reviews for: listing #66423 - Galveston, Texas House rental

Pointe West - Beachfront - 3 Bedroom - Pools are Open!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Pointe West
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $325 - $423 /nt
    $2,275 - $2,975 /wk
    $9,750 - $13,000 /mth

sort by:

House needs some TLC

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

I'll start with the pros of this home. The view is fantastic! We also loved the close proximity to the walkover and beach. We spent a lot of our time on the deck which had some comfy furniture. It was also nice having the washer/dryer accessibility.

Overall we enjoyed our stay, but the house needs some attention. When I go on a vacation, my expectation is a clean place. I am not typically difficult to please and hate to nit pick, but due to the number of things we all noticed, it's only fair potential renters know what to expect. Upon arrival, we walked up to find a delapidated, rusty grill sitting on the back patio. It clearly is not usable and just an eye sore that should be tossed. The carpet in the upstairs area had a lot of stains and just appeared dirty. The four bunk beds were not made which meant after a 10 hour drive, I had to make bunk beds for the kids to sleep in. The downstairs shower liner was mildewed/moldy and the upstairs liner was ripped and falling in while showering. The cabinets had large dust bunnies and the couch and futon had sand all over them. The fan in the downstairs bedroom didn't work and the outdoor outlets didn't either. The water spout downstairs was inoperable due to corrosion. We were also never able to find the picnic table that belongs to the house. I understand this can be difficult to control as people can come and remove them...but it wouldn't be a bad idea to have someone make sure it's there periodically.

To top it off, I received a phone call from the owner upon check out, telling me that we have a problem because he just received a phone call from his maid service explaining that we were refusing to leave the property because we were staying until the next day. He went on to say that he had people checking in that day at 3 pm and we were supposed to be gone by 10am. Here is the problem...we had been gone for 3 HOURS by this point. His maid service was clearly at the wrong house and pestering some other people who still had a day left of vacation. I'd suggest double checking where your cleaners are before calling and confronting your customers. Or at the least, start the conversation by asking if we are still at the home rather than immediately telling me we have a problem.

Owners response: Thanks so much for taking the time to post your review! We do keep 3 grills at the property and one of the grills is just 2 weeks old. The old rusted grill that you are referring to is a smoker, and yes it is on its last leg! We did purchase that a new grill a few weeks ago so I hope that was sufficient for you to use.

The maids will not make the bunk beds for "liability reasons" and I do apologize for the inconvenience. They only place the sheets and comforters, folded on the bed.

The downstairs liner and shower curtain were replaced after you checked out. Thanks for bringing that to our attention! I will address the sand and dust bunnies on the cabinets with the maids. I know the house is beachfront and it does get sand coming in...but it should not be on the futons on arrival.

The ceiling fan in the downstairs bedroom does not work, but we have 3, 4 foot tower fans in every room. Hopefully, that was sufficient to keep you cool.

We were aware that the electrical outlet outside, by the garage did not work. As a temporary work around we supplied a 150 foot extension chord in the closet in the livingroom. It was there for your use, but I'm sorry if you did not see it.

I just called the renters that are there now and the picnic table is definitely under the house. My only guess is one of the neighboring houses took it and then returned it after you left. I do apologize, but the picnic table is definitely there.

I received a frantic call from our housekeeping department at noon the day you were expected to check out. They told me that your family was refusing to leave the property and would not let the maids come in to clean. We did have other guests checking in 3 hours later so I'm sorry if I was a little frantic talking to you. The maid service had cleaned our house for over year so it is very surprising that the got the houses mixed up. I do apologize for the confusion and I thank you for handeling it so graciously.

Overall, I'm glad you enjoyed your vacation and enjoyed the fantastic views!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Vacation - Great Beachfront Home!

Review submitted: April 7, 2011   Date of arrival: February 25, 2011

ur family really enjoyed our latest vacation to Galveston. We have stayed at Pointe West many times in the past, but never beachfront! It was nice to be able to watch the kids play at the beach, while sitting on the balcony. The resort has a ton of activities and there is plenty for them to do. We will be back! Thanks again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great House, But Keep All Emails From Owner

Review submitted: April 6, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

I was not the renter of this house but was a guest for the weekend. For a girls' weekend, we rented this house for 7 girls. When we arrived we thought we rented a green house on the beach, and were given directions to a blue house on the bay. We thought that the color may have been off in the picture and that he misunderstood the location we wanted - so when the code worked to get in we assumed we signed a contract a bay house and didn't notice. We even called Chad and gave him the address but he just gave us directions to the pool and wished us a nice weekend. After unpacking and settling in the house another family arrived saying they were booked for the same house. We found out later that Chad had sent us directions to the wrong house. Although this was an honest mistake, as he said "trying to work from his iPhone", it was still an inconvenience to pack up 7 girls and food for the weekend by 10am the next day and move to the next house down the road. Chad made it up to us by allowing us to check out late and reimbursing $300 of our weekend payment, but this was not an immediate solution. At one point we were even accused of "knowing damn well we were in the wrong house" and "needed to vacate the premises before 10am". In the end I certainly felt as though the family who rented the house was more of a priority for him, although they were renting the house for an after-prom party, just because they were paying more money. For me, not feeling like I was not as important as them has made my mind up that I would be happy to return to Pointe West, but wont rent from Chad again. More money or not, I am still paying money to him and expect the same treatment any other guest would receive, especially when he was in the wrong. As for the home and Pointe West, it was a great location. The house was clean, but the kitchen could use some work. The refrigerator was a little dirty and the kitchen utensils and cups were not very clean, although back in the cabinet. I like that there is a beach club with food, drink, and a pool. They are strict on the 10pm curfew for the pool which was a disappointment, but overall it was a relaxing weekend, despite our hiccup with the owner. If you do rent from Chad I recommend saving every single correspondence between you and double check all agreements.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: I definitely have to agree w/ her, I did send out the wrong check-in procedures. The client above rented my 3 bedroom, beachfront property in Pointe West. I incorrectly forwarded them the check in procedures to my 5 bedroom, bay front property in Pointe West in error.

When the girls arrived at the property, they did call me to ask how to get in the pool etc, but it never clicked that they were at the wrong property. If when they called they said, "we rented a 3 bedroom on the beach and this is a 5 bedroom on the bay, I would have put 2 and 2 together and quickly pointed them to the other house.

A few hours later I got a phone call from the guests that were supposed to be checking into the property and that is when the error was caught. The above renter refused to leave the property and said it was my problem and I had to deal with it. She said at that point they had too much wine and they were not going anywhere. The other house was just a few blocks down the street, but after 30 minutes on the phone I knew they were not going to leave.

The other guests waited patiently in the drive way and I was able to accommodate them at another property a few doors down. They tried to reason with the above renter as well, but they were not able to make any progress either.

That night I made 1 final plea and I offered 300.00 (half of the total price of their 2 night stay) and "a gift" if they would leave the property by 10am the following morning and move over to the property that they actually rented.

In the end, they stayed 1 night for free in a 5 bedroom house they did not pay for, got nearly half of their trip paid for, I told them they could check out as late as they wanted to on Sunday, and we brought over 2 bottles of champagne. I did everything I could to make up for sending over the wrong check-in procedures.

I think they tried to take advantage of a mistake on my part and were extremely uncooperative after the error was uncovered.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Gorgeous home with the BEST view - wonderful vacay

Review submitted: February 8, 2011   Date of arrival: January 13, 2011

We came here to have a quick getaway with our kids and could not have been happier with our choice. This house had all the conveniences of home. Decorated beautifully, clean, perfect house to take our young children. The view was beautiful and we would have our dinners out on the balcony at night. Easy access to the beach directly from the house. Even though it was chilly it didn't stop us from letting the kids run and play in the sand. We also enjoyed The Beach Club and so did the kids. We got a lot of use out of the hot tub and loved hearing the waves crashing in the background. All around a great place to go either with your family or for a romantic getaway. Will be planning a trip again very soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Beautiful Getaway

Review submitted: February 6, 2011   Date of arrival: October 16, 2010

This is an outstanding place to relax and have fun with the family. The beach is directly behind the home and we were able to enjoy a beautiful sunrise view from the second floor. We had the option of enjoying a somewhat private beach or relaxing at the luxurious Pointe West Resort. The home is very spacious, fully furnished with a gorgeous design and feels like home. My family looks forward to staying there again in the near future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome place to stay!!

Review submitted: February 3, 2011   Date of arrival: November 5, 2010

The place was gorgeous,nicely decorated, and spaceous with the most up to date appliances. It was like staying at a nice hotel but adding the amenities you would have at home and more. I loved everything about the house including the kitchen, living area, and bedrooms. My most favorite was the balcony with a fabulous view overlooking the beach were you can just relax and watch the waves. The clubhouse was great especially if you have children. Most everyday there were scheduled activites for the children as well as happy hour for the adults. I most definitely recommend this place to stay. It's at the top of my list.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Friendly... Pointe West Gem... Great Views!

Review submitted: January 30, 2011   Date of arrival: November 12, 2010

What a great place to spend time with friends/family. We had such a great time at this house. The beach is just a few steps over the dunes and the views are unbelieveable. The house is very nicely decorated, super cliean and just a short drive from the beach club. The beach club makes you feel like you are at a 5 Star Resort with restaurants, gym, multiple pools, hot tubs, etc. I highly recommend this place to anyone wanting to enjoy the best of Galveston + the feeling of a 5 Star Resort. My family can't wait to get back to this place soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review