reviews for: listing #66445 - Playa del Carmen, Yucatan Condo rental

Casa Eden at Coco Bay
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Alizes
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $900 - $1,400 /wk
    $1,200 - $2,500 /mth

sort by:

Great condo

Review submitted: February 21, 2012   Date of arrival: January 10, 2012

I had a great say at casa eden. The condo is nicely decorated, clean and well stocked. The kitchen has everything you need for cooking and there is a grill on the patio. It was also convenient having a washer and dryer in the condo. The beach is very close and very beautiful. Cannibal royal beach club is the closest and as long as you buy food or drink you can use their chairs. The condo also has chairs and a cooler for those who don't care for the beach clubs.
The north end of 5th ave has some excellent restaurants, just a short walk. Piola on calle 38 has great pizza and pasta and Kool Fish on 5th has good seafood. There is a Oxxo c store two blocks west for beverages and snacks. Wal- Mart and Mega are a bit of a hike, but a enjoyable walk. El Fogon restaurant across the street from Mega has some of the best authentic mexican food. Casa Eden is in a great up and coming area without all of the shop vendors and tourists. It was a pleasure renting form Vicki.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice convenient condo

Review submitted: December 3, 2011   Date of arrival: October 26, 2011

Casa Eden is a very nice condo in the northern part of Playa in an area called Coco Bay. The owners, Vicki and Scott, provide a well-stocked condo. The kitchen has oodles of supplies for cooking and while the condo has its own gas grill outside, there is a recently finished built-in outdoor grill for community use. The condo owners are in the process of replacing their nice looking pool - it was built over a cenote and needs to be reenforced. We probably wouldn't have used the pool anyway as the beach is only a block away. Vicki and Scott supply chairs, umbrella, cooler, and other supplies for the beach. For those preferring beach clubs, one is located about 50 yards to the left of the beach's public access. Also, the 2 masseuses conviently located at the Elements Condo beach, provide excellent deep tissue massages of the upper body for 300 pesos an hour.


Upon arrival, Vicki refunded part of our deposit - a convenient way of getting pesos without going to ATM machines. As it turns out, however, ATMs are everywhere. Electricity is not included the rental costs. Although Vicki had said that electricity is expensive in Mexico, our bill for the month came to only $17. This may be because we didn't use the air conditioner-instead we used the ceiling fans.

All of the U.S. expatriates living at Les Alizes were helpful in orienting us to Playa. And, Maria, the maid, did her best in helping us with our Spanish.

While not in the middle of the action found in the southern/central parts of Playa, Casa Eden is still conveniently located. Many of the better restaurants are located near the condo. These restaurants are located north of the walking-only section of 5th Ave, and only a few blocks from Casa Eden. Most of the day tourists don't venture past the walking-only section. You've got to try the chile rellenos at La Cueva del Chango, located on 38th. La Cueva argueably has the best breakfast in Playa. Another must restaurant, walkable, but further away, is Aguachiles - 34th St and 25th Ave. Go to Trip Advisor for more restaurant suggestions.

While we walked to major grcery stores, Mega and Walmart, it was a long walk. Generally, we took the taxi back to Casa Eden, which only cost $4, or 40 to 50 pesos.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: thanks! we enjoyed having you and getting to know you! vicki

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Stay

Review submitted: June 8, 2011   Date of arrival: January 31, 2011

Our stay, from Jan 31 2011 to March 15 2011 to March 15, was fabulouspartly because our condo was so spacious and beautifully decorated. Washer and dryer in the condo was a big plus. We were close to the best beaches and within walking distance to many excellent restaurants, and , of course, 5th. Avenue. The complex pool was closed for repairs but we had our own private cooling pool. Viki and Scott were most gracious. Best holiday landlords we have had in many years of winter trips.
Nick and Lorna Lnpwlton, Quebec, Canada

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

family of 4, mom, dad, and 2 teenagers

Review submitted: January 15, 2011   Date of arrival: December 27, 2010

We highly recommend this condo for families or small groups! We stayed for 7 nights. The place was GREAT. It had everything we needed to feel @ home while on vacation. The condo was very clean, modern and well furnished. Great location, one block from a very nice beach and a short walk to resturants and shopping. Although close to many activities, the place was very quiet @ night. The landlady had lots of books and informational brochures about activities in and around Playa Del Carmen and was very responsive to our needs. We're looking forward to our next stay @ Casa Eden. CAN'T SAY ENOUGH, GREAT!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review