reviews for: listing #66037 - Saratoga Springs, New York House rental

“The River Runs Through” – Chateau
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $450 - $700 /nt
    $3,000 - $4,800 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful!

Review submitted: September 30, 2013   Date of arrival: September 12, 2013

This was the perfect house to spend a week gathering family while celebrating our daughter's wedding in Saratoga. Every aspect of the house and property was inviting and relaxing. There are many lovely spots to sit and visit. Hands down, our favorite gathering place was at the kitchen table with the comfy curved banquette along the windows. The house had everything we needed and more. We did not need to go out to eat and we did not want to. The bedrooms are located on the upper and basement levels which allowed guests to have private, quiet and peaceful areas for retreat. The owners are lovely people and we are full of gratitude for them sharing their wonderful home with us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

August Place To Be

Review submitted: August 9, 2013   Date of arrival: July 31, 2013

We don't want to be too repeticious, but we echo other recent reviews. This beautiful home was as much and more than we expected. We were able to enjoy all aspects of this home and property from the hot tub to the patios and to just exploring the large property.
We were here during the Saratoga Race meet and really enjoyed going to the races and then returning for wine and munchies on the patio.
We certainly hope to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Home!

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 17, 2013

We recently returned from two wonderful weeks of family vacation at this lovely home. Our experience was outstanding and all descriptions are accurate. As other reviewers have mentioned, the home is even better than the pictures, The kitchen is well-stocked for preparing family meals, the grill works well, and the home is comfortable and tastefully decorated. After walking the beautifully landscaped grounds and relaxing on the deck, we often skipped plans to go into town since we enjoyed our surroundings so much. The location is a wonderful mix of grounds to explore and proximity to shopping, restaurants, racing, and more. Grazyna and Kris are welcoming and helpful hosts and we certainly plan to return!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Classy artistic and peaceful

Review submitted: August 3, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2013

The house is set in a lovely glade with surrounding wood so a lovely large lawn but privacy and some shade. It's design takes advantage of the setting and looks traditional from the outside. Inside its contemporary with natural finishes, wooden floor, slate, stone. Beautiful. It flows along through its open plan layout. Favourite spots were the breakfast nook and the library. Grazyna is very gracious and kind and a perfect host. Her stories were very interesting in the brief time we spoke, as she really respects your privacy. There were pictures of her husband kris with lech walesa during the polish revolution, fascinating. I so enjoyed watering the plants, and silently wandering around the grounds. In early evening my 6 year old daughter and I stood and let the fireflies buzz around us, she said it was like stars had fallen from the skies. I am an art lover and grazyna's house is full of original pieces,which I really enjoyed. This is a peaceful comfortable house but within 5 minutes of town, a great combination. Our hostess was trusting, respectful and the house was immaculate. Thanks again we would love to come back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Better than anticipated

Review submitted: June 20, 2013   Date of arrival: May 31, 2013

My group of friends were celebrating our 37th college reunion and celebrated at this house and we could not have asked for more. We were four couples who all agreed we would go back in a heartbeat. The previous reviews helped make decision. So I wanted to share my experience also. All the beautiful pictures of the house and description was right on the money. I was a little nervous starting this process because it was the first time I ever did this before but I knew immediately after contacting the owners that I made the right choice. They were so helpful and made the whole decision perfect. Not only couldn't I wait to celebrate with old friends but couldn't wait to meet the owners. No one was disappointed and I'm so extremely grateful for the warm welcoming we received. The stay from start to finish was OUTSTANDING !!!! I assure anyone thinking of this house to not miss the opportunity. Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us and we will be returning again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

AWESOME SARATOGA RENTAL

Review submitted: May 12, 2013   Date of arrival: May 9, 2013

Just spent a long weekend in Saratoga for my daughter's wedding. This home was the perfect place to call home for my family's stay. Owners are wonderful people who did a fantastic job in designing their home. Truly, everything was perfect. If there was a sixth star in rating my rental experience, I would not hesitate to give it for this home and it's owners. I will definitely be returning !

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful :)

Review submitted: March 28, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

After emailing
the owners of this beautiful house, I knew it was the place for us! We went to Saratoga Springs,NY for our sons graduation on 3/9/12 through 3/17/13. We were very excited when we pulled up to the house, just beautiful! The inside was just as beautiful, the pictures do not show you just how beautiful the place is. Inside and out! The owner was there to great us with a warm smile, fire going and fresh flowers :) She showed us around which was very helpful. The house has everything you could want. Very warm and inviting.
When our children arrived they were just as excited as we were.

We had some snow flurrys for a few days and then we got some really good snow!! Being from Ca where it does not snow was an awesome treat for us :)
We couldn't have asked for a better place to spend the week with our son. We also had his finance, my daughter and her husband and our 18 month old grandson. The down stairs 1 bedroom has its own kitchen! Everything was perfect. We had everything we needed and all though the owner lived close by, we were left to enjoy our stay in private. Not to far away from town, stores to shop for food and goodies :) Really was made to feel that you were a million miles away from everything. Which is what we were looking for. Such a beautiful home, yard :) Very well taken care of and clean. Oh and the beds were soooo comfy too! Can't say enough about this home, and we have stayed at alot of rentals. NO more hotels for us!!
Hoping to come again in the spring time :)
I want to thank the Owners for allowing us to vacation in their beautiful home :)
If you choose this Chateau.....you will not be sorry. I recommend this property to all of you :)
Love Love it!!
The Crowleys
Escondido, CA

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: February 15, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

We rented this house for a weekend gathering with old friends. Even though the house is very close to downtown Saratoga, it feels very secluded and private. The house and grounds are just as beautiful, if not more so, as the pictures show. The house has plenty of space if people wanted some privacy, but the living room and kitchen gathering spaces were perfect for us to all be together. We all enjoyed the amenities of the house like the hot tub and fireplace on this winter weekend. The owner is a lovely person, and she was so easy to work with from beginning to end. She went above and beyond accommodating a special request we made to move a TV into the living room area so we could all watch the Superbowl together on Sunday.
Thanks for sharing your beautiful home with us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely

Review submitted: February 1, 2013   Date of arrival: December 26, 2012

My family had the best holiday vacation in this home. We arrived with a fire burning, holiday decorations at their finest and everything you could need was there. It was cozy, roomy, clean and so accommodating for everyone. We had great family connection and the warmth of this property made it easy and essential for a simply perfect event. Everyone is still reminiscing our trip and we couldn't imagine how to improve on such a wonderful home. Can't wait to go back. Thank you for the memory! We will treasure it always.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

An amazing house and experience

Review submitted: January 18, 2013   Date of arrival: September 5, 2012

We celebrated our wedding weekend at this house the weekend of September 8, 2012 and the house was everything we wanted and more! The house is spacious, the decor is beautiful, and the property is spectacular. The owners of the house are the kindest people and very accommodating. On a scale of 1-10, it exceeded our expectations, we give it a 20! I highly recommend this house for a family gateway, a wedding celebration and/or if you want to just get away and enjoy the beautiful and quaint town of Saratoga in a beautiful tucked away house that feels like your home away from home. We give it 5 stars! Thank you Kris and Grazyna for an experience that we will never forget!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Elegant Home for the Holiday

Review submitted: November 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

Our extended family of 9 stayed at "The River Runs Through" over the Thanksgiving week. Grazyna personally welcomed us with a roaring fire in the fireplace, fresh autumnal flowers, and the dining room table elegantly set for our Thanksgiving dinner. The photos and description were accurate although the house feels even more comfortable and inviting in person. Windows throughout the house bring in light and provide a lovely view of the wooded grounds. The kitchen was perfect for lazy breakfasts and cooking all together. Five bedrooms provided plenty of privacy for couples and adult children; everyone appreciated the comfortable beds. We couldn't have been happier with our stay!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Saratoga Rental!

Review submitted: October 26, 2012   Date of arrival: October 12, 2012

I rented this property for my wedding weekend in Saratoga (10/12 - 10/15). From the moment I met the owners, they went out of their way to be helpful and to welcome my friends and into in their home!
The home is absolutely beautiful and was the perfect place for me to get ready for my wedding day. The Master Suite is just terrific, large and bright, with an enormous dressing room for me to get into my wedding dress! The Master Bathroom was amazing! The house is decorated with such amazing style, by the owner who is an interior designer. I loved the artwork, and the different accent pieces. It looks right out of a magazine! My friends were extremely comfortable in the other three bedrooms, including a very large basement apartment. We loved the kitchen! The home is equipped with absolutely everthying you could need, TV's in every room, a library with stereo system, wifi, you name it - this home has it. It has a beautiful fireplace, and even a hot tub. The property the home sits on is absolutely beautiful. An enormous backyard -- I can't wait to get my photos back, it was just beautiful.
We found the home in perfect condition, with towels and bedding provided. The owners were easy to contact and worked around my arrival details. I can't say enough about this beautiful home. Turnkey - and absolutely beautiful. I highly recommend for a family reunion, weekend retreat, Saratoga summer rental... whatever occassion you rent it for, you can't go wrong!
I also really loved the equine artwork. So fitting for Saratoga!
Thanks for helping make my wedding weekend so memorable!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Öur "forever"vacation rental

Review submitted: October 26, 2012   Date of arrival: September 2, 2012

I don't know where to begin on our experience renting this beautiful home.The owners,Grazyna & Kris were there to greet us upon arrival,they were so warm & welcoming,although we had just met them,it felt like we had known them our whole lives. Although they were only a phone call away if needed,they provided complete privacy.
They take great pride in the property & it shows,the home is well equipped,beautifully decorated,immaculate & private.
The grounds are picture perfect.
We will be returning again & again,we have found our "forever"vacation rental.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

"Almost Heaven"

Review submitted: August 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 17, 2012

No need to look at any other listings--this home is the perfect one! I could tell from the photos that this place was going to be beautiful and extraordinary, but this "Chateau" far exceeded my expectations.
The architectural design is amazing (fabulous details throughout), the location is close to Saratoga Springs, yet far enough to enjoy the New York countryside, and the hosts are most gracious. I can't wait to return to this "little piece of heaven". Merci beaucoup Kris and Grazyna for sharing this lovely home!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Most memorable weekend of our lives

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: June 26, 2012

We rented this home to house our entire wedding party. We were absolutely amazed at the beauty of the house and the property. Our photographer even mentioned that he was in photography heaven because everywhere he looked was a fabulous photo moment. It was truely the best weekend of our lives. The house was gorgeous and equipped with more things than we needed. It was a place where everyone could be comfortable and many fun times were had in the home. The outdoor areas were perfect for our wedding photos and the kitchen was the gathering place for all. We have more pics of the kitchen than anywhere else in the house. It was the prettiest kitchen anyone in our group had even seen. We had lots of good food, fun, and laughs in this home and would highly recommend it to anyone. Grazyna, the owner, was the most fabulous person to work with. She ensured that everything was just as we wanted and she obviously takes pride in the decor inside and out of this home. The flowers on the deck were beautiful and we had them in the majority of our wedding photos. We thank you Grazyna for all that you did to make our wedding day the best we could ever have imagined.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Family Retreat

Review submitted: June 28, 2012   Date of arrival: June 22, 2012

I was looking for a home to rent that could accommodate my family which includes myself, my husband, our four grown children and 2 spouses, as well as our dogs. I feel that I was unbelievably lucky to have found "The River Runs Through" Chateau. This home is so splendid and the amenities are really too numerous to fully list. The kitchen is likely the first I have ever seen which may be better outfitted than my own personal kitchen, and I cook a lot. The breakfast "nook" comfortably seated us all, with room to fidget. The living room with 2 oversized comfortable sofas allowed for wonderful family times including space for rousing games of charades. The bedrooms are lovely, the linens luscious. Throughout the home the artwork creates a chic but not fussy atmosphere. The lawn gave us and the dogs room to romp, play frisbee and bocce. It is truly decadent to sit on that beautiful deck or in the gazebo with a cocktail. The owner, Grazyna is a wonderful, lovely hostess. We had an amazing time and I truly think this home, with all that it has to offer in beauty and space, is an astonishing bargain!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

wonderful family retreat

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 22, 2012

Thank you Kris and Grazyna for a wonderful time by sharing your stunning home with us. I have never seen a kitchen better equipped than our own but you folks did it!. The home was beautiful but not so precious as to feel unusable. Our 6 adult children (ages 33-23) who have travelled throughout the world were floored by the beauty of your home and were all so comfortable. We loved the expanse of lawn and had a great round or two of frisbee and bocce. The living room was also easily spacious enough to handle a rousing family game of charades.
I cannot imagine a better environment to connect with your loved ones with the beauty, comfort and space of your lovely home.
Thank you both again

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome Adventure

Review submitted: May 2, 2012   Date of arrival: April 26, 2012

From the moment I contacted the owners they were accommodating in every way and made the logistics of the rental process easy. When we arrived the owner was there to greet us and show us around explaining any necessary features. She had a fire in the fireplace already for us to begin to take in the well appointed ambiance. I say that and it surely doesn't cover the nuances of the house from the majestic front entry to the floor to ceiling windows that bring light and peace into every room. The house has a spiritual resonance that lends to comfort and ease. It met our every need for relaxation and rejuvenation.
When it comes to entertaining every need is thought of from the dining room to the kitchen where delicious meals can be prepared with ease. Outside there are two decks and the hot tub to relax in and trails right outside your door to explore and connect with nature.
I highly recommend this house and guarantee that you will not be disappointed, you get what you see and more. I for one look forward to returning one day in the future to share in another getaway with friends.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Ladies Weekend

Review submitted: April 5, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

Beautiful setting and perfect distance to town. Amazing home with a very comfortable feeling, and the pictures are exactly as the home is presented. It was the best setting for our annual womens weekend so far! Thank you so much for all your help leading up to the arrival.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The perfect place for the perfect getaway

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

We were looking for a cabin/house for a couples getaway and a Proposal, and we couldn't pick a better place to make it happen.
The space, the decoration, the views and details of the place make you forget about the rutine of life.
The rooms are spacious, clean and well decorated. You get a view of the ourdoors from every angle of the house. The kitchen is just amazing; has all the equipments, book of recipes that inspire you to cook the perfect meal .
For the ones that likes to read, there is a huge selection of books in a quiet room that invites you to have a cup of tea and stay there to enjoying them.
The place is really accesible and, even though you feel away from everything, the shopping center is a just 10-12 minutes away (for the ones that forget some groceries like us).
One of the owner of the house welcome us and gave us a nice tour of the place as soon as we arrived.
I will definitely recommend this house. I am looking forward to go back in the summer time to enjoy the outdoors and take our kids with us.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Long Weekend

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: February 16, 2012

The house and property were amazing! Perfect weekend! The owners were very easy to work with and accommodating. I would recommend this place to any family...Thanks Again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Ultimate In Luxury & Relaxation!

Review submitted: March 4, 2012   Date of arrival: February 23, 2012

All I can say is WOW! House is gorgeous, stunning details, beautiful windows, and cozy all at the same time! Definitely our new home away from home! Can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfectly Lovely!

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

Our second visit to this beautiful house was even more perfect than the first (a wedding), because we were able to spend so much time there. Kris and his very talented wife had decorated the house for Christmas, and the result was much more beautiful than we could have ever expected or hoped. We grew up in Saratoga but all sisters have been scattered across the country and Christmas is our one and only time that all of our family can see each other, and our parents and brother who still live here. It is quite a crowd, and obviously we all couldn't stay in the house, but enough of us were able to be together, and then prepare Christmas dinner for the whole family in the spectacular kitchen which has everything you could ever want or need. The house is very comfortable even when every bedroom is in use, because of the incredible spacious design and huge windows everywhere you look. The decor is perfect - I am not a huge fan of contemporary style, but everything is just so perfectly well done here, with gorgeous works of art and antique furniture so beautiful I don't think I would share with renters. But I am certainly glad that they do! The kitchen and baths are all super high end, the beds and bedding luxurious, scenery stunning - my only wish is that I could just move in forever. Thank you for helping our family have a truly wonderful Christmas!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Memorable stay!

Review submitted: December 29, 2011   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

My family and rented this house twice in 2011; for my wedding in April and again this past Christmas. Both of our stays were wonderful. The house is beautifully decorated and the open layout makes it the perfect setting for my large family. My photographer took my "getting ready" photos at the house and received numerous compliments on the gorgeous location.

For Christmas the owners set up a tree and other decorations that made it feel like we were at home. So much better than staying at a hotel, which is what we've done the past few years! We also made use of the hot tub, which was a great way to end a day of last minute shopping and tennis at the Wilton YMCA.

The bedrooms are comfortable and spacious, the bathrooms modern, the kitchen is a great space for cooking a large meal and stocked with everything you could ever need.

It was probably the best Christmas we've had in Saratoga--and we've been coming here for over 25 years! We can't wait to do it again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful House

Review submitted: December 29, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

Thanks so much for letting us enjoy our Christmas at your beautiful home. Your house is so nice for a family gathering and the x-mas decorations made it even better. We look forward to spending more time there in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Dream House

Review submitted: December 13, 2011   Date of arrival: September 29, 2010

This house was rented for our wedding party. As soon as I walked into the front door I knew we had found the right place to have our guests for our dream wedding. The house is gorgeous and well appointed with beautiful light for pictures. The grounds are lovely and we were able to take all of our family pictures outside on the patio and in the backyard. What a lovely site for any gathering, but the backdrop of this House was just so perfect for us. We got amazing pictures and had the most unbelievable time there, we didn't want it to end! The home owners were so sweet and helpful, and set us up to have our once-in-a-lifetime experience. Thank you both so much!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Leaf Peepers Paradise

Review submitted: October 23, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

We came for the fall foliage, and it was spectacular! Our stay at the house was exactly what we wanted, beautiful views of the forest from the large windows, lots of privacy and all the amenities of home. Loved the hot tub, wood burning fireplace and room for everyone to spread out, including the dog.
We spent a few hours exploring the town of Saratoga Springs and then drove over to the Sagamore Hotel on Lake George. There's lots to do in the area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A-mazing!

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2010

This home is amazing! I say home, not house, because the owners have made it a beautiful home. Seven of us ladies rented this home for our annual Saratoga Spa weekend...besides the spa, we never left. We made dinner there in the gorgeous kitchen. Only bad thing was that we had to leave on Sunday. We will be back!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spectacular !!

Review submitted: October 15, 2011   Date of arrival: October 7, 2011

It is a magnificient home where traditional artifacts are very tastefully blended with contemporary design. Both the indoors and outdoors far exceeded our expectations. We really enjoyed our evenings out on the tranquil patio where we could hear the stream. Our kids had a great time roasting marshmallows in the fire pit. The outdoor hot tub was really relaxing after a meal. The owners are wonderful and very hospitable. Highly recommend this home!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Can't have a better experience

Review submitted: September 21, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2011

We have stayed in this house for three separate weeks over two years. Each time something new has been added to make our stay more enjoyable. Nothing has been overlooked. The grounds are beautiful and peaceful. The house is lovely, perfectly equipped,well thought out and space for privacy. If anything - the pictures don't do it justice. Attention to every detail has been paid down to the sheets and pillows. The owners couldn't be more helpful. This is an outstanding property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The River Runs Through It

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2011

This house is everything, and more, than the description. We were a group of 7 adults and 6 children, and we spent a glorious week in the house. The sleeping accommodations, the kitchen, the gazebo, wraparound porch, art work - it's impossible to mention every detail that made our vacation perfect. The house and property were immaculate. Kris and his wife are kind, warm people, easy to work with. All in all, it was a delightful week and we look forward to returning next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Saratoga Holiday

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 10, 2011

We were four couples who rented the house for an extended Saratoga holiday. The house was perfect for our needs, allowing us many indoor & outdoor areas to relax an socialize after enjoying a day in the lovely Saratoga Springs area. The house is close to everything. The art work in the home was beautiful and added to our enjoyment. We will definitely consider coming back!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

all the comforts of home

Review submitted: July 8, 2011   Date of arrival: June 27, 2011

The house, as the pictures attest, is beautiful. The grounds, however, are amazing. As a family visiting from Hong Kong, we enjoyed relaxing in the gazebo, roasting marshmallows by the creek, and playing soccer on the acres of grass. It was a lovely time and the gracious owners are to be thanked. It's super convenient to downtown Saratoga, and quick trips to the Adirondack's. If there is any doubt, there is no doubt... rent this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect graduation celebrations

Review submitted: May 29, 2011   Date of arrival: May 26, 2011

What an experience!! we rented this chateau to celebrate the graduation of our 2 daughters. This was a perfect house for our family reunion which made it very special for our kids. Every family member was in awe of the opulence of the house inside and out, including the picturesque landscaping with the brook, the waterfall, the gazebo, the fire pit, the jacuzzi, etc, etc. It had the perfect blend of antique and contemporary decor inside the house. It shows the owner's great taste and pride in what they do to make guests comfortable throughout the house, no matter what age from the lush grounds to the gazebo, from the fire pit to the hot tub. Our guests were so impressed by the experience that they plan to make it the venue for an annual family get together.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful home and property

Review submitted: May 2, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

We just returned from a weekend in Saratoga Springs and thanks to the beauty of the house and hospitality of Kris and his wife plan to make this an annual trip. The home is modern and beautifully decorated with plenty of sleeping space. The kitchen has all of the modern updates along with a large dining table that easily accomodated our group of three famillies. The grounds are just as impressive as the house sits on a huge wooded lot along a beautiful river with a trail that can be hiked. There is also a hot tob and the outdoor seating was perfect for the beautiful weather we had for the weekend. I cannot recommend this house highly enough as you will not be disappointed.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Wedding weekend

Review submitted: April 18, 2011   Date of arrival: April 14, 2011

I wish I could give more than 5 stars for this gorgeous home! It was the perfect spot for our family to be together for my daughter's wedding at the Casino in Saratoga. Actually, this lovely home was the icing on the cake for a perfectly wonderful and very memorable event in our family. Katie's photographer loved it for her getting ready photos. The decorating is exquisite (thanks' to Kris' very talented wife), the house is bright and cheerful, even on the gloomiest of days, and the views are something from a nature magazine. In fact, the whole house could be a layout in a decorating magazine. And everyone of us commented on the mattresses - I have to find out what they are and get them for my house! Kris is the most gracious and helpful host. The only reason I would not recommend this home is because it might be booked when we want to come back!!!! Thank you so much for helping make Katie's wedding weekend so memorable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Winter Wonderland

Review submitted: January 7, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

Hi Kris,
I just wanted to thank you for such a wonderful stay! We truly enjoyed. The whole family took a walk in your winter wonderland! The stream was part frozen and the perfect amount of snow was on the ground and in the trees. The Christmas decorations were beautiful, and appreciated by all.
Your home was perfect for the wedding preparations,we were so comfortable. Everyone loved the home and the Art was a bonus!
The house was clean and warm, the sheets were marvelous! There was plenty of firewood for the fireplace which we enjoyed every night. We were close to town and what a wonderful town Saratoga Springs is!

Thank you again

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

absolutely beautiful

Review submitted: December 1, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

My family spent thanksgiving week at this stunning home. My grandchildren loved the nature trail & especially the fire pit. We roasted marshmellows & sang songs. This property is over 8 acreas & is exceptionally landscapped. Our older children throughly enjoyed the hot tub. The house is goregous on the inside, well kept,spacious & equipped with high end details. Owners were easy to deal with & went out of their way to welcome us.Upon our arrival we noticed a floral arrangement on the dinning room table for us to enjoy on thankgiving.I highly recommend this property & hope to return myself. Loved it, loved it, loved it!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children

Owners response: Thanks, Lucky.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review