reviews for: listing #66235 - Emerald Isle, North Carolina House rental

Luxury 6 BR Oceanfront, Pool, Elevator, Handicap Friendly
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  5
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Bluewater Bay
  • sleeps  18
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $674 - $2,224 /nt
    $2,695 - $8,895 /wk

sort by:

Great Beach House

Review submitted: April 15, 2014   Date of arrival: April 10, 2014

Great location on the beach, house in great condition, spacious rooms, plenty of room for a large group, owners great to deal with. What else would you need? Would definitely rent from them again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

So Comfortable and Clean!

Review submitted: December 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 24, 2013

The perfect home for my family Thanksgiving Gathering. We really enjoyed the unbelievably well equipped kitchen. This home has had some serious tender loving care and comes with every convenience. The game room was the hit for the kids with pool table and big screen TV. The Deck was a hit for the adults with the big adirondack chairs and rocking chairs. The elevator was a "must have" and operated well. We all enjoyed the location on the beach and the hot tub. We fell in love with Emerald Isle Beach on this trip and hope to visit this home again soon. Thanks to the owners, George and Suzanne for providing a very welcoming home! Ann Rozier

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The SeaGals loved it!

Review submitted: November 13, 2013   Date of arrival: November 7, 2013

Our girls group has been visiting the southeastern coast for our annual trip for over 25 years and this is definitely one of the nicest homes that we have stayed in. From the beautiful views, the attention to detail, fine linens and all the necessities, there was nothing we were lacking...except maybe a few more days at this lovely home! George and Suzanne made us feel as if we were family and gave us a thorough tour of the many house amenities and even suggestions for dinner.
Thanks for a lovely and memorable trip!
The SeaGals

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Tranquility

Review submitted: October 18, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

This lovely home is Tranquility on so many levels. The owners are amazing and have thought of everything one could possibly need on the perfect vacation. We didn't need a thing. The location is ideal. It is right on the beautiful beach and waters of Emerald Isle with easy access for one and all. The house was just superb for the 11 of us, with quality linens, décor, and amazing views. We loved it and will come back the next time we do a large family get together. From the moment we entered to when we packed up to leave, Tranquility met us at the door. Thank you so much for such a wonderful experience.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect family getaway

Review submitted: October 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 22, 2013

Our three children, their spouses, and our six grandchildren ( ages 6mos to 7yrs ) joined us at this lovely beach retreat. The home is very well appointed, and immaculate. We so appreciated the thoughtful safety features that kept all the kids safe from the pool and the beach. We loved the beach and pool, bike riding, the aquarium, kite flying,and numerous walks. We even ventured out for ice cream and lunch. In short, we wouldn't change a thing. The weather was idyllic, and the home beautiful and well equipped! Thanks so much, George and Suzanne!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful beach week!

Review submitted: August 18, 2013   Date of arrival: August 11, 2013

What a wonderful and fun week our family spent at tranquility. We so much appreciated the welcoming reception from George and Suzanne. Everything was so clean and functional. The house was extremely kid friendly. The safety gates on the decks and the extra gates and pac n plays were very beneficial for young toddlers. The house offered so much for both outdoor and indoor activities. Fussball was a highlight! Thanks for adding to our many happy family memories!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Incredible oceanfront beach week

Review submitted: August 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2013

We had our best beach vacation ever at Tranquility. The home is lovely and well maintained. The ocean views are expansive and everywhere from every level. The beach accessibility is perfect - approximately 50 yds. on a boardwalk from the house. The beach is beautiful, clean, spacious, and has great waves. The pool and hot tub are right outside your door. The decks are spacious for big groups. The kitchen is well appointed for every need. The children loved the rec room with the pool table. The elevator and easy beach access were so helpful to our parents who use a walker. We ate in for almost every meal (we enjoy eating on the deck). Most of us never want to leave the beach and house, but some of our group went on a kayak trip that they enjoyed. There are many nice restaurants 10-20min away. The owners are available for any problems or question. We have had numerous family beach trips- this home fulfilled all of our amenity desires.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Reunion: Texas, Illinois, Virginia and North Carolina

Review submitted: August 3, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2013

Well, it's been almost a week since we left behind the beautiful "Tranquility" and the sound of the surf that greeted us each morning. We miss it every day. The owners, Suzanne and George, were wonderful hosts. The "cottage" exceeded all expectations which were high. It is as advertised: roomy, able to accommodate all ages - the kids loved the downstairs game room and the swimming pool, my 94 year old Dad appreciated the elevator when he visited us, porches everywhere with spectacular views and "Tranquility" was completely furnished. You need to bring only beach towels. We lived on the beach "from can to can't" as they say in the South and even after dark when we conducted our raucous "crab stalks" (no crabs were harmed in the making of some great memories). It was a great week! We are already trying to coordinate calendars for next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A week at the beach

Review submitted: July 29, 2013   Date of arrival: July 7, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Tranquility with our siblings, kids and grandkids. The house was clean and well supplied with dishes and appliances, the beds were comfortable, and the ocean was a stone throw's away. All 15 of us had a great time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quality Family Time......

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 2, 2013

Our family just enjoyed our third year of visiting Emerald Isle and staying at Tranquility. This is the one week that our family truly loves....we enjoy the beauty of Emerald Isle and the comforts of Tranquility. The owners, George and Suzanne, are always a pleasure to see and they do everything possible for you to enjoy your vacation. We just love this house....it's the perfect size for our family, very clean and modern, great pool/hot tub and a beautiful view of the ocean. What more could you want! Our entire family is already looking forward to next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Get Together

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: May 26, 2013

When we arrived at the house it was like walking into paradise. The first thing I noticed was the view of the ocean, the colors were magnificent, it was hard to believe we were finally there after several months of planning and anticipation. When I was able to look away from the ocean view and tour the home, it was immaculate with personal touches throughout. Each room was just as it was pictured on the web site, it was too good to be true. We've rented beach houses before, but were never personally welcomed by the owners, it was nice to be greeted that way. They took time to show us each room and explain how things worked such as the stove and television and assured us if we had any questions they were just a phone call away.

While we were there we enjoyed breakfast and lunch on the island at Mike's Place and dinner at the Ice House in Swansboro, about 10 minutes away. Toured Fort Macon, and had enjoyed the miniature golf course and go carts on the island in next city over heading east, wish I could remember the name yet I do remember that we had to take a brief train ride to start the the fun, challenging and well maintained course. There were many things to do on the Island yet we chose to spend most of it on the beach searching for sharks teeth (which we found really nice ones!), shells, early morning and evening walks, watching the dolphins and the moon rise. We could not have asked for more perfect weather and hosts of the beautiful home we stayed in. We plan to return someday.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

10 old friends gather for 1 week from all over the US and Canada

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: May 19, 2013

We have been at Tranquility for 2 years in a row and it is truly a wonderful spot..The house is extremely well equipped and ammiculate...such a pleasure. Having an elevator was a bonus!!!!!! Our weather could not have been better..pool. hot tub and beach every day !!!!!! What else could you ask for??? Hope to get back soon...Sue and George made us feel like family, they have done an amazing job to keep up such a beautiful beach home....

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Tranquility at the beach!

Review submitted: May 9, 2013   Date of arrival: April 28, 2013

We had a family reunion with our kids and grandkids (2yr.) for a week. The weather did not cooperate but having the beautifully furnished home, heated pool and hottub more than madeup for the poor weather. The house was perfect for us and we look forward to another stay in 2014.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

From Cary, Wonderful Home and Great Time

Review submitted: May 5, 2013   Date of arrival: April 13, 2013

This was our first but not last stay at Tranquility. We vacation at Emerald Isle for two weeks every year and this was the location of our daughter’s wedding. We have stayed at many homes on the oceanfront and found this to be the best home yet. The home is well maintained and has all of the amenities a family needs for a great coastal vacation.
The homeowners have done a great job of furnishing the home with the latest in appliances and electronic media devices. The down stairs game room/sleeping area is fantastic for young children and teenagers. Plenty of space and plenty to do. The pool and hot tub were well maintained. This was the cleanest place we have ever visited. The kitchen was furnished with everything we needed for a dinner party of 30.
We can only say positive things about the house and homeowners. We look forward to visiting Tranquility on our next trip to Emerald Isle.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Fall Get-Away

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 7, 2012

Tranquility was perfect for our fall trip to the beach. George & Suzanne could not have been nicer or more helpful, before and during our stay. My handicapped step-father used main level bathroom & was fine taking his shower & getting ready there. The home has plenty of places to get away to yourself if that's what you need & big open spaces to enjoy each other too! We tried out Kathryn's & Jordans restaurants for the first time & enjoyed them both. We of course love Michealangelo's Pizza and had that twice! I would love to rent this beautiful home again if we need a large house with lots of sleeping areas. The weather was a little cool, in the low 70's, during our trip. We are so glad we had the pool heated for our stay. It proved to be a great place to hang out on the more windy days. Thanks for the memories George & Suzanne, God bless you & your family!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Previous review was good, but....

Review submitted: September 11, 2012   Date of arrival: August 26, 2012

I'm currently having a little trouble with the owner of this property. We did very much enjoy our stay here, but unless you are older and have kids, I warn you to be careful renting this property. We were charged over $200 from our security deposit for damages to the hot tub cover. When we checked in, during our exhaustive tour, the owner pointed out that the hot tub cover has had to be repaired by hand several times. I noticed that it wasn't in the best shape and had been hand sewn back together.

Now, a week and a half after our stay, we are being charge $225 -- $205 for repairs to the already damaged hot tub cover (the owners claim that the foam inserts were broken in half while we stayed there -- which I can't imagine we did unless they were already almost broken in half) and $20 because we accidentally washed a few towels with a dark load of clothes.

We very much enjoyed the house, otherwise this would get a lower rating. The house is gorgeous, and it's clear that the owners take much pride in the house. However, we are a bunch of friends, our ages range from 23-35, and I feel like the owners 'saw us coming' -- I think they assumed that we were going to use their property for a big party. While we did have a great time, we were respectful of the property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Owners response: When possible we meet and familiarize our guests with the features of our beach house. We take one adult and show them the hot tub. They assist us in removing and storing the hot tub cover, and then we review the controls which operate the jets.

One couple arrived about an hour before the rest of the group. We orientated that gentleman on the hot tub. He assisted us in releasing the tie down straps, folding the cover and storing it on the rack. We pointed out the minor repairs made because prior guests lifted the hot tub cover grabbing the skirt, tie down straps and/or the small insulation blocks located at the ends of the fold. When we folded the cover it was ridged, indicating that the foam insulation inserts were intact, not broken. After the group of 16 individuals, 23 to 35 years old, departed, we found one tie down strap ripped off the cover, two others barley attached and a two foot long seam ripped open. When we removed the two foam insulation inserts from the cover to bring the cover to the shop for repair, we found both foam insulation inserts broken. It cost $80 to repair the cover, and the two foam insulation inserts cost $125.00, plus another $125 for shipping. For the damage to the cover we charged them the $80 for the repair and $125 for the inserts. We did not charge them for the shipping.

There were 14 towels soiled so badly that after several washings we could not get them clean enough to present to our guests. We charged them $20 to replace the towels.

Our total charges were $225.

What has not been mentioned was the broken part on the microwave door handle. The stainless steel microwave was purchased in April 2011. The repairman has ordered a new microwave door. Since we have an extended warrantee there is no cost involved in replacing the door.

We rent primarily to families, but in this case the young woman who rented our beach house for the group convinced us that her friends were responsible individuals, and would respect and not damage our house. We don't view the damages as malicious, but the result of carelessness and not thinking clearly as they tried to remove the hot tub cover without releasing the tie downs. We believe that resulted in the torn tie down straps and broken foam insulation inserts.

In the future we will only rent to families, or groups of older and more responsible adults (40+).

Helpful votes: 5 / 8

 

Loved this house!!

Review submitted: September 5, 2012   Date of arrival: August 26, 2012

My friends and I had the BEST time at your beautiful home! This home is lovely, everyone who stayed with us said it was the best beach house they've ever stayed in. Having the linens and towels provided was luxurious! I felt right at home! We had 16 adults staying in the house, and we were very comfortable. Two people had to stay downstairs on the futons, which they didn't seem to mind at all. We had one rainy day, which was fine because we traveled 15 minutes to the NC Aquarium in Pine Knoll Shores and had the best time. One day while we were there, the ocean turned clear as a bell and bright green! I see why it's called Emerald Isle! The very best part was being able to see the ocean from the pool and hot tub -- what a treat!

I will always remember this vacation fondly, not only because we were so comfortable and had the best time, but also because I got engaged while we were there! I can't think of a more lovely place to have such a significant event! Thank you so much, George and Suzanne for a lovely reception and a very comfortable stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Los Angeles, CA

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

Stayed here with my extended family to celebrate our parents' 50th wedding anniversary. House was really lovely with beautiful views. It was also kept up very nicely and was very clean. Beds were comfy. Kitchen was well-stocked with glassware, appliances, etc. The beach was nice and not crowded at all. Would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

July guests

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 15, 2012

Great vacation, grandkids loved it!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Family Vacation!!!

Review submitted: June 15, 2012   Date of arrival: June 3, 2012

Our family vacation at Emerald Isle this year was absolutely wonderful. This is the one time of year when our entire family gets to spend quality time being together. Tranquility is the perfect home for us and it has everything that you would possibly need. A beautiful home, great pool, large hot tub and an awesome view of the ocean....what more could you want! The owners are wonderful people and they do everything possible to make sure you and your family have a wonderful vacation at Emerald Isle. This was our second consecutive year at Tranquility and we have already reserved it for next year. We love it and so will you!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Wonderful and Relaxing

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: May 27, 2012

Look no further!! This beautifully decorated and meticulously maintained home is perfect to relax and feel "at home" on Emerald Isle. Eight adults and nine children spent a wonderful week enjoying time together in the pool and hot tub and walking right out of the back door to the beach. The owners go above and beyond to make sure you have everything you need to make your stay wonderful. Thank you for helping with baby items and the gourmet welcome gift was fantastic! Not only is your home beautiful, your personal touches made us feel like special guests. Hope to see you next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

first stay at "tranquility"

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

Every year 10college girlfriends (class of 58) get together for a week. We have been all over ..this was the "perfect spot". Beautiful house". Views unbelievable!!! George&Suzanne (the owners) have thought of everything you could possible need and more.Perfect for all ages..We loved it so much we are planning to return in 2013....A Must See !!!!pictures do not do it justice...

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Home and View!!

Review submitted: April 25, 2012   Date of arrival: April 3, 2012

We stayed at Tranquility April 3 - 10, 2012 for our wedding on the beach and it was absolutely perfect! The homeowners take wonderful care of their home and it truly feels like a home and not a "rental", which makes a huge difference! Everything was immaculate and clean, fresh linens/towels, kitchen was stocked with everything you can want or need. The view from the two decks was so beautiful and we are hoping to return soon! Thank you so much for such an amazing memory for us, we had the best day of our lives getting married on the beach in Emerald Isle and Tranquility played a big part in making everything run so perfect! There is no need to look anywhere else, this is the house you should rent.....just not when we want it! :)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Time!!!!

Review submitted: January 2, 2012   Date of arrival: January 27, 2011

We have been coming to Emerald Isle for 15 years, sometimes in the summer and sometimes in the winter. We have rented all sorts of houses but this was probably one of the best. Everything is as described. We had a family of 10 staying at the house and cooked dinner for 20+ some nites. Plenty of room for everybody. The owners are very attentive to your needs. Thanks for letting us enjoy your house!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Thangsgiving

Review submitted: December 5, 2011   Date of arrival: November 20, 2011

This property was excellent. We had a mixture of ages from 5 to 92 and everyone enjoyed themselves. The kitchen was more than excellently stocked with any appliance/tool you could want. The beach area is very convenient for everyone and it was a hot spot for surf fishing. This property's photos which are excellent don't do it justice. It much more impressive in real life. The owners were extremely friendly and informative. I would highly recommend this property to anyone desiring a fabulous time on the Crystal Coast.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

50th Anniversary Celebration

Review submitted: September 26, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

We celebrated our 50th Wedding Anniversary by having all of our children and grandchildren from Ohio, Vermont and North Carolina join us at Tranquility for a week of celebration and hilarity - all this in lieu of a cruise to some distant coast whose name we couldn't pronounce and where tipping would have been required. We were however welcomed to Tranquility by our hosts with a magnificent 50th Anniversary cake decorated with chocolate and strawberries! Wow! Were we ever surprised!
From the Master Bedroom (while still in bed!) we had only to roll over to watch the gentle waves breaking on the beach below. Through those windows and their respective outdoor decks we were able to view magnicent moon rises (and even some thunderstorms!) over the ocean while also being able to identify each of our grandchildren playing at the water's edge. Sometimes we even dared to join them!
The beach was grand for walking - and walk we did!
As we departed Tranquility on Sunday we found ourselves saying "Next year in Jerusalem!" or something like that. It won't be our 50th - but we'll find some excuse!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just wonderful!

Review submitted: September 21, 2011   Date of arrival: September 11, 2011

We have stayed in this wonderful home 11 times! There are 3 things that bring us back at least once a year - and sometimes twice a year: (1) It is a beautiful home - and a beautifully decorated home - that continues to look new and fresh year after year; (2) The view of the ocean is breathtaking; and (3) The owners truly care about those who rent this home, and do everything possible to make your stay the best.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

1 word...WOW!!!

Review submitted: August 3, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

This is my first stay on Emerald Isle after 6 visits to the Outer Banks, and all I can say is WOW! This was the BEST Ocean House renting experince I have ever had. First the Hosts...this is no management company renting you this home, it is the home owners. And what greatful, knowledgable hosts they are. They meet you and give you the ENTIRE tour of their home, a priceless addition to the vacation. Their home is stacked to the gills! The kitchen has EVERYTHING! No need to bring anything! (The smoothie/margarita maker was an extra plus!) with new appliances. All of the rooms are spacious. The bathrooms are VERY clean, the linens and towels are provided which is also a nice plus. 1st floor refridgerator(nice bonus for pool time beverages), pool table, soccer table, flat screen TV, futons, and of course the elevator. The garage is completely enclosed and nice. Pool toys, beach chairs, outdoor shower, new grill with fish cleaning table near by. Outdoor hoses everywhere, a well maintained walkway to a low populated VERY CLEAN white sand beach, and of course you cannot beat the view from EVERYWHERE! The well maintain porches 2nd and 3rd floor provide the perfect getaway with the wonderful rockers and chairs and tables.
The town is perfect...Food Lion, ABC liquor, fish markets, restaurants, pizza places, movie theater, shopping, gas stations, bars, ANYTHING and EVERYTHING you need is literally 5 minutes away...we never left the island. We saw there were fishing boats and activities as we were coming in, but honestly, we never had a need to leave the house.

Thank you George and Suzanne for a wonderful; experience!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Family in April

Review submitted: July 28, 2011   Date of arrival: April 23, 2011

This was by far one of our family's best vacations! I can not state emphatically enough how relaxing and fun it was. My boys (15 and 17yrs), my wife, and my brother all had a great time. There was plenty to do and also plenty of escape to just kick back and recharge. The home was large, beautiful and clean. The owners were friendly, kind, and informative. We played on the beach and used the pool. My wife and I walked every morning for miles on the beach. We brought our bikes and rode to explore the community. The aquarium is a nice 1/2 day excursion. Most days we ate at the house but there was plenty of dining available on and off the ilse. Great time! Thank you again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our stay at Tranquility...

Review submitted: June 28, 2011   Date of arrival: June 5, 2011

Our family of 10, stayed at Tranquility the first week of June, 2011 which was our first visit to Emerald Isle. We met the owners who were extremely hospitable, gracious and accommodating. The house itself was gorgeous. It accommodated our family very well; with no problems and plenty of room...it was beautiful on the inside and extremely neat and clean. The kitchen was well equipped and offered more than you would actually need. This oceanfront house has a spectacular view of the ocean from all levels. The pool was great and that's where our family spent most of their time. In the evening, everyone loved the downstairs playroom. Emerald Isle is the place to go and Tranquility is definitely the place to stay...we loved it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great House!

Review submitted: June 11, 2011   Date of arrival: May 29, 2011

Our family has gathered annually at Tranquility for 5 years. We come from CA, TX, OR, GA, IL, and NC because this is such a great place to stay, relax, and enjoy. The house is beautiful and George and Suzanne go to great lengths to make sure everything is clean, modern, and working. Our clan ranges in age from 4 to 84 and everyone has such a great time, we keep coming back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

look no further - this is the place to be

Review submitted: June 8, 2011   Date of arrival: May 15, 2011

about 8 years ago, I saw this house on line - looked to be what we were looking for & I was CORRECT - it's FABULOUS - - has everything & anything you need - - it's all total quality too, the furniture, the kitchenware, the pool, the hottub, the works - - the house is amazing, it's right on the beach & the owners are awesome - - since we've stayed here 8 years ago, we've never rented a different house - - we come back to this one every chance we get - - you'll love it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Search No More!!! Wonderful Home!!

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: May 23, 2010

This Ocean Front Home is absolutely the best! We have been visiting the island for over 6 years with our growing family and we were extremely impressed from the moment we first spoke with George & Suzanne to arrange our rental. They are so kind and helpful and truly care to make your visit a pleasant one. They greeted us upon arrival and gave us a tour of everything to make sure we didn't have any questions. The house is just beautiful.. the pictures don't even do it justice. But so comfortable to relax in too! I slept so peacefully!! Everything is so clean and fresh. And the kitchen is TRULY stocked to a chef's delight! They even had baby equipment, games and tons of pool toys for the kids to save us space in our car for traveling. They thought of EVERYTHING! Thank you George and Suzanne!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Fabulous Beach-front home

Review submitted: October 7, 2010   Date of arrival: August 22, 2010

Our family spent a week in August in this beautiful home. The house had all the comforts of home, from the fully equipped kitchen to the large family room and great pool and beach access. It's a great house!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Vacation

Review submitted: October 3, 2010   Date of arrival: September 19, 2010

We have vacationed at Emerald Isle for the past 3 years. This was our first year renting directly from the owner instead of going with a rental company. The whole experience was great. George and Suzanne made the whole process so easy. When we would email with questions regarding fishing and boating they replied or called us right away with the answers. They had a special treat waiting for us when we arrived. The house is beautiful, clean and well maintained. The Kitchen is well stocked with everything you could possibly need. The beds were so comfortable and the whole house so cozy and homey. The beach was great, pool was great and the Hot Tub so relaxing. The day at the NC Aquarium, Fort Macon and Beaufort was great. Shelling on Shackleford was wonderful. We found so many great shells. We had family over from Jacksonville NC, Wilmington NC and Hubert NC. What a great place to spend time with Family and close friends. We would definitely rent Tranquility again. Thank You so much for our time and new memories made at Tranquility on Emerald Isle.
The Kerstetter Family The Womer's Connie Weber Janet Mull

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Right Kind of Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 18, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2010

Our family just spent a glorious week on Emerald Isle. Tranquility was perfect for us. Upon arrival we were greeted by George and Suzanne to welcome us and answer any questions we had about Emerald Isle since this was our first visit. They gave us great tips on golfing, deep sea fishing, and day excursions. The house was equipped with everything our three families needed. The kitchen is well stocked for cooking and the bedrooms were comfy. It was so relaxing watching the kids hunt for sea shells in the morning while we watched them from the deck drinking coffee. Everyone loved the waves and sand but when we were done it was nice to head back to the pool.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great family vacation site

Review submitted: July 4, 2010   Date of arrival: June 13, 2010

Our family has spent many vacations at Emerald Isle, since we started visiting there in 1979. This was by far the nicest house we have rented. The home had every amenity a beach house could provide making it a great place for young and old - this was the first time we rented a house with a pool, and we loved it! The hot tub was also great to have, even though the week was so hot we never used it. The layout of the house was perfect for the large group, especially the open kitchen/dining/living area was ample seating for everyone. The convenience to the beach and grocery store added to our pleasure. The owners greeted us and gave us an overview of all the features of the house, even leaving a treat for us to share. They also recommended some great eating spots nearby. It was a wonderful week and we were not ready to leave. We would definitely rent this property again if it's availability works with our family's busy work schedule.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful spring break vacation

Review submitted: April 5, 2010   Date of arrival: March 28, 2010

We arrived home yesterday from our fabulous week at "Tranquility' on Emerald Isle. From start to finish, it was a wonderful vacation enjoyed by all. The owners are so thoughtful and even had delicious chocolate covered pretzels there for us to enjoy as a treat. The home is very clean, beds are extremely comfortable, view of the ocean is breathtaking, and there is lots of room for everyone. The kitchen is stocked with every item you would ever need and is a pleasure to cook in if you want to cook. Lots of nice restaurants in the area, too, and even a movie theater and grocery store not more than a couple of miles away. Kids enjoyed playing miniature golf and riding in the go carts in town. Area is very safe and family friendly. Beach is clean and great place to look for shells. Tranquility is so cozy, they even have soft blankets all over the living room to be enjoy while you watch a movie or sit on one of the beautiful decks and enjoy the view. Saw lot of dolphins swimming in the ocean , too! We can't wait to visit again and wish we were still there. It was the perfect vacation for our family and relatives and highly recommend it to anyone wanting to vacation on the North Carolina Shore. We have been to many places and this was , by far, the most relaxing and peaceful vacation that we have taken.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: November 27, 2009   Date of arrival: November 27, 2009

We have spent many years vacationing at Emerald Isle and this was our first time renting directly from a homeowner instead of going through a rental company. The entire process from beginning to end was a pleasure. The hospitality that we received exceeded our expectations. We stayed at Tranquility for two weeks, the accommodations allowed us to provide a vacation for our aging parents, one who needed a handicap friendly facility. This wonderful and spacious home allowed our entire family to have this time together at the coast with our parents.

The homeowners made this trip possible, they went beyond the call of duty to see that we had everything we needed. Tranquility was not only beautiful but equipped with everything you could imagine. We personally met the homeowners and you could not ask for anyone nicer, more sincere and a joy to work with.

Again, thank you for our time spent at Tranquility. We hope to see you again in 2010.

the Lloyd and Andrews family
Chapel Hill, NC

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review