reviews for: listing #66205 - St Augustine, Florida House rental

The Historic Murphey House - Historic Area B&B Alternantive
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Abbott Tract
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $225 - $255 /nt
    $1,200 - $1,575 /wk
    $3,600 - $4,050 /mth

sort by:

It may be haunted

Review submitted: February 15, 2010   Date of arrival: January 22, 2010

What an incredible weekend. We arrived at the Murphey House with high hopes and we were not disappointed. We parked the car at the curb and did not move it again until is was time to go home. Everything was a short walk away, what a plus. This lovely home has all the right stuff ie. AC, fridge and hot water combined with antique furnishings, beautiful floors and THAT TUB! Wow
A true Saint Augustine treasure. We will be staying here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is true that we have had more than our fair share of "bumps in the night," but this is St Augustine, after all. Wouldn't you expect a few extra tenants?
We know how important modern amenities are to our guests; however, we also know that when people come to St Augustine, they want to feel as if they stepped back into history. We are glad that we pleased you!
We look forward to accomodating our repeat customers in the future!

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

As promised!

Review submitted: January 12, 2014   Date of arrival: December 31, 2013

Arrived at Murphy House New Year's Eve and the house was wonderful!
Decorated for the holidays it was like stepping back in time! We were plagued with two days of rain and cold so we spent quite a bit of time at the house. We played music on the old phonograph and sang and played games. What a great family time without electronics. We will definitely stay again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Becky & Roger

Review submitted: January 1, 2014   Date of arrival: December 16, 2013

Had a great time and enjoyed the house. Would love to stay there again!

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Christmas vacation

Review submitted: December 27, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2013

Came over with our kids (5 & 7) to relax and look at Christmas lights. House was so quaint and beautiful. Beds were comfortable and home had everything we needed. Close to the historic district. Parked the car at the house and left it. Kids had a lot of fun walking everywhere. Purchased trolley tickets but didn't need them. Used it twice but very convenient as it was only about 300 feet from the house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Get-Together in St. Augustine

Review submitted: November 23, 2013   Date of arrival: November 12, 2013

The Murphey House was pleasant and met the needs of our group of 4, all 60-ish, which included one couple and 2 singles. The house was meticulously clean and tidy and well furnished. Being so close to the historic district and restaurants was very helpful. Off-street parking for 2 cars was also a big help. It could be improved with more basic kitchen tools (e.g. measuring cups). We had trouble learning how to get the downstairs TV to link with the DVD player (push 'TV' and 'input' at the same time.) The antique stove and oven worked, but took some getting used to. We had to reconnect the flush mechanism in the upstairs toilet.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bridget Zaker

Review submitted: November 13, 2013   Date of arrival: November 8, 2013

Home was awesome, we will differently stay there again, great location, walking distance to everything. Home is very charming, clean and newly remodeled. Loved the ghost meter.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house

Review submitted: November 11, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

I sure wasn't expecting it to be such a great, fully stocked home, because the pictures don't do it justice. We had a fantastic stay and wish we could have stayed longer. The location is perfect as well. A car isn't necessary unless you are going to the beach.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice weekend!

Review submitted: October 30, 2013   Date of arrival: October 25, 2013

We enjoyed staying at the Murphey House for the weekend. There was plenty of room for 5 of us and the house was as described! The location was perfect being so close to the trolley stop. My mom was able to take her wheel chair on and off the trolley with no problem. Thanks for letting us enjoy your beautiful home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

St Augustine dream

Review submitted: October 17, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

This house was above and beyond our expectations. It is so well kept and nicely decorated.
Met all of our needs. Plan to reserve again next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Everything it said it would be

Review submitted: October 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 19, 2013

Great location was close to everything just park the car and walked.The house was perfect for all our needs. Just a wonderful place to stay will try to be back soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: August 1, 2013

Loved every minute of this vacation! The house is fantastic and so conveniently located. Great restaurants right next door and around the corner and trolley stop on the block over. The house has be decorated and remodeled with keen attention to every detail. The neighborhood cats are so sweet and lovable! Planning another trip in December!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming and GREAT Location!

Review submitted: July 24, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

My family and I rented the Murphey House while we were up in St Augustine for my best friend's wedding. The house is located in a prime spot- in between the downtown historic district and the old jail, catholic church, general store, etc. The house was very clean, charming down to every detail, and just such a great place to stay.
We would love to stay again if we make our way back up there in the future.

Oh! If you have small children, I would highly recommend bringing a baby gate, if possible. The stairs are steep & wooden. My two yr old, who is a pro at climbing our stairs, fell down the second half of the stairs (he was okay, just shaken up).

If you plan on going on any of the ghost tours, be sure to read the guestbook. ;)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Did not start out well....and still waiting

Review submitted: June 11, 2013   Date of arrival: May 26, 2013

On the day of our scheduled arrival, after a very long and exhausting trip, we were surprised to find that the cleaning service had not shown up - house was dirty, beds unmade and dirty towels in the bathroom. I had to try all 3 numbers that I was given and left a voicemail at each one. Finally, after about an hour and a half I finally got a call back from Patrick, one of the owners. Of course he apologized and said he would find suitable lodging for us that night. Understand, this was Memorial Day weekend in St. Augustine and it took quite awhile to find something, but he eventually did and the hotel was nice. Biggest problem was my daughter is gluten intolerant because of her Lyme's disease, which is why we rented the house in the first place so we could cook our own gluten free meals. Not a lot of places with gluten free menus in St. Augustine. Anyway, by the time we had to suffer through Denny's and got to our hotel, it was after 10 pm. Not a good way to start a vacation. I've emailed the owners since we've been back, about a week and a half now, about compensation for the one night we didn't have the house and also the meal we had to buy out. He offered the compensation but I have not heard back from them as of yet. The house was ready for us around noon on Monday and from that point on it was as advertised. Great neighborhood and neighbors. About a block from the trolley stop, which I highly recommend. Parking in town is not easy. With the trolley you buy a 3 day pass and get on and off at your convenience. There's also a convenience store right behind the house. The house itself is really cool. Full of antiques, beds are comfortable and enough modern conveniences to get by with. WIFI works great. The old stove is a trip but it does work fine. They say every house in St. Augustine is haunted because of it's history (which you will get varying accounts) but I didn't see any.However, my granddaughter said she felt someone or something tug on her hair one night....just saying. I would highly recommend the Historic Murphy house if you want to see a lot of St. Augustine. Just make sure it's ready when you are.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Homeschool Family and Grandma

Review submitted: June 4, 2013   Date of arrival: May 23, 2013

Our vacation at the Murphy House was definitely superb. Our family was able to explore on foot downtown St. Augustine, The Fort, Flagler College, fun restaurants, and well the list goes on and on. The location is ideal and the home exudes charm. We hope to stay again really soon- Maybe Christmas!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Girls Getaway

Review submitted: April 29, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

What a wonderful home! It was perfect for a girls getaway weekend, so charming. And the location couldn't have been better. Once the car was parked, we were able to walk everywhere. We enjoyed "happy hour" on the front porch both afternoons and coffee on the porch upstairs one morning. This delightful vintage house is decorated with gorgeous antiques and felt so comfortable. It was such a treat to stay in this vintage home. And thank you to the owners for a delightful weekend!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so glad the you had such a good time at our home! It really is a beautiful place to relax after visiting all of the historic sites. We have always loved it when our guests realize just how wonderful the location truly is!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Extended Family (6 adults, 2 children)

Review submitted: April 18, 2013   Date of arrival: April 12, 2013

We had a wonderful stay with our two children (3 and 5 years old), parents, aunt, and grandmother (94 years old). Everyone enjoyed the antiques while also feeling comfortable in the house; there was a room (with a 3/4 bath) on the main floor where my grandmother stayed without having to take the stairs. The location was great too! It was a nice surprise to discover that the whole family could walk the short distance to the trolley station for a tour of St. Augustine. My husband and I also could walk downtown for a night out. I would highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Genteel Southern Lady

Review submitted: April 12, 2013   Date of arrival: April 2, 2013

Murphey House was absolutely wonderful. Everything was lovely, immaculate, and inviting. I truly felt at home within minutes of entering her doors. I loved the convenience of the location. The historic district, restaurants, and activities were within walking distance, and the house was close enough to run back to for breaks or forgotten items. The only drawback was that time flew and my vacation was over way too soon. It's nice to know that Murphey House will be there when I can get back again. Thanks for sharing your wonderful home. I LOVED IT!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Everything we hoped for!!!

Review submitted: December 29, 2012   Date of arrival: December 19, 2012

We came across the country for a Christmas family reunion (multiple members live in the Jax/St. Augustine area). My husband, myself our 2 adult daughters and a boyfriend wanted a place to stay that was close to the others but where we could retreat from all the activity. The Murphey House was so perfect. It was decorated for the holidays (which is important to me) and it felt like our own little home (only I think it's nicer then our home...hehe). We had a rental car but never needed it in St. Augustine. Everything was within walking distance. The neighborhood is very quaint and fun to walk through, the neighbors were very friendly. Without a doubt, we would stay there again if the occasion arose. It's a very fun, old, old home!!!!! Thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Time Ever in St. Augustine!

Review submitted: December 26, 2012   Date of arrival: December 13, 2012

We stayed four nights at the Murphey House. Had a wonderful time. The home was more than we expected. Very clean and had everything we needed. We were pleasantly surprised it was decorated for Christmas - tree, lights and decorations around the home. Made it feel very cozy and homey for us. The location was perfect. We only needed to use the car once to go exploring the beach area. The remainder of the time we were able to walk to all the restaurants and attractions. Loved it and would highly recommend this home. Can't wait to go back!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fan of this house

Review submitted: December 6, 2012   Date of arrival: November 30, 2012

Great space. Nice renovations. Lovely antiques throughout. Convenient to everything. Thoroughly enjoyed the two porches. Our family had a wonderful time. Highly recommend this property. It had a warm, cozy feel and was most inviting. And its history and uniqueness makes a trip to St Augustine perfect.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Home in Saint Augustine

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 23, 2012

What a fabulous place to stay! Our family really enjoyed walking into town with so many nice restaurants and shopping as well as things to do. And the house itself is really a treasure. Beds are comfortable and furnishing not only nice but interesting too. We especially enjoyed the old Edison phonograph; it felt like we were reliving history! The beaches in St. Augustine make this one of our favorite areas to visit. We definitely hope to stay at the Murphey House again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Girls' Weekend

Review submitted: August 29, 2012   Date of arrival: August 24, 2012

Our group of seven women came to St. Augustine to celebrate my sister's 50th birthday. We all fell in love with this charming house. It is very clean and well maintaned and the furnishings are lovely and comfortable. It is in a great location, within walking distance from the fort, shopping and restaurants.
We felt at home immediately and had such a wonderful weekend that we have decided to make vacationing at The Historic Murphy House an annual event, but next year we will be extending our stay from two nights to three!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We are so glad that you had such a great time! We look forward to having you and your group return next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fab & Fun!

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

Frome start to finish, the experience with Murphey House and owner was friendly and professional. Cleanliness is of utmost importance to us and Murphey house was exceptional. We felt safe and loved being able to walk all over St. Augustine without the need for driving our vehicle. The pricing was easy to work with as there weren't varied prices for seasons, weekends etc. It was so spacious and the furnishings lovely, bed was comfortable and we enjoyed "coming home" each evening. Not only have we recommended Murphey house to friends and family, we hope to visit with friends in the future. I'm almost afraid to give high recommendations as it will become popular and difficult to reserve in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: What a great review! We are so happy that you enjoyed the house so much and we look forward to having you come back in the future!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Grerat Stay!!

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

House is awsome. Great location. Would love to stay there again in the fall.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fran

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: April 12, 2012

Our stay at the Historic Murphey House was perfect. It was very clean and welcoming, everything there was just as shown in the photos. Gina was very pleasant and helpful. The location is great, a short walk to all of the shops and restaurants. Suggestion on drinks and food... watermelon margaritas at Columbia, pizza at Pizzalley's and the hamburgers at Meehan's. The Creepy Crawl Ghost Tour was fun, a great excuse to hang out with a group of people, have drinks and learn a little history of St Augustine.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing House!

Review submitted: March 6, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

My family stayed at the Murphey House this past weekend and we had a wonderful time!

The house is simply beautiful and the location couldn't be better. We walked pretty much everywhere.

The house is very nicely decorated. We loved the old record player.

I will definitely be staying at this house in the future!

Thanks for everything!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

LOVED

Review submitted: February 13, 2012   Date of arrival: February 10, 2012

Amazing!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

St Augustine Trip

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

We loved this place. 3 Couples spent a long weekend there and everyone had a great time. Nice location and house was just wonderful - very comfortable.
Plan to return in the near future for another stay. 5 Stars to this place!

B. Weiler and Friends

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent home!!

Review submitted: December 21, 2011   Date of arrival: December 15, 2011

We rented this home for my family while staying in St. Augustine for a wedding. This home is excellently maintained, and very clean. I suprised by the antiques in the home, but that all the antiques were in such good working order. The beds were very comfortable, the bathrooms have all the amentities, and it was just like being at home. All the family wants to come back for another visit. I would definitely recommend renting this house!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location and a beautiful house

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

Our Thanksgiving weekend at the Murphey House was fantastic! The house was perfect and the location can't be beat. It was so much fun cooking on the old stove and waiting on the porch with a glass of wine while waiting for dinner! We found the back way to the fort and never had to walk out on Hwy 1A. Each of us had an "encounter" of one kind or another - from footsteps on the stairs, the sound of cupboards opening and closing in the kitchen, to the "feeling" of someone in the room with us. We totally enjoyed every minute and would happily stay again and again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Accommodations

Review submitted: November 9, 2011   Date of arrival: November 3, 2011

We needed a place to stay for 2 nights for the event of our daughter's wedding which was being held at the White Room. The Murphy House was the perfect place for my husband and myself from Ormond Beach, and also my sister, her husband, son and daughter-in-law, all from Buffalo, NY. The Murphy House is in the perfect location with access to most of the sights of St. Augustine within walking distance. The home was cozy, bedrooms comfortable and the kitchen was well-equipped to where it requires just a trip to the grocery store to buy food. Totally enjoyed our time spent in St. Augustine and at the Murphy House. I would definitely recommend this house to anyone visiting St. Augustine for any occasion. Didn't notice any ghostly visitors although my brother-in-law would dispute me on that - but that was okay by me.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wow What a House!

Review submitted: September 1, 2011   Date of arrival: August 19, 2011

We stayed for a week in August and had a great time! The house was immaculate and so close to everything! We parked the car and walked all week. The Abbott Tract is a very interesting neighborhood and it was very quaint and quiet. It is like stepping back in time but with all of the modern conveniences, We can not wait to go back again.The owners were so nice and easy to deal with, everything about this house is top notch. Jean and Bob from Naples, FL

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

First trip to St. Augustine

Review submitted: August 4, 2011   Date of arrival: July 28, 2011

We spent a couple of wonderful days and a lovely, quiet night at the historic Murphy House the last week of July 2011. Our family's first visit, suggested by our best friends, a couple who accompanied us. It is a beautifully restored home, tastefully decorated in period pieces, on a corner in a quiet, charming neighborhood, just a short walk from the old fort and the historic downtown. There were six of us, and we had plenty of room. So much fun to explore this wonderful old home as well as this fascinating city. The Edison stove is a marvel! House was clean and comfortable, and we wished we could take the upstairs bathroom home w/us, especially that huge shower! We were not visited by any of the purported spirits; assumed they must be out taking their turn on the local Ghost Tours! As we were there to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary, locals suggested La Pentola and we cannot say enough about this wonderful restaurant; absolutely delicious and perfect for a special occasion. Will look forward to visiting this beautiful home and remarkable city again. Thanks!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing.

Review submitted: May 10, 2011   Date of arrival: May 6, 2011

I have never had such a good time in St. Augustine. Renting this home was definitely the way to go. We parked both our cars on the side of the house and walked right onto the historic district. It felt great walking everywhere knowing we'd be able to come to house anytime we needed to since it was so close! The other thing that made our stay so much more enjoyable was that the house was pet friendly and I love knowing I can take my dogs wherever I go. We enjoyed the house so much - we played records on the phonograph and sat out on the balcony to talk. What a beautiful place you guys own!

Oh, and it's definitely haunted! But the entities that reside there are very welcoming.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great House, wonderful location

Review submitted: April 14, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

We had a wonderful time in St Augustine! My Husband and I and the other couple who stayed with us really enjoyed all the wonderful antiques. It was like going back in time.

The location was perfect, no need to get in the car every day to get somewhere. The weather was perfect every day, we really lucked out with that.

We also enjoyed the neighbors! They gave us great tips on where to go and were to eat.

A few people in the neighborhood told us about the history of the house which we found very interesting.

We had a little problem with the upstairs bathroom but Patrick and Gina took care of it right away. Patrick also checked in on us to make sure everything was ok.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Historic home close to everything

Review submitted: April 5, 2011   Date of arrival: March 28, 2011

My husband and I with our four children, two 10 yr olds, a 3 yr old, a 9 month old, and Grandma stayed at this beautiful house. The kids were so excited to stay in a historic house. We all loved every detail of the house.
The phonograph was a great addition, it added to the historic era of the home.We loved to end the night playing a song. It was great to have an opportunity to cook on the 1920's stove too! The house is full of treasures, from the books, to the pictures, every last detail was thought of when decorating this home. The girls felt like they were in a museum!
The area was great as well. We were very close to the antique stores and our favorite antique book store, within walking distance. The downtown area was very close, if it hadn't been for the rain we could have walked there too.
About the house being haunted...we had several different experiences during our stay. It was to be expected if you are to stay anywhere in the St. Augustine historic area. We would love if there was more information on the original owners. It would be great to know the history of the house.
Overall we had a fantastic stay and would love to stay again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

A real treasure in old town!

Review submitted: February 27, 2011   Date of arrival: February 22, 2011

For anyone looking to rent a little jewel of a house in Old Town St. Augustine, look no further. The Historic Murphey House is impeccably maintained and incredibly layed out! The rooms are beautifully decorated, and the cupboards and cabinets are well stocked with all the household/linen items one would need. Great owners, great location, great house, great city == one great vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wedding/Family vacation weekend

Review submitted: February 1, 2011   Date of arrival: January 14, 2011

Our family rented the Murphy house for a wedding and family reunion. It was everything we had hoped for and the location was great! We were able to walk everywhere we wanted except when going to O Steens for the best fried shrimp in Florida! The beds were very comfortable and there wasn't anything missing in the house a traveler would need. We enjoyed the games available, the kitchen was incredible and the master bath was delightful. We weren't able to use the porches because it was a a cold weekend - but made it great for all the sightseeing. Being a native of Daytona Beach I new the area but had never stayed and I would definitely like to do this again sometime.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Week at The Historic Murphey House

Review submitted: January 11, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

My wife and I, two older sons and my wife's parents stayed here from December 26th thru January 2nd. One of our sons works in St. Augustine and this was a great way for family to be able to spend Christmas with him. We really enjoyed the home. It has been totally renovated and the location is wonderful. You are about two blocks from St. George St. and the Fort so you are right in the middle of everything. The neighborhood has restaurants, shops, convenience stores and almost anything you need. We were able to park and never get in the car unless we just wanted to go sightseeing.

St. Augustine broke a record for the coldest recorded temperature the first night we were there and the house was a little cool and drafty downstairs. But there was a separate heater you could use in the living room that helped. There were several things that happened that made my wife and sons think there were some "happy haunts" living here. Our dog also seemed to notice something none of us could see.

We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone. St. Augustine is such a wonderful place to visit and The Historic Murphey House just added to the enjoyment.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Murphy House Wonderful

Review submitted: December 26, 2010   Date of arrival: December 10, 2010

There were four of us "girls" wanting to do something special for a 60th birthday party-and the Murphy House was Perfect. The house is warm, comfortable and charming. We really loved that we could actually listen to the old Edison records and have a place to rest our weary feet after a full day of shopping.

Gina was wonderful to work with and the house was spotless when we arrived. The location was great-far enough away from hussle and bussle but close enough to walk to everything.

If you are looking at a house to rent for 4 -6 people this is the ideal location. We will be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

"Charming"

Review submitted: October 6, 2010   Date of arrival: September 24, 2010

Our stay was amazing. We were a group of 7 woman who once worked for Pan Am Airlines and every two or three years we travel to a city in the United States for a reunion since we now live all over the country. St. Augustine is an amazing city, quaint, hospitable with great restaurants and churches. The Historic Murphy House exceeded our expectations, as each lady arrived they could not believe the charm of this house. The house was big enough for all 7 of us, bath's included. Many of us enjoyed sitting out on the porch, the neighborhood was extremely safe. For each of our reunion's we have stayed at hotels, but after staying at the Historic Murphy House we hope to find another amazing home to rent in our next reunion city, it's so much nicer than a hotel.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Wonderful Family Memory

Review submitted: August 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 5, 2010

Never having done a house rental before, we didn't know what to expect. The Murphy House truely was the reason the vacation was so fantastic for our family. It quickly became a 2nd home for us, so relaxing and beautiful. Able to walk to town, having leisurely meals "at home." We highly recommend it to all who visit St. Augustine.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous Place to Relax & Enjoy Saint Augustine!

Review submitted: July 28, 2010   Date of arrival: July 25, 2010

Myself, Mother-in-Law, and three young children thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Murphy House. The first night we arrived we loved the home so much that we stayed in and ate sanwiches for dinner just so we wouldn't have to leave the house! The location is excellent. We could walk everywhere and quickly return to The Murphy House for breaks and snacks. You can park your car in the driveway and never move it until you leave town. You can stroll the neighborhood and view many interesting homes, including those on the waterway. The home ambiance is lovely, just as depicted in the photos. It reminded me of my Great Grandmother's house. My children enjoyed it because it was something different for them. All of the beds were comfortable, the kitchen was great, and there was plenty of room. I would definitely recommend The Murphy House!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

wonderful location!!

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: June 23, 2010

We stayed here recently - all 6 of us - and found this house to be very comfortable. It's so nice to have everything already there, no bringing linens, towels, soaps etc. Just move right in! The beds were all very comfortable and the brand new baths were gorgeous, and super clean. The location is wonderful too!! About 2 blocks from historic downtown, and 1 block to a tourist tram and also to Ripley's. In addition, there are several eating establishments in easy walking distance The whole neighborhood is charming, a nice place for a morning or evening stroll. I would not hesitate to recommend this house to anyone - it was spotless, beautifully decorated, well equipped and spacious. The owners have gone out of their way to assure your comfort!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What a gem!

Review submitted: June 2, 2010   Date of arrival: April 19, 2010

Beautifully renovated, well appointed home! This home is nestled in a quiet, friendly, secure neighborhood in the heart of St. Augustine. Walking distance to everything! Bed and breakfast feel with the flexibility of a home rental. Fantastic!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

great home in Historical District

Review submitted: May 4, 2010   Date of arrival: April 26, 2010

Great home in wonderful location. Walking distance of many attractions. Near trollies that can transport you to further away. Very well decorated and clean with most any item needed during your stay. We would reccomend this home to others and plan to stay there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Charming house

Review submitted: April 12, 2010   Date of arrival: April 2, 2010

A charming house.
Definitely withing walking distance of downtown.
Quiet area.
Well priced.
Thank you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Wonderful Time

Review submitted: April 2, 2010   Date of arrival: March 29, 2010

We had a wonderful, relaxing time. Great house -- so much character!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Met Our Expectations

Review submitted: April 2, 2010   Date of arrival: March 19, 2010

The house met our expectations. Decorated with such good taste, clean, comfortable and also walking distance to everywhere. We really enjoyed our stay and had a great time.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful house in a lovely town

Review submitted: April 2, 2010   Date of arrival: March 13, 2010

Beautiful house in a lovely town -- we enjyed being in walking distance to so much, and the house was so nicely done (decor & everything). We all had a great time.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What a dream

Review submitted: March 11, 2010   Date of arrival: January 8, 2010

To stay in this wonderful house is a dream! The stove, the bathrooms! the furniture and the location are all amazing. I KNOW I will return.
Thanks for such a relaxing and fun weekend!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful

Review submitted: February 14, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2009

This house is a real antique! The close proximity to everything is great. You can walk to all the main attracations in St. Augustine!! My husband, son and myself helped do some of the renovations and it is well worth the money to stay here. The neighbor hood is beautiful with tropical trees and flowers everywhere. You wont be sorry if you stay here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review