reviews for: listing #66153 - New Smyrna Beach, Florida House rental

Just Steps To The Beach. Cozy Beachside Home
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $100 - $200 /nt
    $900 - $1,350 /wk
    $2,800 - $3,800 /mth

sort by:

Happily surprised...

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: March 27, 2013

We found the house to be even better than the photos and much better than the negative review we saw just before arriving. I believe the owner Jim and Cindy(property manager?) took that negative review to heart and did a thorough clean up and repairs before we got there. It actually was perfect for our family vacation. We were there over Spring Break and Easter. The three grandchildren(3,5,6 years old) and 4 adults loved it. There was plenty of sitting area and play room for all of us.Loved the foliage in the front and back...was very Zen Gardeny. The back deck was relaxing and the children loved playing in the back and being in the boat for a short adventure on the canal.It was a bit of a walk for the kids to the beach,found that packing everyone up in the van and parking on the beach was so much easier. The kitchen had everything we needed to cook at home. If you are counting on the bicycles check first to see if they are available...otherwise you may need to rent them. It is a great way to explore the area and pick up groceries, or go to the beach. We found the house had much more character and warmth than the pink,blue,and white interiors of many of the condos . I have to add a special thank you to Cindy who went the extra mile when we had concerns or helping out when we had problems with the rental car..even offering to take us grocery shopping....thank you for making it a great memory and vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Canadian Couple loves this Place!!

Review submitted: April 14, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

We rented this cozy New Smyrna Beach home for the second time in two years. We love the area with its funky restaurants and hospitality. The home was spotless and it was tidy with its unique décor. The gardens were peaceful as the house is located on a quiet lagoon in a friendly neighbourhood. Loved having my own laundry facilities just steps from master bedroom/master bath. All conveniences of home with a lovely Florida room to have that morning cup of java, how serene. just stroll down the street to some of the best dining establishments, our favourite, The Garlic. Our host and hostess were always a call away if we had any questions. Such a nice spot, we would recommend to all.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Property Not Maintained

Review submitted: March 9, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

Very disappointed in this rental. Pictures shown are obviously from some time ago. This property has not had regular maintenance inside or out. The house needs a thorough cleaning from top to bottom and the yard is overgrown. The back deck is rotting and we stepped thru the boards in a few places - the railing was barely holding on. We rented this property because it was located on the water, and that there were bikes, a rowboat and surf boards. We didn't use any of these - the bikes were covered in cobwebs and dirt and I'm sure the tires had not been checked recently - we decided we wouldn't chance any breakdowns. One of the rowboats was partially buried in dirt the other smaller one was hung on the side of the deck where the railings were loose - we decided we wouldn't take our chances trying to get it in the water. We had to search for the surfboards and would have had to dig them out from a back fenced area full of other junk. The garden areas are overgrown and full of potted plants that are either dying or overgrown - what he calls the Zen Garden is anything but Zen. We did not meet the owner as he had the flu when we arrived and we worked with the real estate agent that fills in for him. Cindy did everything she could to help us even came to the house after 8 on a friday night to help us with the cable that wouldn't work. She suggested places to eat and had tried to get the house somewhat ready for guests as it hadn't been used in some time. To use the washer and dryer you need to go outside around the side of the house and it is located in a small closet like area with a sliding door. There is no easy (or clean) way to transfer clothes from the washer to the dryer. This could be a lovely place to stay if it were just given some good elbow grease. We are a do-it-yourself family and do not expect anything fancy - clean yes.

Owners response: I had a health problem the last 3 months and have now given the home to someone else to manage. The deck has already been replaced after you had written me.. The house is completely done over and had a deep clean. Everything is nice and fresh again.
The bikes I have replaced 2 or 3 times now renters drive on the beach and the salt water is hard on them even though we ask to rinse them down after their ride. They can be rented now through a company here right on the beach for inexpensive money. The rowboat that was buried is for flowers. There was another boat there. You came down during our winter so all the flowers hide their heads and come back out in the spring. To see the water you merely had to walk 10 seconds out to the right of the deck where the table and chairs are to have a nice view of the lagoon.
The tropical part of that garden are the majestic palms, banana trees, papayas, Queen palms and the flowers. They are beautiful from the spring on. We had 3 frosts this year and then everything grows back beautiful. Those pots are full of flowers and are already growing back.
The wash machine and dryer are outside of the master bedroom you didn't have to walk around the whole home you just needed to open the door. We have laundry baskets there to put your clothes in from the washer then you place in the dryer. Not really sure why you had a problem with that?
My main concern is that you were not happy. I would offer you a discounted rate next time you would like to come back down. Repeat customers are important to me.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Tropical Paradise great neighborhood walk to beach

Review submitted: January 22, 2012   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

First time we have used a home instead of a hotel; gee what a great experience, the space and privacy was our very own beach home getaway, interesting decor with lots of great finds from the wonderful local antique stores and flea markets. The house is on a Canal with beautiful tropical plants surrounding the home, really gives you a feel of Old FLorida, the area is the same very cute walkable or bike everywhere, for the money the property was clean and the owner was attentive to our needs and gave us great tips for where to go and what to do.. Thanks for sharing your wonderful home, Suzanne

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Ahhhhhhh just right for us though.

Review submitted: September 14, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

My family and I stayed in this cozy home for 2 weeks, and we had a great time.
Jim the owner was a great guy very friendly and helpful and also flexible with our check in times.
The home had bikes that we all used for fun to go to the beach or Flagler ave for dinner and all was close.
We enjoy kayaking and really loved the Lagoon at JB's. We saw all types of birds, dolphins and Manatees were the highlite of the day.The home was clean and bright. We liked having breakfast outside near the lagoon and feeding the pet tarpon that live in there. We would recogmend this home to families or anyone that just wants a clean nice place close to the beach and Flagler ave.
Thank you Jim for all the tips where to go. We'll be back.
George

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Hi George it was a pleasure having you all come and enjoy the area.Thanks for taking such nice care of the house. Come back and visit us again.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Not right for us

Review submitted: August 4, 2011   Date of arrival: June 26, 2011

Although the property essentially lived up to its description, my husband and I were a little uncomfortable once we arrived, especially after we noticed a beebe gun hole in one of the windows. When my husband asked the owner about the hole he told us it was caused by a boy from the neighborhood who had fired the bullet from across the street. The owner acted like it wasn't a big deal, but it is. We have a baby and a toddler and safety is a top priority.

Garbage cans in the bathrooms weren't fully cleaned and WiFi didn't work (owner made it sound like we just had to figure out how to fix that ourselves - um, no).

There is an expectation of quiet enjoyment when you rent any property. While not a disaster by any means, the conditions caused us a degree of concern and the more we thought about it, we were not comfortable staying at the property.

When we mentioned not being sure that we a good match for the house, the owner made it very clear that it was a done deal. He seemed more interested in the money than our own comfort and satisfaction. Had we been given the option, we would have walked away.

Lesson learned: we'll only rent a property AFTER we've seen it in person first.

That being said, the owner said he's had many happy people stay at his house. We just didn't fall into that category.

Owners response: I would like to reply to your email.

The property does live up to it's decription just like you wrote. Thank you.

New Smyrna Beach is like Mayberry in the Andy Griffin show just a slow friendly beach town.
The glass issue was a weed wacker that hit a rock and sprung up and hit the window. This home is in a beautiful beach side neighborhood and no one is running around with guns. My neighbor across the way is an older woman, not Annie Oakley:O)

After waiting for you to arrive 3 hours later then you had told me, I used the bathroom to wash my hands after gardening and threw a tissue into the waste basket. The cleaning crew I have is great that was my mistake, but surely not a reason not to take the home.

Florida does have afternoon showers with lightning . Bright House the local cable company told me to unplug the power for 1 min and plug back in and the internet worked. That can happen but was fixed immediately. You did not even give me a chance to
repair it.

I don't like to see any customer unhappy. Nest time you come back and visit please try me again. I would give you a 20% discount.

Helpful votes: 7 / 10

 

Beach rental

Review submitted: July 17, 2010   Date of arrival: July 8, 2010

Our family's first house rental experience and they couldn't have made it easier for us. Very, very friendly, flexible, and helpful.
House is in a residential neighborhood about 1/2 mile from the beach. It worked out great for our family. They allowed us the use of the four bikes, so the young set could get around independently. The space of the house was quite helpful, because we needed four rooms for the family to sleep in. Kitchen is fully equiped and the kids liked the TV. Back yard wasn't used much simply because we needed to be in Florida during the midst of the summer heat. But the kids liked feeding the (large !) fish right off the dock.
We really liked the experience, but of course it's a person's own home so it's got a lot more "character" than a sterile hotel room.
We will strongly consider renting this property again in the future and recommend it to others.
FYI locally, we ate at Blackbeard's - it was good; loved the French Bakery on the highway; coffee and snacks along Flagler Ave. Our Florida family strongly recommends Norwoods right down the block. Most popular activities, biking, hanging out at the beach, and renting kayaks at JB's fish camp and seeing the manatees.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 21 / 21

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review