjoy the view. I agree sunrise and sunset are memorable. My husband is up early so he walks to get a newspaper and has the coffee ready on the deck. I am more of the sunset person and enjoy the different colors in the evening sky.

I am sure you used the beach chairs and toys. I hope your one year old grand child enjoyed the sand toys and played in the surf. We try to keep toys for all ages so I hope your one year old found some toys or floats to entertain. He will have to come back next year and start the sand castle building project.

We try very hard to keep our two condos in perfect condition. Thank you for letting us know we are doing our job.

I also like walking to the nearby shops and food. We have six grand children and use both condos for our family each year. I love that we are so close that if someone wants to go back to the condo they can walk and not need to be driven. I think this is one of the best features of Isle of Palms. It is like an old fashioned village and we love it.

We would love to have you back in IOP - you are always welcome. Thanks, Nancy

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely wonderful condo 102 has it all - plus

Review submitted: July 21, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

Absolutely wonderful. Unit 102 has it all plus some

Reviewed March 30, 2012 via mobile


We are in the car drIving back to Michigan and I had to get on here to write a review. The previous review on unit 102 is dead on. Our comments are the same. Having the stairs down to the pool, beach, and grill is great. We grilled every day. It was like having your own Backyard.

The unit is so clean. You feel at home.

We could not believe how well stocked the kitchen was. You have everything you need to cook. You do not need to bring anything. They provide enough dishwasher detergent .

The beach toys were more than I would ever expect - even equipped with a beach tent for the kids. Sand toys, boards, chairs, and even a cooler were there


They have really made this place enjoyable. I believe they also own unit 302, so you can probably expect the same there.

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Excellent condo

Review submitted: July 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 11, 2012

Excellent condo
Reviewed July 11 2012

We rented 302 through vrbo. The owner was responsive and helpful. The unit was absolutely lovely and beautifully maintained. dunescape is walking distance to lots of restaurants and shops. Hucks low country was excellent and Acme Cantina was very good. we will be back. there is a noise ordinance that quiets things down after10 during the week and 11 on weekends. it was followed and since you can not have alcohol on the street or beach things stayed quiet. a perfect vacation.


This is our guest Judy July 7th stay in 302.

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

property22864

Review submitted: July 2, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

This was our fifth year staying at this location and was very pleased with all the accomodations and look forward to more vacations at this Isle of Palms condo. Everything is well maintained and a great location.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car

Owners response: So glad you returned to Isle of Palms. You now hold the record for the number of returning visits to our condo. You have been there every year since we bought our fist condo.

I agree with you that the location is great. I love walking to everything. Get a newspaper in the morning, post card to mail or T-shirt for the grandchildren. Parking the car and not diving all the time is wonderful.

It is very nice to see that our efforts to keep the condo in perfect condition pays off. We do our best to continually clean and update.

Look forward to your 6th return ot the beach. Thanks so much.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Home Away from Home

Review submitted: April 8, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

Most relaxing vacation I've taken in years! Condo was clean and well stocked with everything you need. The only thing I couldn't find was a cleaner to wipe off the counter in the kitchen or dish clothes. Both would have been helpful but we managed. Loved to wake in the morning to see the sunrise, collect shells or just sit on the porch. GREAT VIEW! My youngest daughter was in and out of the pool several times a day so it was really handy to be so close. Having our own stairs to the pool/beach area was a bonus. Within walking distance to local shops and restaurants. The only thing I wasn't aware of is that this condo is right next to the "Windjammer Bar & Grill." Be aware that this has a beach volleyball court right beside the pool fence. Friday thru Sunday they play very loud annoying music and it makes laying out at the pool less enjoyable. The beach supplies provided is also a bonus. So much less we didn't need to pack!! All the paper products (except napkins) were provided. Nice selection of games and videos for all ages. Our car didn't get hot inside due to the covered parking area, which was also nice. All in all a great vacation destination. Thanks Nancy! It was a pleasure working with you.

Owners response: Thank you for your wonderful review.

We try very had to make the condo as comfortable as possible. I know the beach toys and chairs save you bringing yours or buying them in IOP. My grandchildren play all day long with the toys and make "things of beauty" with the sand. It is impossible to get them to come into the condo each evening.

I am sorry the volleyball was distracting We have not noticed the music being loud but maybe there was a special tournment or something to cause the change. I am glad it did not take away from the trip.

I have to agree that the full oceanfront view from our deck is hard to beat. We have breakfast and lunch on the deck and having easy access to the grill is a big plus. With little grandchildren the stairs really help as they always forget something - need something or just want to come and get a hug.

Thanks again for your kind remarks. We try to make sure you have everything to make it a wonderful beach vacation.

Hope to see you again in IOP.

Nancy

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

This place has it all! You found a gem!

Review submitted: April 4, 2012   Date of arrival: March 22, 2012

We just came back from our trip and I had to write a review. This unit has it all. Having the stairs down to the pool, beach, and grill is great. It was so enjoyable, that the only time we got in our car was to go to Fort Moultrie on Sullivan's Island, only 15 minutes away, on a colder day. We had had plans of going to places, but it was too enjoyable at the beach!

The balcony is great! Covered and large.

Cleanliness:
Simply said, the unit is so very clean. You feel at home and comfortable lounging in the condo. My sister in law said she is usually not comfortable at rentals due to the cleanliness factor and she said she felt like she was in her own house. That says a lot!.

Amenities:
We could not believe how well stocked the kitchen was. You have everything you need to cook. You don't need to bring anything. You may want to bring a bottle of 409 for wiping in kitchen and extra clothes washer detergent. They offer dish wash detergent and paper towels. Although, you may want an extra roll of this.

Have little ones? They also offer a full size high chair that was very clean and a pack and play if you need that.

The beach toys were more than I would ever expect - even equipped with a beach tent for the kids. Sand toys, boards, chairs, and even a cooler were there.

Food / Beverages:
There is a Costco near the airport, about 20 minutes away. We grabbed our food for the week there & at the Piggly Wiggly, which is just before the bridge to the island. There is also a local grocery on the island, in a strip mall, right when you come over the bridge to your left (NW corner). A 2 minute drive from the condo.

SC only sells liquor at ABC Packaging stores. It is in the strip next to the local grocery store. Beer and wine is at the grocery store.

There is even a fish store on the island with local fair that is a 10 minute walk at most. (It is in the strip mall across from the local grocery store) We grabbed some local fare (the shrimp was awesome) and brought it back to grill with the skewers they provide. A huge advantage of this unit is the stairwell that leads not only to a pool or beach, but to a gas grill. How nice it was to be able to grill out everyday - it was like walking down to your own personal yard. They keep 3 propane tanks by the grill, so you are sure to have gas for your grilling needs.

I believe they also own unit 302, so u can probably expect the same there

Owners response: Thank you so very much for the review of our condo 102 in Isle of Palms.

You bring up so many of the important issues that we work very hard to maintain. Cleaning is one of our biggest efforts. We spend lots of time before the condos are rented to make sure they are all painted, cleaned from top to bottom and replace anything not in perfect condition. It is nice to see that you notice the extra attention. Thanks for taking notice.

We try to have everything I want to use in the kitchen plus anything we can think of for our guest. My family also likes shrimp. We take the extra large pot and cook outside on the grill with the local "boil" filled with spice and flavor. I have not grilled them but next time I will try it. Sounds like a lot less work. I love the grill also - we cook out everyday. It makes meals so much quicker and with more flavor. We always have grand children with us so eating in or on the deck is a daily activity. They are to little to sit long and I find it better for all of us. We walk to the grocery you mentioned as it has a great selection of fresh cut meat and cooked items if you don't want to cook. The liquor store has a very good seletion - we fly to IOP so always need to stop there for purchases.

So glad you enjoyed the beach toys. We clean and replenish these each year before the Spring season. I can't believe how much we have - the bins are full of sand toys and the boggie boards are always in demand. With 6 grandchildren - it is a must that everyone have something to enjoy. What fun is the beach with no toys !!! Some guest rent chairs but I like to have them in case you just want to relax and not spend additional money.

You are correct about out other condo 302 - it is on the top floor and for those who like the sun it is perfect. The view is also oceanfront - but somehow being on the top seems like you are on the top of the world !! We have an extra large umbrealla for that condo so the non sun lovers like me have shad when they need it. We have all the same items for that condo so if you try it one day - you will have the same cleaniness and kitchen. The only difference is that condo is we have two lounge chairs plus the table and chairs so you can enjoy the sun.

Thanks again for your very kind words. We take pride in keeping high standards. I love to come to IOP myself and I want everything perfect for me or my guest.

Come back again - you are welcome anytime.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Favorite condo

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: October 24, 2011

We have been coming to IOP for 8yrs and have stayed in this condo 4x. We have stayed in every condo bldg. except 1 in the village of IOP and rented houses in Beachside and this is still my favorite . It is in the same immaculate condition that it was in 8yrs ago. It has everything you need for a great family vacation. We attend culture events several nights a week in Charleston and it is an easy drive to town.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for returning to IOP. I love when a returning guest wants to come back again. We enjoy having you back to our beach home. It is great to hear we are still the condo you pick after all of your visits. We do set our standards very high. Part of keeping our comdo in perfect condition is the respect our guest have for keeping it that way. So here is to you for your loving attention during your visit.

Hope to see you again in IOP.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

A dream vacation at a dream location!

Review submitted: October 22, 2011   Date of arrival: October 2, 2011

We have visited Charleston every year and we always stayed in a hotel. We decided to treat ourselves this year and stay in a condo. We had the time of our lives and will NEVER return to a hotel!! We enjoyed the penthouse condo during our stay. The views were breathtaking! It was so convenient to have reserved parking. We also had access to a storage unit that was well stocked with beach items, but it was also convenient for us so that we didn't have to haul our own sandy beach things up to the condo! The condo itself was beautiful--the decor is a lovely beach motif. The kitchen area has everything that you need. It was also wonderful to have access to a washer/dryer. Without a doubt, I would recommend this condo. The owner is great to work with and she quickly gets back to you with answers to any questions you might have. We are hoping that all of our future trips to Isle of Palms will find us staying at this location!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so very much for taking time to review our beach condo. It is wonderful to hear from our guest that they enjoyed their beach get-a-way. I have to agree that everything about our condo and location are the very best. I fell in love with Isle of Palms and the location of our condo.

Things I would not have thought about you have mentioned like the beach chairs and toys in a locked storage unit instead of in the condo or on the deck. As much as I love the sand - I like it best on the beach and in the ocean. It is great not having to bring all of the items let alone find a place to put them.

The parking is also a big plus - gated parking and building keeps us private from normal traffic. Two parking spaces are just right and having them numbered let you know your parking space is there when you return.

I try to keep our condos in perfect condition. I can't be in IOP as much as I would like but when I get time for my own get-a-way I like knowing the condo will be ready for me and for any guest. The cleaning staff do a wonderful job with extra effort and custom assignments to keep our condos in the very best condition.

Thanks again for your kind words. We look forward to your return for more memories.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Great Girls Weekend!

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

What a great condo! Everything we needed was there and the unit was very clean. The views from the balcony were wonderful. We were close to everything and could have left the cars at home. We will certainly be back next year!

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind words. I am so glad you had a great time. It makes the hard work and extra expense worthwhile when I hear from a guest. I have to agree with you that the location could not be more perfect. Parking your car and walking to anything you need is one of the reasons we bought the condo. I am not a fan of driving all the time. When one of the grandchildren wants an ice cream, t-shirt or post card you can just walk down the street. I love it! I think you had a girls weekend and even more important is that you can park and not worry about drinking and driving. There are some great local places to eat just a short walk away. My favorite Acme Cantina - great home cooking and small bar - perfect beach hang out.

Hope to see you again next year. So glad you love Isle of Palms and our condo !!!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Beach front - amazing view and fantastic condo !!

Review submitted: September 16, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

I love the beach, ocean and having a pool all within steps of the condo. This is the best vacation because you have everything within reach - full oceanfront view from the deck - pool just steps from the building - to walk in the sand just go thru the beach gate by the pool - you are just steps away from it all. The location is the very best. You drive over the bridge thru the City of Isle of Palms and you are there - at the perfect condo. I love the gated parking and two parking spaces so each of us have a place for our car. My brother and I have our families at the beach sharing the condo so our children can play together. Once a year we try to meet in a vacation area to enjoy family time. This is the best location and condo we have ever rented. It is so beautiful. You can tell that someone took a special interest to make sure everything was perfect. The beach design is fantastic. You really have the feeling of being on vacation.

We have gone to North Carolina several times but did not have the same advantage as IOP. We can walk to everything. I love it.

There are so many beach toys to pay with that the children can't pick what to use first. They love the boards that float in the water and chase them along the waves.

I tried to build the tallest sand tower ever - it was amazing. We worked all day on it and a lot of other people came by and added to it so we could set our own record. Lots of fun!

There are a lot of activities around Charlestom and we did attend a show in the city and have dinner at one of the local favorite dinners.

Great shopping center just minutes away has all of the stores you could want and more. I did not plan to shop but I could not pass it up. My husband took the kids to a movie and I had plenty of time to explore on my own.

Everything about this vacation was great. The owner was very easy to work with and had the crib and high chair waiting and ready for my little one. It was great not bringing all the baby things. She even had a blanket for the baby just in case.

Great selection of books and movies for all interest. The kids loved the games and there was a puzzle that took us almost a day to put together. I forgot how much fun I enjoyed puzzles.

Loved the kitchen - everyting we needed and more. There was not one thing I needed that was not provided. It was wonderful. We ate in often and really enjoyed the table on the deck for most of our meals.

Can't wait to return !!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed Isle of Palms. Now you see why we love it so much !!! It is the best way to relax and let everyone have a lot of fun. My first visit I fell in love with the beautiful beach and ocean view. I love to hear about the families that stay in our condos. We also try to get the entire family together at the beach. It is the perfect get a way. Everyone is so busy but somehow we all make time to come to the beach.

The beach toys are always a hit! We try to cover all ages - from the little ones to the big kids - my husband being one of the big kids. He is in charge of picking the boards and skimmers so there is something for everyone. I know when I pack for the beach I can't get one more thing in the luggage so it is nice to have things in the locked storage unit. I also like that you don't carry the sandy toys upstairs but can lock them in our storage unit by our parking space.

We try to have all the baby needs covered so less for our guest to pack. I can remember traveling with a baby. It is always a challenge and so much to bring on a vacation. I am sure having a washer and dryer in the condo helps.

Thanks for your kind review. We look forward to your return to IOP.

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

OCEANFRONT says it ALL! Breath taking view !

Review submitted: September 16, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

The pictures on the web site do not even come close to show this beautiful beach theme condo. I can't believe this is a rental - it is SO clean and very well kept. It has everything - gourmet kitchen - large deck - all eight of us could sit at the dining table. Three bedrooms and three bathrooms - perfect. The owner has two condos and we picted the top floor with two king bedrooms and the third queen bed plus two twins. All bedrooms have an attached bath - very nice. Really enjoyed the beach chairs and sand toys. There was something for everyone. The elevator is great - saves the climbing of stairs. Pool was great - we were the only ones swimming. Beach gate is right there so you can be on the beach in minutes. The little town of IOP is perfect. We walk to ice cream and pizza for mid day snack. The little stores have great t-shirts for everyone. I loved the food choices you have just in walking distance. No driving all the time - it has on old fashined feel about the area where you walk instead of drive. We did not use our car except one day to go the Charleston. The aquarium was very nice and the owners suggested the sea turtle hospital - it was wonderful. The grand children loved the sea turtles.

Our first time to visit Isle of Palms. Very best beach vacation ever. Such a beautiful condo - very comfortable - very well maintained and so clean. We have already reserved for next summer. This is a gem. Working with the owner was so easy. She really has loves IOP and now we do too !!!

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so very much for your kind words. It was wonderful to have you in Isle of Palms and enjoy Front Beach. I agree with you that walking to get a snack or ice cream can't be beat. It is so nice that we all don't have to get in the car and drive for a bit to eat. There are some wonderful places to eat just minutes from the condo. Pizza to gourmet meals all just down the street make it an ideal location.

So glad you like to beach toys and chairs. We keep adding to the collection when something new comes out. With six grand children we always have lots of beach action during our family outings.

Thank you for mentioning how clean we keep the condo. I take great pride in making our two condos the very best experience for my guest and my enjoyment. I want your trip to be special and do everything I can to help make it so. Our cleaning staff are the very best and they work hard to be sure it is perfect. The furniture and carpet are cleaned several times a year to keep that as new look. I make sure touch up painting is done at least four times a year so there are never marks on the walls. It is my home also and my beach vacation. I wnat to walk in the door and have it perfect for me and my guest.

We just added the queen bed to the third bedroom and I have received very good comments. The two king beds have always been a hit and now the addition of the queen bed makes it perfect for three couples. Most of our guest are families with grand parents or siblings. Having everyone comfortable for a good nights sleep is important. The new flat screen TV is also a hit.

I appreciate the time you took to send this review. It is great to hear how you enjoyed you time in IOP and at our beach home. See you soon !!!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Great for the entire family

Review submitted: September 9, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

Everthing about this place lives up to it's decription. The furnishings are attractive, clean and comfy. You didn't need any extra bathroom, bedroom or kitchen essentials. Even chairs and toys for the beach. We went with our children and grandgirls and everyone had everything we needed. No need to carry a hairdryer, it's there.

My husband and I really loved the large porch. During a rain shower we all gathered there and were not falling over each other. My daughter spent time on her ipad, Nana and Papa relaxing and the kids playing with the droplets of rain off the roof.

The location is marvelous. Only a few steps to the beach off the porch. Hungary? Out the front door and to the right you can find most anything to satisfy your appetite, large or small, breakfast, lunch or dinner.

I would recommend this condo to anyone. My husband took pictures of various things to show his friends who enjoy the beach as much as we do. (Just in case they are looking for the prefect place to stay.) And, oh yes, let's not forget. Three flat screen TV's. That really comes in handy after a long day in the sun when the grown ups want to catch the news or a ballgame and the kids can only find the Disney Channel!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words. We try to have everything anyone would want to have for cooking, playing and sleeping. You are correct about the large deck - it is great that everyone can be outside and have plenty of room to sit and enjoy the ocean front view. We have a lot of our meals on the deck. The table is great for everyone to sit around and play games or enjoy a snack.

We do have a lot of toys and beach chairs in our locked storage unit. I like for everyone to have something special for their beach experience. I know we have all ages of grandchildren and the variety of boogie boards, skimmers, and sand building items is endless. We keep adding to the collection and get new items before the summer starts.

I also love the location. It is great to park you car and walk to get an ice cream or full meal. I love the little shops - everyone needs a T-shirt.

Thanks again for taking the time to write a review. Hope you made lots of memories to last during the winter ahead.

Come back again - we would love to have you !!!!!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Well Worth the Trip!!!!

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: April 24, 2011

We came all the way from Zurich to rent this property for 4 weeks and it was well worth the trip! This is a beautiful condo with amazing views of the ocean! Our 3 little ones especially enjoyed the location (pool and beach at your doorstep). It is also centrally located to restaurants, bars, etc, but is perfectly quiet inside the unit. The owner was extremely helpful and responsive. We would definitely rent here again and would certainly recommend this unit to others.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was a pleasure working with you on the details to make your family comfortable. I think the best part other than the breath taking ocean view is being able to park the car and walk to everything. I have six grandchildren and we are always taking a walk for ice cream or a special something. I know you had plenty of beach time. The beach toys are always a big hit so we keep adding to them so there is something for any age. Just think in a few years your little ones will be ready for a surf board. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to Isle of Palms and have new memories to take back to Zurich. Come back again !!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Fabulous views, beach and time with the family!

Review submitted: March 21, 2011   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

This is our second trip to Isle of Palms and second time renting from this owner. We had previously stayed in the lower unit with the stairs, but this past trip stayed in the 'penthouse'. WOW - what incredible views of the ocean. It was such an enjoyable place to relax with my morning coffee or a glass of wine in the evening; even getting a quick break from the kids :). I'm really impressed by the condition of the condo, it is very well maintained and included everything that they said it would.

My children, ranging in age from 8 to 12, just love this vacation spot. The beach is so close and very clean, the pool is well maintained, and we could walk to the shops, ice cream and pizza by just going out the front door. Traveling from out of state, it was nice that the owners provided boogey boards, beach chairs and other beach toys in the storage unit so that we didn't need to rent or purchase anything extra.

We've decided to go back again this year as it is just such a relaxing place to be!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the wonderful review. It is very nice to see that the extra beach toys are put to good use. I know when you travel it is hard to bring everything with you for the beach. We are so pleased to have you back again. Your son will need to try the surf boards next visit. The shop just up the street has lessons and rentals.

The top floor condo is very special. I can't pick between the two condos as to which one is more spectatular. I love the condo with stairs when I have my Grandchildren visit and really enjoy the star gazing from the top floor condo when it is my turn to get some beach time. We keep both condos in the very best condition so they are both ready to enjoy.

Look forward to welcoming you back in a few months.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Wonderful Vacation Rental

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: January 14, 2011

This is our second time staying in this condo - the decor and furniture is up-scale and very comforable. Great views of the beach and ocean - amenities make for a relaxing weekend! Handicapped accessible and very highly recommended.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind words. I love to hear that you have a wonderful time at our beach home. I keep on top of every little detail and try so hard to keep it perfect so that everyone coming to the beach can enjoy the beauty of our condo and the beach.

I agree the handicap access is very nice. At first I did not notice any difference but when my mother-in-law came with her walker I could see how easy it was for her to get around the condo and into the bathroom.

Hearing from a returning guest is always special that you picked to come visit again. I will look forward to having you back again.

Thanks for taking the time to share with me. I appreciate your time and attention.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great with kids

Review submitted: February 14, 2011   Date of arrival: April 3, 2010

Our family booked April for our spring break trip and had a super time. Going from the condo to the beach was so easy with the steps off the porch outside the back door of the unit. The condo was very clean and had plenty of games and movies for us to enjoy. We brought our own wii so the kids could play at night. Plenty of seating and view is to die for. Definately recommend to any beach lover! We walked to dinner each night and tried a different restaurant a couple blocks away. Recommend Acme Cantina. Also enjoyed the carriage ride that went around downtown Charleston for a side trip.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I love to hear from our guest that you have a wonderful time. We work very had to make sure everything is provided for your stay to be the very best possible time in Isle of Palms. It is a great place with an old fashioned feeling. I can't think of a better get a way. I love sitting on the deck and relaxing. The beach access is so close - right in the yard just a few steps away. I like sitting on the deck and watching the grandchildren play on the beach.

Acme Cantina is one of my favorite places to eat. I always recommend at least one visit. They also will get take away ready if you call and we do this at lot. With little grandchildren and all day of sand and surf it is great to pick up dinner and relax in the condo. We did add additional chairs for the dining room so there are eight seats at the table so everyone can be together.

Being so close to Charleston is great and I always go at least once during my visits. They have so much going on in the city and I agree the carriage is a favorite. It takes you back to another time where the city moved a bit slower.

We look forward to having you back at IOP in the near future. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

UNFORGETABLE VIEW - daytime dolphins and stars at night

Review submitted: September 22, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

My family stayed in the top floor condo a few weeks ago and had a wonderful vacation. I was told this is an ocean front condo but I was not prepared for the view. It is incredible. You can see the dolphins and boats go by during the day and at night the stars are beautiful. The deck is very large and we had most of our meals outside. Table and chairs for all. I really enjoyed the lounge chairs to relax and read.

The condo is well kept and very well maintained. It has a palm tree theme so you really feel you are at the beach. The kitchen had everything I needed and more. The kids loved sitting at the counter that joins the kitchen and watching me cook.

Plenty of games to keep everyone entertained. I appreciated the sand toys, boggie boards and chairs. We had so many choices.

It was nice I did not need to bring the crib or high chair for the baby There were in the condo. The kids enjoyed the bunk beds since we don't have them at home.

We ate out a few times and loved walking to the restrautants insead of driving. Plenty of shops in the little area of Isle of Palms.

This was our best beach vacation ever. We are already booked for next year and can't wait to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed our condo and IOP. I think it is perfect for a family vacation. The little City of Isle of Palms is like days past when there were no high rise buildings and a feeling of old fashioned commumity. I love that when you walk out on the deck and see the view there is no question - oceanfront means you are right there - with full ocean view.

I really enjoy the deck for meals or just relaxing and watching the waves roll. If we are having meal or relaxing it is great for anyhtime of the day. There is a calming effect just watching. Then you can grab a boggie board and be on the beach in a minute or less - and grab a big wave or little ripple. Plenty of choices for everyone.

It does ont get any better than Isle of Palms and our beach home. Come back again !!!

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Perfection!!!

Review submitted: September 22, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

We had an amazing stay at Dunescape. The condo was in immaculate condition, with a very stylish and beachy design. The view from the deck is great. The location was second to none - we were right on the beach but within walking distance to the restaurants and shops on the main strip. The set up of the condo was perfect for our two families with two king size beds with private baths for the adults and the double bunkbeds with a bath for the kids. They also provided a pack-and-play for the little ones. The kitchen was well stocked and the seating in the dining area was perfect. We were pleasantly surprised to find two highchairs waiting for us when we arrived. The property was very well maintained, and the property manager was able to answer any questions we had immediately. Also, since this unit is in the middle of the building we were not bothered with outside noise at all. Our kids loved to be able to play in the pool before or after our trips to the beach. I couldn't imagine staying at a place without a pool. They also provided several boogy boards, beach chairs and sand toys in the locked storage unit downstairs. We loved this feature as we didn't have to bring the sand up to the unit. The beach at Isle of Palms was perfect - the waves wern't too rough for the kids and the beach was never overly crowded with people. Overall, we couldn’t be happier with our stay there and we will definitely be going back soon! Highly recommended by our 8-member group, which consisted of 4 adults, two 3 year olds and two infants.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you so very much for your kind review. I was in Isle of Palms with my grandchildren just before your arrival. It was great to inspect the condo before you arrive and be sure the two high chairs were there for you. Yes they were all set as requested - our cleaning crew takes great pride in doing the very best job and follows direction very well.

Having a family with little children and a wonderful vacation can be difficult to arrange. I love that you found it to be the perfect vacation. The main reason we bought the condo was for our family and six little grand children who love the beach. Everything is right there - the pool - the beach - shopping - just down the street.

Thanks again for your kind words and we hope to welcome you back so the little ones can learn to boggie board and build another sand castle.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Great vacation spot!

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

This unit delivers! The beach is so close, as well as access to the pool. Very nice inside. The only improvements I'd suggest is more insulation in the bedroom walls, we could actually hear the person renting the other unit snoring at night (thank goodness I had earplugs), and a higher out door set. With counter or bar height chairs you'd be able to see over the porch railing out onto the beach. Windjammers next store is loud on Fri. and Sat. night too. But the beach is so close and not too busy. It has a gentle slope into the ocean, which is great for little ones...there's no sudden drop off. Near the underneath parking, the unit provides all of the beach chairs, boogie boards and sand making castles you could want, plus and umbrella. The only reason we'd consider not coming back is the noise factor.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks for your 5 star rating. We take great pride in maintaining our condo in the very best condition.

Glad you family enjoyed the beach and toys.

Hope you built sand castles and memories to last a lifetime.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

OCEANFRONT WONDERFUL LARGE CONDO - STAIRS TO POOL

Review submitted: March 20, 2009   Date of arrival: July 19, 2008

My first visit to Isle of Palms was beyond my expectations. This condo is so well maintained and supplied I thought it could not be a rental property. It reallys shows the attention to detail to keep everything updated and new.

The very large deck had plenty of room for the entire family - four adults and three children. We had most of our meals outside but the condo does have a large dining table for eight and counter space for additional four. The children loved sitting at the counter and watching me cook. This condo has private stairs from the deck so you don't have to go inside the building - just walk down the stairs to the pool, beach or to grill dinner. This was the best feature - we used the stairs all the time. We grilled out everyday.

The two main bedrooms have king beds and this was great for each couple. I can't say how much the kids enjoyed the bunk beds. They now want them at home. The three bathrooms were wonderful.

This condo is in the city of Isle of Palms. We walked to everything. Bike shop across the street for rentals. The bike shop let us keep the bikes overnight since the condo provides a private locked storage shed for bikes, sand toys and chairs. Great food choices. Steak special at ACME was $10.00.

We just booked for this July and can't wait.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Incredible Place!

Review submitted: March 20, 2009   Date of arrival: March 7, 2009

Growing up I stayed at a place like this and it was great to see there are still places out there with beach access. Walking from our condo backdoor to the beach was perfect. We have two little girls and they love jumping outside to grab some shells and come in for a snack. There is no messing with long walks to the beach or waiting on elevators each trip to the beach.
The beach is wide, long and beautiful for morning walks with the kids, sea shell hunting and relaxing.
There is also a propane grill in the grass that we boiled some fresh shrimp from a local vendor down the road off Shem Creek. Delicious. I just drove down the creek on a road and turned into a neighborhood and then next thing I see is a sign and a warehouse. I pulled in and boats were unloading their catch from payment. I've never had seafood that fresh. Take Hwy 703 (Palm Blvd) south towards Shem Creek probably about 7 miles and turn left on Live Oak Drive before the bridge. Turn left on Haddrell St. and go to the end. 100 Haddrell Street. Don't recall the name and bring cash since there is no register, just a guy with a pencil and paper. I would take a small cooler too to hold the food in or container of some sort. The shrimp poked a hole in my bag and leaked in the car. My wife was not happy with that at all.
The condo is very new and must have just been built with new appliances and furnishings. Rooms and bathrooms were great and I enjoyed the Directv being available since I have that at home as well. Kitchen was stocked with plenty of untensils and cooking goods. We ate in and walked on Palm Blvd to dine out at the restaurants a couple blocks down the street. Can't wait to book the summer for our next trip and get some more good seafood!
I loved the location, beach and people. I would reccommend to all beach lovers. Can't wait to book for next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Fabulous Family Getaway

Review submitted: February 26, 2009   Date of arrival: August 24, 2008

We stayed at this Isle of Palm condo with my family, including 3 young kids and their cousin. It was our first trip to the South Carolina beaches - they are very wide and there are lots of opportunities to find shells at low tide. The beaches are also very clean.

The property is very well maintained and comfortable - we were there at the end of the rental season and it looked like it had just been painted. A big plus is the 3 full bathrooms - you never have to wait for one! - and the large washer and dryer. Two of the bedrooms and the main family room all have TV's and DVD players - so it's easy to have separate programming for the kids and the adults in the evenings or when they need a break. And if you have to bring your laptop to check in at work (I did), they have a wireless internet connection. The condo has a very large deck that has seating/table for 8 people - we had many outdoor meals and loved to be out there at the end of the day to watch the sun set! The direct access to the beach and the pool is awesome - it was so easy to watch the kids playing at the pool without leaving the comforts of the condo. And if you forgot something, you could very quickly pop back up the condo and be back by the pool or on the beach within seconds. There are also showers down by the pool, so you can wash off the sand before coming into the condo. The kitchen was very well stocked, just like at my home - plenty of pans, dishes and utensils. But if you don't like to cook or just want to go out, there are many different restaurants that are within walking distance and are kid friendly. The stores also have boogie board rentals and bike rentals (for kids too!). A nice benefit is that the condo has a storage area in front of the parking space and you can store these things there versus bringing them into the condo. The Ben & Jerry's ice cream store was a favorite of the kids.

If you have a car, it's pretty easy to get to downtown and the surrounding area for some sight seeing. If you have kids, make sure that you visit the aquarium and try to get tickets in advance to see the Sea Turtle Hospital. The Charleston Museum and Maritime Museum were also big hits. I liked the plantations, but with kids make sure that you check out Cypress Gardens - they have animals, butterflies, flowers and the swamp.

I love this property and can't wait to go back this year. I would recommend this property to anyone who is looking for a relaxing time at the beach.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 26 / 27

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review