reviews for: listing #65937 - Mackinaw City, Michigan Cottage rental

Family Cottage on Tranquil Paradise Lake
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $950 - $1,050 /wk

sort by:

Alumni Mackinaw Bridge Run

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

So pleased and happy with not only the property but with the customer service provided by the owners. They were so informative and accommodating!!! We are a group of adult high school alumni that reunite every Memorial day weekend to run the Mackinaw Bridge and we were so pleased to find a place that we could stay as a group. The description given of the cabin and property is very accurate and it is on a beautiful private lake. We also enjoyed how close it is located to the city of Mackinaw and yet set in such a quiet setting. There were so many things to do in the area!! We will definitely return on a annual basis and would recommend this cabin to anyone.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Best Vacation Ever!

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

Just wanted to drop you a quick note to say "thanks" for the use of the cottage last week. We had an awesome vacation, and the weather was perfect all week. We had an action-packed week exploring the areas many attractions including Mackinac Island, Wilderness State Park, Tehquamenon Falls, Pictured Rocks, Rafting on the Sturgeon River, and Thunder Falls Water Park. In between the sight-seeing we enjoyed fishing and campfires at the cottage, shopping in Mackinaw City, and swimming at Burt Lake State Park. We had a great time, and the boys said it was "the best vacation ever!"

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peaceful, fun vacation spot!

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

We returned home today after a great week at your cottage. We had a great time and the weather was very nice. Rented a boat again and we had very good luck fishing…plenty of sunfish/blue gills and several nice bass. Great day at the island, played golf, etc….the kids really like it up there. It is so peaceful up there. On the way up we spent an afternoon at Cedar Point amusement park in Sandusky, Ohio. Way back we spent the night in Cleveland and went to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame/Museum. Thanks again for renting to us. We LOVE it there and would imagine we’d like to go back again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Back in Time

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

WE LOVED our experience at your cottage! So happy with property and loved the feeling of stepping back it time. The whole experience was very pleasing and relaxing. We dearly enjoyed the cabin, kids, dogs, and all loved it. The neighbors were great in your cabins, and the neighbor to the east was very pleasant to visit with and very informative about the fishing and the history of the lake. We would also like to look into booking a date with you again next year maybe a little earlier in the year before the kids have to go back to college.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Childhood memories

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

Just wanted to let you know that we had a great time at Paradise Lake at your cottage! I love it there and it was worth all the miles we drove. We returned to Virginia yesterday (drove back through Canada and Niagra Falls). The weather was a welcome relief from Virginia heat. Did Mackinac Island, Wilderness golf course, campfires, zip-line at Mill Creek Park (kids loved that), lots of fudge, and fishing. Rented a boat at marina which worked out real well. I caught two pike right off the dock…one was very large and gave me a good fight. It was great being back there with my kids and wife after having spent several summer vacations there over 30 years ago as a kid myself. My mom enjoyed it as well.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Swimmin' House"

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

Our vacation and stay in the Main Cottage was wonderful! The Cottage was well-maintained, clean, and so convenient to all the fun stuff that the area has to offer. We could not have asked for better weather and spent the vast majority of our time lakeside, on the water, and enjoying the sunshine. Paradise Lake in general offered a great place for relaxation and family fun, as there were no noisy neighbors and enough seclusion to feel like you really were at home. Our kids, Bo (almost 3) and Ava (almost 1), absolutely loved it and the Cottage became affectionately known as the “swimmin’ house”.



Should we plan to vacation in Michigan again we will definitely be in touch.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just what we were looking for....

Review submitted: July 15, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

This cottage is just what we were looking for. We were able to spend the mornings sipping coffee while quietly reading and watching the tranquil lake and birds out the sun room windows. In the afternoons, we were close enough to all the fun attractions you could ask for. We went to Sault Ste Marie, Mackinaw Island, and Mackinaw City. The kids loved swimming daily while we prepared our meals from the cottage. (a huge bonus to having the full kitchen) Although you may want to bring water shoes for swimming. This would be a great place for families with small children, a ladies crafting getaway, or anyone who wants to enjoy the slower pace of life in this quiet community. We had a wonderful visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review