reviews for: listing #66419 - Gatlinburg, Tennessee Cabin rental

Candlewood Cottage - Gatlinburg's Best Little Secret!
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Mountain Shadows Resort
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $119 - $129 /nt
    $714 - $774 /wk

sort by:

Relaxing Family Get-Away!

Review submitted: August 13, 2014   Date of arrival: July 29, 2014

This place was perfect for our family of 4, cozy, relaxing & affordable! The setting is serene! Although in a community, it is very quiet and relaxing! The clubhouse with the pool is adjacent across the street! So very convenient for summer vacationers! Loved that there was a Keurig! So, bring your k-cups or this location is convenient to grocery store just a few minutes down the road! If you ever stay here, I can assure you, you will be a return guest!

Also, Wayne, the owner was fabulous to work with!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"We knew we booked the right cabin!"

Review submitted: July 2, 2014   Date of arrival: June 27, 2014

We knew we booked the right cabin the moment we opened the front door! Everything was so rustic and beautiful! I was also pleased to find a Weber grill on the deck. We also enjoyed your hot tub after a day of sightseeing. Your cabin was just as you described in your listing, and we have loved our long weekend. When we make a return trip, we will be contacting you again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"The Cabin Is Amazing!"

Review submitted: July 2, 2014   Date of arrival: June 22, 2014

Thank you so much for opening your cabin to us! It is amazing! The little touches you have added make it very cozy and homey. We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Lisa is so in love with this cabin that she wants to build one in our home state of Michigan! Again thank you for an amazing week. We look forward to coming back again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"A Special Place to Celebrate Our Anniversary!"

Review submitted: July 2, 2014   Date of arrival: June 21, 2014

Thank you for such a special place to spend a few days celebrating our 42nd wedding anniversary! It has been such a memorable getaway. We tried the Apple Barn restaurant and the zipline for the first time and flew through the air with delight!
So you can see that our short retreat has been eventful!
The cabin is so cozy, and I love your decor! We hope to indulge here again! God bless you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"We loved the location of your beautiful cabin!

Review submitted: July 2, 2014   Date of arrival: June 6, 2014

Thank you so much for a wonderful vacation. We came down here to have a great time and relax. With your beautiful cabin, we got bot this weekend! We loved the location of your cabin because we were close to both Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. We definitely look forward to making another trip back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"We hate to leave!

Review submitted: July 2, 2014   Date of arrival: May 5, 2014

We want to thank you for opening your home to us this past week. We had a great time and hate to have to leave! I enjoyed the beautiful weather and the nearby pool. We were able to enjoy a lot of nice restaurants with entertainment. I enjoyed talking to you before our trip and hope to return in the future. Thanks again and many blessings to you both!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"We love this place so much!"

Review submitted: July 2, 2014   Date of arrival: April 19, 2014

We have loved staying in your cabin for our honeymoon! We are sad to go home because we love this place so much! We have enjoyed visiting all of the little shops and different sights around Gatlinburg. We visited Cades's Cove today, and it was the most beautiful place that I have ever seen. We hope to be back very soon. Thank you for sharing your home with us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

So Charming and Cozy!

Review submitted: July 2, 2014   Date of arrival: April 11, 2014

Thank you so much for the use of your lovely "home away from home."The cabin is so charming and cozy. We live only 100 miles from here but rarely get to spend the entire weekend in Gatlinburg. I "had" to do some shopping, and we enjoyed a great meal at The Apple Barn. We would love to return in the fall; there is nothing like fall leaves in East Tennessee!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a great place!!!!!!

Review submitted: June 15, 2014   Date of arrival: May 28, 2014

This cabin is fabulous! We walked in and our breath was just taken away. It is the perfect place to stay if you want the outdoor feel without the outdoor discomfort.

The cabin was clean, with the exception of some bugs that will inevitably get in because it's in the woods. There were plenty of towels and extra blankets in case it got cold.

Located just outside of town, it's perfect for feeling in the woods, but very close to the grocery store to get supplies.

We didn't end up using the pool, but it was very charming. There were several families playing in the pool and they seemed to really enjoy it.

It was a bit over-scented so if you have any allergies to scents, you may want to warn them to remove them before you stay.

Wayne was very helpful in giving websites and ideas of things to do. He loves to talk about the wonderful area surrounding the cabin.

Thanks for the great stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Much Needed Relaxing Getaway!!!

Review submitted: March 30, 2014   Date of arrival: February 27, 2014

Your cabin had everything and more for a romantic getaway! We both work alot and needed this trip to relax and enjoy our time together and we did!! We enjoyed the hot tub outside, an steaks off the grill. And inside everything is cozy and beautifully decorated. It's so peaceful and private. Just minutes from activities and attractions. We went to Cherokee Friday morning the scenic mountain views along the way beautiful. We had fun adventuring out that evening to Gatlinburg Village shops, and also enjoyed the night view from The Space Needle. It was a perfect getaway. Thankyou for sharing your cabin with us. Were looking forward to staying again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Owners response: To any that are considering a trip to the Smoky Mountains and Gatlinburg, this review captures the essence of this beautiful area. In addition, we have strived to provide a home-away-from-home and a true place of peace.

To all past and future guests, Thank you! If you are planning your first trip, or return visit back, please contact us and let us help to provide you with this experience.

Sincerely, Wayne and Pam, owners

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you!

Review submitted: March 28, 2014   Date of arrival: March 10, 2014

Thank you so much for allowing us to stay in your cabin! We had a great time and a beautiful experience!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Honeymoon Happiness!

Review submitted: March 28, 2014   Date of arrival: March 2, 2014

Thank you so much for allowing us to stay in your cabin for our honeymoon. This was my first visit to the mountains. The cabin was beautiful and the hot tub was amazing! We loved Gatlinburg, the shops, Cades Cove, and several restaurants nearby. We will definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Quaint and Cozy Ambiance= Wonderful Getaway!

Review submitted: March 28, 2014   Date of arrival: February 21, 2014

The cabin and its décor was everything we could have hoped for! We came for a winter getaway and a quiet escape, so your quaint cozy cabin with its ambiance and amenities afforded us the chance to do so. We have fallen in love with the area and all it has to offer. We hope to return soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Wondeful and Relaxing Time!

Review submitted: March 28, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

Thank you for letting us enjoy your "home away from home." We have had a wonderful and relaxing time. I loved the "homey smell" upon entering! Relaxing by the fire and in the hot tub was amazing after shopping and eating out at the great restaurants nearby. We hope to make more memories here in the future!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Will Definitely Be Coming Back!

Review submitted: January 3, 2014   Date of arrival: November 22, 2013

Thank you so much for all of the hospitality. This weekend getaway was absolutely perfect! So relaxing and quiet yet close to so much! We could not have imagined a more perfect place to be! We will definitely be coming back for another stay. Candlewood Cottage is absolutely beautiful, and we definitely felt as though we were "home." Again, thank you so very much.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

So Homey and Hope to Return Soon!

Review submitted: January 3, 2014   Date of arrival: November 4, 2013

We had a wonderful time! Thank you for sharing your cabin. It is so homey and sweet. Hope to return soon. Very restful! Hugs from fellow Hoosiers!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Plan to Come Back to Your Lovely Cabin!

Review submitted: January 3, 2014   Date of arrival: November 3, 2013

We greatly enjoyed our stay here at your cozy Candlewood Cottage! Our visit to the Smoky Mountains was short and sweet, but we loved every minute of it. Thank you for sharing your lovely home with us. We plan to make this an annual trip and would love to come back to visit your lovely home.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our 5th Stay at Candlewood Cottage!

Review submitted: January 3, 2014   Date of arrival: October 24, 2013

This is our 5th stay at Candlewood Cottage! We have so enjoyed all of them. We try to find new things to do and see each time, and we did just that! This time we visited Bennett's, The Old Mill Restaurant, Three Jimmys, El Burros, and Howard's. We went to Dollywood and drove to Cherokee, enjoying the colors and Harrah's Casino. We enjoyed watching a mama bear and two cubs playing along the way. We spent quality time relaxing at Candlewood as well! The location makes it easy to visit old favorites and discover new ones. Thanks to the Fishers for another wonderful stay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

So Peaceful, Beautiful, and Quiet!

Review submitted: January 3, 2014   Date of arrival: October 20, 2013

Thank you for sharing your cabin with us. We enjoyed every bit of it. It's so peaceful and quiet here, and that's just what we needed. Hope to come back soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Had A Fabulous Time!

Review submitted: July 13, 2013   Date of arrival: June 26, 2013

Thank you for sharing your cabin with us. My husband and I have had a fabulous time away from the kids and work. We felt like kids ourselves white water rafting, zip lining, and hiking. We found so much to do; we just could not find the time to do it all! We plan to come back next year, possibly with the kids...although that remains to be determined! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"The Best Kept Secret in Gatlinburg"

Review submitted: July 13, 2013   Date of arrival: June 16, 2013

Thank you for sharing your little piece of Gatlinburg with us. During our stay, we enjoyed all the special amenities at Candlewood Cottage. This was a family trip with my husband, mother, and sister. We enjoyed playing cards in the kitchen and relaxing in the hot tub. We even soaked up some rays in the resort's pool on these 90 degree days. In Gatlinburg, we enjoyed all of the cute shops and amazing restaurants. Zip lining and white water rafting were awesome! We will be sharing "the best kept secret in Gatlinburg" with our family and friends! We hope to visit again soon! Thanks for sharing Candlewood Cottage with us!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Cozy Cabin for our Honeymoon

Review submitted: July 13, 2013   Date of arrival: June 9, 2013

We would like to thank you for sharing your cozy cottage with us. We are on our honeymoon, and this was the perfect cabin! We especially enjoyed the Jacuzzi tub downstairs and the hot tub on the deck. We thank you again and hope to return soon.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

An Anniversary Memory...

Review submitted: July 13, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

Thank you so much for opening your cabin to us. We came here to celebrate our 7th anniversary. We loved walking through the cabin looking at all of the décor. While we were here, we rode our bikes through Cade's Cove and hiked up Potter's Creek Trail to a waterfall. We enjoyed a trip to Pigeon Forge and the Old Mill Area. The location of the cabin was great! (This was our first time leaving our 18 month old son, so the Internet access was so nice because it allowed us to Skype with him!) Once again, thank you for opening your home to us. We really enjoyed ourselves!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Gorgeous Cabin!

Review submitted: July 13, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

Your cabin is absolutely gorgeous! We were very happy with our stay. It was our first time in Gatlinburg and we did not know what to expect. We had a great time! We loved the downtown and our day in the National Park, where we saw three black bears in the Cade's Cove area. Thanks again for being so welcoming to us!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Setting for Our Anniversary Trip!

Review submitted: July 13, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

Thank you for sharing your beautiful cabin with us! This is our wedding anniversary, and we just wanted some quiet downtime away from the kids! The hot tub is great! The fireplace was lovely to relax with. We grilled out and loved the grill. We were extremely pleased with our stay! Again, thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A True "Home Away From Home" for our Honeymoon

Review submitted: July 13, 2013   Date of arrival: April 14, 2013

Thank you for letting us enjoy your cabin. It is very beautiful. We got to enjoy many wonderful things while celebrating our honeymoon, including The Titanic Museum, the Skylift, Ripley's, the Aquarium, and several nice restaurants, and a drive to Cherokee for the casino and the museum. The location was great! Thank you once again for sharing your "home away from home" with us. God bless!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Cozy and Unforgettable Cabin for our Honeywoon

Review submitted: July 13, 2013   Date of arrival: April 9, 2013

We have had a tremendous time here. The cabin is lovely and met our expectations. It is very cozy and unforgettable. Our honeymoon was great! Candlewood Cottage was the perfect spot for quality time. We can't wait to come back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Much Needed Relaxing Weekend!

Review submitted: July 13, 2013   Date of arrival: April 7, 2013

Thanks so much for sharing your cabin with us. We had a much needed relaxing weekend!!!Can't wait to come back in the fall. Thanks for your hospitality!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Lovely Cabin

Review submitted: July 13, 2013   Date of arrival: April 5, 2013

Thank you for having us at your lovely cabin. We had a great time relaxing here. We hope to be back soon. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Will Definitely Be Back!

Review submitted: March 29, 2013   Date of arrival: March 3, 2013

My family and I really enjoyed our stay at your beautiful cabin this weekend. Our three and four year old daughters loved being here. Thank you so much for opening your home to my family. We will definitely be back again. With much love from Somerset, Kentucky

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Little Treasure: Perfect for a Weekend Getaway!

Review submitted: March 29, 2013   Date of arrival: February 23, 2013

Candlewood Cottage is the perfect weekend getaway! Setting up this trip with you was easy. You were informative and accommodating. Upon our arrival, it just kept getting better! The cottage was so homey that we hardly even left! Even when we did leave, we were telling people about this spectacular place. I'm definitely glad to have found this little treasure. We will definitely be back!!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Comfortable, Cozy, and Home-like!

Review submitted: March 29, 2013   Date of arrival: February 23, 2013

We are so thankful that we got the chance to discover how awesome Gatlinburg and Candlewood Cottage are! I absolutely love the décor in here! Every time I look up, I discover my new favorite piece! I can see how much thought and love went into making this cabin a home. We hope to stay in Candlewood Cottage for all of our Gatlinburg trips! Thanks so much for your trusting hospitality! Again, thanks for making our trip 10 times better than it would have been!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What an Awesome Cabin!

Review submitted: March 29, 2013   Date of arrival: February 17, 2013

What an awesome cabin! My husband and I are here for a much needed getaway. It was so relaxing and comfortable here. We loved the decorations and the hot tub, especially when it was snowing! Our weekend could not have been any better! We plan on coming back next February if your cabin is available. Thank you for sharing your amazing cabin with us from Ohatchee, Alabama!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thrilled to Be your First Guests of 2013!

Review submitted: March 29, 2013   Date of arrival: January 4, 2013

It's clear from the first minute in your cabin that you have put your heart into decorating this lovely home. Each carefully chosen decoration shows time, effort, and consideration for your guests' tastes and needs. Thank you for welcoming my us and our two children into your cabin and allowing your second home to feel like ours!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Best Vacation We Have Ever Taken...

Review submitted: March 29, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

Our family of four loved our trip to Gatlinburg and your cabin. We visited Ober Gatlinburg, snow tubed, ziplined, shopped, and drove to Cade's Cove. We loved resting at your cozy cabin. We are so sad to pack up and leave. Again, thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Couldn't Have Had a Better Time...

Review submitted: March 29, 2013   Date of arrival: December 1, 2012

My husband and I spent our honeymoon in your beautiful cabin. This is my first time in Gatlinburg, and we couldn't have had a better time! After being in town all day, this was the perfect place to come back to. Thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Through a child's eyes...

Review submitted: March 29, 2013   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

Dear Wayne and Pam,
I am Zoe. I am eight years old. I liked staying at your cabin. I liked going on the trails. I liked to climb on the rocks. It was really fun. Thank you very much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family of Four Fun!

Review submitted: March 29, 2013   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

Our family of four enjoyed an amazing Thanksgiving holiday in your beautiful cabin! We loved relaxing in the hot tub after hiking at Laurel Falls and Chimney Tops Trails. It was a treat to sneak away to this cozy cabin on the mountain after the bustle of city life. Thank you for sharing your wonderful home with us. We feel so lucky to have found it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

WOW! An amazing way to begin our lives together!

Review submitted: March 29, 2013   Date of arrival: November 15, 2012

We were married in a Gatlinburg church and were blessed to be able to spend our honeymoon at your cabin. It's beautiful here...your cabin is so cozy and warm. We enjoyed looking around at all of the decorations. In fact, this cabin is our inspiration on how to decorate our home back in Indiana! We loved EVERY moment of being here and look forward to staying at Candlewood Cottage again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxing and Enjoyable...

Review submitted: March 29, 2013   Date of arrival: November 2, 2012

Our stay in your cabin was relaxing and enjoyable. During our stay at Candlewood Cottage we grilled out, relaxed in the hot tub, and watched TV in the canopy log bed. We loved the décor which made us feel like we were back home in North Carolina. We explored the shops and attractions, which were an easy drive away. We can't wait to come back to your cabin to make more memories! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thankful and Grateful...

Review submitted: March 29, 2013   Date of arrival: October 24, 2012

We are very thankful and grateful that you opened your cabin to us. The warmth and loving presence you have created here was a true blessing to us. This was our first time in a cabin in the mountains, and we felt the joy, peace, and love of this "home away from home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautifuly in Gatlinburg

Review submitted: October 30, 2012   Date of arrival: October 24, 2012

This cabin was very cozy. It was just far enough out of the town of Gatlinburg for peace and quiet. We didn't see bears but a family of racoons did visit. The leaves were beautiful. I would recommend this cabin.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Our Second Trip Here with a Third in January!"

Review submitted: October 19, 2012   Date of arrival: October 12, 2012

Thanks again for sharing your cabin with us. This was our second trip to Candlewood Cottage, and we enjoyed being here again! We were here to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. We are already planning on a trip here in January. Once again, thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"We Enjoy the Cabin More Each Time We Visit!"

Review submitted: October 19, 2012   Date of arrival: October 4, 2012

This was our 4th trip to Candlewood Cottage, and we enjoy it more each time we come. We dearly love it here! Thank you for sharing this slice of heaven in the Smokies. We will be back again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Our Third Visit to Candlewood Cottage!"

Review submitted: October 19, 2012   Date of arrival: October 4, 2012

Today is a sad day as we pack to leave Candlewood Cottage. This was our third visit to your beautiful cabin, and it never gets "old." This was the "Year of the Bear" for us. We drove the Motor Nature Trail twice and each time saw black bears. It was such an awesome experience! We spent most of the time relaxing in the beautiful cabin, grilling steaks on the deck, and playing Dominoes! Again, thank you for sharing this little piece of heaven with us. We are already planning on our return trip next October!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"We Wish We Could Have Stayed Longer!"

Review submitted: October 19, 2012   Date of arrival: September 29, 2012

Thank you so much for letting us stay in your little "home away from home." It has been a peaceful vacation for us. It was a lovely way to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. We had a great time exploring the shops and hiking. The hot tub was a great way to relax our sore muscles! We wish we could have stayed longer, but we know we can always come back! Thanks for everything. We had a wonderful stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"We Will Recommend Your Cabin To Others!"

Review submitted: October 19, 2012   Date of arrival: September 22, 2012

Thanks for sharing your lovely cabin with us! It's so refreshing to come back to this little haven after a busy day. We explored shops in Gatlinburg and the outlets in Pigeon Forge. We opened AND closed Dollywood with the granddaughters! Your location made every day trip convenient. We will certainly recommend your cabin to others.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Exactly Like the Pictures!"

Review submitted: October 19, 2012   Date of arrival: August 23, 2012

We had a wonderful week at your cabin. It looks exactly like the pictures on the website, down to the stuffed bears on the bed. It was so homey and comfortable. We came to celebrate our 30th anniversary. We had a wonderful time shopping,hiking, eating out, and taking advantage of the hot tub, especially on the days we hiked. We felt like we were in a treehouse when eating or hot tubbing on the deck...so relaxing. Thanks so much for sharing your "home away from home."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Loved The Cottage!

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: August 3, 2012

We enjoyed our time in the Smoky Mountains. After whitewater rafting and hiking, it was great to relax in the cabin. We loved the cabin and came on a recommendation from our friends who had stayed here before. Thank you so much for sharing this blessing with us.

Hi, it's Sydney. I love the hot tub. I went there every day and night I was here. I liked the white water rafting, zip lining, and swimming in the pool.
I also went to the Dixie Stampede, Cades Cove, and Hillbilly Golf. I loved the beds and the bears. I am 9 and three-quarters years old. I love this cabin!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Can't Wait to Come Back!

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

Thank you so much for allowing us to use your cabin for our vacation. We have gone non-stop since our arrival. We really enjoyed the decorations and everything about it made the cabin feel so cozy. We got to see a bear this week, which was fabulous. Can't wait to come back! Thanks so much again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Communication and a Great Cabin!

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 15, 2012

It was really easy to communicate with you from the time we first contacted you via email. We had a relaxing week, and the kids had fun with their private space downstairs.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Highly Recommend This Lucky Find!

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2012

We were very pleased when we found Candlewood Cottage on the Internet but even MORE pleased when we arrived here and saw it first hand! The cabin is charming and comfortable. It is beautifully decorated, and the owners were pleasant and helpful with our many questions. The only problem is it is VERY difficult to leave the cabin to see the sights! We will definitely be back and will recommend Candlewood Cottage to our friends and family coming to Gatlinburg!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Bar Is Raised!

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 5, 2012

We felt like welcomed guests from the moment we made email contact with you! You have really raised the bar for cabin hosts for us. Our time at your cabin was wonderful. While we were here we enjoyed some of our favorite spots and found some new ones. As always, Gatlinburg was great! Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Yes!

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: June 27, 2012

YES! We had a great time! We got lots of rest and enjoyed the cabin. We will be back. We really are going home relaxed. It was a perfect vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Gorgeous!

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Thank you so much! Your cottage is gorgeous and we totally enjoyed our visit. We will be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Who Needs Hotels and Motels?

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: June 15, 2012

Thank you for the use of Candlewood Cottage. We enjoyed our visit to these beautiful mountains.
Who needs hotels and motels when there's Candlewood Cottage?????

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay...

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: May 28, 2012

Thank you for allowing us to stay at your cozy cabin. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and visit to Gatlinburg.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Candlewood Cottage: Cozy and Classy

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

Thank you for letting us share a little bit of "your heaven." We love your cabin and describe it as cozy with a lot of class! This is our first time to the Smoky Mountains. We came here to get away from our busy city lives and to experience the many gifts Mother Nature has for us. We, like everyone else, work hard and forget to slow down, relax, and appreciate how precious life really is. We loved your cabin and hope to visit again. We are so rejuvenated now!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Had a Wonderful Stay!

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: April 19, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Candlewood Cottage! We took full advantage of the relaxation and cozy comfort your cabin has to offer. Today is our last day, and we wish our stay wasn't over, but we will definitely be back soon. Thank you for letting us stay in your beautiful home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Teachers Say Thanks!

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

Thank you for sharing your lovely cabin with us! We are both teachers and needed this Spring Break getaway. We loved the hot tub after hiking to see the beautiful waterfalls and wildlife, including a bear at Laurel Falls! Thank you so much for your "home away from home."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

...More Than We Expected!

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2012

We found you on the web and were cautious, but our caution was unfounded. Your cabin is more than we expected! We would come back in a heartbeat! Your cabin in the mountains was the perfect place to rest and relax.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Wonderful, relaxing getaway"

Review submitted: March 29, 2012   Date of arrival: March 25, 2012

We have had a wonderful, relaxing getaway. Thank you for letting us stay in your home!! We don't get a lot of time alone due to our babies and our jobs but your cabin provided a great space for us to enjoy each other. We are looking forward to coming back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

First "Real" Family Vacation

Review submitted: March 29, 2012   Date of arrival: March 22, 2012

We have traveled here for our first "real" family vacation. What a perfect place to come! There's so much to do we couldn't get it all in during one trip. We are leaving today, getting married tomorrow and hope that we can return for many wonderful anniversaries.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Wonderful Anniversary Trip"

Review submitted: March 29, 2012   Date of arrival: February 12, 2012

We have been visiting to celebrate our 25th anniversary. We have had a wonderful time - We have strolled the streets of Gatlinburg, done some shopping in Pigeon Forge and visited the Wineries. Your cabin is so cozy and warm! Thank you for sharing it with us! We hope to visit again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"25th Anniversary Trip!"

Review submitted: March 29, 2012   Date of arrival: January 20, 2012

"Thank you for letting us share your cabin!" Our daughter arranged this as a Christmas - 25th Anniversary Gift. Your cabin is beautiful and homey. We had a great time and plan to come back again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Refreshed, relaxed and ready for a New Year!"

Review submitted: January 1, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

We made our reservation almost a year ago and have planned and looked forward to our trip all year. The week went by so quickly and we enjoyed a week of fun trips - Cades Cove, Newfound Gap, the Arts and Crafts loop, the tram ride, ice skating the ski lift, the trolley rides into town and then being able to return "home" to the cottage. We are grateful for this wonderful vacation and this was one of, if not the best vacation we have had in a long time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Picture perfect romantic mountain getaway!

Review submitted: January 1, 2012   Date of arrival: December 16, 2011

The minute we stepped inside, we started planning our return trip! Everything was picture perfect for a romantic mountain getaway especially the Christmas decorations! We have truly found our little piece of Heaven we can call "ours"!
We look forward to spending many more weekends here!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"What a darling cabin!"

Review submitted: January 1, 2012   Date of arrival: December 9, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed our first anniversary here this weekend - He surprised me and did all of the planning! Your cabin had everything and more for a romantic get-away. The hot tub, fireplace and all were fantastic and we cannot wait to come back again! Thank you for building such a wonderful cabin with fantastic amenities that a young couple can affotd!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

...."awed the moment I stepped inside!"

Review submitted: January 1, 2012   Date of arrival: November 22, 2011

We traveled 1000 miles and 17 hours to celebrate our 1-year anniversary and the journey paid back the moment we entered the cabin. Every corner, each wall has a story to tell and is a picture frame in itself. Although all good things must come to an end, we plan to spend many more anniversaries in your lovely home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

..."on our honeymoon - loved every minute of it!

Review submitted: July 3, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

We are so blessed to be able to enjoy the Lord's creation of the beautiful mountains, many trees and hills that are here. While we did get out and enjoy a lot of Gatlinburg, we have enjoyed relaxing in the cabin with the hot tub. This was a honeymoon surprise - thank you so much for blessing us with this experience and a "temporary" home for a week! We have loved every minute and hope to be back someday. (traveled from TX)

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

..."our first vacation"

Review submitted: July 3, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

Thank you for a comfy place to spend our first vacation. We had a wonderful time! (traveled from FL)

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"What an enjoyable week!"

Review submitted: July 3, 2011   Date of arrival: May 29, 2011

What an enjoyable week in your beautiful cottage! It is truly a great place to unwind and get away from the stress. We look forward to a return visit. (traveled from MO)

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"we loved just doing nothing"

Review submitted: July 3, 2011   Date of arrival: May 15, 2011

Thank you so much for sharing your home - it was truly amazing. My husband and I recently retired - it was truly a relaxing vacation. We loved doing nothing, it rained the whole trip but we still enjoyed every minute! (traveled from NJ)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"didn't plan of a vacation, but had a great time!"

Review submitted: July 3, 2011   Date of arrival: May 1, 2011

We are so appreciative of being able to find your cabin - it has provided a nice refuge from the chaos and havoc of the tornadoes and power outage in Huntsville AL. Even though we had not planned a vacation, we had a great time -our daughter loved MagiQuest - we highly recommend it! We also went to WonderWorks and Cades Cove - both were fun! Thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Beautiful time of the year - great location"

Review submitted: July 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 24, 2011

What a beautiful time of the year to visit the Smoky Mountains! We saw wildflowers blooming everywhere! We particularly liked the location of your cabin - far enought from the hub-bub of downtown but close enough to the things that we wanted to do to be convenient.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Wonderful stay, wonderful warm spring weather"

Review submitted: July 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 17, 2011

We enjoyed the hot tub, the location, sitting and dining on the decks - spent much time in Park, Clingman's Dome, wild flowers, trout fishing, and playing on the river rocks.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"enjoyed relaxing on our Spring Break"

Review submitted: July 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 3, 2011

My husband and I are both teachers and we enjoyed relaxing in your cabin during our Spring Break. We hiked to Laurel Falls, browsed the Arts and Crafts Community - thanks for sharing your cabin with us!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: June 16, 2011   Date of arrival: June 5, 2011

Our family stayed at this cabin and loved it so much. The minute you walk in you know you can relax, unwind and enjoy the beauty of the Smoky Mts. It was very clean and ready for our arrival. They provided towels even for the pool. They have thought of everything to make your stay comfortable, relaxing and feels just like a "home away" from home. We used the gas grill to cook meals and enjoyed eating dinner and having coffee on the deck. It is located close to town yet away from the noise and traffic. The owner was a wealth of information as to the area, it was our first trip to TN. Great people to work with. Our kids ages 7 & 12 enjoyed Hillbilly Golf, white water rafting, zip-linning, hiking, and the Dixie Stampede and the community pool. If you take pride in your own home then you will love this place.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Absolutely Perfect!!

Review submitted: April 7, 2011   Date of arrival: March 30, 2011

This cabin is incredible -- perfect for some peace and quiet if you need to relax...perfect location for activities and attractions if you want some adventure...perfect for some personal time if you want a romantic getaway...and I could go on and on! My wife and I will CERTAINLY be returning to Candlewood Cottage in the future - we highly recommend staying here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: If you are seeking a place where "Rustic Meets Romantic", please consider Candlewood Cottage in Gatlinburg! We try to capture the essence of the area and provide our guests with a place of peace and relaxation while being close to the National Park, the restaurants and attractions! As we like to say, "Follow me to Tennessee!"

Wayne and Pamela

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

..."much needed R and R!"

Review submitted: March 23, 2011   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

You have such a beautiful cabin! My husband and I spent much of our time in the cabin to have a much needed weekend away - We enjoyed our drive through Gatlinburg and the Smokies but really needed the R and R!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Our second time to stay at Candlewood Cottage"

Review submitted: March 23, 2011   Date of arrival: February 16, 2011

Thank you so much for sharing your cabin. It is beautifully decorated and is the perfect place to stay for a romantic weekend.

.....we stayed here at the cabin and enjoyed some much needed downtime. Thanks again and God Bless!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"This place is amazing!"

Review submitted: March 23, 2011   Date of arrival: January 28, 2011

We have to say - "this place is amazing" It's just what we needed to get away, to relax and enjoy "us" without the hustle and bustle of "life".....Hope to have a return trip soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"We got married while we were here!"

Review submitted: January 1, 2011   Date of arrival: December 17, 2010

We are from MS - we absolutely loved your cabin! We got married while we were here and enjoyed a few days away from the hectic pace of home. We hope to come back in the spring or summer when the weather is warmer and we can stay longer. Hope you have a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

".....best trip ever!"

Review submitted: January 1, 2011   Date of arrival: December 5, 2010

....this has been the best trip ever! My boyfriend asked me to marry him here and it is one place that I won't ever forget! We dont want to leave but hope to come back soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"...very clean and so many lovely details."

Review submitted: January 1, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2010

We are from Georgia and we like to take trips for Holidays and Birthdays. We came here to spend our Thanksgiving and it has been a nice trip. Your home is very charming and we appreciate your sharing it with us. It is very clean and has so many lovely details.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

".....celebrating our 31st anniversary"

Review submitted: January 1, 2011   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

We are from Indiana - we came to your cabin to celebrate our 31st anniversary and our daughter's wedding. We enjoyed your cabin. It is beautiful, beautiful, beautiful. Thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"...stayed here for our honeymoon!"

Review submitted: January 1, 2011   Date of arrival: November 7, 2010

We stayed here for our honeymoon and had an AMAZING time! Your cabin was the perfect place to stay! Thank you so much for your home in the Smokies. We hate to leave today, but will definitely plan on coming back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"....couldn't wait to get back to your cabin"

Review submitted: January 1, 2011   Date of arrival: November 3, 2010

Your cabin has so many personal touches that others don't! After our days of shopping, eating, golf, laser tag, etc we couldn't wait to get back to the cabin to sit in front of the fireplace! We will definitely recommend to others and we look forward to coming back in the summer to spend more time in the outdoors.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

...."felt welcome as I stepped in the door"

Review submitted: November 1, 2010   Date of arrival: October 23, 2010

"I felt welcome as I stepped foot in the door. We hope to return soon."

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

...."enjoyed our second stay here"...

Review submitted: November 1, 2010   Date of arrival: October 23, 2010

We enjoyed our second stay at Candlewood as much as our first. I am going to make a special Candlewood Cottage scrapbook to store our special memories here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

..."loved the porches and tranquility"

Review submitted: November 1, 2010   Date of arrival: October 22, 2010

This was a mini-honeymoon for us. My husband is in the military and will be leaving soon. We loved the cottage, the porches, and the tranquility.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

....."beautiful, cozy and super-clean!"

Review submitted: November 1, 2010   Date of arrival: October 13, 2010

My sister recommended your place to us. Its a wonderful place to stay - beautiful, cozy, and super-clean!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

....."cozy, warm and secluded"...

Review submitted: November 1, 2010   Date of arrival: October 10, 2010

We were grateful for your cozy, warm secluded cabin nestled in the gorgeous fall leaves of Tennessee. Thanks for sharing your lovely home with us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

...."time to make wonderful memories...."

Review submitted: November 1, 2010   Date of arrival: October 9, 2010

We've had a great time hiking, antiquing, eating, shopping, and enjoying your beautiful log home. I'm here with my daughter and two grand-daughters. We've had time to make wonderful memories.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A special time for a girlfriend get-away!

Review submitted: November 1, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

What a gift to share time with dear friends in warm, cozy and fun cottage. Your place is creative in a lovely setting. It was a special time for our girlfriend getaway.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

..."will recommend to our family and friends."

Review submitted: November 1, 2010   Date of arrival: September 24, 2010

We spent three great nights in your wonderful home. The best part of the cabin was the bears. We are from Montana and the bears remind us of home. The time we spent in the hot tub talking and relaxing was real blessing to us. We will recomment this cabin to our family and friends.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

........"we really do not want to leave"....

Review submitted: November 1, 2010   Date of arrival: September 10, 2010

Your cabin has been a wonderful place to stay. We enjoyed the decor, kitchen, laundry, and WIFI. We really do not want to leave and plan to come back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"......stay here every trip in the future."

Review submitted: November 1, 2010   Date of arrival: August 29, 2010

My husband said after the first night that this cabin is where he wants to stay every trip in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"How cozy and romantic..."

Review submitted: November 1, 2010   Date of arrival: August 13, 2010

How cozy and romantic it is here at Candlewood Cottage. We had a wonderful time and plan to return soon. Congratulations to you for making your dreams come true - it's truly inspiring.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"the perfect cabin"

Review submitted: November 1, 2010   Date of arrival: July 30, 2010

"Nothing like some time away to just relax. We picked "the perfect cabin to do so."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review