reviews for: listing #66049 - Kihei, Hawaii Studio rental

Stunning Ocean View!Great Reviews!$99/nt.Poool/Hottub/Kitchn
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  yes
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Kauhale Makai
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $99 - $129 /nt
    $693 - $903 /wk
    $2,970 - $3,670 /mth

sort by:

Cute and clean!

Review submitted: June 1, 2014   Date of arrival: May 25, 2014

Great place to stay. Loved the decor, clean, everything you need. Convenient location, really enjoyed our stay. A real value!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Connie,
Thanks so much for your terrific review. It is just an all around nice feeling when our guests enjoy and appreciate the condo, as we really do strive for you to have a wonderful stay. Please stay with us again. With much aloha, Lisa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thanks for A Great Home Away from Home!

Review submitted: May 18, 2014   Date of arrival: April 22, 2014

My wife and I spent a few days in this Kihei condo and had a really great time. The condo is very nicely decorated with a tropical fish theme, and some very unique pieces. My wife called Lisa to find out where she had purchased some of the items so she could take home a little piece of Maui home with us. Sand & Sea in Paia, if you are thinking the same! We really enjoyed the well equipped kitchen and were able to cook full meals with all of the pots and pans provided, and we spent a lot of time on the lanai just taking in the amazing view. We ate most of our meals out there and started and ended the day out there most of the time too. The guidebooks were great and Lisa puts some really helpful recommendations in the arrivals package too. Thanks for a great spot, see you again next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you Richard for the great review! It was truly a pleasure having you stay with us. So glad you enjoyed the little things about the condo too! We very much look forward to having you again next year and please be sure to tell your friends and family about our little piece of paradise. Mahalo and much aloha, Lisa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Honest and objective review

Review submitted: April 22, 2014   Date of arrival: April 13, 2014

CONTEXT:

I want to share with you what we knew about the suite before booking so that you have a some context about our review:

-We were aware of the road noise and expected it.
-We were aware of limited space/studio size of the unit.
-The view was more important than the size of the unit.
-We wanted budget friendly accommodation.
-We've stayed in other place in Kihei.
-Kihei is a beach village, things are more weathered due to the environment.

PROS:
-The unit was tidy.
-The staff at the front desk were courteous.
-Facilities were good.
-The building is West of the road so you can easily walk to the beach.
-The view was nice.
-Quiet neighbours.

CONS:
-The room had a musty smell and there was very obvious mold growing on the bottom of the curtains. We would highly recommend the owner replacing these as soon as possible.
-The bed made a lot of noise; creaking as one of us tossed or turned. Had to sleep with ear plugs.
-Found two cockroaches in the room (there was no food left out or in the garbage)
-For a unit that was remodelled in 2010, it showed a lot of wear and tear (worn down appliances, tub, etc.)
-Telephone technically didn't work - sound was scratchy and neither we or the other person on the line could make out what was being said. Also, the Internet kept disconnecting.

OVERALL:
-If you are on a budget, won't be spending a lot of time in the room, don't mind that things aren't really that new, and don't need to rely heavily on Internet or phone, then this is the place for you.

Owners response: Thanks for your review. I always appreciate hearing from guests & if something is bothering you, please do not wait until a review to mention it. Just drop me an email or phone & I can usually resolve your concern; saving you having to deal with an issue and saving me from having a temporary guest concern immortalized in a review LOL. I really do try hard to keep everything nice so that you have a great stay. The phone modem was switched out by Oceanic,and is perfect again. The internet modem was tested & was fine during the test & we are keeping an eye on it. The maid wiped the red dust off the bottom of the drapes (which is everywhere on Maui) and the bed is creaking a bit so we will have someone in to tighten it. The building is sprayed quarterly for all manner of bugs,& after a spraying, it is common that a few dead bugs will appear. We have never seen a cockroach or had one reported by the maid in any of our units, although in a hot, tropical climate, bugs exist, and ghost ants are impossible to eliminate (although these guests did not mention any). Even at home the odd bug appears, but as long as there is not an infestation, life is good. We are thankful that we have a 5 star rating (which is the average of all of the reviews put together), & so we are glad that we are able to please most of the people most of the time. Any review will be subjective, and; sometimes, we just have to accept that people stay in our condo looking to find the negative, despite the fact that there is so much beauty and good about the condo. The suite was remodelled in part in 2011, and had a new bamboo floor, flatscreen and luxury sleeper sofa installed in 2013. The bathtub is old but is not a rusted out piece of junk. It is clean and works well but does have some of the scuffs of time ... don't we all. As the appliances get tired in the kitchen, we replace them with brand new stainless ones. We have a new undermount stainless microwave and a stainless dishwasher on order, and the fridge works fine but is white. I think the important things are that is is a great unit at a great price in a great location with a million dollar view.Although our accomodations are very nice, we are at the budget end of oceanfront. We hope our guests arrive with an appreciation of the value they are getting in an oceanfront building with nice ammenities, but please remember that if everything must be brand new and perfect, you need to look in a much higher price range. With much aloha, Lisa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We didn't want to leave!

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: October 26, 2013

Lisa was available to answer all queries even though she wasn't even on the island and the studio had everything we needed. Awesome view from the lanai. It was the perfect place for a romantic getaway! My boyfriend and I loved the location and amenities. Hopefully, we will come back some day. :-)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Kristy,
We loved having you and are so blessed to have so many wonderful guests. I agree, the lanai has an amazing view.See you next time, Lisa and Thomas

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great for two, but no more.

Review submitted: October 2, 2013   Date of arrival: September 17, 2013

Part of my disatisfaction was my fault. By looking at the pictures I thought I was getting a one bedroom. I did not read carefully enough. The room was way too small for four adults. The dark beige walls with some gray accents made the room feel even smaller. The ceilings and kitchen wall paper both had small dust bunnies hanging from them. This made a clean floor and bathroom and kitchen facilities seem not so clean. Not being able to put the muphy bed up, didn't help. We appreciated the beach umbrella and beach gear. We liked the availability of the community BBQ? The view was gorgeous. The downs out weighed the ups and we moved to a different condo facilityafter 3 days.

Owners response: Wow, I can't help but feel like I am taking the brunt of this guest not being careful enough in choosing the condo. It is most certainly clean, and the photos, videos and wording of the listing all make it unequivocably clear that the condo is a studio unit, and the walls are not dark, and the colour is easily seen in the video and photos. It is advertised as having zero bedrooms, is described as a studio unit, is grouped on the website with other studio units, and the photos and video show everything. Please, if you want to be upset with someone, be upset with yourself-you goofed. This a gorgeous unit at a great price and to give it two stars, you only make yourself look foolish, particularly when 14 out of the last 15 reviews before yours gives it a 5 out of 5, with one 4 out of 5, and the guest right after you also gave it a 5 out of 5. Your title says `Great', and you mention several times how clean it is, let's leave it at that. Aloha, Lisa

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Studio! Great Location! Great Value!

Review submitted: September 16, 2013   Date of arrival: September 6, 2013

Spent much time looking for the best value on Maui -- definitely found it! You won't find a better place to stay on Maui at even 50% more than Lisa's price. The location is wonderful -- a short drive to some of the best places on the island (Pa'ia, Wailea, Ka'anapali). The views are as advertised -- the sun set right in front of our Lanai! Beautiful! The pool is nice and the beach is 100 yards away (although there are much more spectacular beaches just a short drive away). There is road noise since the unit is the closest to S. Kihei Road; if you're looking for ultimate quiet and serenity from your balcony this is not the place. However, we loved the unit and view, especially for the price. We will undoubtedly be back in Maui, and we will plan our vacation dates around this unit's availability!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow, Bradford! Thanks. Best Review Ever! Looking forward to having you stay with us again and please pass the word around to friends, family and co-workers. With much aloha, Lisa and Thomas

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a great condo!

Review submitted: September 1, 2013   Date of arrival: August 22, 2013

We had an amazing time in Maui. The condo was just the perfect size,
very wel maintained, and located extremely close to the beach
with an AMAZING view of the mountains! Thanks for making
our first (and hopefuly not our last) trip to Maui
so much fun! :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Giovanna,
Thanks so much for the great review. We also love looking at the West Maui Mountains, with the ocean in the foreground, and that is the reason we bought an `outside unit' as opposed to a courtyard unit. We just can't get enough of them! We are so glad that you had a wonderful time and we thank you for the great review. We look forward to hosting you on your next holiday to Maui. Aloha, Lisa and Thomas

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect ocean and mountain view from the Lanai

Review submitted: July 3, 2013   Date of arrival: June 20, 2013

The ocean and mountain view from the condo lanai is gorgeous. It's not too bad a walk from the condo to the shore to sunbath or relax by the shoreline. The condo location is very accessible to all amenities that adds to convenience.

The condo is clean and well maintained, however my only concern was the bed sheets, comforter, and pillows. They don't seem to be fresh and I wonder if they are washed from guests to another. I'd suggest to the owner have fresh spare beddings in the closet to ease comfort.

The concierge in the condo admin office is very helpful in giving us information and suggestion on different attractions and activities so we can get the best of our visit in Maui.

Overall, we are satisfied with our stay at Unit 502, as it seems like home away from home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the million dollar view and found the condo to be nicely decorated and clean. Just to put your mind at ease. The sheets are DEFINITELY, WITHOUT QUESTION, washed for each guest. Due to there being so many people nowadays with allergies and chemical sensitivities I had directed by cleaning lady to avoid detergents with strong scents and to avoid using fabric softener for the same reason. Please rest comfortably knowing that cleanliness and your comfort are always our top priorities. Please be sure to stay with us again. Mahalo, Lisa

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Exactly as advertised

Review submitted: March 12, 2013   Date of arrival: February 24, 2013

My husband and I arrived Feb. 24th to a spotless and tastefully decorated condo unit. It was exactly as advertised - what you see is what you get. There was enough space for the 2 of us, with all the amenities we needed. Very nice view from a rather large lanai. The pool and BBQ area was also very clean and well maintained. The location was great for all our day trips. The owner was very professional and easy to deal with. I thought the Magnum PI DVD set was a great touch and even watched an episode or 2!
Thanks for the great week!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo Loreen,
So glad you liked our little paradise. I will pass on the compliment to my husband about Magnum P.I., that was his touch! Always a pleasure to have such wonderful guests in our home away from home. Please stay with us again and tell your friends and family about us. With much mahalo, Lisa

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Nice

Review submitted: March 10, 2013   Date of arrival: March 3, 2013

Great view of the west maui mtns. Easy access to further south (makena/wailea) as well as to points north and west (wailuku and lahaina). Comfortable place for two outdoorsy types.

Owners response: Mahalo Mark. Always so glad when a guest loves it as much as we do! We bought on this side of the building, instead of in the courtyard, so that we could see the West Maui Mountains as well as the ocean and the palm trees in the foreground. For us, this condo had the PERFECT view!
Please stay with us again. Thanks for the kind words. Mahalo and Aloha, Lisa

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Clean and welcoming

Review submitted: January 29, 2013   Date of arrival: January 25, 2013

The condo is very clean and charming and for the price, it is excellent. The ocean view was lovely as was the updated kitchen. The two small beach chairs, boogie boards and beach towels came in handy. We kept the screen doors closed at night and had no problems with road noise. We were also sure to put away all food (which is key on the islands) so did not have any issues with ants whatsoever.

The only slight downside at all is that the mattress on the murphy bed is not the most comfortable and it's probably time to buy a new bed comforter.

I would not hesitate to stay again for a short stay.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What a fantastic trip!

Review submitted: January 28, 2013   Date of arrival: January 17, 2013

My fiance (now wife) and I stayed at this condo last week and loved it! We saw whales from the lanai, had no issues what so ever, and would highly recommend this condo. Lisa was quick to reply whenever I emailed, and gave us every bit of information we needed before we arrived. Thanks so much for the best week or our lives!

Lisa

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow. I have never felt so emotional after reading a review before. I find myself tearing up as I am responding to you. I can not even begin to tell you how happy it makes me to think that you had such an inspiring week with us. Wow. I simply wish this type of joy and happiness for all of our guests. Maui is a really special place and when people come with open hearts, focussing on the beauty and wonder,and filtering out the annoyances of day to day life, they fully appreciate the magic. I am glad to have provided the setting for the best week of your life, and am sure that your positive attitudes and openness to the wonder, made the week so truly fantastic.
Aloha and Mahalo, Please stay with us again! I hope the magic follows you wherever you go! Lisa

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Anniversary Trip!

Review submitted: December 18, 2012   Date of arrival: October 24, 2012

My wife and I had a fantastic stay in this condo in Kihea!
The accomodations were perfect - we used the kitchen to cook several meals, we loved sitting on the balcony enjoying our morning coffee and breakfast, and it was conveniently located so we could visit all of the sites of this beautiful Island! And it was very reasonably priced. Thank you Lisa, for all you did to make our anniversary trip perfect!

Owners response: Timothy,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. How you feel about the condo is how we feel. Just a really nice place to spend some time and enjoy a stellar view in a comfortable, special setting. I am so glad that you had a wonderful anniversary trip. Please stay with us again next time. With much Aloha, Lisa and Thomas

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Stay in Kihei

Review submitted: December 18, 2012   Date of arrival: October 24, 2012

We had a fantastic stay in this condo in Kihea!
The accomodations were perfect - we used the kitchen to cook several meals, we loved sitting on the balcony enjoying our morning coffee and breakfast, and it was conveniently located so we could visit all of the sites of this beautiful Island! And it was very reasonably priced. Thank you Lisa, for all you did to make our anniversary trip perfect!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Condo, Great Memory

Review submitted: October 29, 2012   Date of arrival: September 9, 2012

The first time I entered this condo, my husband and I fell in love with this place. It is exactly as in the picture and beyond my imagination. Very clean and comfortable, lovely decoration, fully functional kitchen, and equipped with beach gears (big and small coolers, boogie board, and beach chairs), which are very useful and convenient. I can feel the owner's love to this place, making us want to treat it well and keep it clean. We had enjoyed several of our "home-made" breakfast on the lanai accompanied by the stunning ocean view. I'd enjoyed the mountain view outside the door as well.
My husband and I would love to come back and stay in this property in the future to add more great memories to our life. Kihei is the best place to stay in Maui. It is beautiful and convenient, many great restaurants and great beaches, but not over-crowded or over-priced. It is perfect for a short getaway or long stay. Love this place, Love Kihei, and Love to come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Mindy,

Just reading your review brings a smile to my face. We are so fortunate to have wonderful guests like you. Glad you loved everything as much as we do! See you next time. Please refer us to your family and friends too! Check out all of our rentals at dubya dubya dubya dawt kiheimauicondobyowner dawt com (they do not allow embedded website addresses here!).

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

loved it!

Review submitted: July 29, 2012   Date of arrival: July 19, 2012

In the words of my daughter, whose birthday present the trip was:-lT WAS THE PERFECT SPOT, AMAZING VALUE. CENTRALLY LOCATED. CONDO SPOTLESSLY CLEAN, VERY COMFY, GREAT BBQ AREA, POOL AND BEACH ACCESS. WOULD DEFINITELY BOOK AGAIN. LOVED IT, THANKS SO MUCH!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you so much Caroline! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. For future guests, we just installed a new wood floor in the living room, a new 32 inch flatscreen, and a new sleeper sofa, new pictures to follow! We are blessed to have such wonderful guests. Mahalo, Lisa and Thomas

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful place to stay!

Review submitted: May 17, 2012   Date of arrival: May 9, 2012

The complex was clean and neat and the office staff was friendly and helpful. The owner gave me all the details I needed for a stress free vacation. The condo was supplied with all the essentials and the view of the ocean as I woke in the morning was wonderful. We did over shop a little but figure it would help the next person's stay. The video showed me exactly what I was getting before I got there so there were no surprises. I have been to Maui several times and I always stay in Kihei because of it's central location to the best snorkeling and a quick drive to Lahaina. It had everything we needed but the murphy bed could use a little more padding, but we were so tired from being in the ocean though, it didn't really matter. It could be that I'm spoiled at home with my temperpedic mattress, who knows. Overall it was EXCELLENT!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much Kathleen for your wonderful review. I agree that Kihei is the place to be! So central and close to anywhere a person might want to go! We really love the view from Unit #502. From the minute you walk in the door you are hit by the majesty of the Pacific Ocean, with the palms in the foreground and the mountains as a backdrop. the condos in our column are one of the few ones in the building that point directly at the ocean. Most have a dog leg design, so that you have to be on the end of the sofa or on the lanai to see the view. So glad that you loved it to. Please come back and stay with us again. With much aloha, Lisa and Thomas

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great spot to use as a base to explore the Island.

Review submitted: May 11, 2012   Date of arrival: May 2, 2012

This condo met our needs perfectly! We are exploreres and dont spend a lot of time sitting on the beach. We were able to easily drive to all parts of the Island in a day. The condo is well equipped with extra's (cooler, chairs, boogie boards, etc) and attractively decorated and furnished.

There is wonderful snorkeling on the Kihei side of the Island.

The property isnt brand new but the pool, hot tub, grounds and building are well maintained. Ideal for a couple. Great value for $.

I appreciated the prompt replies to our queries and would enjoy staying there again or recommending it to friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you so much. Our goal is provide a wonderful, comfortable home base from which you can enjoy all that Maui has to offer. Please stay with us again soon. With much aloha, Lisa and Thomas

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Exactly as pictured

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

We totally enjoyed our stay; the condo was exactly as pictured. The started condiments, ice chest, etc. were great. No need to go out and purchase a bunch of stuff you can't take home. BBQ area was clean and a pleasure to use. We felt very much at home. I would recommend this condo.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Owners response: Linda, we are so pleased that our condo met your expectations and that you appreciated all of the little extras to make your stay more confortable. We have a video on our site so that guests can see exactly what our condo offers and can decide if it will meet their needs. The greatest compliment that we can receive is your referrals and repeat business. We hope you stay with us again. With much aloha, Lisa and Thomas

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Darling Condo with a Postcard View!

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: February 9, 2012

This was a little gem that we found that was referred to us by a friend who had stayed here last year.The condo is really cute inside and is well equipped for guests. It is tastefully decorated and the view of the ocean is absolutely amazing. We found that the owners were really nice to deal with and they were helpful in answering any questions that we had. The property has an inviting pool and hot tub area with a BBQ area and a wading pool for little swimmers too! We would definitely stay again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the great review. We are always so happy to share our home with kind people like you. Mahalo, Lisa and Thomas

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

would not recommand this condo.

Review submitted: February 5, 2012   Date of arrival: November 15, 2011

When we read reviews, it is to guide us to make the right choice. We rented this condo for 1 month,Nov 15 th to December 15 th, and were very desappointed. We were not expecting to have a condo so near the street... very very noisy. The fabric shows the wear of time... mostly for the sofa and bedding. We had to buy our sheets and pillows.... not to mention big stains on the carpet near the patio door... dirty cookware....and dirty wardrobe which did not have room for our clothes . Our suitcases had to be on the floor for the whole stay. A review mentions a flat TV screen... which we never found.

We talked about all this to the cleaning lady who mentioned it to the owners... never heard a word from them .

We would not recommand this condo. We have rented very often until now......Cleanliness is the KEY.

Owners response: We are very sorry to hear that this guest did not have an enjoyable holiday. We, too, were very disappointed that our condo was left in a filhy mess upon their departure. Thankfully, this experience is the exception and not the rule.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Good View, OK Accommodations

Review submitted: January 19, 2012   Date of arrival: January 11, 2012

This property was overall not what we had hoped for.
For positives, the view is quite good and the community features such as pool, hot tub, grounds and grill area were very well maintained.
The condo itself was a disappointment. It was very dingy and I had to contact the owner to have it cleaned after we arrived because it was quite dirty. The murphy bed was very uncomfortable and squeaked everytime someone moved, being a lighter sleeper, I had a very difficult time with this. The unit is also on the street side of the complex and there was road noise day and night. We had rented a condo because we wanted to eat in to save money, but unfortunately this was not an option because the unit was so overrun with ants. The complex sent in an exterminator, but it didn't help, ants were all over the kitchen and bathroom areas. Making eating in impossible for us.
Overall I would not rent this unit again, but found the owner to be very professional in trying to remedy the situation and would consider renting another one of her condos.

Owners response: We own and operate 4 oceanfront/view condos in maui which can be seen at triple w dot mauidreams dot ca (they won't allow website addresses on this site). We pride ourselves in offering tasteful, updated accomodations at a good price and with great ocean views. We have had this business since 2007, and approximately 65% of our business is repeat clientele. We would ask that anyone who considers staying in one of our rentals read all of the reviews, watch the videos and be assured that quality and service is our priority. We want you to have the time of your life and to come back time and time again, and to tell your friends and family to stay with us too. Although I am not going to go through this guest's remarks one by one, I will say we are not able to offer a full refund one day before arrival ... Please be assured that there has never been an ant problem in this condo. All of the units in this building are sprayed routinely each quarter, as it was when these guests stayed. The exterminator did not see any ants during the spraying, and the cleaner, whom I graciously deployed in an unsuccessful attempt to placate these guests, did not see any ants either. The entire width of the condo is a wall of glass facing the ocean. The view is not `good', it is breathtaking (check out the video). It is impossible for this unit to be dingy, even if we painted the walls black, as it is filled with sunlight. Thank you for taking the time to read our reviews. We wish you a wonderful vacation filled with aloha. Lisa and Thomas

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful condo, gorgeous view! Couldn't be happier.

Review submitted: November 4, 2011   Date of arrival: October 16, 2011

The view is even better while standing on the lanai. My husband and I were married on Maui a couple of weeks ago and stayed at this unit. We loved everything about it! It was clean, very nicely decorated, and within a one to two minute drive to the stores of Kihei (walkable if you want!) We also liked being in Kihei because it is within a reasonable drive to Wailea, Lahaina, and the airport. The complex was great! Nice pool and hot tub, VERY helpful and kind staff, meticulously maintained landscaping, and a beautiful garden in the MIDDLE of the building. What a surprise! The condo is smaller than similar ones in the complex but as another reviewer stated, plenty for two people. We had enough room for three suitcases and a wedding dress, so really not bad on space. I also had my mother and sister over to help me get ready for the wedding and there was plenty of room for us to enjoy mimosas, eat breakfast, and to get ready. My family members stayed in a larger unit in the same complex, but did not enjoy the same unbelievable view we had! A photo of the view posted on Facebook got the envy of all back home. Also, everything was very clean and we were so happy to have the use of the beach towels, laundry basket, kitchen pans/tools, and other various useful things the owners have left. If we were to come back to Maui, I would hesitate to stay anywhere else for fear of being disappointed!!! Thank you so much for a wonderful and memorable stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I just have to say `thank you' for the wonderful review, and to let you know that it means so much to us that you chose our condo for your special day, and that it met and exceeded all of your expectations. We love the view too, and we chose this condo specifically because you see the magnificent view from every angle, which is not the way that most of the condos in this building are set up. We actually paid a little more for the smaller unit with the spectacular view rather than take the one bedroom unit with the average view, and we have never regretted it. We would be so happy if you came back and stayed with us again. Congratulations, and we wish you many years of happiness together! Aloha, Lisa and Thomas

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect place to stay! Wonderful condo!

Review submitted: April 30, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

The condo was perfect for my stay. I went to Maui for a wedding. The entire wedding party stayed in the Garden by the Sea condos. I saw 5 condos while I was there. Lisa's condo is by far one of the best.

It's small, but the perfect size for 2 people. Everything was easy to find. The parking is close by and you've got an ocean front view.

The condo came packed with towels, beach chairs, and boogie boards. It was great because we didn't need to go buy all those things. The condo is close to town. A few times we just walked to grab food or to bigger beaches.

The kitchen was the best part. It allowed us to cook our own meals and save a little money. The pool, hot tub, and bbq area were amazing. We did big group dinners at the bbq area.

Lisa was great about getting me all the information prior to my vacation. She also helped us track down shirts we forgot in the condo. It was a wonderful way to spend my vacation. I HIGHLY recommend this condo!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much! We try really hard to make everything perfect for our guests, and it makes us feel good that you really enjoyed our place. Please come and stay with us again. Mahalo, Lisa and Thomas

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Really Well Appointed Condo w. Million Dollar View

Review submitted: April 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 8, 2010

5/5 STARS A Really Well Appointed Condo with a Million Dollar View!

Guest: Jennifer and Andy (Edmonton Alberta, Canada)
Date of Stay: July 8, 2010 Review Submitted: December 19, 2010

I had a wonderful time in Maui and was really glad that we chose this condo. The building is great, but the unit was clean, very nicely decorated, and had a view to die for-we never got tired of it. We often ate on the lanai, and found it to be a wonderful way to start and end our days (there is a bit of road noise on the lanai only, but it didn`t bother us at all). The owners were really great to deal with and made sure that we had everything we needed. When we arrived we appreciated the starter items in the kitchen and bathroom, and it saved us having to buy a lot of stuff. The pool and hot tub area is a great place to spend family time and the tiki torches at night created a very tropical atmosphere. Great central location, yet in the quiet end of Kihei, away from the crowds! Loved it, already booked again for next year!

Owner response: Thanks so much for the kind words. We visited our condo last summer and while we were there, we really tried hard to make it as stylish and comfortable as possible for our guests. Putting in those little things that you may need to minimize the number of trips to Longs! We are also glad you liked the view, that really is the number one thing that sets this condo apart from most others. We love how the view greets you from the minute you walk in, and can be enjoyed from every angle. Wishing you another great stay next time! Aloha, Lisa and Thomas.

Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure seekers, Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Sightseeing, Families with teenagers, Families with young children, People with disabilities, Romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great View, Even Better Value! As Posted on VRBO.

Review submitted: April 22, 2011   Date of arrival: December 3, 2010

5/5 STARS Great View, Even Better Value!
Guest: gulch (New York)
Date of Stay: December 3, 2010 Review Submitted: January 13, 2011

My parents and I stayed here for a week- it has been more than a month since our stay and I can still remember the view of West Maui from the apartment. Having that mountain loom over you in the distance and throughout your stay is such an awesome and surreal experience. I also appreciated how rugged the brush out front looked- not manicured and perfect felt really authentic. Though the apartment is located on South Kihei Road, it's is actually in North Kihei area, making it a far more convenient and centralized alternative to the resorts down South, as well as the resorts in the West, since most of our activities were centered around the bay, as well as in the East and the North. The studio felt like a real home, and we appreciated all the effort and personal touches made to make our stay more welcome. The kitchen is also more than adequately stocked. On arrival, we were happy to find the apartment spotlessly clean. For the price we paid and the view, this was great value.

Recommended for: Adventure seekers, Girls getaway, Sightseeing, Families with young children, Romantic getaway

Owner response: Thanks so much! Whenever we stay in our condo, we too are awed by the majesty of the ocean and the mountains. In fact, we bought on that side of the building because of the mountains! It always makes us feel good when our guests love our condo as much as we do. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful time! Mahalo, Lisa and Thomas

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Quiet Getaway! Review Posted from Other Site

Review submitted: April 22, 2011   Date of arrival: December 28, 2010

5/5 STARS Great Quiet Getaway!

Guest: Chris (San Francisco, CA)
Date of Stay: December 28, 2010 Review Submitted: January 19, 2011

This unit is the perfect getaway place for a couple. It has everything we needed for the beach, in the kitchen, and to be very comfortable. I loved sitting on the Lani and just watching the day start. I would recommend this unit in this great building. Very nice.

Owner response: Thanks Chris, hope to see you again next year! Edit My Response

Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure seekers, People with disabilities, Romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

unit with a view

Review submitted: March 10, 2011   Date of arrival: February 15, 2011

This is amazing unit. It is newly renovated with internet, flat screen tv, beach chairs, beach towels, boogie boards and a full kitchen with everything you will need. This is a very comfortable place and the updates are wonderful. The art work is amazing and you will feel right at home. You will be very pleased by choosing this unit. I highly recommend it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Quiet Getaway

Review submitted: January 19, 2011   Date of arrival: December 28, 2010

This unit is the perfect getaway place for a couple. It has everything we needed for the beach, in the kitchen, and to be very comfortable. I loved sitting on the Lani and just watching the day start.

I would recommend this unit in this great building. Very nice.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Chris, hope to see you again next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Good view, even better value.

Review submitted: January 13, 2011   Date of arrival: December 3, 2010

My parents and I stayed here for a week- it has been more than a month since our stay and I can still remember the view of West Maui from the apartment. Having that mountain loom over you in the distance and throughout your stay is such an awesome and surreal experience. I also appreciated how rugged the brush out front looked- not manicured and perfect felt really authentic.

Though the apartment is located on South Kihei Road, it's is actually in North Kihei area, making it a far more convenient and centralized alternative to the resorts down South, as well as the resorts in the West, since most of our activities were centered around the bay, as well as in the East and the North.

The studio felt like a real home, and we appreciated all the effort and personal touches made to make our stay more welcome. The kitchen is also more than adequately stocked. On arrival, we were happy to find the apartment spotlessly clean.

For the price we paid and the view, this was great value.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great View Great Value

Review submitted: January 13, 2011   Date of arrival: December 3, 2009

My parents and I stayed here for a week- it has been more than a month since our stay and I can still remember the view of West Maui from the apartment. Having that mountain loom over you in the distance and throughout your stay is such an awesome and surreal experience. I also appreciated how rugged the brush out front looked- not manicured and perfect felt really authentic.

Though the apartment is located on South Kihei Road, it's is actually in North Kihei area, making it a far more convenient and centralized alternative to the resorts down South, as well as the resorts in the West, since most of our activities were centered around the bay, as well as in the East and the North.

The studio felt like a real home, and we appreciated all the effort and personal touches made to make our stay more welcome. The kitchen is also more than adequately stocked. On arrival, we were happy to find the apartment spotlessly clean.

For the price we paid and the view, this was great value.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much! Whenever we stay in our condo, we too are awed by the majesty of the ocean and the mountains. In fact, we bought on that side of the building because of the mountains! It always makes us feel good when our guests love our condo as much as we do. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful time! Mahalo, Lisa and Thomas

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Keeping it real

Review submitted: January 13, 2011   Date of arrival: December 3, 2010

My parents and I stayed here for a week- it has been more than a month since our stay and I can still remember the view of West Maui from the apartment. Having that mountain loom over you in the distance and throughout your stay is such an awesome and surreal experience. I also appreciated how rugged the brush out front looked- not manicured and perfect felt really authentic.

Though the apartment is located on South Kihei Road, it's is actually in North Kihei area, making it a far more convenient and centralized alternative to the resorts down South, as well as the resorts in the West, since most of our activities were centered around the bay, as well as in the East and the North.

The studio felt like a real home, and we appreciated all the effort and personal touches made to make our stay more welcome. The kitchen is also more than adequately stocked. On arrival, we were happy to find the apartment spotlessly clean.

For the price we paid and the view, this was great value.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much! Whenever we stay in our condo, we too are awed by the majesty of the ocean and the mountains. In fact, we bought on that side of the building because of the mountains! It always makes us feel good when our guests love our condo as much as we do. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful time! Mahalo, Lisa and Thomas

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ocean View is Even Better than the Photo!Such Fun!

Review submitted: December 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 8, 2010

We had a wonderful time in Maui and were really glad that we chose this condo. The building is great, and the unit itself was clean, very nicely decorated, and had a view to die for-we never got tired of it. We often ate on the lanai, and found it to be a wonderful way to start and end our days (there is a bit of road noise on the lanai only, but it didn`t bother us at all. You do not hear any noise when you are inside the condo). The owners were really great to deal with and made sure that we had everything we needed. When we arrived we appreciated the starter items in the kitchen and bathroom, and it saved us having to buy a lot of stuff. The pool and hot tub area is a great place to spend family time and the tiki torches at night created a very tropical atmosphere. Great central location, yet in a quiet area of Kihei, away from the crowds! Loved it, already booked again for next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the kind words. We visited Maui recently and really tried to put all of the little extras in our condo to make it comfortable for our guests.Glad you had a great time. The view really is spectacular, and it is what sets this condo apart. We enjoy seeing it from the minute we walk in, and then from every room. Thanks for staying with us again! Aloha, Lisa and Thomas.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The View is Even Better than the Photo!Great Time!

Review submitted: December 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 8, 2010

We had a wonderful time in Maui and were really glad that we chose this condo. The building is great, and the unit itself was clean, very nicely decorated, and had a view to die for-we never got tired of it. We often ate on the lanai, and found it to be a wonderful way to start and end our days (there is a bit of road noise on the lanai only, but it didn`t bother us at all. You do not hear any noise when you are inside the condo). The owners were really great to deal with and made sure that we had everything we needed. When we arrived we appreciated the starter items in the kitchen and bathroom, and it saved us having to buy a lot of stuff. The pool and hot tub area is a great place to spend family time and the tiki torches at night created a very tropical atmosphere. Great central location, yet in a quiet area of Kihei, away from the crowds! Loved it, already booked again for next year!

Reply

Forward

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the kind words. When we visited recently we really tried to put all those little extras in the condo to make it nice for our guests. We are glad you liked everything. The view really is what sets this condo apart from others, and you can enjoy it from the minute you walk in, and from every room. Thanks for staying with us again! Aloha, Lisa and Thomas!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Really Well Appointed Condo with a Million Dollar View!

Review submitted: December 19, 2010   Date of arrival: July 8, 2010

I had a wonderful time in Maui and was really glad that we chose this condo. The building is great, but the unit was clean, very nicely decorated, and had a view to die for-we never got tired of it. We often ate on the lanai, and found it to be a wonderful way to start and end our days (there is a bit of road noise on the lanai only, but it didn`t bother us at all). The owners were really great to deal with and made sure that we had everything we needed. When we arrived we appreciated the starter items in the kitchen and bathroom, and it saved us having to buy a lot of stuff. The pool and hot tub area is a great place to spend family time and the tiki torches at night created a very tropical atmosphere. Great central location, yet in the quiet end of Kihei, away from the crowds! Loved it, already booked again for next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for the kind words. We visited our condo last summer and while we were there, we really tried hard to make it as stylish and comfortable as possible for our guests. Putting in those little things that you may need to minimize the number of trips to Longs! We are also glad you liked the view, that really is the number one thing that sets this condo apart from most others. We love how the view greets you from the minute you walk in, and can be enjoyed from every angle. Wishing you another great stay next time! Aloha, Lisa and Thomas.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review