reviews for: listing #66160 - Payson, Arizona House rental

Cozy & Remodeled Riverfront Chalet on Verde River
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Beaver Valley Estate
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $180 - $205 /nt
    $1,100 - $1,200 /wk
    $2,400 - $2,400 /mth

sort by:

I felt I was in a tree house!

Review submitted: August 29, 2014   Date of arrival: August 20, 2014

What a lovely retreat from the frantic and hot city. So close to Mesa and such beautiful & QUIET surroundings. I especially appreciated the enclosed patio for my doggies. Clean and well maintained as well as spacious. I will definitely return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

CA Visitor

Review submitted: August 3, 2014   Date of arrival: July 24, 2014

This cabin is ideally located on the Verde river in Payson - a charming community. The home is listed as remodeled and our family was disappointed in the general condition of the cabin. It is definitely in need of repairs! I did send a personal email to the owner with regard to the general condition - in return I received an e mail stating they were aware of the run down condition but felt the price was fair. Needless to say, it is not a rental I can recommend to any traveler who would expect drapes, blinds that worked correctly, clean carpets, showers without mold etc

Owners response: It's disappointing when any guest doesn't completely enjoy there visit- we try to make our cabin as warm and enjoyable as a vacation rental as possible. With that said, I would like to respond to this review because I feel it was a little misrepresented. First, I never stated that I felt the cabin was in a run down condition, I stated that I understood what kind of condition the cabin was in and feel it is a great value for the price it is listed at based on feedback we've received from guests over the past 4 years. I also responded to the negative comments about the blinds and floors stating that the blinds had all been replaced with quality blinds 6 months ago and the only issues we found with the blinds or floors we felt were a result of there visit. It's sad to get a review like this from a guest that broke one of the blinds, left wet spots and stains on the floors and left the cabin in a generally poor condition after there stay (our cleaning crew expressed they felt as if it had been a giant party- to the extent that this was the first time in 4 years of renting the cabin I have ever kept back a portion of a guests security deposit). We love the cabin and try to keep it in a very well kept enjoyable condition for our guests and have received a lot of great feedback and reviews throughout the years. If you're looking for a quiet cozy cabin, with updated appliances, internet, TV's, bedding in a great location along the river- you will love our cabin.

Take care,
Scott & Rachel

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

3 years in a row. We love this place!

Review submitted: June 9, 2014   Date of arrival: June 5, 2014

Best value ever. We'll be back next year!

Owners response: So glad you had another great trip! Have a great rest of 2014- we'll make sure it's ready to go for you next year:) Take care, Scott & Rachel

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing and Rejuvenating

Review submitted: July 17, 2013   Date of arrival: July 11, 2013

The location of the cabin is perfect. Sitting on the back porch listening to the flow of the river was amazing. The kids caught crawdads and splashed around in the river. We enjoyed all our meals, morning coffee, and happy hours out on the deck. The inside of the cabin is comfortable and cool with the evap and fans. The owner was quick to respond with reservation information. We will definitely come back.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

GREAT AGAIN!!!!

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 6, 2013

Just had our 2nd stay at this great cabin in the last three months. Another wonderful experience. Relatively short, scenic drive from Mesa. Location, location, location!!! Great spot right on the water. Neighbors somewhat close but very secluded feel due to all the huge trees and set down below road level. Kitchen has everything you could possible need and them some, even the exact same oven/stove that I have at home. Lots of stuff for the kids---big screen tv in loft, DVD player, foosball table, games. Great hiking area close by and lots of nice trails for long, early morning walks with the dog. A little too hot during the day for me (95+) but absolutely beautiful at night and early morning. Scott was easy and professional to deal with. Felt like we were right at home with it being our second stay and will definitely be back for more. Can't imagine finding a nicer place to stay and would highly recommend to anyone looking for a great family getaway, couples weekend, or even peace and solitude for one person. Only one small suggestion---if you were to put a few more rows of slats on the upper deck railing, to provide more safety for smaller dogs, I think my family would be ready for about a month long stay. Thx again for sharing your wonderful cabin.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks soooo much for the awesome review- I'm very happy your family and the "furry friends" all had another great stay at the cabin! Thanks for the suggestion about the additional railing- we'll definitey look into that when we upgrade the wood work at the end of the summer. I really hope you'll come stay at the cabin again- we'd love to have you all back any time!

Take care, Scott & Rachel

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Always perfect!

Review submitted: June 5, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

This place only gets better. The huge patio and serene stream never disappoint. Can't beat this place for a short commute from valley and outstanding value.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice place

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

We were there 3 nights and had a great weekend. The cabin was great for our group of 4 adults, 2 kids, and a dog. The location is ideal, being right by the river. We will not hesitate returning or referring the place to others. Scott returned all of my emails promptly with great info.

Owners response: Thanks for the nice review. I'm very happy you enjoyed your Memorial Day weekend- I hope the fish were biting a little for you. Have a great rest of the year, I hope we'll hear from you again.

Take care,
Scott & Rachel

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

THANK YOU - What a great place!

Review submitted: May 19, 2013   Date of arrival: May 16, 2013

Thank you for a great location to have a beautiful retreat from the heat. The home was warm and friendly. We brought our dogs and you have a great set-up for the pups! Appreciate the great communication and detail provided. We hope to come back again and we even recommended your place to another family - while we were there! Payson has a special place in my heart and it was great to be up in the pines, in your home. Thank you!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks so much for the kind review- I'm very happy you had a great vacation and enjoyed the cabin. Thanks also for passing along the nice recommendation to your friends, we really appreciate the support. We'd love to have you back anytime, thanks for choosing our cabin for your trip. Scott & Rachel

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome Getaway!!!

Review submitted: March 14, 2013   Date of arrival: March 11, 2013

My son and I had a great 3 day stay at the cabin? Can't beat the location!!! Right on the banks of the Verde River and it was great falling asleep to the rush of the water going by outside the bedroom window. Kitchen was fully stocked with everything you could need. Loft area had large screen TV, movies , dartboard, and kids games. Foosball table was alot of fun and with internet, my son was even able to bring his computer to play video games. Great place to go hiking, fishing, exploring, or just relax on the deck overlooking the water and read a book. Owner was very pleasant to deal with and I would recommend the cabin to anyone looking for a great place to get away to. Have stayed at a number of rentals in Beaver Valley and all things considered, this was far and away, the best!!! Can't wait to go back this summer for a longer stay and bring the husband and four-legged child. Thx so much Scott for sharing your beautiful cabin with us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the all the kind comments and I can't express enough how happy I am that you and your son had such a good trip. We're looking forward to having you back up at the cabin and I know your four legged friend will have a great time at the cabin too:)

Thanks again,
Scott & Rachel

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Getaway!

Review submitted: February 12, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

We had a great weekend in this cabin and will definitely be back. The view of the river from the patio was perfect and hearing the water flow made for a good nights rest.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks very much for the kind review- I'm very happy you and your family enjoyed the trip to the cabin. Have a great 2013, we'd love to have you back anytime.

Take care,

Scott & Rachel

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful getaway!

Review submitted: October 12, 2012   Date of arrival: October 4, 2012

What an amazing cabin! You cannot beat the serene location. We so enjoyed sitting on the deck overlooking the creek and reading, playing games and having our morning coffee. The kids loved fishing,swimming and exploring the creek. We will be back and are already trying to plan the next visit. The fire pit is great for s'mores and sitting around the fire with the family. We also saw deer by the cabin. Great vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Riverfront Cabin

Review submitted: August 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 6, 2012

Had a wonderful relaxing time at the cabin. Loved sitting on the porch having morning coffee and listening to the "music" of the river. Hiked paths along the river and encountered two deer that stood within two feet of us. They watched us then casually walked up the hill. We were thrilled. It was an easy trip up from Chandler and the 30 degree temperature difference is great!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thanks very much for the kind review. I'm happy to hear you had a nice trip and seeing the deer must have been very exciting. Please come back and visit our cabin anytime! Take care, Scott & Rachel

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Weekend Getaway

Review submitted: July 18, 2012   Date of arrival: July 12, 2012

We were in Payson for a wedding and our cabin was the perfect home away from home. An amazing view and so peaceful! We only wish we could have stayed longer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Every expectation exceeded!

Review submitted: May 17, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

I am so grateful to have had the chance to spend the last five days at this amazing cabin with my family and friends. The property is exactly as advertised. What doesn't come through in the ad, but will resonate when one visits, is the seclusion this cabin offers. I spent hours looking out on the creek from the large back porch and found no evidence whatsoever of neighbors, traffic, or commotion. This property offers maximum serenity at an incredible value.

I wholeheartedly recommend this cabin for anyone seeking a peaceful retreat!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

River front cabin Payson

Review submitted: May 2, 2012   Date of arrival: April 22, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at a very nice cabin. We especially enjoyed sitting on the porch over looking the river and seeing many new birds. I was also good that we were not far from Payson ans able to enjoy the area.

Recommended for: girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great family getaway

Review submitted: March 26, 2012   Date of arrival: March 22, 2012

Fantastic cabin for our 6 kids to enjoy for the school break. Rustic with a vintage decor it was better than we expected. A fine patio deck on the back 15 feet from flowing water provided the perfect setting. Fully stocked with plenty of room. The home is located less than 1.4miles from a natural water full and pool perfect for picnicking if you are willing to hike 30min in. We will be returning next year with the family for more memories and fun times.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect spot for a family getaway!

Review submitted: March 26, 2012   Date of arrival: March 22, 2012

We rented this home wanting to get away from the valley for a few days with the kids. The cabin was great from the beginning. Walking in to a rustic living area with large fireplace and antique decor. The kids loved it and so did we. The location is literally 15feet from a small stream and running water can be heard when the windows are open, such a great way to fall asleep. The locals were very friendly and the character at the only store within miles made us feel at home. The home is roughly 1-2 miles from Water Wheel falls which provided a great hike for the family and dogs. Just top notch and plan on another trip next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Family Getaway

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: January 2, 2012

My family had such a relaxing 5 day getaway at this cabin. We have rented different cabins over the past couple of years, and this is one of our favorites. It was a great location...very private, and plenty of space for the family. The cabin had all of the ammenities including new appliances, comfortable beds, a great fireplace, and I was happy to see the owner even supplied a baby gate for the stairs, which was perfect for keeping our toddler off the stairs. The view and sound of the creek off the deck was so nice. In the evening, I enjoyed sitting in the big green gliders next to the cozy fireplace. My 11 year old daughter loved having her own bedroom upstairs with a loft where she could have her own space to play and watch movies. We definitely felt at home, and would stay here again.

Owners response: Thanks so much for the nice review, I love hearing when guests enjoy the cabin as much as we do. We would love to have you back anytime:) Have a great 2012!!! Scott

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Thanksgiving weekend

Review submitted: December 5, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

I really did like the location, loved that the home was in the mountains and the cabin was very nice, wish it was just a little cleaner. My kids loved the creek and I enjoyed watching them play while drink my coffee in the morning or sipping a glass of wine and watching the sun set in the evening. I would come back to the cabin again, but this time I will be prepared. The owner was wonderful and very accommodating...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Holiday delight

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 8, 2011

We had a wonderfully relaxing but much too short stay in this comfortable cabin which is beautifully situated among hardwood and evergreen trees with a pretty and rapidly running creek right at the back door. The surrounding mountains were snow-capped, the sky was blue and the trees were green, yellow, gold and beige. The air was crispy cold but the sun was strongly warm. It was simply beautiful. The cabin was clean and surprisingly comfortable. We both slept well on the beds and the big green gliders were a treat. To sit on the back porch and watch and listen to the creek eddying and rushing over rocks was so serene and peaceful and the only sound to be heard besides the creek was birdsong. We had a wonderful time and will certainly return as often as possible. And we want to compliment the owner, Scott, who is an absolute joy to work with and
a gentleman of the first order.

Owners response: Thanks SO much for the nice review, you both are too kind. I'm very happy you enjoyed your trip and I'm glad your interested in staying at our cabin again (I'd love to have you back anytime). Have a great Holiday!!! Scott

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Waterfront Cabin in the Woods.

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

What a terrific place in a nice quiet area. We enjoyed our meals on the porch overlooking the Verde River, which is only a few feet away. Our dog loved swimming in the river. The cabin has it all. This cabin made a good 'base camp' for us to explore the beautiful Rim Country.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

A "Diamond" in the Woods

Review submitted: May 23, 2011   Date of arrival: May 14, 2011

What a marvelous place for a family get together (7 adults and 5 pets). I think the dogs had just as good a time as we did. You couldn't ask for a better place to relax and enjoy, including the fishing, long walks, friendly neighbors, barbecuing and total peace and contentment! I would highly recommend this cabin/chalet to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: We're glad you all had a great trip- and the dogs too:) We can't wait for our next trip up now- you've definitely made us jealous. Thanks for the nice review, would love to have you stay with us again. Thanks Scott & Carrie

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great cabin, great location, and a fun getaway.

Review submitted: April 6, 2011   Date of arrival: March 31, 2011

This cabin is in a real getaway spot, and is an easy drive on paved road from payson in a secluded little village that is quiet and peaceful. Just My fiance and I were there, but there is plenty of room for many more, Great views and the burbleing stream (river) out back are very relaxing. The Jacuzzi tub is really relaxing, the beds comfortable, the fireplace nice, TVs great, all appliances up to date, and just a joy to visit. You feel really at home there and believe the owners care about there guests also. And our dog really enjoyed the trip also. So it was fun all around and well worth the very low fee for this sort of getaway. Dennis and Linda.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We really appreciate your kind review and we're very happy you enjoyed your vacation. We can't wait till we can make it up again ourselves. Thanks again, Scott & Carrie

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Payson Cabin

Review submitted: March 20, 2011   Date of arrival: March 15, 2011

The cabin was wonderful, it was much nicer than the pictures showed. The sound of the running water from the river was very relaxing! I would definitely recommend this cabin to anyone looking to get away from the city.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for the nice review, we're happy you and your family had a great trip. We'll look forward to having you stay again:) Thanks, Scott & Carrie

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Will stay again!

Review submitted: February 20, 2011   Date of arrival: February 11, 2011

My family loved the cabin, the location is great! The river right behind the cabin provides a great trail for sight seeing with the little ones. The cabin itself was well stocked with everything we needed, I had no issues or complaints. Quite easy to find with the right directions. Can't wait to plan our summer trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the nice review, we are very happy you had such a great trip. The summer is just as beautiful up at the cabin- just a lot more green. We'll look forward to hearing from you again:)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: December 28, 2010   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

The cabin was peaceful, cozy, clean and had everything we needed. The owner's communication was good. We will definitly stay again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the nice review. What a great way to spend Christmas up north at a cabin with your family. Thanks for staying with us, we'd love to have you back anytime.
Thanks Scott & Carrie

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Fun weekend dor company getaway

Review submitted: December 18, 2010   Date of arrival: April 21, 2005

We rented the Siepmann cabin in April, a beautiful time of the year. The cabin was much more than we ever expected. We relaxed by the fire place and had such a wonderful weekend. The cabin has every thing you could ever need, fully stocked. Our dog loved the creek and I loved the fenced in area that we could let her be in and not worry about her getting loose. We intend on renting this cabin again in the near future. The Siepmanns were wonderful and nice people.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the nice review, It's great you could treat people from your company with a retreat like this- that's very thoughtful and I'm glad that everyone had a great time. I'm glad your dog liked it up here also- our dog's a swimmer and he loves it up here too:) We'd love to have you back anytime. Again, Thanks for the kind review.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Fantastic Getaway!!!!!!

Review submitted: November 22, 2010   Date of arrival: November 11, 2010

What a find!!!!!!!!
Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful cabin/chalet. We couldnt have asked for more.
My husband, myself and my brother in law and sister in law spent 4 relaxing nights here. I hesitated in writing this review because I wanted to keep it to myself, but, I just couldnt do that to the owners.
We drove from San Diego, Ca to a fully equipped, semi -private cabin next to thegurgling Verde River, boy were we relaxed.
We didnt eat out ( the town is about a 10 minute easy drive away with PLENTY of restaurants) instead opting to do our own cooking. Which was great since the kitchen is situated so nicely off the great room. Those cooking miss nothing.
The owners were very helpful, quick to answer questions and didnt over estimate anything.
The 2 main bedrooms were comfortable and the cabin was extremely CLEAN!
We did leave the cabin to visit Tonto Natural Bridge State Park and The Mogollon Rim near Woods Canyon Lake. Both are a must see with beautiful views.
It was a 8-9 hour drive for us and less than a 2 hour drive for my brother and sister in-law, who live in Fountain Hills, Az. It was definitely worth the drive, and a pretty one at that.
A must try!!!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the very nice review, we love it when other people have as good a time as we do at the cabin. It's quite a compliment to hear you had such a great time considering where you left from in Beautiful San Diego. We'd love to have you stay again, please keep in touch and thanks again for all the great comments. Scott & Carrie

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

our family vacation

Review submitted: October 19, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

We had a fun family vacation. Our grandchildren especially enjoyed the water close by to play around and the veiw was peaceful and great from the back patio. The cabin was not very clean and in need of repairs. The owner was very good at getting back with information before we went. When we got home I wrote him a note sharing a few of the concerns of things that were not clean and needed repairs. It has been a week and I have not heard back from him.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Loved this cabin!

Review submitted: September 28, 2010   Date of arrival: September 24, 2010

My husband and daughter and I stayed at this cabin for a long weekend and had a wonderful time! It's very comfortable! My favorite spot was sitting on the back porch listening to the creek just below. It was so relaxing, we're definetly going to rent it again!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the comments Missy, we'd definitely love to have you stay again. I can't wait for our next long weekend at the cabin as well. Take care

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

GREAT ESCAPE

Review submitted: September 9, 2010   Date of arrival: August 27, 2010

Our family of 5 adults, 1 toddler and 2 dogs had a perfect stay in this cabin. There was plenty of room, with 3 full bathrooms, everyone had their own. The kithen was equipped with everything you need to make meals. It was clean, organized and very cozy. The outside deck, bbq, and access to the river was the best, hearing the water was so relaxing. We sat outside on the patio for most of the day playing games that were provided. We would definately choose the cabin to come back too. Thanks Scott & Carrie

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

GREAT SPOT FOR RELAXING

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: July 9, 2010

Very comfortable home, lots of room for the family and dog. Very relaxing on the deck and the sound of the river drifting in the windows at night. And oh, so nice and cool. (nice shopping in Payson shops) Lots of areas for hiking, sightseeing. (natural bridge & woods canyon lake) Owners were very helpful. Wifi was a plus, as I had reports to send. Thanks Scott!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Excellent vacation

Review submitted: July 16, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

All 6 of us spent a very relaxing vacation at this house! The East Verde River was so close we could hear it bubbling along at night! During the day, the girls were able to catch crawfish in the river; one was at least 5 inches long! Payson was great; the people were so friendly!

We made roasted marshmallows in the backyard firepit one night!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review