reviews for: listing #66414 - Key West, Florida Condo rental

Attitude Key West includes 2 Bikes and WiFi
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Truman Annex
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,150 - $2,500 /wk
    $4,500 - $6,660 /mth

sort by:

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: July 10, 2014   Date of arrival: June 21, 2014

We had a wonderful time staying in this unit. It is so lovely! It was the perfect size for my husband and I, plus another couple. Everything you need is there, all you need to bring are your belongings and some groceries. The outdoor area and grill are great, as are the bikes. We loved having a washer and dryer in the unit - so convenient. The unit is in walking distance to all the great attractions! Sherri was very helpful and communicative during the booking process! I would highly recommend staying here and I would stay again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A cozy retreat with a great location!

Review submitted: June 9, 2014   Date of arrival: May 31, 2014

This property was perfect for our family of two adults and one child, but would comfortably sleep 4 adults. The place was very clean and well maintained, and equipped with everything we needed for our week long stay. The location is excellent, as well. It was a very short walk to the pool in the complex, but far enough off the beaten path to not be bothered by noise from the pool or the road. There was a grocery 2 blocks away for any supplies we forgot; one block beyond that and you are in the heart of the action on Duval St. The bikes were a great way to get around, and saved us some $$ since we did not have to rent! And I must mention how comfortable the beds are! Just a nice touch to help you fully relax on your vacation. Sherri was very responsive and easy to work with, and I would not hesitate to recommend this property to anyone! Hopefully we will return. Thanks, Sherri!!

Owners response: Thank you so much for the lovely review. We just replaced all of the mattresses in Feb 2014, with Beauty Rest - Recharge mattresses...... this is our home and we really enjoy getting feed back from our guests. The bikes are one of my favourite things in Key West period....... you get around without a lot of effort, parking isn't an issue and you slow down to notice what is going on around you. Please hurry back! Remember it is ALL in the Attitude Key West!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Attitude Key West: A Special Experience

Review submitted: May 29, 2014   Date of arrival: November 23, 2013

Our stay at Attitude Key West in November was so special that we continue to speak fondly of our time both at the condo and of our ability to walk to so many shops, attractions and restaurants. Great care has obviously been taken to ensure that the visitor has the best possible experience. It is evident everywhere at Attitude Key West. For example, parking access was effortless and convenient, that Winn Dixie card made shopping for groceries a breeze, having bicycles at your fingertips, no guessing where to visit because all of the information needed is provided, pool access is convenient, the beds are extremely comfortable and the decor is inviting and pleasant while the deck envelopes you in a warm tropical environment. To top all of this off is the very pleasant experience that we had arranging all of this with the owners (Sherri and Michael). Sherri ensured that we were not wanting for anything. From start to finish we cannot think of anything to improve upon. Yes, we highly recommend Attitude Key West and are confident that a short walk in any direction will be satisfying. Of the many things to do and see we especially enjoyed the Conch Train tour, Capt. Tony's and (our personal favorite watering hole - The Green Parrot.... Sound Check Friday afternoon is a 'must do') Visit again? Definitely! - Bob and Mary

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Attitude Key West. We certainly agree that the location is perfect, the bikes are the locals preferred mode of transportation and there is sooooo much to do in see in Key West that we never tire of it. Please hurry back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous!

Review submitted: May 8, 2014   Date of arrival: April 26, 2014

My husband and I recently returned from a week at Attitude Key West. I spent hours reviewing possible lodging options and we were thrilled with our decision to stay here! It fit our needs perfectly. Having the bikes available was the tipping point for us, we rode them everyday! The pool was great, the deck with the fans so very relaxing, great tv and free wireless, and beach essentials waiting for us ..... Mike and Sherri you've thought of everything. Thanks again for sharing your condo!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Always our first choice

Review submitted: January 7, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

This was our second time staying at the Attitudes condo. It's the first place we check for availability when we're planning a trip to Key West. The bikes were a big selling point for us initially but our first visit (2012) sealed the deal. This condo is clean and very well maintained. Within Truman Annex it is located close to the pool but far enough away to avoid pool noise. The new beds are amazingly comfortable and the linens, towels, etc. are top notch. We love being so close to Ft. Zach beach, Duval and the Faustos grocery. The plantings in the back porch area help provide more privacy than some other condos we see in the complex. Wireless worked flawlessly. The owner is great to work with and is responsive.
This was our 6th visit to Key West. We stayed at hotels the first three times (The Sheraton, then Southernmost and then their B&B). Fourth visit we decided to try a condo to save some $$ on meals. And after finding Attitudes there's zero good reason to go back to staying at hotels. Honestly, I'd kind of like to keep this place a secret but we can't stay there all year and I like the owner so much that I want to make sure she keeps offering it as a vacation rental!

Owners response: Thank you for the great review. We do try to make things as comfortable as possible after all this is OUR vacation home too. I wish that we could be there during the cold winter months.... this is our escape, unfortunately we can't be there all of the time so it only makes sense to share it with others and without YOU our GUESTS we wouldn't be able to own this wonderful piece of paradise. Upon our arrival we take the bikes out and make sure that everything is in working order, replace anything that needs to be replaced (I got a new bell ;-)) this is our preferred mode of transportation when we are there. No hassles with parking, easy to get around, and you tend to explore more of the side streets and truly get the feel of the island besides it is good exercise and really slows the pace. I am so glad that you enjoy the back patio, that is where we start and end our day, under the palm trees with the orchids. We stayed there in early December and although the beds weren't "bad" (I've certainly slept in worse at good hotels) they weren't up to our standards at home and isn't that what a vacation is all about to pamper yourself and come back feeling rested and rejuvenated....how can you do that if you don't get a good nights sleep....the new mattresses are Beauty Rest - Recharge and I agree they are very comfy..... on each visit I inspect all of the linens and dispose of the ones that are getting tired (I don't like to use worn out linens why would OUR GUESTS)and replace them with new quality linens. We look forward to having you visit with us again....... Stay warm.... remember it is ALL in the Attitude Key West!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Visit December 2013

Review submitted: December 12, 2013   Date of arrival: November 29, 2013

We just returned home from a wonderful Key West get away..... but it is a working visit for us. We take great pride in OUR Vacation home and want ALL of our Guests to have a wonderful Experience when they visit. On our most recent trip we painted the back deck, gave the bar-b-que a through cleaning, planted a couple of orchids, installed some landscape lighting, decided that the dinning table was just too big, so purchased a smaller 4 person table and chair set in white to complement the rest of the décor, a couple sets of sheets and new stainless steel pots and pans (the old ones were getting scratched up) but the most significant change were the mattresses.... although we were assured by our friends that they were very comfortable we decided that they just weren't good enough soooooo we purchased all new Beauty Rest - Recharge mattresses with special anti-bacterial mattress covers......Now you can play all day and sleep sound at night. We want to thank ALL that have visited with us in the past and ALL who will come in the future. Remember It's ALL in the Attitude Key West!!!!!
Sherri and Michael

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The best place to soak in the Key West Attitude.

Review submitted: September 29, 2013   Date of arrival: August 28, 2013

I really enjoyed this super quiet, clean, condo that feels removed and peaceful, but yet extremely close to everything. Booking, access, and the complete experience was wonderful. I can't wait to go back.

Owners response: Thank you for your wonderful review. Please visit again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic!!!

Review submitted: April 16, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

Staying in your condo during our 2 weeks in Key West was the absolutely wonderful. You provided everything we could have possibility needed!! The decor is so tropical and the bed linens were every bit as nice as a 5-star hotel!!!! The patio was so nice, especially the 2 ceiling fans!! The large plants out there gave us the feeling we were in the tropics and added to the privacy. We are already trying to plan another visit and will definitely keep your number handy. The location is the best on the island...close to practically everything, very safe and quiet. The beach chairs (with the built in cooler) came in handy on our visits to Fort Zachary which was only a 10 min. walk. Can't think of anything that could have made it any nicer!! Your beautiful condo helped to make this trip to KW the best one so far.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome! Would highly recommend!!

Review submitted: August 1, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

Absolutely wonderful. They think of everything you'll need to enjoy your patio and the beach. Nicely appointed kitchen. 1st class all the way! Very nice, quiet and clean!!!!!

Owners response: THANK YOU!!!!!! We do LOVE OUR VACATION HOME. We try to make sure that everything is there that we need when we have an opportunity to visit and don't mind sharing with our Guests!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Attitude Key West was perfect

Review submitted: February 7, 2012   Date of arrival: January 14, 2012

We have returned home but have many great memories from Key West. Attitude Key West was great and we thoroughly enjoyed staying there. We look forward to returning. We really appreciate the way it is maintained and very well equipped. It was clean and everything was just as presented. The location is ideal for a short walk or bike ride to the many sights and sounds of Key West.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words, we take great pride in our vacation home and are happy to share it when we are not able to be here. We include the bikes with the rental because that is truly the best way to experience Key West and they eliminate the need for a rental car making this an affordable vacation choice. We look forward to future visits and remember it is ALL in the Attitude Key West. Sherri and Michael

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sarah UK

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: November 27, 2011

Sorry for the time its taken me to email you. I just wanted to thank you really for the wonderful unit you have; everything was absolutely perfect. I must say the two beds were ridiculously comfortable, so much so that I spent way more of my vacation time resting and sleeping than I probably should have. I moved into the front bedroom for a couple of nights. Both rooms were wonderful, so much so that I slept better in these beds with my bad back then in any other bed including my own! They didn't even come close to the sweet sleeper beds from the Sheraton! Can I ask what type of mattress or topper you have as I'm going to try and see if I can find something similar in the UK!

I loved the ladies cycle. I must admit I was a bit wary of going out on any roads as even with the seat right down it was slightly too big (I'm v short!) but just slowing going back and forth up and down Emma/Front Street to the Westin parking garage and chaining the bike there was great. The unit was really well equipped with everything I needed and didn't need! I've used many vacation rentals before and yours was by far the best equipped and it was nice to find odd little things like washing up liquid, soap and salt and pepper available. Many I've stayed in before are completely stripped so having to buy small things like these just for a week can be expensive but to find all these and more was a really nice surprise. I didn't actually cook or make use of the kitchen apart from the odd coffee and the fridge but having the option was good.

Just to let you know when I left I stripped both beds and washed the towels and then put them in the tumble dryer. Hope this was ok and correct as I'd lost all the paperwork on the flight over and didn't have a laptop to make use of the wifi. Can I also commend your cleaners as the unit was spotlessly clean and tidy. The only thing I did notice was that the tap when you turn the faucet to anything other than a thin spray it tends to spray out and I got a nice faceful of water. It was quite a hot day so it cooled me off quite well! but I notice you did mention to let you know of anything that might need attention and this really was the only thing I could find.


Anyway, I just wanted to drop you a line to say thank you so much, the unit was absolutely fabulous and you're so lucky to be able to look forward to retiring there.

Thanks

Sarah

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 31, 2011   Date of arrival: February 12, 2011

Hi Sherry,
We are back home again, safe and sound, and patiently awaiting Spring. Key West was great. We really enjoyed
ourselves. The weather was absolutely perfect, not a drop of rain. We used the pool a lot. The condo was wonderful.
It was so clean and we really appreciated that. We did not get that report from some other people we talked to.
Nothing was old or tired or in need of replacement, you have seen to that. Also the deck furniture was wonderful, we
used it a lot and compared it with other condos. Great bedding and linens. We would certainly reccomend it to
anyone and would stay again.
We had never been in the Truman Annex, but it is certainly the place to stay. It attracts a good class of people and
that is important. Thanks for all your help and information, And for supplies you left there.
Good luck
Eleanor & Mary Ann
(Ellie & Mare)

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great place to stay

Review submitted: February 25, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2010

My Husband and I went in September, it was perfect. The condo was clean, bright, and made you feel like you were in the tropics. The back porch was perfect great place to lay around and read a good book. We rented bikes and were close to everything. we would get up early in the morn ride our bikes down to the beach to watch the sunrise,then at night we would go to Mallory square and watch the sun set. lot of things to see and do. Can't say enough good thing about the condo. Sherry was very easy to work with. Lot of info about everyting around tthe keys at the condo. I would tell anyone to stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is nice to know that all of our hard work does not go unnoticed.... just a note we purchased 2 new bikes in December 2010 and now offer them to our guests, the latest updates include a freshly painted fence on the back patio and a new front door with blinds between the glass to allow more natural light in the unit.... oh yes and we installed a second TV in the King/Twin Room..... Please come again and Thank you once again for your kind words. Sherri and Michael... as we like to say remember it is ALL in the Attitude Key West!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Aditude Key west

Review submitted: February 7, 2011   Date of arrival: December 4, 2010

My Wife and I were their Dec 4-11 weather was cool but still had several days to lay by the great pool just seconds from our door.Condo was situated in and great area and was layed out and decorated excellent.Really no need for a car rental i sujest a mo-ped for longer outings and the pedal bikes for getting around.Condo renos were excellent and very clean,loved the patio.Just a great idea to put wall mounted TV in the second bedroom.Can't wait to go back great job Sherri & Michael.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad that you enjoyed your time in Key West. Unfortunately we have no control over the weather, but you understand that.......I agree the bikes are the answer, no need to spend all that extra money on a rental car..... The new TV was installed so that our guests could check out the news at bedtime and see what is happening in the rest of the world.... glad you approve...... Happy to have as guests again. Thanks again for selecting Attitude Key West...... as we like to say it is ALL in the Attitude Key West.
Sherri and Michael

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

We'll be back!

Review submitted: February 7, 2011   Date of arrival: December 4, 2010

Attitude Key West provided everything and more, than promised! The location is PERFECT, the accomodations were BEAUTIFUL, as well as an EXCEPTIONAL value. All the attention to detail did not go unnoticed (comfy beds, linens, kitchen accessories, bicycles, etc). The unit was spotless, and well cared for. You are only 50 paces from the pool and a quick walk up to all the sites and restauraunts on Duvall Street. We couldn't have dreamt it up, any better!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad to hear that we not only met but exceeded your expections. We are pround of our vacation home and are excited to be able to share it at a reasonable price. We have strived to outfit the unit as we would expect when we do a vacation rental during our travels. We agree it is location, location, location! Please return soon and remember it is all in the Attitude Key West.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Love the location

Review submitted: February 5, 2011   Date of arrival: December 2, 2010

I have been going to Key West for years and have finally found my home away from home. This condo is located within walking distance of all my favortie haunts - The Geen Parrot, Blue Heaven, the Sunset Celebration and Duval St shopping. The neighborhood is beautiful and meticulously maintained, an oasis surounded by the hub-bub of Old Town. I loved the bikes (conch cruisers), this was the first time we didn't spend a fortune on a rental car. More money to SHOP!
The condo is fresh with bright citrus colors and all the lastest conveniences - wireless internet and flat screen TVs. Thank Sherri and Michael for this fanoulus condo, we'll be back. P.J. and J.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: So Glad to hear that you enjoyed the location, I agree it is perfect. The bikes were just purchased and really do add to the enjoyment, nothing like an early morning ride down to the beach. Thanks again. Sherri and Michael

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Location, Location, Location!

Review submitted: February 4, 2011   Date of arrival: November 7, 2010

Attitude Key West was the perfect place to stay when we went to Key West for a week in November for the Super Boat Races. We could not have picked a better place! It is so quiet and peaceful, almost like a different world, but only two blocks to Duval Street, and an easy walk or bike ride to Fort Zachary beach. We actually watched the first two races at Fort Zach one day, then the last at Sunset Pier, without a car. We loved the fact that we could be in the middle of everything in minutes, or be back to the peace and quiet of the Truman Annex as fast. We have previously stayed at Ocean Key, which is great, but this was our first time renting a condo. Our daughter and son-in-law came down in the middle of the week and stayed the rest of the week. The bedrooms in this condo are separated so you feel more privacy when two couples are staying. It was nice having a parking place for their car when they came, even though a car is definitely not necessary in this location. Bikes are great, and fit on the patio without ruining sitting space. We never used the front door after the first time. The bike rental place is not even a block and a great price. Also, having the condo allowed us to cook the grouper we caught deep sea fishing which was great. The only thing we needed in the kitchen that was not there was a baking sheet. We bought a couple of disposable when we shopped to cook our grouper and the fresh shimp we got from Stock Island, at Sherri's recommendation, since the kids had a car. We enjoyed a nice meal at Sunset Key, such a romantic place. We would definitely recommend happy hour at Alonzo's, great food and drink, half price. Too many great things and places to recommend. We LOVE Key West...like being on a caribbean island, but still in United States. We are hooked on Key West and will definitely stay at Attitude Key West again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for the lovely review....... We love it here as well..... it really is great to me so close to everything Key West has to offer.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Noisy unit in crowded complex

Review submitted: February 1, 2011   Date of arrival: December 19, 2010

Truman Annex is a large vacation rental development in the heart of Key West, but the Shipyard Condos, where this condo is located, is definitely the poor cousin amongst its upscale neighbors. The Shipyard Condos originally were built as low-cost housing, so this complex consists of multiple-dwelling, low-end housing, which means that this unit is very small, at 650 sq ft for a two bedroom/one bath. And typical of low-cost housing, Shipyard Condos is organized as row housing, with up and down units, and because each unit is only 21 feet wide, the neighbors are very close and numerous. At the front and especially at the rear, narrow walkways separate other housing rows, which means that the complex feels very crowded, nor is little privacy available in the outdoor areas, and hearing other residents’ conversations is part of daily life. Also typical of low-end housing, soundproofing is poor, so noise from dishwashers, washer/dryers, plumbing, footfalls, music, and voices pervades the inside space from the units above and on either side.

The finishing materials--the countertops, cabinetry, lighting and plumbing fixtures also are Home Depot low end, as are the air conditioning units, which are located on the rear patios: Within 15 feet of the rear patio doors are 10 a/c units, two on this patio, two on each adjoining patio, and four across the rear walkway. None of these a/c units runs quietly, which means that when several are operating, loud buzzing noises permeate the area and inside the unit, to the point where it is impossible to have the patio doors open. The only peace available is inside, with the doors closed and the a/c on, which means that because the entry/kitchen/living/dining room is long and narrow (11’ X 30’) and the only natural light comes from through the patio doors, the interior is dark and cave-like, requiring lights on even in the middle of a bright, sunny day. This definitely is not what we were hoping for from our Key West tropical winter getaway.

If you want to enjoy supper on the patio, forget it. If you want to lounge on the patio or read, forget it. If you want to be able to see the sky, forget it. Had we gotten a good financial deal for this condo, we might be willing to put up with all the inconveniences, but the owner is charging a high-end rate for a low-end condo. Buyer beware here, as the owner neglects to tell you about all the limitations, and her photos do a good job of hiding how close the neighbors really are.

Owners response: We regret that this guest did not find Key West, nor our vacation home, to their liking. Every effort has been made to ensure that our condo is comfortable and inviting for our guests and that we accurately represent our vacation home to potential guests. Due to the minimal size of the island and the large number of visitors, accommodations are smaller than what many are used to.
Our interior renovations have been extensive. This gated complex was initially built to code in the 1990’s as affordable housing in Truman Annex. There is R12 insulation in walls and ceiling, to muffle sound transfer. Our rental pricing is in keeping with similar sized units located both in Shipyard and elsewhere on the island. Twenty years after construction condos in this complex sell for $400,000+.
The covered front porch and partially covered patio are designed to limit direct sunlight and help keep the unit cool. Lush vegetation in the back patio area provides shade and privacy, so the patio may be enjoyed morning, noon and night. The pool is less than 100 paces away giving you the option to sun bathe if you wish. Two sets of full glass patio doors and a half glass front entry allow as much natural (but indirect) light in as possible. We are in a tropical climate so it is reasonable to expect an a/c handler and associated sounds for each home. As an attached home, it is obvious that decks will be side by side as well.
“Key West, almost perfect, but far from normal,” sums up life here. Key West isn’t for everyone. It is a small city that offers much magic and excitement; it embraces the happy life and there is always a celebration. If you are looking for a secluded tropical island, Key West isn’t the place for you. But, if you want to feel like a local even if it’s only for a week, Shipyard is the place to be --- an easy walk to the action on Duval Street and Sunset Celebration at Mallory Square and just a short bike ride to Fort Zachery Taylor Beach. Location, location, location.
You decide if this is the place for you, I know it is the place for us. We endeavour to not only meet but exceed expectations. Sadly, you can’t please all of the people all of the time. Rest assured, we try. When this guest complained of excessive celebration between Christmas and New Years , we knew there was no pleasing her. It is ALL ABOUT THE ATTITUDE. If you have questions or seek clarification, please call us. Sincerely, Sherri and Michael

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 15, 2010   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

Hi Sherri!
We're loving our vaca here and the renovations are beautiful. I totally disconnect from the outside world - haven't checked work email or phone since we boarded the plane. Ahh!
The renos are great! I LOVE the colors - very tropical yet soothing. The light in here is great - We'll recommend it definitely! Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Renos

Review submitted: June 15, 2010   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

Hi Sherri!
We're loving our vaca here and the renovations are beautiful. I totally disconnect from the outside world - haven't checked work email or phone since we boarded the plane. Ahh!
The renos are great! I LOVE the colors - very tropical yet soothing. The light in here is great - We'll recommend it definitely! Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Renos !

Review submitted: June 15, 2010   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

Hi Sherri!
We're loving our vaca here and the renovations are beautiful.I totally disconnect from the outside world - haven't checked work email or phone since we boarded the plane. Ahh!
The renos are great! I LOVE the colors - very tropical yet soothing. The light in here is great - We'll recommend it definitely! Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 16, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

The unit has been completely repainted. New contempory furnishings in the living area in a color pallette that is pleasing to the senses. Green's, Yellow's and Orange's all of these colors are repeated in the furnishings, bedding, towels, outdoor cushions, etc. The overhead fans on the rear deck add an extra touch of luxury and ambience, with outdoor mood lighting and a gas grill you couldn't ask for more. Truly a tropical paradise. Can't wait to visit again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review