reviews for: listing #665 - Santa Monica, California Condo rental

Stunning Architecturally Designed 3 Bedroom + Loft Condo
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  17th St.
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $325 - $385 /nt
    $2,275 - $2,495 /wk
    $6,000 - $6,400 /mth

sort by:

Fantastic condo

Review submitted: December 5, 2013   Date of arrival: November 18, 2013

This house is amazing Barbara was so incredible we had a terrible house in west hollywood she was incredible at short notice the house is fabulous in a great area in Santa Monica walking distance to everything my family loved her house and Barbara is so amazing to deal with she went out of her way for everything I am glad we met her and shared her beautiful house I would come back to her house next time I am in Santa Monica

Recommended for: families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

great holiday desination

Review submitted: July 12, 2012   Date of arrival: June 4, 2012

Our group of 8 stayed at the condo for 3 days and it was exactly what we needed! Plenty of room for all of us, very clean, fresh towels and bedding. The neighbourhood is quiet and very safe, we walked every where and never had a problem.

The santa monica pier was about a 15 to 20 minute walk, if you are not rushing and taking in the surroundings as we were!
We had a great time and loved the condo.

thanks!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you Kirsty! You were wonderful guests. Please come by again--anytime!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Highly Recommended

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: May 14, 2012

My daughters and I had a very nice time staying in the lovely condo. It was exactly as advertised: an architect's personal home, close to all our traveling destinations,kept very clean and including everything we'd enjoy in our own home. The owner was personally very friendly and helpful. Friends had told us about this rental and we would be happy to recommend it to anyone. Sincerely, Jane and family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

charming and funky

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: April 8, 2012

This is a very interesting architectural gem. Place was clean when we arrived, and it probably has the nicest view of any similar property in this entire part of the city. Barbara--the owner--was easy to get in touch with and responsive to all of our questions.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Santa Monica getaway

Review submitted: March 30, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

Spacious condo in great neighborhood in Santa Monica. Easy walking distance to public transit, shopping and restaurants. Nice walk to beach too (about 2 miles). Comfortable beds and plenty of clean linens! Nice rooftop patio with bbq.

This place was classy while still feeling like a comfortable home.

Owner, Barbara, was pleasant to work with.

We would definitely use this rental again!

Thank you so much for letting us stay in your home. We had fun!

Sincerely,

Shante, Stephen, Jack, Myles, Roxie, Barbara and Yaju

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Do not rent this condo

Review submitted: March 22, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

Do not rent this condo ! It is not as it appears to be. When we arived we kept getting the time pushed back for check in. Someone had been living in the house for 3 months and had just moved out the night before(famliy friends)I was told. The house was dirty.The pictures in the ad are not what the condo really looks like. These must have been taken when the condo was first built and it was new. The chair in the living room was rippped and had the stuffing coming out of. The people living in there before us had not left the keys so we had no keys. Someone was doing laundry in the basement of the condo. The beds in the other 2 bedrooms are really for kids and not the 4 adults who had rented the condo. Beer cans was left all over the top deck from the people who had moved out the nght before. We did not feel safe staying in a place that the former people had the keys to. The sheets on the beds looked dirty and faded/mismatched. Besides,adults would not have been able to fit into the beds. I asked the owner to refund my money,she refused. I asked her to give me back my deposit and she said she would in a "few Days" It has been 6 days and she has not refunded my depsit or returned any of my phone calls. In the basement curtains blocked off the entryway,I asked what was down there and was told not to go down.

Owners response: My name is Barbara C. and this is my response:

This is my own home - I live her now, and I keep it immaculate. I am very proud of it. I am a licensed architect and this home has won design awards and has been showcased on AIA tours. Everyone who has rented it has loved it. This is my first negative feedback.

Mary (or Kay-she gave me two names and two addresses) arrived before the agreed-upon time, and the cleaning crew had not finished. She seemed confused, thinking that the entry was the living room, not understanding the living spaces were on the second floor. She thought that the house did not look like the photographs, perhaps because the previous visitors had rearranged the furniture. She said that she would rather stay in a hotel. I said I would pay for that and she should come back in the morning to look again.

The cleaning crew rearranged the furniture to match the photos. They finished the laundry and the cleaning. The house was spotless and shiny. Of course all of the linens were fresh and clean - and they matched, too. Had Mary (Kay) returned she would have seen that everything was perfect but she did not return.

I have had up to eight adults stay here: besides the queen bed in the master and the full bed in my daughter’s room, there is a trundle bed in my son’s room which separates into two twins. Mary (Kay) was confused. I also provide two movable mattresses with full linen compliments. There is plenty of sleeping room. Again, every previous visitor has been satisfied.

The previous visitors, a young couple and their infant daughter, were personal friends who’d stayed a long time in my home and in another home I represent. They brought their copy of the key the next morning. Security was never a concern.

I immediately sent PayPal all the money she requested. I repeat: immediately.

Again, I am very proud of my home, and everyone has told me how delighted their were to live here. Many are repeat visitors and some have become such close friends that we see each other socially and have even exchanged homes. Please read their comments, call me, and judge for yourself.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Jean-Claude

Review submitted: April 27, 2011   Date of arrival: August 10, 2010

Barbara,

We thank you for your hospitality. We have loved this wonderful house!

Jean-Claude and family

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family Charnguet

Review submitted: April 27, 2011   Date of arrival: July 6, 2010

Barbara,

It was a great stay for us. 5 days in Santa Monica is really cool! Your house is really easy to live in, practical, and allows a lot of light to get in! Thanks for everything and see you maybe in Paris!

Family Charnguet

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Jane, John, and children

Review submitted: April 27, 2011   Date of arrival: April 14, 2011

Dear Barbara,

Thank you so much for renting us your condo. We've had a fab time in Santa Monica and will come back again!

Best,
Jane + John + children

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review