reviews for: listing #66122 - Tulum, Yucatan Villa rental

Casa Guayaba Unique Enorme Beautiful and Peaceful Villa
  • bedrooms  8
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  7
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  20
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $550 - $1,400 /wk

sort by:

My review of Casa Guayaba - highly recommended

Review submitted: May 14, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

I want to remark on a superlative experience in Tulum that was above expectations. We were looking for 4 bedrooms in a house, for 6 people for a week. We did not desire a hotel or the sterile environment of a condo or all-inclusive resort, but the gift of an association with “people on the ground”. Casa Guayaba is a family home, in Tulum. Tatiana and Sebastien live on the property in a separate house. The property is walled, in other words, a secure compound, a private oasis, house and garden, in this quaint small city. The area for rent (very reasonable price for value) is a two story house with swimming pool. The house can be divided into smaller units, based on desire or requirements. We had the entire upper floor of the house (which is comprised of two separate units), with balcony, hammock, four bedrooms, kitchen, dining area and sitting area, three bathrooms (two in the larger unit of the house and one in the separate suite). The bedrooms have air-conditioning as did the living area, and ceiling fans. We used a combination of English, Spanish and French to communicate. Tatiana and Sebastien were a wealth of information, assisted us in recommendations for local restaurants, local travel (we did not rent a car), walked with us into town to show us how to use the “collectivo” (the local public mini bus), arranged for a day with a van and driver at our request (to go to cenotes, Coba, Valladolid), and unasked, made a light dinner for us on the last night to talk and say good-by. They were not intrusive but simply helpful.

We have used Flipkey, VRBO, etc, and have become accustomed to seek out the experience of local contacts, and this experience rates highly. It is easy to find a place to stay, it is hard to find a place to want to be - thank you Tatiana and Sebastien! This was very family friendly (several small happy dogs and cats). It is a very short walk into Tulum town, which was then an easy jumping off point to get to the local sites and beach(s). We used Paypal for the reservation and travelers checks for the possible security (damage) fee, refunded, easy communication by email and phone.

Robert
Portland, OR

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely Excellent In Every Way!!!!

Review submitted: March 3, 2014   Date of arrival: February 17, 2014

Our stay at Casa Guayaba was absolutely perfect in every way. The owners are kind helpful people who really do want you to have a " Home away from Home". They were incredibly helpful with directions around town, the best places to visit and how to enjoy Tulum to its full extent. The property is totally private with huge lush foliage and and beautiful gardens surrounding the entire house and pool area, the photo's really do not do justice since the trees and flowers are much much bigger and perfect for escaping the mid afternoon sun.

The property is on the south end of town just off the main drag on a nice quite side street and is perfect for excursions in and around Tulum. We biked to and from the house multiple times every day and never once felt uncomfortable or unsafe in any way. The house is a 5 minute cab ride to the main beaches and only a 5-10 minute walk into the heart of town.

The house and owners were perfect and really made our vacation memorable and we would love to return the next time we visit Tulum.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A true private oasis!

Review submitted: January 10, 2014   Date of arrival: January 3, 2014

I stayed at Casa Guayaba during a recent trip to Tulum along with other crew members (we went there to shoot a music video and vacation for a couple of days) and had an amazing experience.
First of all, the hosts, Sebastian and Tatiana are so welcoming and helpful, even prior to our arrival they gave us all sorts of helpful facts and advice regarding our visit. Once at the house they were even more helpful, recommending restaurants and other spots for us to visit (all of them amazing and of great variety), at one point Sebastian even went out to the pharmacy to get some drops for a member of the crew when he got surfer's ear.
Then, the house...absolutely beautiful. Casa Guayaba is basically a villa where you get the luxury that you'd get at a hotel but at a rate that's almost unbelievable, an absolute bargain. On top of that you get a place with the charm and homely feeling that comes across in the care and attention to detail that Sebastian and Tatiana have taken with everything from the plants around the house, the bedding and overall decoration of the house--and of course with added privacy and space, I really should highlight SPACE, from the photos I could tell the house was spacious but once there I was really amazed at how much space we were getting (space that at a hotel would have cost a fortune)
The location allowed us to have peace and quiet when we desired but also be only a few minutes away from the beach & nightlife of Tulum.
After almost a week at the house I was sad to leave! Tatiana and Sebastian are so friendly that I felt like I was saying good-bye to friends and not checking out of a place.
I would absolutely recommend this spot to anyone visiting Tulum. To film crews traveling to Tulum I would recommend Casa Guayaba even more so, Sebastian has worked in film and is full of information regarding locations, permits, beach cleaning crews and anything that a film crew might need while in Tulum.
Casa Guayaba, a real hidden oasis and treasure in Tulum!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Good value, kind people

Review submitted: September 17, 2013   Date of arrival: August 19, 2013

My husband and I, mother, and 18 month old recently returned from an 11 day stay at Casa Guayaba. The property is as described by other reviewers. It's gorgeous. It also has a nice pool and lovely garden. The proprietors Tatiana and Sebastian are kind people and do their best to show their guests a nice time.

We stayed in a 3 bedroom unit on the second level and it had air conditioning units in every room which was important to me as you did not have the breeze near the beach and I wanted my mom and baby to be comfortable. 2 of the units stopped working during our stay and they were promptly fixed and serviced.

Tatiana and Sebastian were full of recommendations for sights to see and food to try and were just in general very friendly. They even lent us DVDs to watch at night while the baby was sleeping. I will say that while we were staying there, Tatiana and Sebastian were living in the unit below ours instead of their regular residence. So we did not have much privacy. There were several times when they would enter the unit without knocking while we were there which I did not plan on and did not make us comfortable.

The other negative for me was that the contract states that linens will be provided, but for our stay they only wanted to give us a change of linens once and with 11 days at the beach it just wasn't enough. Even with rinsing off before going inside, your sheets will get gritty. We had to take the sheets in to town to be laundered and it was a bit of a hassle. We regularly use vacation rentals for our stays and while often extra linens are not available, there is usually a way to clean them on property. I would arrange in advance to have extra linens if you are having a longer stay.

Overall, I would recommend this property. It was lovely and run by very nice people. Tatiana and Sebastian came over and we had drinks our last night in town and it was such lovely personal gesture and the extra touch in making us feel welcome and special. The property was also a great value for the amount of space you get. We definitely were not in a cramped hotel room which was fantastic.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Super vacances à Tulum

Review submitted: August 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 19, 2013

Nous revenons de Casa Guayaba, et ne pouvons que recommander chaleureusement à toutes les familles intéressées par un séjour au Mexique / Quintana Roo de prendre contact avec Tatiana et Sébastien pour vivre cette expérience formidable.
Nous avons été reçus comme des amis de la famille et avions vraiment l'impression d'être chez nous à Casa Guayaba.
Tatiana et Sebastien connaissent très bien Tulum et la région, et nous ont fait bénéficier de nombreux et excellents conseils.
L'emplacement de la maison dans le village de Tulum est selon moi un avantage, parce qu'on est ainsi en mesure de découvrir tous les différents aspects de la ville et de la plage, puis de réitérer des visites aux endroits qui nous ont le plus plu.
Tulum est encore nettement moins développé que Playa del Carmen au niveau du tourisme de masse, donc à recommander aux gens qui apprécient la simplicité, tranquillité et authenticité.
Les enfants ont adoré la piscine, et la chance de pouvoir flatter les gentils animaux.
Je retournerais à Casa Guayaba sans la moindre hésitation, si l'occasion se présente.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ideal for a family

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 25, 2013

This place was fabulous. The villa is very clean, cozy, calm and totally equip to receive a baby. The location is good : near from goods restaurants, place to buy mexican souvenirs, markets, groceries, etc. The beach is not far too : 5 min in Taxi for 5$us. The owners was so friendly, their advices helped us to make a fabulous trip in Mexico.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

delightful, friendly, good value

Review submitted: February 27, 2013   Date of arrival: February 8, 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend for a bit, and then with a large group of friends. It was perfect for both. It's not right on the beach, but then you probably don't want to pay through the nose to be right on the beach if you can pay this little and be 5 mins away. I didn't anyway, and I feel vindicated in my decision.

The couple who own it live right next door and couldn't have been more helpful, full of advice on where to go and what to do, as well as the best way to get there etc. etc.

It's clean, it's private, it's well maintained. It feels like home from home. Go and stay there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A home away from home

Review submitted: February 25, 2013   Date of arrival: February 10, 2013

From the moment you arrive Tatiana and Sebastien make you feel at home. If you have questions or concerns they will address them promptly. The house is large, clean and secure. The yard is fantastic. It is fun to watch the birds and squirrels in the yard during the day, or the bats in the fruit trees at night. Its location in Tulum Pueblo makes it ideal for shopping (way cheaper than Cancun or Playa Del Carmen) and restaurants. It is close to all the local attractions and just a short drive to the beach. The beach in Tulum is one of the finest in Mexico, and there are no hawkers trying to sell you stuff. The dining and service on the beach is second to none. There is live music or free dance lessons taking place regularly. I would highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A home away from home

Review submitted: February 25, 2013   Date of arrival: February 10, 2013

From the moment you arrive Tatiana and Sebastien make you feel at home. If you have questions or concerns they will address them promptly. The house is large, clean and secure. The yard is fantastic. It is fun to watch the birds and squirrels in the yard during the day, or the bats in the fruit trees at night. Its location in Tulum Pueblo makes it ideal for shopping (way cheaper than Cancun or Playa Del Carmen) and restaurants. It is close to all the local attractions and just a short drive to the beach. The beach in Tulum is one of the finest in Mexico, and there are no hawkers trying to sell you stuff. The dining and service on the beach is second to none. There is live music or free dance lessons taking place regularly. I would highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Trip

Review submitted: March 7, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

Ten of us - ranging in age from 18 months through 67 - had a very pleasurable stay at Casa Guayaba in Feb. Tatiana and Sebastien were wonderful hosts and assisted us in every way possible. They were free with their time and made us feel very welcome. They went above and beyond what we expected. The casa is beautiful. Our group had the bottom floor and had enough room for three families, with a master suite where the grandparents could "escape". The open kitchen /dining/living area is very spacious and comfortable.. The house looks just as it does in the photos and the grounds are well maintained and beautiful. The highlight for the grandchildren was the wonderful pool. They loved it! Our hosts provided a welcoming night cocktail hour that provided a nice oppotunity for us to meet the lovely family staying on the upper floor. Tatiana and Sebastien were thoughtful enough to provide a pinada that the kids loved. This was a wonderful stay with great beaches and new friends. I highly recommend it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Essence of Vacation

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

My family of four, along with that of my brother and our parents, recently returned from a week-long stay at Casa Guayaba. Tatjana and Sebastien were the warmest, most helpful hosts we could have asked for. They gave us recommendations, tips, and background information on places to visit, beaches, and restaurants. They visited with us often, making sure everything was going well. On our last evening in Tulum, Tatjana set a beautiful table for our family to enjoy a delicious dinner cooked by Sebastien (for a fee), and we very much enjoyed ending our visit in their gracious company.

The property itself is beautiful and very well kept. My brother's family and my own shared the large ground-floor unit, while our parents stayed in the ground-floor studio. The house is spacious, comfortable, and breezy. It was kept very clean and fresh towels were provided daily. The lush garden is filled with fruit trees Sebastien tends, and the pool was a huge hit for my two children and their two cousins.

We purposely looked for a rental that was not on the beach. After a previous stay in Tulum, our family found that we enjoyed being able to walk to the main avenue. Casa Guayaba was perfect in that we could easily walk to restaurants, shops, and fruit stands, and still only have a short car ride to the beach.

The beauty of this property, paired with the abounding warmth of the hosts make Casa Gyauaba a sure bet. I hope we are lucky enough to find ourselves there again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

our gold guests book

Review submitted: January 15, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

Tatiana and Sebastien:

Thank you So Much¡¡ for making our time in Mexico Amazing. Spending time with you and in your house was the Best way to Celebrate my Birthday, Engagement and New Year ¡¡ Come visit us in New York one day :) with LOVE Sirisha

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent stay in Tulum

Review submitted: September 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

We spent a week at Casa Guayaba as part of our family reunion. The house was a perfect setting for our 4 families. There was plenty of space, both private and communal. The house was very pretty and well maintained. The kitchen was fully stocked with dishes, pots, appliances, etc. Our kids enjoyed the lovely pool and well manicured garden. Tatiana and Sebastien are lovely and caring hosts. They went out of their way to make our stay more than comfortable. They also shared a wealth of information regarding sites to visit, places to eat, foods to try, beaches and cenotes to explore.
While Casa Guayaba is not located on the beach, it is well situated to the main areas of Tulum village. We preferred being walking distance from the town and enjoyed being in a quiet neighborhood. Getting to the beach was no more than a 7 minute drive. A nice aspect of the house is that whether you are a large group or as small as a couple, the house is arranged to accommodate different sized groups. We would definitely recommend Casa Guayaba, together with Tatiana and Sebastian, to anyone who wants to have a relaxing visit to Tulum. And by the way, Sebastian is a fabulous cook!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Home Away from Home

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

Traveling with our 2.5 year old couldn't have been easier. Not only is the villa beautiful and comfortable, (we were lodged in the master studio), the pool is an absolute delight in a colorful and flavorful garden. The major pluses of Casa Guayaba: 1) Tatiana and Sebastien are a treasure of resourceful information from the moment you start planning your trip until they see you out of the gate. We were given the best recommendations for what to do, where to go, where to eat while being with a 2.5 year girl. It was like having our own personal guides. 2) Tatiana and Sebastien are admirable hosts, giving you the privacy you need, to being present with information you seek, to cooking for you should you not want to cook yourself or eat out. 3) Tatiana & Sebastien were beautifully patient and engaging with out 2.5 year old, helping her discover new plants and fruits in the garden, letting her play nicely with the animals.
We look forward to going back and take family or friends along with us in this home away from home, and get to stay in the 3 bedroom option they also have.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful house, highly recommended

Review submitted: April 5, 2011   Date of arrival: March 28, 2011

We just got back from a wonderful vacation in Mexico. As we wanted to avoid the big resorts and have some more privacy, we rented a place in the village of Tulum. We stayed in the downstairs apartment of the villa which has 3 bedrooms. The place is really nice, new, clean, big and the owners, Tatiana and Sebastien, are really friendly and helpful. As we did not want to prepare breakfast, Sebastien made it for us every morning with fresh fruit, fresh bread, home made juice and eggs, which we ate quietly outside. Basically this was just the perfect place for a family with three young kids. We visited places during the day (Coba, Cenotes, beach Akumal..) and then late afternoon the kids played in the swimming pool. I also highly recommend this place if you want to go with friends or family as you can also rent the studio next to the apartment.
We will for sure go back one day.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing New Years Vacation at Casa Guayaba

Review submitted: January 14, 2011   Date of arrival: December 28, 2010

My girlfriend and I had the pleasure of spending 11 days over New Years at wonderful Casa Guayaba. The house is lovely. We rented one of the spacious studio apartments. It has a huge king size bed, futon, full kitchen and nice bathroom. Everything you need for a short or extended stay. Tatiana and Sebastian are wonderful hosts. The New Years party was really great as well with a Pinata and great food that Sebastian made.

The house is a short stroll from the main street of Tulum Pueblo, and about a 5 minute drive or taxi ride from the amazing beach. I have to recommend an excellent seafood restaurant that Sebastian recommended to us called Camello Jr. It is only about a 5 minute walk from the house, and the food is great, and it's cheap as well.

All in all we had an amazing stay at Casa Guayaba, and hope to go back soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Oasis in Paradise

Review submitted: January 13, 2011   Date of arrival: December 29, 2010

I was looking for a safe and comfortable place to bring my wife and 2 children (15 & 7) on their first holiday in Mexico. Casa Guayaba along with Tatiana and Sebstian exceeded all our expectations. The home is a spacious retreat hidden behind walls and luxuriant with a wide vareity of trees, plants and herbs which the owners will delight to share with you.

Our hosts were also very helpful in pointing us in the right direction whether we were looking for an *authentic* place to eat, beach or practical information such as where to buy groceries, change money, etc.

I highly recommend Casa Guayaba if you're interested in getting away from the all inclusive resort and discovering what still remains of life in this still wonderful slice of the Mayan Riviera.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our family vacation

Review submitted: January 9, 2011   Date of arrival: December 22, 2010

Our extended family of 15 - grandparents, adult children, grandchildren - spent the Christmas holiday at Casa Guayaba, and we all agreed it was our best family vacation ever. The spacious rooms gave us both privacy and plenty of room to gather together. The grandkids could hardly stay out of the pool. Tatiana and Sebastien were kind and attentive hosts - and Sebastien's cooking was outstanding. We used Casa Guayaba as our home base for many adventures - snorkeling, traveling inland to ruins, and more. Tatiana and Sebastien prepared a traditional pinata party for the children that was a huge hit.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic holidays!!

Review submitted: December 1, 2010   Date of arrival: June 9, 2010

Simply the best holidays!!! Casa Guayaba went beyond our expectations in all ways. A quiet, clean house, with bedrooms nicely furnished and big bathrooms with mexican style decorations. The kitchen is full equiped and all the house is air-conditioned (even the kitchen), and there is also fan systems everywhere, which is something you'll really want in Tulum. What we most enjoyed was doubtless the swiming pool. It seems an extension of the the beach of Tulum, because of its colors and specially the water temperature, that is always warm. It has also an integrated jacuzzi that is just delightful. The house is 10 min driving from the mos beautiful beach in Riviera Maya, and the town of Tulum is in the best location if your'e looking to visit archaelogical sites like Tulum, Cobá or Chichen Itzá, and all the thematic parks from Riviera Maya. Last but not least, the warm treat from the owners, Tatiana and Sebastian makes you really feel at home. I hope to return to Tulum soon, and I'll stay again in Casa Guayaba.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Can't wait to go back!

Review submitted: May 23, 2010   Date of arrival: May 12, 2010

This house was perfect for our stay - we loved it. First of all, Tulum is perfectly situated for day trips to the surrounding area - there are many excellent Mayan ruins, cenotes (look 'em up, they are amazing), and beaches all within a short driving distance, and there are many, many stores all within walking distance. And if you'd like a decent-sized supermarket, there is one not 5 minutes away.

We rented the larger suite with 2 bedrooms, a living room, a dining room, and a kitchen, and it was excellent. Everything was very clean and comfortable, and the A/C was wonderful on those hot, humid days (and the pool was terrific too). We really liked having more space than just our bedrooms - something about that extra space in the living and dining rooms makes it that much more comfortable.

Because it's a house and not a room at a hotel or a resort, you have a lot of privacy which is great for relaxing and unwinding. We'd leave for an adventure and come back to the house early to just relax, eat, and swim. The location is very close to the main highway in Tulum, and yet a little tucked away off the main road so that it's peaceful and somewhat secluded. The area seemed very safe and a good neighborhood.

Tatiana and Sebastian (who own and run the house) both speak excellent English, and they know the area well so they can give great recommendations. For example, they gave us directions to a gorgeous beach that we never would have found on our own - clear, warm water, white sand... it looked like something off of a postcard. They also gave great recommendations on local restaurants and stores, again helping us find better things than we would have on our own.

On our final night there, Sebastian cooked us an incredible meal. There's no way a detailed description would do it justice, but it was the perfect way to end our trip.

We'd like to return for another visit, and after staying at Casa Guayaba, we won't even consider staying at a hotel or resort next time - we'll be returning to the same place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Que Suave Casa

Review submitted: May 23, 2010   Date of arrival: May 12, 2010

We had the most wonderful time at Casa Guayaba! Tatiana and Sebastien were wondeful people to work with and terrific hosts. The services provided by Casa Guayaba are similar to what you would see at a 5 star hotel. The house is very clean and deep cleaned daily. Everything works wonderfully and if anything is needed Sebastien takes care of it right away. The beds are wonderful and with the pool, hammocks, and lush gardens the whole place is paradise. It is a very quiet tranquil place and was perfect to come home to after a long day of site seeing. Sebastien is a wonderful cook and goes out of his way to make you feel and home and comfortable while you are on vacation. I would definitely stay at Casa Guayaba again if ever in Tulum!! It was amazing!!! I would recommend Casa Guayaba to anyone looking for the perfect Mexican vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Tulum Hidden Treasure -- perfect getaway

Review submitted: May 23, 2010   Date of arrival: April 24, 2010

My husband and I were planning to take our first vacation with our 11 month-old baby. We wanted to find a place that was comfortable, had enough space for us to relax with our baby. I read a review by another family describing a fully furnished villa, with a pool, gardens and quiet yard. It sounded perfect. Indeed, it was. We were greeted by Tatiana in Tulum and brought to her home, which is really 4 apartments. Two are studios with king beds, large bathroom, stocked kitchen, closets and dressers, and patio by the pool. Two are 3-room, 2-bathroom apartments with full-sized kitchens, living rooms, dining rooms and porches. I think Tatiana is planning to make a laundry room available for guests. The interiors are tiled and beautifully furnished. The air conditioning is nice for a break from the heat, but there are also ceiling fans and a great breeze if you open the windows. Our room was cleaned often. We had no soap or sponge for the kitchen, so we had to buy them.
Being at Casa Guayaba was very relaxing. The garden has shade trees, fruit trees, flowers, and we enjoyed the company of Tatiana, Sebastien, and the cats and dogs. Our hosts shared ideas for things to do, and advised us of nice beaches, restaurants and local sights.
We felt well taken care of. The house is on the edge of Tulum in a developing neighborhood. You are about 10 minute drive from the beach and close to town for restaurants, the bank and supermarket. Also, Tulum is perfectly located to travel further south into the Sian Kahn Bioreserve or West to other ruins or to the beach close by. We did all three of these things.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a deal!!!

Review submitted: May 6, 2010   Date of arrival: March 18, 2010

We stayed at Tatianas house for 2 weeks and were so happy to have found this place. If you are looking for a good place to stay, away from the noise of the city and the beach resorts, but not too fare to the beach then this is perfect.
The house is brand new and beautifully made and offers all the luxury one needs. It is fully furnised. We stayed in the studio, which came with a vast bathroom and a kitchen and plenty of room for all of us (2 adults and our 6yrs old daugther). Also we used heavily the garden and the swimmingpool - our daugther learned how do dive and swim there and she loved the fact that she could run outside after breakfast and dive into the pool directly.
Mommy and Daddy loved the fact that the house provided Internet Acess - we both had to do some work - and also the lovingly support of Tatiana and Sebastien (the manager of the house). With their help we found amazing spots and restaurants but also a doctor to help us when our daugther hat a minor accitend and needed to be x-rayed. Tatiana was so kind to be our translator in the process. The house sits a little bit outside the center of Tulum - but shopping and dining are walking distances away. You do need a car though to go to the beaches - but it is only 5 mins away. Ask Sebastien about the best beaches he knows really well.
Tatiana has a couple of dogs and cats, which helps to keep the house safe and is fun for kids as they are all lovly and very kids-friendly!
We provided our own breakfast, but they also offer to make one for you. Sebastien even cooked us a dinner once - and he offered to do more often if we wished for - how lucky we were! He is an amazing cook! We will be coming back - preferably with friends and family as the house offers 2 large apartments and two studios - a total of 16 pax could stay there. How much fun it could be to go there as an entire family!
Thanks Tatiana and Sebastien for making our visit a most memorable one!
Anna

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

GREAT placce to stay!!!

Review submitted: April 13, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

Great place to stay!!! Beautiful place and great people!!! Highly Recommend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Incredible stay in Tulum!

Review submitted: March 29, 2010   Date of arrival: March 12, 2010

What a great vacation! Casa Guayaba is a great place to stay, with all the amenities and more. My friend and I stayed in their studio apartment and we could not have asked for better acommodations or better service. The room is large with your choice of bed (king size or two singles) whatever you need Tatiana and Sebastian really meet your needs. It has a kitchenette with all appliances including a juicer and blender!! A great big bathroom cannot go without mentioning.Absolutely amazing. The place is surrounded by fruit trees and has an amazing pool that is only shared by the home's 4 apartments. The house is gated and provides plenty of parking if you decide to rent a car.
Tatiana and Sebastian give you great recommendations on places to go and see. Must go to Coba and swim in their cenotes! Walking distance to town and all their restaurants. Overall, I can't wait to go back and visit. I came back to the states renewed and ready to take on anything. Word to the wise, watch out for that Mexican sun! It is fierce but feels so good! The beaches are pristine and clear.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review