reviews for: listing #66030 - Puerto Rico, Caribbean Villa rental

Luxury Beachfront Villa @ Wyndham Rio Mar Beach Resort!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Rio Grande
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $495 - $750 /nt
    $2,850 - $5,250 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful Villa, Great Management, Beautiful Location!

Review submitted: July 16, 2014   Date of arrival: June 30, 2014

Upon arrival we were met by Luis, who told us we would be in the penthouse (top floor, 3 bedroom unit with one bed/bath locked out). Luis gave us the tour and told us where to park (gated and covered). There were 2 boogie boards waiting in the unit for our 2 autistic boys. Muchas Gracias Xavier! The view of the beach and pool out the front was awesome and the side deck on this unit had a great view of El Yunque. Both Luis and Xavier answered any questions almost immediately by texts and were always helpful. Rio Mar is a great location, as the rainforest entrance is literally across the street (a rental car is a must). There are grocery stores,drug stores, restaurants, Walmart, etc. all within a short drive. Many good restaurants off site, but only a short drive. Some favorite restaurants were Boardriders in Loquillo, Richie's (great view, vicious bugs, good food, resort priced), Iguana pub at the golf course and the pub on the beach at the Wyndham. Having your own kitchen was an added convenience for a family with 4 kids. A day trip to San Juan is an easy drive on good roads. Old San Juan and El Morro are must sees. We rented wave runners right at the Wyndham beach (they have surf boards and other toys for rent as well). The surf was good for boogie boarding, but not too big to worry about our 7 and 10 year olds getting swept out to sea! The beach was pretty clean and quite deserted in the villa end. Even on July 4th weekend, the villas and resort were not overly crowded. Our children had the infinity pool to themselves much of the first three days. Overall, a great value and a nice location. I would recommend this property to a friend. The listing photos are accurate of the villa and the villa was clean. It did show some age and weather wear, as do most resorts of this age in the Caribbean. Just some rusted metal, etc. The pools were well kept and clean and we never felt unsafe, as there are security guards and a gate to get in the Wyndham property. Thanks Xavier for a great vacation villa!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

AWESOME!

Review submitted: September 23, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

Property was very clean, we enjoyed el yunque which is right across the street, we also loved the pools and the easy access to the beach. Parking is free which is a huge plus because all hotels on the island charge from 15.00 to 20.00 daily. i will never stay at any hotel again, i will only stay at this resort.
thanks to Xavier for all his help before our arrival

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great Place to Stay in PR

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

We really had a great time at the Ocean Villas. Property was well maintained and our unit was very clean. Pools were really nice and also kept very clean. Beach access was steps away and the main hotel was a short walk. Parking was very close to elevators which made it fast and easy to get to. View from all windows was very scenic. Balcony overlooking pools and ocean was quite nice. No complaints about anything really, electricity, pluming, AC all worked very well. Owner/Manger was very helpful with everything we needed and responded quickly. I highly recommend this place.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent rental and owner

Review submitted: August 24, 2013   Date of arrival: August 19, 2013

We arrived to Puerto Rico to find the unit we had rented at Rio Mar Ocean Villas had sustained water damage. Once we saw the property we knew it wasn't in our best interest to stay but then had to scramble to find something. I had remembered this unit was in the same building and called to see if we could book it.

Fortunately it was and Xavier was amazing...we called him at 4 pm and fortunately he had a unit (he has more than one in Ocean Villas) but the previous guests checked out at 3. Since it was so late in the day the cleaning crew had left but he got one there first thing in the morning the next day and had us checked in by 11:00 am! It was such a relief to know we would have a place to stay and that we didn't even have to relocate properties! I can't say enough about Xavier and how attentive and responsive he was...just what we desperately needed at the time to ease our concerns.

The unit of his we rented is clean and beautiful with spectacular views from the balcony. I highly recommend these units as you have the best of both worlds: all the conveniences, activities and liveliness of the Wyndham next door (a very short walk) and the seclusion and serenity of the Villas. We have pretty much had the beach and pool to ourselves the entire stay and it has provided a truly relaxing vacation experience. If you choose to stay here, choose to rent from Xavier, you won't be disappointed!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing stay October 2012

Review submitted: October 24, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

Thank you so much for making our stay in Puerto Rico a memorable experience. My family loved the villa and I hope to book it again when we return in two years. The views were magnificent and we were very comfortable.

Allowing us to arrive early made my father's birthday celebration a truly special occasion and we are so grateful for your flexibility. I would recommend you to anyone who is looking for villa accomodations in Puerto Rico.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Much better than staying at the hotel

Review submitted: September 9, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

At first we were a little nervous since we didn't know if Hurricane Isaac had affected the island and/or resort and were also concerned about bad weather. Xavier assured us that the Hurricane had not hit the island and that the rain that came with it didn't affected them in any way at the resort. When we drove into the resort we were impressed by the large beautiful landscape and lush vegetation and we were eager to start our vacation. Upon arrival into the villas, an employee of Xavier greeted us warmly and showed us to the 2 bedroom/2bath villa that we rented. From the moment we stepped inside, we were all smiles since we could actually see the beach from every corner. The place was spotless clean and beautifully decorated. The Villa Concierge associated with this rental, Ina, told us to contact her throughout our stay since she was physically at the lobby of the Ocean Villas during the day. We knew that this was a rental property and not a hotel so there were no expectations of hotel services, but knowing that Ina was there to assist us and we were not just there "on our own" was a huge plus (we learned that Xavier owns some of the villas and he also manages others, so he actually rents a desk at the lobby of the building and has a Villa Concierge there to assist only his guests!).
The close proximity to the Wyndham Hotel made it close enough to walk to the restaurants, bars, and Casino at night, but was equally the perfect distance to leave all the noise and activity from the hotel behind. The villas have their own two huge pools that were so private and relaxing that we never went back to the hotel's pools which were always crowded. We also took advantage that we had a full kitchen at our villa so we would prepare breakfast and eat in the balcony overlooking the beach, spend the day at the pools and/or beach and go up the elevator to have lunch at our villa. In the evenings we would always go out for dinner. Just by having breakfast and lunch at the villa saved us hundreds of dollars since food at the resort is expensive (like in any other hotel or resort of its kind). From the restaurants we visited we very much enjoyed La Estancia (located at the resort's Golf Club) and also La Parrilla Restaurant which is located outside the resort in the nearby Luquillo kiosks.
Since it was low season we got an excellent rate from Xavier, and we felt very good always dealing with him and his staff. Thanks Xavier for a very memorable vacation!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Trully beachfront!

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: August 3, 2012

We are leaving our week long visit tomorrow, and can't say enough great things about our stay. The views are incredible and can see the entire beach. The service has been fantastic, and having an on-site Concierge desk associated with this villa was very helpfull. The pools are so beautiful...and so quiet compared to the hotel's pools. We loved having access to the hotel restaurants, casino, pool and activites while being able to stay in our own quiet area. The beautiful beach is even quiet...we were able to find a large area of our own every single day and rarely saw other guests...unless we wanted to, of course. Thank you so much for making this the vacation of a lifetime! We already can't wait to come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice, but pictures aren't accurate

Review submitted: July 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Beautiful views, close to beach. Nice condo but the pictures shown are not what the condo really looks liKe. I had inquired to Xavier regarding the accuracy of the pictures and he did not reveal that the condo was only a similar model. The Master bedroom did not have a door to the balcony. The kitchen is totally different. The ceiling fans and ice maker did not work. Xavier said the condo had been upgraded however the dishwasher was old and rusted on the bottom and the new upgrades dont appear near as nice as the pictures. It was not as clean as pictured. There is no carpet as pictured but tile which is nice. I would say it is more like a 3 star hotel but with amazing views. The hot tub at the villas was not hot at all and when asked to turn on the heat, they said they could not heat it. The grounds to the place are beautiful. When we spoke with Xavier regarding the difference between the pictures and the actual condo he did offer a refund for the unused days. I would recommend this condo overall I only wish the pictures were accurate. We ate at Lolita's, and La Parilla in Luquillo and both had really good food.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Guest booked one our 2 bedroom Ocean Villas and were given a complimentary upgrade into a larger and more expensive villa upon arrival -one of our 3 bedroom Ocean Villas. Since we own both and both were available upon their arrival, we thought guest would appreciate the extra space and upgraded amenities that this villa offered. The properties feature very similar furniture, and were also decorated by the same interior designer who bought most of the same furniture, bedding, and even lamps and window drapes. During the 5th day of their 7th night stay, guest sent me an email saying that the villa they were staying at was not the one they had booked, and they did not like it as much. I was surprised at this statement since it was towards the end of their stay, which gave us little options, although we did offered to move them and also offered a refund for dates unused if they wanted to leave. Not only did we truly thought that they had appreciated the upgrade, but were also surprised to hear about this so late during their stay since I personally always kept excellent communication with them prior to their arrival and we also employ a full-time Villa Concierge and a full-time Handyman who are at the building every day for the sole purpose of exclusively assisting our guests while staying at our properties. Our priority is always the enjoyment of our guests, since not only do we want them to come back, like so many do, but also refer us to their friends and family. We appreciate all comments, and are happy to have read at the end of their review that they would recommend our condo to others. I also wanted to clarify that the ceiling fan and ice maker were already fixed by our Handyman.

Xavier Cautino
Owner

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best Vacation!

Review submitted: August 7, 2011   Date of arrival: August 2, 2011

This was truly the best vacation our family has
ever taken! The villa was exactly as described
and maybe even better!! The amenities at the
villas and the resort were great and the views
were amazing. We are already planning our next
trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Perfect Spring Break Vacation

Review submitted: March 25, 2011   Date of arrival: March 17, 2011

My family of 5 (children aged 9-14) discussed at length where we wanted to spend our 1st family Spring Vacation. We ultimately chose Puerto Rico as that country seemed to have everything we were looking for: safe country, ease to get around, history, lots of things to do (beaches, pools, rainforest, local eateries, etc). We were so pleased, we have talked about going back to Puerto Rico for our next trip!

Puerto Rico: There's so much to do on this island. The ocean beaches kept us near our rental for much of our stay. The ocean water was fairly warm (about 80F), much warmer than some of the northern Caribbean countries. We had thought our kids would spend most of their time at the nice pools at our rental, but they wound up spending 80+% in the ocean. I had pictured lounging at a picturesque, waveless beach (like one sees in magazine photos)...but this is NOT what we experienced. We were told the waves were a little larger than normal, and they were far from waveless....but turns out this was an absolute blessing for our family, as our children loved the waves. Clear water, super soft sand. Boogie-board haven!! Almost everyone (locals) we ran into spoke very good English, and everyone was very nice! There were enough American-based stores to feel very comfortable as well. Driving around was easy. Love, Love Puerto Rico!!

Rental was great... We were upgraded at our arrival! (best available was provided). Very clean, very spacious...steps away from the beach (pictures don't lie). Xavier was very prompt in responding to questions before our trip, which is why we rented from his group. There are 2 main rental groups at the Ocean Villas. Not sure of the other, absolutely would not hesitate to rent from Xavier again, though. Suite-style of our rental worked well for our family. Concierge was not always around....plan activities ahead and you'll be fine. Not a guarantee to use Rio Mar resort pools...we were able to on some days, not on weekend...seems like a "Gentlemen's agreement" exists between Ocean villas and resort...no one would discuss details. Resort Tiki bar was expensive, but we expected that, so no issue.

Recommendations: Rio Mar area beaches are wonderful! We think BETTER than Luquillo's beach! Go to old San Juan, El Yunque, and Culebra (great beach+snorkeling). Enjoy the beach! Bio-luminescent kayaking was cool..go on earlier timeslot if you have kids. Loved Tasca Ole restaurant in Fajardo!

Thanks Xavier!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Recommended

Review submitted: January 22, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

The villa was wonderful. It was beautifully furnished and maintained. The views were beautiful. It was great to have access to the resort while at the same time having the privacy of the villa.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

GO TO PUERTO RICO!!!

Review submitted: September 2, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

My family has been traveling to Puerto Rico for the last 6 summers with our 4 children - Now (23, 20, and 17, 12) We have been to San Juan, Dorado, Fajardo and other places, but we LOVE the Rio Grande area and especially THIS VILLA at RIO MAR. This Ocean villa is remarkable! Extremely clean, well designed plan, comfortable & spacious, and functional. The breathtaking views, impecable beach, and friendly people make this "Ocean Villa" always a special place. The swimming pools are the amazing, by far the cleanest,freshest and most taken care of outdoor pools our family has ever stayed in year after year. The grounds are beautifully designed and also highly maintained as well.
We have had full access to the hotel and do enjoy the amenities of the resort along with the quietness and togetherness of staying in this Villa.

We are a beach family who have been to several beaches on the East Coast, but nothing can compare to the restful and enjoying vacation we experience in Puerto Rico at Rio Mar. When we ask the kids where they want to go each summer they keep saying "The Villas" as if they have become our sumer place to be.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Review submitted: January 28, 2010   Date of arrival: January 28, 2010

INCREDIBLE VIEWS-FROM THE BACK IS THE RAIN FOREST-FROM THE FRONT-THE OCEAN-VERY LUXURIOUS-VERY SAFE-EXCELLENT LOCAL RESTAURANTS-GREAT PLACE TO RELAX AND RECHARGE

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Worth every penny!

Review submitted: June 16, 2009   Date of arrival: April 25, 2009

Having never been to this resort, we weren't sure if it was worth paying double to stay in an ocean villa vs. a golf villa. In the end, because we have three small children, we felt it would be better to be closer to the ocean. Boy, we were thrilled we made that decision. It was worth every penny extra to be so close to the beach. From our first floor balcony, we were about 20 yards from the pool and then another 20 to the beach; it was absolutely beautiful (not to mention extremely convienant). The condo was immaculate and very nicely furnished. Check in was easy (the rental agency has a desk right in the lobby). I also imagine, if we did have a problem with anything, it would have been taken care of immediately because the rental agency has an office at the resort. The pool was wonderful for families, especially those with young children. The Wyndham was just a short stroll along an ocean front path. At the hotel there are many restaurants, small casino, children's camp, pool with waterslide, adult only pool, etc. We would reccomend this resort and highly reccomend this rental agency.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review