reviews for: listing #66256 - Kent Island, Maryland House rental

Sunsets on Crab Alley
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Marling Farms
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $200 - $325 /nt
    $1,220 - $1,848 /wk
    $3,860 - $5,878 /mth

sort by:

Perfect low-key family get away

Review submitted: August 29, 2014   Date of arrival: August 9, 2014

If you're looking for a low-key getaway, this is the place. The house was absolutely beautiful, topped only by the view of the Bay.

The house is very nicely decorated. The kitchen is very large with plenty of storage. The beds were very comfortable and the bedrooms spacious. The living room furniture wasn't as comfy, but it was ok. The cable (TV) and wireless were very spotty, which was a bit bothersome at first. After a few days, it almost forced us to unplug, which was actually a welcome excuse to avoid working while on vacation. The video wiring was a little bit of an eyesore and may have contributed to the spotty TV reception.

There isn't much to do in town, but the location is close enough to other high-traffic areas if you want more action.

We swam off the dock a few times but I consider this more of a fishing/boating area rather than a swimming area. There is no "beach" or ability to walk out of the water. You have to use the dock to get in and out of the water. Again, not a big deal, just so you're aware.

The home uses well water that has a VERY strong smell of iron, which is something that we are unaccustomed to as city water folks.

Pet-owners, please note that the property is not fenced in. One of the next door neighbors was very touchy about our dogs nearing his property. Yes, I said nearing, not encroaching on. The other neighbor was fine. There is a WONDERFUL "mudroom" area where we kept the dog kennel while we were out to dinner, etc.

Overall, I recommend this property and would enjoy staying there again.

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice house, awesome view!

Review submitted: September 19, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2013

My family and a few friends (4 adults, 2 10-year-olds and a dog) rented this house for a long weekend. The place was awesome -- it totally lived up to the pictures and the reviews. It was probably one of the best views we have ever had at a rental property!

The house is nicely decorated, including the furniture which was definitely a step up from normal rental properties. The kitchen was all new and well equipped with the basics (bring your own crab mallets). The beds were nice and cozy (note -- you do have to bring your own linens), although I would have appreciated at least one chair in each bedroom. Everything very clean, warm and inviting.

We go to Kent Island for the weekend at least twice a year and meet up with another couple who also live on the Island. Normally we enjoy the restaurants like the Jetty, Bridges, and the Crab Deck. But everyone loved the house some much we pretty much stayed there! We caught about six dozen crabs from our boat and enough fish for dinner from the dock. We biked around the neighborhood and would have done the cross-island trail had we more time. Didn’t have time to try the kayaks, but will next time. Mostly we enjoyed the deck and the sunsets!

The only reason I didn't give it five stars is because of some technology and maintenance issues. Even though I checked to be sure the boat lift worked -- in advance --it did not work. Fortunately we were able to tie the boat to the dock. We think the outlet is bad. The TV/DVD/Cable Box set up is really sketchy for such a beautiful house. Someone needs to tie those wires, put the equipment on a stand or something -- and leave directions for the three remotes! The Wi-Fi did not work upon arrival. Someone did come and fix it several hours into our stay -- so that's good customer service!

All and all this is an outstanding property that lives up to the pictures and reviews. The rental process was smooth and easy. I recommend it whole-heartedly, with one hesitation: I hate to recommend this property for fear someone will rent it when we want it next! We'll definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful week back home

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: July 31, 2013

We had a great time during our stay there. The house is well laid out for a vacation property. It is right on the bay, and we really enjoyed taking our morning coffee and evening adult beverage times outside on the back porch. The view is wonderful, and it was great being back on the Chesapeake Bay again. We rented a boat and they delivered it right to the dock at the house. My wife and I both grew up in Maryland, less than an hour from this house. My 20 year old son was born in Maryland, but we moved away for work when he was very young. It was great showing him the area, and introducing him to real Maryland crab cakes and cream of crab soup. Was also able to go 15 minutes down the road and play a round of golf at Queenstown Harbor with several holes right on the bay. The theme of our vacation this year was to just go somewhere we could drive to and bring our 8 month old Golden Retriever with us. It was the most relaxing time I hgad in years, and the pup really enjoyed swimming in the Bay as well. I would highly recommend this property to anyone seeking a quiet relaxing time. If you want more activity than we were seeking, you are less than 1/2 hour from Annapolis, and 1 hour from Washington, D.C. sightseeing. We were already talking about when we were going to go back on our way home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent !!

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

What a beautiful, tranquil property. The location, layout was perfect for our family. The property was very clean & well maintained. Hope Said answer all our needs in a very timely manner. We fished, ate, BBQ & was able to celebrate our uncle's 86th birthday, with wonderful memories. I would definitely recommend this property & hopefully, return next year. Many thanks !!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Land of Pleasant Living

Review submitted: July 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

Our two week stay proved to be immensely restful and relaxing. The owners were quite accommodating. The house served as a great "home away from home" as we live in California. It is a wonderful place to watch boats, birds, and brilliant sunsets. We enjoyed crabbing and fishing from the dock. Grocery, gas, farm market, most shopping needs, bait shop, and restaurants are minutes away. It is a convenient location to take exploratory day trips on the Eastern Shore. All in all, this is a great place to enjoy "the land of pleasant living."

Owners response: We are delighted you enjoyed your stay! Please keep us in mind for your future travels!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Not what we anticipated

Review submitted: July 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

An older home that has been updated., however problems exist. We had the air conditioning checked as it was not cooling the living, kitchen area. Technician said the unit needed and was cleaned. However the problem continued. Be aware if visiting in warm/hot weather. There was also an ant and broken handle on the microwave which was noted be a previous renter.

Our biggest disappointment was lack of fish and crabs from the dock, perhaps the wrong season?

I am sure this property could be enjoyed, be cautions.

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The house was great

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

The house was very nice and comfortable. We enjoyed fishing and crabbing every day. The view is wonderful! Very close to stores but yet still away enough to be very quiet and relaxing.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Crab alley house

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 14, 2012

Our visit to crab alley was very relaxing. The beds were comfortable and the house was clean and nicely appointed. the listing agent, Hope was very accomodating and responsive to requests. She made sure the grill was there and the second kayak.
The kitchen had the basics only. There was one crab mallet. We had wash dishes often to prepare a meal because of the limited cookware, there were a lot of beautiful, but empty kitchen cabinets.

I would visit this house again but bring along additional things to cook with.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Luxurious Home on Kent Island

Review submitted: May 12, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

My husband and I rented this home with a few of our friends in April 2012 for a long weekend. The house really was amazing--it's very spacious and well-appointed, with new stainless steel fixtures and very nice furniture. The backyard is simply amazing, with great patio furniture and a dock. The kitchen has everything you could need, from a coffee maker to silverware to plenty of glassware. Be sure to bring your own linens--we failed to read the fine print on this point and ended up having to run to Kmart to buy bath towels. I would certainly recommend this home to anyone wanting to stay on Kent Island--we toured a few other homes and this was far and away the nicest, and for a great price too.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

A Lovely Month on the Bay

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

We spent the full month of September 2011 at this home. We brought our boat and were able, after a little work by the owners local handyman, to use the lift effectively. The water close to shore is VERY shallow but we made it work by paying attention to tides. The dock does not have a ladder so it is fortunate that we did not want to swim. Canoeing/kayaking was also difficult from the dock or shore. Bring shoes that will allow you to walk on rocks if you wish to use the owner provided kayak (1 not 2) or swim in front of the house. Views from the front deck were lovely and we particularly enjoyed watching the osprey and bald eagles at work and play.

The house itself fit our needs nearly perfectly. It was nicely appointed in most respects. We did cook at home most evenings and needed to bring some kitchen items from home to supplement what was there. If you mostly plan to eat out there are lots of local restaurant options and the kitchen's shortcomings will not matter. A few more towel bars in the hall bath would have helped our guests. We brought our own DVD player as none is provided. The owners agent was very responsive to all our questions and needs.

The house and neighborhood were very pet friendly. Every house seems to have a dog and everyone waved to us when we were out with ours. The side mud room was very convenient for cleaning muddy paws and confining the dogs when we were out.

One of the biggest benefits to this house is it's proximity to lots of sight-seeing opportunities. The weather during our month was not great but we still enjoyed day-trips to Chestertown, St. Michaels, Oxford, Adkins Arboretum and Annapolis. The local outlet mall was also a nice destination for the shoppers of our guests.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic View!

Review submitted: July 1, 2011   Date of arrival: June 16, 2011

The property was beautiful. We will definitely be staying there again if it is available. It is off the beaten path but well worth it! Made us miss living on the Eastern Shore of Maryland.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Weekend Get Away - What a View!

Review submitted: July 7, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

This home was beautiful. The open floor plan was great for socializing with the other guests. The back yard is a good size for people with dogs and the view is amazing. The dock was also very convienent, just a short boat ride to the major attractions in Kent Island. The house has a lot of upgrades and is clean and very user friendly. The beds were also very comfortable. I would recommend this home to anyone considering a stay in Kent Island no matter the length of time. Thank you to Sandy for a great rental!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Fantastic Rental - What a View!

Review submitted: July 7, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

This home was beautiful. The open floor plan was great for socializing with the other guests. The back yard is a good size for people with dogs and the view is amazing. The dock was also very convienent, just a short boat ride to the major attractions in Kent Island. The house has a lot of upgrades and is clean and very user friendly. The beds were also very comfortable. I would recommend this home to anyone considering a stay in Kent Island no matter the length of time. Thank you to Sandy for a great rental!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review