reviews for: listing #66144 - Smith Mountain Lake, Virginia House rental

Almost Heaven, Flat lot, canoe, hgh speed, dog allowed
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $130 - $160 /nt
    $900 - $1,600 /wk

sort by:

awesome week

Review submitted: July 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

everything about the house was great. Much better than we expected. Was expecting a flatter lot but it didn't bother us one but that we are on a hill. Should have known since everything around the lak is pretty much on a hill. Only problem was with the grass. Was pretty long when we got there and when they showed up at the end of the week they only cut about half of the grass that need to be cut. They seemed to be very lazy. The other thing that this house needed was another refrigerator or an ice maker. Would have made packing coolers for the lake a little easier, so we didnt have to run out each night for ice. Just want to say thankyou for the great week and it surely was one to remember.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thank you for staying with us, yes at this lake we do not consider that a hill, hill was the home across the cove....but we do thank you for your comments on the grass, we do not understand why the landscaper was not there..we will pass along..
thanks again! Leslie & Sandra

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Relaxing!

Review submitted: June 19, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

Awesome! We just returned home today from a week long stay. What a great week. The home is bright, clean and nicely decorated and very comfortable. The kitchen had all the basics that we needed, and we used it daily. The grill, while nothing fancy, it works fine. We used it several times without any problems. The deck is really nice, has a nice view of the water. I especially liked the sunroom for morning coffee! We are looking forward to another week later in the year. The only drawback is our dogs traveled with us and are used to a fenced yard, here they had to be leash walked. Not really a big deal. A nice area to walk them. Rental agency was great to work with.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Jill
Thank You for staying with us.. The owners have done such a great job on that home in such little time. We look forward to seeing you back at the lake!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great home, great rental company

Review submitted: May 30, 2010   Date of arrival: May 21, 2010

Fantastic home and have no idea why the other person made that stupid comment about the rental agency...they were great! Of course we udnerstood that those people broke the table and they had to repair it, came out of their damage deposit- but the rental was fantastic, great home, great service, they call to see how you are doing, and we will always use this agency..We have used several in the past and they were awful, but this one was great.
Thanks to the owner for all the hard work they have done and thank you rental company for making our stay great and comfortable, and givign us good directions everywhere..

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Peaceful

Review submitted: May 28, 2010   Date of arrival: May 20, 2010

The home is awesome. The home is surrounded by woods and it's located at the end of a cove. It's very, very quiet and peaceful. The home is beautifully decorated and very clean. Hardwood floors through the main living area, there's a ton of room for a family. The kitchen had everything you would need as far as utensils etc. Grocery stores are only 5 - 15 minutes away. The dock is wonderful and the boat lift was very helpful because we had a few thunderstorms while we were there. I'm not sure what the previous reviewer is talking about as far as a boat launch. There is none at the house or near the house. The next door neighbor has their property roped off to prohibit entry. The closest launch is located at the State Park which is a very, very short boat ride and a 15 minute vehicle ride away. We were given misinformation by the rental company which caused some confusion when we were arriving but we worked it out on our own. By the way, the rental agency has boat launches/marinas located on their website. DO NOT USE THEM. They're a waste of time. There are only 2 public boat launches on the lake (per the State Park authorities). Folks at the State Park are very polite and helpful. The rental agency has a LOT to learn about customer service. Appears none of them have every been outside the city limits of Moneta because they have no concept of travel and what's involved with traveling. I found them to be rude and basically no help whatsoever with logistics. They didn't care that they have misinformation on the website about the launches. They basically don't care about anything once they receive your money.
As far as the condition of the house as indicated above, it's located in the woods therefore there are spiders and the like as would be expected in any wooded area. Unless someone cleaned the exterior every day, there would be evidence of inhabitants of the woods there. We didn't find it offensive, just normal and what you'd expect in a wooded area.
The only FYI about the property is that its located on a steep hill (the same as a lot of properties on SML) therefore if a person has any disabilities, I don't see how they could navigate the property.
Definately recommend the property and we plan to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

We loved it!

Review submitted: April 25, 2010   Date of arrival: April 5, 2010

The house is located on a gravel road at the very end of one of the coves of SML. There is another home directly to the left of this one and a wooded area to the right. The two homes are only divided by a gravel driveway which wound around to their backyard and directly to their boat ramp. The owners next door let us use this path and their boat ramp to get our boat into the water, so dont make the mistake in assuming its the rental home's boat launch.

We entered the house and were pleasantly surprised at the interior. Beautiful wood floors, clean, up-to-date furniture this new home had windows that lined the entire "lake" wall for a lovely view while sitting at the table having breakfast or dinner. A small kitchen (which was fine for just the 4 of us) was ok--could have been better stocked with supplies and some of the stuff in the drawers were old and yucky but we just didnt use them. The bedrooms were great-each kid had his own-and the downstairs is an entire finished basement with a ping pong table, couch/chairs and TV. Thats where our kids hung out every night and mom and dad were able to relax upstairs in the peace and quiet. : )

Outside, there is a very nice dock house where we kept our boat. It had a lift to take the boat out of the water if need be. We spent alot of time on the dock just fishing and relaxing and there is a picnic table on the dock, also, where we had snacks and dinner one night. There is also a brand new canoe but we didnt use it.

The only negative I would give to this home was that the upkeep of the exterior grounds was not so great. Since it didnt have a path to the dock/boathouse, we had to walk through long, unkept grass which made me nervous about ticks, etc. At least if the grass was cut it wouldnt have been so bad. There were things just thrown under the raised front porch which made it look messy. And the front porch, although lovely to have, was a mess of spider webs and dirt and we did not want to be on it at all. Also the outdoor grill provided was pretty disgusting which we were disappointed in since we planned on grilling alot. We didnt use that, either.

The only interior suggestion I would have is that the home needed an area rug in the family room especially if you are going to allow dogs. My dog had no where to lay! But we are definitely returning to this home as we thoroughly enjoyed it!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thank You for staying with us..
We just closed on this place, the day before you arrived, and after you left we have spent 2 weeks building new decks off the back as well as getting our own yard man in, etc....
We did deliver a canoe to you as well for your use.
So all exterior issues are resolved and the rug in the living room, we will put out for fall..Most people bring their own dog bed.
The boat ramp is 2 doors down, which is on the refrig.. We will build a fence, the gravel drive is ours and only ours, the home next door cannot use it. They are a rental home next door also, so please call us when you arrive, if any questions- we do have note on the refrig stating that...
So next time just call us, we would have showed up to explain everything to you. The driveway is ours however - we confirmed that at closing. Thank You again, yes- we had arranged work men to be there right after you, and they are now done..We will have new photos of all of this once they are finished. Also since this lot is so flat, we prefer to have a plce for our children to play and not be cut up by paths.
since we have not even had the time to enjoy the home, we will soon be restockign the kitchen as well. We brought in alot of our new things already.
By the way - this is one of the flattest lots with real water - and we let you use the lift, which 95% of the homes do not.

Helpful votes: 6 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review