reviews for: listing #66378 - Palm Springs, California Condo rental

Retro Retreat ~ WKND GETAWAY 2/21-2/24 $975 INCLUSIVE
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Old Las Palmas
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $700 - $1,300 /wk

sort by:

Great Desert Visit

Review submitted: May 22, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

We stayed in this unit for 8 nights, late March to early April and the weather was perfect. I was able to go on great morning walks through the neighborhoods up towards the mountains. It is a long walk to dining and shops, but a peaceful and beautiful location. I would recommend this location for adults, maybe not teens or young children. I brought two teen girls who did not feel close enough to the action. For me, it was perfect and relaxing. Next time I will bring friends my age. I met very nice people who lived here during my stay. My only complaint was that I was charged a lot (2k total) for the time I was there. My goal is to find a place I would come back to every year. I would consider this unit if it were less per week. The pool is nice and the beds are comfortable. The kitchen has a vintage range that did not bother me as I prepared mostly salads. Might take a little more practice if you want to do more cooking. Great location for a week of relaxation!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Winter Vacation

Review submitted: March 26, 2013   Date of arrival: February 23, 2013

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Detailed review sent previously.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Retro Retreat

Review submitted: March 11, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
This retro retreat is a very private hide-a-way surrounded by patios and garden. We loved the light that flooded in each morning. We also loved the layout of the condo--very open and the fireplace warmed all up at night. A big drawback for us is the master bed which is very low to the ground and has a design element that we were constantly bumping our toes on. (We are early 60's, it may not be an issue for others.) Other than the bed, the condo is delightfully furnished. Very lovely complex--very quiet.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Retro Retreat stay

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Great house. Good location.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely location

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: January 6, 2013

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was more than happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We loved the location. Home is very quiet and provides the basics. In order to be purely retro, some couches etc are not comfortable and some plumbing is dated.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A break from the rain

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: December 18, 2012

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was very clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
A great base for a family break from colder climes, a bit of climbing in Joshua Tree, hikes in Mecca Hills, and a little urban Palm Springs time. The unit had only two coffee mugs - the only negative. Very quiet. Great hot tub.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Retro Retreat

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: November 7, 2012

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was clean.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
Overall not a bad place to stay. Great location, older place but in pretty good condition. Outside around patio area could use some cleaning and trimming. A little too closed in for me but we weren't there much so not a huge deal. There is a $170 cleaning fee, which is not too much but the place was not as clean as we would have liked. Our bed had some tissue left in the sheets, makes you wonder and there was a spot on the mattress cover which I believe means it needed tossed and a new one put on. All that said, it's a rental and you can't expect too much I guess.

Owners response: Thank you for your stay with us and your review. Acme has each home professionally cleaned after each guest departure and each house is then inspected and prepped before each new arrival. We do apologize for anything that may have been overlooked by mistake in the cleaning process. We assure you that we make great efforts to be certain everyone staying with us has the most enjoyable vacation. We hope to see you back soon and we look forward to serving you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Visit for Son's Wedding

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: October 9, 2012

Rating Details:
I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
We really love this place...we felt so at home here for our week-long stay. The condo is spacious and tastefully decorated in a 60's, and 70's casual modern style. There are beautiful oil paintings on the wall. The bedrooms are roomy, and have mattresses that worked well for us, with nice quilts and pillows. There is lots of closet space, and there are plenty of towels. In general, the unit is equipped with everything one might need, particularly in the kitchen. We loved the retro white ceramic sink in the kitchen - what a nice touch!
The condo unit is bright and airy, and has skylights in the living room. We enjoyed having our guests for lunch one day in the adjoining dining area. The garden is a nice place to sit and have breakfast in the morning,.on the patio. Try one of the grapefruits that fall from the citrus trees!
The outdoor commons area is great, with views of the mountains. The grounds are quiet and private, surrounded by tall palm trees. There is a crystal clear deep swimming pool that we enjoyed very much, as well as the whirlpool spa for soaking. It is very restful here, and the staff are friendly and responsive.
We hope to come back on our next visit to Palm Springs.
Sincerely, Henry & Meredith Loeb of Parkville, Maryland.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great accomodation option in Vista Las Palmas area

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2012

Rating Details:
I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was spotless.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
I stayed here for only 4 nights but this property would be ideal for a longer stay. It is spacious, comfortably furnished and very well fitted out with everything one needs. I especially appreciated the quiet location, comfortable beds and the lovely private patio.
Most people staying here would want a car as it is a bit of a walk to restaurants etc. However, I didn't have a car and was fine with walking, the efficient local taxi services, and thd bus service (there is a stop at the end of the street).
I couldn't find anything wrong with this property even if I wanted to. I would love to stay here again sometime.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

PALM SPRINGS GET AWAY

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 10, 2012

Rating Details:
I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.
I was very happy with the location.
The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.
The property manager was very helpful.
Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:
WE HAD A WONDERFUL TIME. THE PROPERTY WAS CLOSE TO DOWNTOWN AND A WONDERFUL POOL AREA FOR RELAXING AND QUIET PLACE TO REST FOR A MUCH NEEDED VACATION. A LITLE DISAPPOINTED IN THE CLEANLINESS OF THE KITCHEN AND THE BATHROOM FLOORS AND BASEBOARDS AND COUNTERS ALSO IN KITCHEN. DISHES WERE DONE, BUT NOT ALL CLEAN IN CUPBOARD.THE HOUSE ITSELF WAS JUST PERFECT FOR 5 PEOPLE AND IT WAS JUST 5 FOR 2 NIGHTS. THE REST WAS THE 2 OF US..THANK YOU

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Paradise!

Review submitted: August 4, 2011   Date of arrival: July 27, 2011

Even great in the summer! This property is everything it claims to be! Super CLEAN, comfortable, modern, well-stocked, awesome location! The beds are extremely comfortable with premium soft sheets, the baths are clean & spacious with luxury towels, the kitchen has everything to cook a great meal and the private patio & pool area (away from the crowds, you can relax and lounge all day. The views are amazing too!

We had a great time in Palm Springs. The town is so beautiful! We walked downtown every day enjoying the restaurants, shops & galleries. I recommend the local hiking trails (early in the morning) the views are amazing!

If you want to experience a wonderful, relaxing getaway – then go to Palm Springs and stay here! You have all the luxuries of home in the most incredible place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

PARADISE!

Review submitted: August 4, 2011   Date of arrival: July 27, 2011

EVEN IN THE SUMMER WE HAD A GREAT TIME! THIS PROPERTY WAS EVERYTHING IT CLAIMS TO BE AND MORE! SUPER CLEAN! COMFORTABLE, MODERN, WELL-STOCKED, AWESOME LOCATION! THE BEDS ARE EXTREMELY COMFORTABLE WITH PREMIUM SOFT SHEETS, THE BATHS ARE CLEAN AND SPACIOUS WITH LUXURY TOWELS, THE KITCHEN HAS EVERYTHING TO COOK A GREAT MEAL, AND THE PRIVATE PATIO AND POOL ARE AMAZING TO LOUNGE ALL DAY AND RELAX AND UNWIND. THE VIEWS ARE INSPIRING.
WE HAD A GREAT TIME IN PALM SPRINGS. THE TOWN IS SO BEAUTIFUL! WE WALKED DOWNTOWN EVERY DAY, EATING AT DIFFERENT RESTAURANTS, SHOPPING THE ECLECTIC STORES, TOURING THE MUSEUM AND GALLERIES. WE EVEN TOOK A LEISURELY HIKE THROUGH THE AMAZING CANYONS! WOW WHAT AN EXPERIENCE!
IF YOU WANT A GREAT GETAWAY WITH ALL THE LUXURIES OF HOME – STAY HERE! WE WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND TO OUR FRIENDS! THANKS FOR A GREAT PALM SPRINGS EXPERIENCE!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Another Great Palm Springs Getaway!

Review submitted: August 4, 2011   Date of arrival: July 27, 2011

WE STAY IN PALM SPRINGS OFTEN AND THIS WAS ANOTHER GREAT EXPERIENCE! THIS PROPERTY WAS EVERYTHING IT CLAIMS TO BE! SUPER CLEAN! COMFORTABLE, MODERN, WELL-STOCKED, AWESOME LOCATION! THE BEDS ARE EXTREMELY COMFORTABLE WITH PREMIUM SOFT SHEETS, THE BATHS ARE CLEAN AND SPACIOUS WITH LUXURY TOWELS, THE KITCHEN HAS EVERYTHING TO COOK A GREAT MEAL, AND THE PRIVATE PATIO AND POOL ARE AMAZING TO LOUNGE ALL DAY AND RELAX AND UNWIND. THE VIEWS ARE INSPIRING.
WE HAD A GREAT TIME IN PALM SPRINGS. THE TOWN IS SO BEAUTIFUL! WE WALKED DOWNTOWN EVERY DAY, EATING AT DIFFERENT RESTAURANTS, SHOPPING THE ECLECTIC STORES, TOURING THE MUSEUM AND GALLERIES. WE EVEN TOOK A LEISURELY HIKE THROUGH THE AMAZING CANYONS! WOW WHAT AN EXPERIENCE!
IF YOU WANT A GREAT GETAWAY WITH ALL THE LUXURIES OF HOME – STAY HERE! WE WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND TO OUR FRIENDS! THANKS FOR A GREAT PALM SPRINGS EXPERIENCE!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review on our stay in Palm Springs

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: January 26, 2011

This was our first experience renting a property through VRBO. The experience met and exceeded our expectations! The photos of the property were what first drew me to it, and upon arriving we were not disappointed - everything was exactly as displayed on the website and even better than what we imagined. The property was clean and on the whole well-maintained. We were very thankful for the fireplace, since the weather was quite cool at night. We were also pleasantly surprised that the hot tub was nice and warm - even on the chilly evenings. We would definitely recommend this property to friends or relatives. Nearby attractions that we enjoyed and would recommend - Thursday night market downtown; Joshua Tree Park (loved our visit there); Palm to Pines highway - drove up past the lookouts and discovered a lovely wayside park that had interpretive signs telling us all about the native Indians who lived there - Date Shakes at Shields (delicious).

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reflections on our stay at Property #286956

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: January 26, 2011

This was our first experience renting a property through VRBO. The experience met and exceeded our expectations! The photos of the property were what first drew me to it, and upon arriving we were not disappointed - everything was exactly as displayed on the website and even better than what we imagined.

The property was clean and on the whole well-maintained. Some deficiencies we noted were as follows:
- door knobs were very loose - my husband found the well-stocked tool drawer and went around tightening them;
- the guest bedroom and main bathroom doors did not close very well;
- we were surprised that there was no tea kettle available - other supplies were great and some of the dishes were very lovely.
- we were very thankful for the fireplace, since the weather was quite cool at night.
- we were also pleasantly surprised that the hot tub was nice and warm - even on the chilly evenings.

We would definitely recommend this property to friends or relatives.
Nearby attractions that we enjoyed and would recommend - Thursday night market downtown; Joshua Tree Park (loved our visit there); Palm to Pines highway - drove up past the lookouts and discovered a lovely wayside park that had interpretive signs telling us all about the native Indians who lived there - Date Shakes at Shields (delicious).

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely Condo-Poor Manager

Review submitted: January 11, 2011   Date of arrival: December 20, 2010

We stayed at this condo the end of Dec.2010.The condo itself has lovely amenities,lots of towels,great location,etc. Unfortunately the furnace kept cutting out and when I called the managing company they argued with me and said it was working. They did come out twice and it worked for a short while and would go off again. Most of our stay the temperature was 62 degrees. Their answer was to turn on the firepace. Unacceptable!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Owners response: We all feel very badly if that is the message you thought we were trying to convey. We had staff over there after hours the first night, meeting the service company that takes care of the heating equipment. They thought they had it fixed, but your report the next morning let us know it wasnt fixed. We came back and tried again, and again, thought we had it. I know we mentioned the gas fireplace, but that was just to let you know it can help with the heat because you were cold.. I am sorry if you had a hard time because of this unfortunate equipment problem. Everyone here cares quite a bit, we always answered the phone, we scheduled repairs as soon as you called. I regret that you feel we let you down.. Please consider trying us again.. We will do our best to meet your needs..

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 16, 2010   Date of arrival: September 10, 2009

Great Holiday!!! "I just want to share that I had a great time and I'm planning to come back! I'm not going to lie...I just liked everything and I mean everything!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 16, 2010   Date of arrival: April 15, 2010

Peaceful & Fragrant Terrace~Great location. Quiet, clean and relatively private pool/spa. Lovely flowers!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 16, 2010   Date of arrival: April 22, 2010

Awesome vibe, great furnishings, peaceful, centrally located-Wonder-bungalow

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review