reviews for: listing #66035 - Durango, Colorado House rental

Spruce Mesa Mountain Cabin
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Durango Mountain Resort
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $150 - $300 /nt
    $1,050 - $2,450 /wk

sort by:

Perfect Summer Hideaway in Gorgeous San Juan Mountains

Review submitted: July 16, 2014   Date of arrival: July 7, 2014

This cabin and location really exceeded all my expectations for a summer get-a-way in greater Durango and the San Juans. I debated a lot on location. Close to town or somewhere just away from the crowds and tucked into a perfect mountain forest?. Choose to get away and select this cabin near Electra Lake. The cabins is about 30 mins from downtown Durango and the drive is gorgeous both up and down. We didn't get tired of driving and we did all the Durango mainstays -the DSNG railroad and Mesa Verde which did require some driving and time from this location. The best part was we'd leave the heat of Durango or Mesa Verde (about 1 hour) and escape to our cabin to find it cool and breezy. As for the cabin itself, it has everything as described. A perfect deck for grilling and a cozy/romantic hot tub. The sleeping rooms are spacious and beds very well appointed and comfortable. I particularly liked the kitchen and layout. Was easy to fix quick meals with adequate counter space, very nice oven/stove and comfortable seating for 4 around the large round table. This cabin also balances the need for privacy and also feel like you are not alone in the woods. It is set down into a simply stunning forested neighborhood with high end log cabins and lovely vacation homes around. But it faces the back of the ridge in such a way, you get plenty of privacy on your deck and hot tub. One morning while drinking coffee we saw a beautiful pair of Mule Deer come through the back. Finally, if you haven't been to the San Juans of Colorado but visited other Colorado mountain communities, be prepared to be blown away by the San Juans. They are simply stunning at every turn. High, ragged and gorgeous. Comparing them to Switzerland is not an understatement and I have been going to Colorado for over 25 years. I simply fell in love with the area and this spacious and delightful cabin is the perfect base camp to explore them. Your hosts are also lovely and gracious and will answer any questions. They provide a lovely guide of their personal favorites of the area - hikes, attractions and restaurants. We felt so welcome and confident in our stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quaint little cabin

Review submitted: March 6, 2014   Date of arrival: February 23, 2014

This little cabin was the perfect place to enjoy a week in the mountains. There was a lot of snow on the ground when we arrived, and while there, two more feet of snow arrived. The cabin was furnished well, the beds were fairly comfortable. The sauna and hot tub were an added luxury. We enjoyed our stay!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

mdf

Review submitted: September 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 28, 2013

The cabin was excellent. The upstairs bathroom was a bit tight for hubby as he is tall and wide shouldered and it is narrow. The kitchen was stocked well but did wish there were a few more spices for cooking. We enjoyed seeing the deer and elk outside each evening. For you hunters, we saw two bucks that were eight and ten pointers! The only down side to our stay was that Electra lake was closed and we had to drive a short way down to Haviland lake to fish.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Quiet retreat!

Review submitted: August 19, 2013   Date of arrival: August 15, 2013

My husband and I just stayed here over the weekend and it was wonderful. We were wanting a quiet escape for a long weekend and this cabin was perfect. It has all the amenities you would need for a perfect home away from home.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Delightful Mountain Home

Review submitted: March 24, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

Our second stay in this perfect mountain escape! Close to Purgatory Mountain for skiing. Home has everything you need. Love the hot tub apres ski! Area and nearby Durango have much to offer in all seasons.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Place

Review submitted: January 27, 2013   Date of arrival: January 20, 2013

My wife and I wanted a private, pet friendly rental close to the ski slopes and this filled the bill perfectly. Everthing was as described. Had to unplug the modem for a reset for the Wifi to work but internet speed was very good. Very nice accomodations and clean. The rental was close enough to the slopes to be able to take a relaxing break for lunch and a short (20 mile) drive into Durango for some excellent evening dining. The hot tub was great after a day of skiing. Did not use the sauna but is there if needed. The unit has two private bedrooms and one loft.
The upstairs bathroom is a little crowded because of the size of the shower which I preferred and my wife enjoyed the large downstairs bathroom with plenty of room to spread out her 'stuff' with a slighly smaller shower.
We highly recommend the peppersteak and elk tender loin perfectly cooked at the Slater Hotel. Fiesta Mexicana had grea margaritas, hot salsa, and excellent food. For Italian Mutu's is the place. All had excellent service.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Very Nice

Review submitted: January 13, 2013   Date of arrival: September 30, 2012

Visited in the fall and was happy to see the fall colors at their best. This is a very nice, well-maintained property located on a large wooded lot. It seems like every window, and there are lots of them, had a beautiful view of the forest. Although located in a country residential neighborhood, it seemed very private with the large yard and the trees. The night sky was beautiful from the deck and hot tub. It was a great, relaxing week for the four of us and we hope to return again.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Look no further, This cabin is SUPERB

Review submitted: October 27, 2012   Date of arrival: October 22, 2012

This cabin was absolutely perfect! So clean, secluded yet easy to find and had everything you would need. The hot tub was great on a cold October night and we thoroughly enjoyed the sauna. The owners are great to work with and we are already planning our next trip! Thank you for such a beautiful place!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

PERFECT

Review submitted: October 15, 2010   Date of arrival: October 3, 2010

This cabin could not have been better! It is just as beautiful as the photos on this VRBO posting. The location is very quiet and peaceful.It is close enough to town for supplies, restaurants, etc but far enough away from town to feel like you are away from it all. Everything you would need is furnished right down to food storage bowls for leftovers!! The hot tub was perfect on the cold October nights, as was the fireplace. The hosts were very professional and helpful is planning our stay and furnished us an activities list and suggestions prior to reservation. I would go back tomorrow. Stop looking- this place is the best choice. Aloha and Mahalo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 11

 

Wonderful Place

Review submitted: August 23, 2010   Date of arrival: August 10, 2010

My family and I had a wonderful time the days that we stayed here. We didn't want to leave and wished we could have stayed another week. It was a great location, easy access to many activities. Cabin was very clean and well decorated. Beautiful setting outside. We grilled, got in the hot tub, went hiking and also fill the bird feeders. My children had a great time. We will try to go back next summer.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: August 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 2, 2010

We had a wonderful, relaxing stay here. The cabin is clean and well furnished and the views are incredible. We filled the bird feeders and watched them from the deck. Our teens enjoyed sitting in the hot tub and relaxing after a day in Durango. They also enjoyed fishing on Elektra Lake where the views were incredible. It's a great place to stay and enjoy the natural beauty of the Durango area. Thank you for sharing your cabin. Would love to come back and visit again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: August 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 2, 2010

We had a wonderful stay. The location is excellent and the views are incredible. It's a great place to relax. We filled the bird feeders and watched the humming birds, squirels and birds from the deck. The cabin was clean and well furnished. The boys enjoyed fishing on Elektra Lake. Beware though, as we were not familiar with the area, we purchased CO fishing licenses but they are not valid on the lake. They charge a fee per person to fish. The fee was not much and the views alone on the lake were definately worth it. Neighbors on Spruce Mesa were very friendly and helpful. Would love to come back again. Thank you guys for sharing your cabin.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spruce Mesa Cabin

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: July 26, 2010

We loved our stay at Spruce Mesa Cabin. We found it to be more than advertised. The location is perfect -- secluded, yet close to Durango, Purgatory, and Silverton. The cabin is beautifully decorated. Appliance, dishes, pans, utensils were excellent. We definitely recommend the cabin to anyone and we hope to go there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

GRRREAT place to stay

Review submitted: June 22, 2010   Date of arrival: June 9, 2010

This is a great place to stay. Great location between Durango and Silverton, 15 minutes from Purgatory. Quiet area, you feel like you are alone in the woods. Beautiful lake nearby. The accomodations are very comfortable. Perfect for two or three couples or a large family. The hot tub and sauna are an extraordinary way to relax. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Highly recommended. Fill the birdfeeder and watch the birds and squirrels from the living room and relax.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Mountain Cabin

Review submitted: June 22, 2010   Date of arrival: June 17, 2010

Our stay was all that we had hoped for and more. The cabin is beautiful, well-maintained, and in a magnificent location. The owner is very easy to deal with and provided all needed details to help make our stay the best it could be - my family and I particularly liked our hike to Electra Lake and relaxing in the hot tub. My wife is already looking for a time to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

I died and went to Heaven

Review submitted: June 13, 2010   Date of arrival: May 22, 2010

After a grueling year at a new job, I was in great need of respite. This wonderful cabin was exactly that. Birds sang like an orchestra (except when the Hawk flew by) The Hot tub melted away tension as we watched an amazing sky, day and night. The sound of wind in those tall pines, beautiful wild flowers, majestic views and the quiet peace put things back into perspective for me.

The cabin is filled with care and love. First Class in every way. I am planning my own compaign to send all my friends and family to this little bit of heaven on earth. I couldn't believe how wonderful the whole experience was. I WILL be back. Thank you, owners!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

well worth it

Review submitted: March 30, 2010   Date of arrival: March 15, 2010

Lives up to everything it promises. This is a beautiful property that the owners have obviously taken great pride in maintaining. My favorite activity was dimming the back lights, and sitting in the hot tub on the back deck with a view of your own personal planetarium.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spruce Mesa Cabin

Review submitted: March 30, 2010   Date of arrival: January 13, 2010

Thanks for letting us stay at your cabin! It was really great, the pictures on your VRBO site don't do it justice. Thanks again, I hope we will get the chance to rent your cabin again in the future!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spruce Mesa Cabin

Review submitted: March 29, 2010   Date of arrival: January 13, 2010

Thanks for letting us stay at your cabin! It was really great, the pictures on your VRBO site don't do it justice. Thanks again, I hope we will get the chance to rent your cabin again in the future!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

well worth it

Review submitted: March 26, 2010   Date of arrival: March 15, 2010

Lives up to everything it promises. This is a beautiful property that the owners have obviously taken great pride in maintaining. My favorite activity was dimming the back lights, and sitting in the hot tub on the back deck with a view of your own personal planetarium.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I appreciate the nice review. I love how close the stars seem as well. It is a true mountain getaway.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review