reviews for: listing #66558 - Lahaina, Hawaii Condo rental

Direct Oceanfront 3 Bedrm w/Great Sunsets & Views
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $380 - $405 /nt

sort by:

Fantastic condo with an amazing view

Review submitted: February 19, 2014   Date of arrival: January 18, 2014

We took a family vacation to Maui for the first time. Working with Marilyn to get this set up was great. She was very accommodating and all our questions were answered right away. We were very impressed when we arrived. There was a pineapple and a box of chocolates on the table for us. The condo was very clean and well stocked. The view was amazing, we could see Molokai and Lanai from across the way and watched several whales. While on Maui we enjoyed many beaches, the Road To Hana, a Luau, and some great snorkeling. We would highly recommend this condo to others. We would like to thank Marilyn for a memorable vacation. Mahalo Jerry & Jeanie Bush

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Delightful retreat!

Review submitted: February 14, 2014   Date of arrival: January 28, 2014

This condo was everything and more than it was advertised to be. It had been recently renovated, with new kitchen, bathrooms, furnishings, and was both beautiful and comfortable for 5 adults and an infant. A bathtub would have been nice for the infant, but she took her first showers and loved them, so no problem. The kitchen is fully appointed with everything you could want for full meal prep, including utensils for the barbecues by the pool.
The whale and sea turtle watching was spectacular right from the lanai which wrapped around two sides of the condo. This is an end unit on the second floor, so there are windows on three sides with excellent cross ventilation. There is a small beach on the property, and lots of rocks, but there are many large beaches within easy access. The snorkeling off this little beach was still lovely, especially since few people tend to go in here, and the sea turtles hang out and feed on the algae along these rocks.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful accommodation!

Review submitted: January 15, 2014   Date of arrival: December 26, 2013

Beautiful view from condo. Excellent accommodation. Slept 6 adults very comfortably. Highly recommend it to others.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A True Slice of Paradise

Review submitted: January 2, 2014   Date of arrival: December 8, 2013

All I can say is that the pictures don't lie. Working with Marilyn was wonderful and her hospitality is amazing. I traveled with my husband and my two single friends and this arrangement couldn't have been better. The location of the property was easy to get to and close to all the Lahina shops and restaurants. Every room was in pristine shape and the lanai was situated so that you faced the ocean anywhere you sat. My friend spent most of her vacation lounging on the lanai, catching up on her reading. The pool was good and there was always a bbq available. We were lulled to sleep each night by the crashing waves. Be sure to look through her notebook of recommendation for food and activities. We would recommend this location to any one and will be back soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Maui Getaway

Review submitted: December 10, 2013   Date of arrival: November 22, 2013

We had a great first stay at this condo and will be sure to book again for next thanksgiving. Having 3 bathrooms was great as we had our 3 daughters, my wife and a daughters friend along. The condo was in great shape and was super close to the water. Listened to waves break while falling to sleep each night.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful, stupendous time.

Review submitted: November 20, 2013   Date of arrival: October 15, 2013

We had a wonderful, fabulous, stupendous time in your condo. Turtles right on our beach, waves singing us to sleep at night, birds singing a wake-up call in the morning….a truly memorable time. This condo and the whole complex were the perfect place to stay and play. We are already planning our next visit! LOVE the fully stocked kitchen and extra little touches everywhere. Spent most of our time out on the lanai for meals. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Breath-taking View...Utmost in comfort & enjoyment

Review submitted: November 20, 2013   Date of arrival: October 1, 2013

We all had an amazing time staying here. Thank you so very much for making this feel like home away from home for us. It is obvious that you have gone to every effort to provide the utmost in comfort and enjoyment for all who stay here! From the fully stocked kitchen to the comfortable linens and beds to the CD player and awesome Hawaiian music. And you are very thoughtful to provide beach chairs, towel & umbrella. And I think I can speak for all our clan that one of our favorite memories of our trip is the way we felt upon first entering the condo and seeing the BREATH-TAKING view!!! Another favorite is watching the beautiful turtles in the water and on the sand. Thank you again for sharing this beautiful treasure with all who are fortunate enough to find it. We will be back. Mahalo

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sunset Shores what a view

Review submitted: August 4, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

The condo was beautifully appointed and well maintained. Three generations spent a wonderful week enjoying time together, swimming off the shore with the Hawaiian sea turtles, and barbecuing. Polynesian shores is very friendly and family oriented. This was our second stay at the condo and we plan on going back again.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Awesome property!

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 14, 2013

Sunset Shores was totally as advertised! The condo has an awesome view of the ocean. We saw sea turtles from the lanai! The property is very well maintained and the condo is well stocked for anything you might need. I would love to visit this property again in the future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Magnificent Maui

Review submitted: June 22, 2013   Date of arrival: June 11, 2013

Loved every minute spent at Sunset Shores from opening the front door until we left 3 days later. This condo is everything as advertised and more! All 6 of us (3 couples) definitely want to return to Maui and if we do, this will be our destination! Thanks to Marilyn for your hospitality and Ronette, too (on site hostess)!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Comfy, cozy with a GREAT view!

Review submitted: May 12, 2013   Date of arrival: May 4, 2013

What an amazing trip and an even more amazing condo! It will literally feel like your home away from home. It has everything you could possibly want and/or need, and don't even get me started on the view. There's nothing like watching a gorgeous sunset every single night, being lulled to sleep by the sound of crashing waves, and waking up to a great view with a cup of Kona coffee. There's a private little beach where you can swim and snorkel with sea turtles. Just make sure you don't touch them because they're protected!

All in all, my family and I had an amazing time and I would rent this condo again in a heartbeat. If it's available, do yourself a favor and book it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Direct Oceanfront Rare 3BR - Amazing Sunsets & Awesome Views

Review submitted: April 7, 2013   Date of arrival: January 23, 2013

This end units location was a fabulous place to watch sunsets, whales and turtles right from our lanai!Perfect size and layout for our grown family. Fully appointed kitchen and barbecues let you create your own feast. Java Jazz is close by for excellent coffee, food and live music. We cant wait to go back!
Mahalo

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Beautiful Sunset Shores!

Review submitted: March 16, 2013   Date of arrival: February 7, 2013

When we arrived at Sunset Shores with our family we felt like we were walking directly in to the pictures posted on the website. Every room was perfect and decorated beautifully. It was all clean and fresh even though we know that there was someone using the condo right before us.

After the condo itself... The view was amazing! Spending time on the lanai was a big part of all of our days. Besides the fantastic sunsets there was always whale and turtle activity right off shore. There were always surfers and boarders out trying to catch a wave too so there was always something entertaining to watch. Bring your binoculars!

The condo had every furnishing that we needed while we were there. Since we were there with our family we did lots of meals at the condo which worked great. The kitchen was even furnished with the condiments we needed!

Setting up our reservation was very easy. Every question I had was thoroughly answered by the owner in a very friendly and timely way.

I would definitely recommend this property to anyone looking for a Maui accommodation. While we were there we had other friends from home who were visiting and staying at other places. When they came to visit they were all impressed with our place and asked for the contact information. I have already shared that with them.

The condo was within easy walking distance to several beaches, grocery stores, and places to eat out. When we did get in the car it was an easy drive to more beaches, restaurants and local activities.

We LOVED Sunset Shores and Maui. When we come back we will for sure be looking to make our reservations to stay at Sunset Shores.

Mahalo!!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Sunset Shores Is the Best!

Review submitted: March 16, 2013   Date of arrival: February 7, 2013

When we arrived at Sunset Shores with our family we felt like we were walking directly in to the pictures posted on the website. Every room was perfect and decorated beautifully. It was all clean and fresh even though we know that there was someone using the condo right before us.

After the condo itself... The view was amazing! Spending time on the lanai was a big part of all of our days. Besides the fantastic sunsets there was always whale and turtle activity right off shore. There were always surfers and boarders out trying to catch a wave too so there was always something entertaining to watch. Bring your binoculars!

The condo had every furnishing that we needed while we were there. Since we were there with our family we did lots of meals at the condo which worked great. The kitchen was even furnished with the condiments we needed!

Setting up our reservation was very easy. Every question I had was thoroughly answered by the owner in a very friendly and timely way.

I would definitely recommend this property to anyone looking for a Maui accommodation. While we were there we had other friends from home who were visiting and staying at other places. When they came to visit they were all impressed with our place and asked for the contact information. I have already shared that with them.

The condo was within easy walking distance to several beaches, grocery stores, and places to eat out. When we did get in the car it was an easy drive to more beaches, restaurants and local activities.

We LOVED Sunset Shores and Maui. When we come back we will for sure be looking to make our reservations to stay at Sunset Shores.

Mahalo!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sunset Shores is a Maui Paradise

Review submitted: March 12, 2013   Date of arrival: February 7, 2013

When we arrived at Sunset Shores with our family we felt like we were walking directly in to the pictures posted on the website. Every room was perfect and decorated beautifully. It was all clean and fresh even though we know that there was someone using the condo right before us.

After the condo itself... The view was amazing! Spending time on the lanai was a big part of all of our days. Besides the fantastic sunsets there was always whale and turtle activity right off shore. There were always surfers and boarders out trying to catch a wave too so there was always something entertaining to watch. Bring your binoculars!

The condo had every furnishing that we needed while we were there. Since we were there with our family we did lots of meals at the condo which worked great. The kitchen was even furnished with the condiments we needed!

Setting up our reservation was very easy. Every question I had was thoroughly answered by the owner in a very friendly and timely way.

I would definitely recommend this property to anyone looking for a Maui accommodation. While we were there we had other friends from home who were visiting and staying at other places. When they came to visit they were all impressed with our place and asked for the contact information. I have already shared that with them.

The condo was within easy walking distance to several beaches, grocery stores, and places to eat out. When we did get in the car it was an easy drive to more beaches, restaurants and local activities.

We LOVED Sunset Shores and Maui. When we come back we will for sure be looking to make our reservations to stay at Sunset Shores.

Mahalo!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great family get away

Review submitted: January 21, 2013   Date of arrival: December 15, 2012

Everything was perfect from the moment we arrived. The view, location, everything. To wake up and sit with a cup of coffee and watch turtles and wales was amazing. I would recommend this condo to anyone. It was close to anything you could want or need. The condo was clean and very nice. The customer service could not have been better. We would stay here again without a thought.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lahaina Paradise

Review submitted: December 17, 2012   Date of arrival: December 1, 2012

Picture can't possibly do justice to this beautiful Hawaiian condo in Lahaina. From the second you walk in the door, you are overcome by a feeling of relaxation. The condo is beautifully furnished, with a well-equipped kitchen. It is situated literally on the Pacific, with the sounds of waves crashing. lulling you to sleep at night.

We liked that it was minutes from the Lahaina shopping district and restaurants. The drive from the airport was easy and scenic.

We highly recommend this property and hope to visit it again!

Marilyn

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Supreme vacation stay

Review submitted: November 20, 2012   Date of arrival: November 8, 2012

We cannot imagine a more lovely place to stay on the island. This is a condo that draws you to hang out for the day rather than galivant about the island looking for relaxation. The view & surrounding beauty are beyond compare and the atmosphere is peaceful. The condo is spacious, amazingly well equipped & organized, immaculate, and the beds are exceptionally comfortable. The location is convenient with snorkling, surfing, shopping and dining very close by. The owners have left a wonderful notebook with all necessary information regarding the condo, the complex, and surrounding activities, etc. We enjoyed a number of their dining & activity recommendations. We also particularily enjoyed dining at the Sea House, situated at the oceanfront resort between Napili & Kapalua beaches. We would highly recommend this condo to friends and family and we plan on staying here again in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sunrises, rainbows, and coffee

Review submitted: September 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 29, 2012

Our family of five stayed at this property for four nights. Marilyn was very professional and prompt with all communications. The best feature of this condo was the lanai where everybody enjoyed their first cup of morning coffee with the view of the ocean and Molokai at distance. We also enjoyed the beautiful sunsets each evening, although it did get very warm. The Condo has a beautifully remodeled kitchen and bathrooms and everyone enjoyed the vacation. One note - on the final night, a group of locals set up 'camp' on the bench just outside & below the bedrooms & spent all night fishing. With the windows open, our sleep was interrupted by the sound of the night fishing activities. One small flaw; we highly recommend this condo.

Owners response: Aloha Lyn, Thank you for sharing your family's recent vacation experience. Sounds like you had a wonderful time. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our condo's large wrap-around lanai. It is a great spot to relax while enjoying the panoramic ocean view, the sunsets, and the tranquility of the ocean. The only sounds our guests should hear at night are those of the ocean (the bench that you mentioned has been removed). We hope you will plan to return again soon! Marilyn

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A beautiful condo in paradise

Review submitted: September 12, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

I sometimes wonder why I stay in hotels when I can stay in accommodations like this. This is an extremely comfortable and great condo, with awesome views of the ocean and the great sounds of waves all night long. It is part of a condo complex that was very nice with some great neighbors. It was quiet at night and with the new kitchen upgrade, it really is hard to beat. I hope we can get back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

SIX ITALIAN FRIENDS

Review submitted: September 6, 2012   Date of arrival: August 15, 2012

This Condo on Maui has been our first contact with Hawaii and it was wonderful: a very very nice apartment in a marvelous position, just 20 meters from the sea with a terrace in front of the Ocean and the sunset. The apartment is clean, large, plenty of light, and equipped with all incredible tools. The kitchen is new, the 3 bed rooms are spacious, the living room is delightful. And don't forget the turtles swimming just in front of you!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

SIX ITALIAN FRIENDS

Review submitted: September 6, 2012   Date of arrival: August 15, 2012

This Condo on Maui has been our first contact with Hawaii and it was wonderful: a very very nice apartment in a marvelous position, just 20 meters from the sea with a terrace in front of the Ocean and the sunset. The apartment is clean, large, plenty of light, and equipped with all incredible tools. The kitchen is new, the 3 bed rooms are spacious, the living room is delightful. And don't forget the turtles swimming just in front of you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely Loved the Condo!

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: May 5, 2012

Absolutely loved the condo! Here on a family vacation and this was a perfect spot. Enjoyed cocktails on the lanai at sunset, snorkeling with the turtles and sunning at the pool. Used the barbeque area for fresh fish dinners from the local fish market, and found your kitchen well stocked. Enjoyed the AWESOME views from the lanai and watching the turtles daily. Thank you for sharing your home and helping to make our family vacation such a success. The vote was unanimous that we need to return!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Condo and Awesome Views

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 4, 2012

The views! The moment you step in the front door, it is an OH WOW moment. From our lanai we watched dolphins and sea turtles in the late afternoon and evening. This is such a wonderful place. We are already planning to return to this condo. Thank you for sharing your wonderful home with us!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing Vacation in Great Condo!

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 4, 2012

Together with my family, we have had an amazing vacation. The condo is fantastic!! This was our first time on Maui and even though we of course have done some exploring of the island, the beautiful surroundings of the condo made us spend most of our stay at the beach below. The discovery of sea turtles made the days for us. Very exotic!! If we ever consider returning to Maui from Sweden, we will be happy to come back here.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Had a blast! Awesome view.

Review submitted: May 2, 2012   Date of arrival: September 19, 2011

Had a blast! The condo was the best we have had in the six years we have been coming to Maui. We were never wanting for anything you didn't furnish. Oh....and the view....awesome! If we are ever in need of a condo for six, we will be back. Thanks

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This condo has everything!

Review submitted: May 2, 2012   Date of arrival: December 8, 2011

We are 3 generations who decided to vacation on Maui together. I went on HomeAway and did quite a bit of research before I found 226 SunsetShoresMaui. I am very happy I spent so much time searching. This condo has everything! The little touches really help--such as labels for switches, enough towels. So often it the "corner cutting" that can be so annoying---but the owners have overdone the amenities here and it makes a beautiful place that much better. Everything is so well explained. Your Guest Information book is also so helpful. Love the wrap around lanai. I am sure this is the best unit in the complex. I hope we have a chance to come back some day. Thank you Marilyn and family for a great place to stay and experience Maui.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This is Nirvana!

Review submitted: May 2, 2012   Date of arrival: December 24, 2011

So beautiful and peaceful. We came with 3 generations of our family and spent a week here. We had the best time ever. Grandma was visiting from India and was amazed at the breathtaking beauty. When we entered the place and walked onto the balcony---Oh what a surprise! Beach was so close and ocean so lovely. The place is very clean and well kept and we hope we did not leave our footprint. Mahalo and thank you!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our best visit to Hawaii yet!

Review submitted: May 2, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

We are so grateful for this experience. Our family stayed in this beautiful condo and loved every minute of it. Our best visit to Hawaii yet. Loved the whales and the turtles. The condo had everything we needed. If we are able to return here to paradise, we will be back to this unit! Thanks so much.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

4th Year in a Row! Another Magnificent Vacation

Review submitted: May 2, 2012   Date of arrival: February 23, 2012

It's the fourth year in a row for our Ohana to stay in 226. Another magnificent stay. The sunsets, whale sightings from the deck, turtles up on the beach.....we'll be back!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Doesn't get much better...

Review submitted: March 27, 2012   Date of arrival: March 4, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this condo. Even with some crazy weather, it was just wonderful to sit on the lanai with a cocktail and just gaze and chat. After every long day out i always managed to utter..." i can't wait to get back to the condo". it was just so lovely and relaxing and we were always glad to be 'home'. on several occasions we enjoyed the pool, which we loved. It was always a comfortable temperature and beautifully tiled (which is delightful on your feet!)...sometimes it's the small things. The grounds are well kept and everyone that we met at PS (including the staff) were just delightful. i can only think of a couple of minor drawbacks...parking with more than one car is a little bit of a hassle and if you stay too long in visitor parking, they will threaten to tow you. so just be aware of that. there is no parking directly in front of PS either. as for the condo, one minor note... the second bedroom is relatively smaller than the other BRs and does not directly connect to a bathroom. there is a bathroom in the hallway, but everyone in the condo used that as the "go to" bathroom. not a big deal, but that is not clearly described. and if you are worried about no A/C (like I was), i never had a drop of sweat on me! It was totally comfortable (at least in March). In all, an excellent time and everyone in my group highly recommend this place.

Owners response: Thank you, Lynn, for taking the time to write about your vacation. Nothing makes us happier than to know that our guests had a wonderful time on Maui and at our condo. Maui really IS Paradise--- Our guests often tell us that they are overwhelmed when they arrive and see the view that awaits them. After a memorable day of enjoying all there is to see and do on the the island, it is even better to return "home" to sit down and relax. Beautiful sunsets, ocean gazing, turtle & whale watching....all can be done from your Maui "home." Perfect location for a perfect vacation! Hope you will return soon. Aloha, Marilyn

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Sunset Shores Maui

Review submitted: January 25, 2012   Date of arrival: January 6, 2012

This was our 4th trip to Hawaii, our 3rd to Maui. We stayed in resorts on our other trips. This was our first time to stay in a condo. We loved it.

The location of the condo is great. It is really close to restaurants and shopping, but when you get inside the unit you feel very private.

We stayed in this beautiful condo from January 6 - 13, 2012. I don't feel like the pictures show how beautiful this place is. You are literally steps from the ocean. The kitchen is fully furnished with every dish, utensil, pot, pan that you will need. The layout is open and inviting. There was every amenitie that we needed inside the condo. Beach towels, beach chairs, cooolers, snorkel gear, and boogie boards are provided.

The condo is beautifully maintained. The owners were always prompt with a response to any questions that I had. I would highly recommend this property.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A great view of paradise!

Review submitted: January 7, 2012   Date of arrival: December 24, 2011

I can't say enough good things about this condo! Myself and four other people stayed here over Christmas 2011 and we all agreed it was the icing on the cake of our trip to Maui. First, the area of Honokawai is north of the more touristy area of Kaanapali and south of Kapalua and Napili. It's nice and quiet and the traffic is minimal. At night, all we could hear was the sound of the waves crashing on the shore, nothing else. It is, however, easy to get to Lahaina and other shopping areas, not to mention some of the best restaurants I've had the joy to patronize. The condo was wonderfully appointed with plenty of towels, cooking utensils, etc. for our stay. I much prefer staying at hotels for this reason. Each bedroom area has its own bathroom, which was invaluable to my group. It is updated, and modern, but not showy. Very comfortable. We spent most of our time here on the lanai, and if you could experience it you would know why. I'm confident that this unit has the best view of all of the Polynesian Shores units, as it sits on an unobstructed corner of the property. The views from sunrise to sunset, and even in the middle of the night, were five star. I could go on and on about this unit, but in the end, it's all the same: if you are interested in an updated, quiet complex in which you can spend a wonderful vacation on Maui, then this is it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful Maui sunsets, whales and sea turtles

Review submitted: December 15, 2011   Date of arrival: December 8, 2011

A beautiful location, right on the water, well equipped and comfortable. Comfortable, clean and quiet with great snorkeling right out your door. A great place for a week or a month. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Maui with two married children

Review submitted: November 26, 2011   Date of arrival: November 18, 2011

The unit was wonderfully furnished and stocked and the location was perfect for us and our two married children. You need a car from this location- we had two, a van and a convertible to accommodate the varying intersts of our group. All questions were answered by the very cooperative and helpful owner. We can't recommend the unit highly enough and look forward to a return trip.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Stunning Location and perfect holiday for whole family!

Review submitted: September 21, 2011   Date of arrival: August 11, 2011

Our family of 5 ( 2 Adults and 3 pre-teen kids) had an unforgettable stay in this well-maintained,clean and ideally furnished rental. The view and the sunsets truely are breathtaking and the complex of condo's is perfectly suited for families. The listing photos and descriptions are perfectly accurate, although no photo can do the sunsets justice! The owners were extremely helpful and answered all our questions happily. This property is an undiscovered jewel and we have already recommended it to friends.
A particular highlight was the boat trip to Lanai plus a snorkel stop and seeing spinner dolphins and flying fish in the wild. We also enjoyed the Maui Ocean Centre and the Polynesian Evening at the Hyatt!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality and that the condo was well suited for your family's vacation. Yes the view and sunsets are wonderful! Thank you for visiting us all the way from Luxembourg. We were delighted to share our Maui condo with you and your family. Mahalo, Marilyn

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Just gorgeous

Review submitted: September 19, 2011   Date of arrival: August 17, 2011

Our family stayed in this beautiful condo for 7 nights in August 2011 and had a wonderful time. From the moment we arrived, we loved the uninterrupted views of the ocean and sunset everynight, and light-filled space of the condo. Our children ran downstairs to play on the grass and beach with other children and it was a very social atmosphere. The condo was very comfortable and well fitted-out with plenty of everything you could want for a self-contained holiday. Maui is a gorgeous island and this condo was the perfect accommodation for us from which to explore and enjoy the island, away from the glitz of big resorts. We will be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Maui is a great for family vacations--there is something for everyone. Our condo's location makes it very convenient to enjoy outdoor activities or take day trips to Maui's must-see sights. The relaxed atmosphere & spacious scenic setting make our condo a great place to just relax too. We pride ourselves on making sure the condo is well-maintained & furnished so our guests will have an unforgettable experience. The nightly sunsets are a great way to end each day in paradise!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Just returned from another great vacation in #226!

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 20, 2011

Just got back from a great vacation and wanted to drop you a quick line. We were all knocked over by how great your condo looked. It's always great--that's why we keep coming back after all these years. However, this time was something else! We loved the remodeled kitchen, the new ceiling, tiles, appliances, and countertops. What a difference, and the traffic flow was great. The glass windows looked brand new and the cleaning crew was exceptional. The condo was so clean. Anyway, thank you for allowing us to use your Maui home. We really enjoy it and appreciate the changes you have made. We hope to be back next year or the year after.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Paradise for your Vacation

Review submitted: July 11, 2011   Date of arrival: May 26, 2011

Paradise in Paradise. My family and I have been going to Polynesian Shores for almost 25 years. Our favorite spot in Paradise is #215504 in this listing. Absolutely gorgeous in every way. The owners continually update and improve the unit. This year they completely redid the kitchen, and it is absolutely incredible. Best appliances, great look and a marvelous flow.

The pictures are gorgeous and they do not do it justice. The views are superb of both Lanai & Molokai. The unit is close enough to the water to hear the waves at night which is part of the incredible experience each time we visit. We have personally stayed in this unit at least 15 times and beyond a doubt it is amazing and absolutely a joy to visit. The unit is very well maintained and stocked with all the essentials to enjoy your time in Paradise. The gentle breeze, the access to the water with the small beach right out your door, the barbecue on the water's edge, the peace and serenity of your own private balcony just feet from the water. The view during the day is magnificent the feeling at night when you are lucky enough to have the moon shining on the water is something that you must see to believe.

Each and everyone of our visits to this unit has been memorable and a joy. Always immaculate and ready for us. Great condition and ready to enjoy when you arrive. If you want to spend some serious unwinding time this is the place. It is large enough to accommodate a family with 4 kids with no problem.

Easy access to the pool and the ocean. So much nicer than the big fancy hotels. So much more intimate and peaceful. If you want the excitement of activity, you can easily visit the numerous other beaches and hotels that are very close.

So much to do. So much to enjoy. So much to remember. We have NEVER been disappointed with this unit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Paradise

Review submitted: April 7, 2011   Date of arrival: January 25, 2011

This was our first stay in Maui. We had the best time, the room was clean, the grounds were well kept and the pool was looked after. When we first walked into the unit our jaws dropped..wall to wall ocean. Sitting on the lanai we were watching whales jump and play and in the day we snorkled with the sea turtles just out front of our place. The kids had a lot to explore...awesome!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

We still LOVE it here -- 3rd visit in 4 years!

Review submitted: March 24, 2011   Date of arrival: February 28, 2011

This was our third visit in four years (see our Feb 2010 review below) and we can't wait to go back. We love Maui for beaches, snorkeling, whale watching, turtle watching, kayaking, sunset watching, and eating. And we love this beautiful oceanfront condo for all those reasons and more. As much as we love to get out and explore, we could also happily pass entire days looking at the view from the lanai or the living room couch. We look across the water and watch the light change on the islands of Lanai and Molokai, see turtles heads poking out near shore, whales breaching and dolphins spinning. Then there's sunset watching from the lanai, happy hour, grilling fish and farmers market veggies on the deck below and dinner on the lanai. The kitchen is fully equipped and super well organized, so cooking "at home" is a joy.
Our interactions with the owners have also been great. They go out of their way to make you feel at home and to follow up on any requests. They are super-responsive by phone and email and always looking for suggestions to make their home even more inviting. There's even a wonderful notebook in the condo with their suggestions for best shopping, favorite beaches, activities and restaurants.
For some practical advice, we load up on groceries at the Costco (a mile from the airport) on our way to the condo, about a 45 minute drive. We love the condo location on west Maui between Kaanapali and Napili, close to a variety of great beaches and a bit north of the more congested high-rise areas, but still with convenient grocery stores. Good shopping is nearby in downtown Lahaina and Lahaina Cannery Mall (Banana Wind!) and Whalers Village at Kaanapali. Maui Revealed is a great resource for info on dining and activities (a copy is in the condo). Snorkel Maui and Top Maui Restaurants are great resources for the seriously addicted snorkelers and foodies. Mama's Fish House is a favorite splurge for a late lunch and worth the drive, but we're so comfortable in the condo and love the sunsets so we mostly eat at home.
Can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Outstanding views; superb accommodation"

Review submitted: February 25, 2011   Date of arrival: February 15, 2011

Our stay in the condo surpassed all expectations. The beds were superbly comfortable, the kitchen was extremely well equipped; and there were a lot of little touches such as cool bags for packing picnics. We looked at other condo complexes in the area, and Polynesian Shores was superior to most. The lawns, pool and lanai equipped with barbecues were all delightful, and access to the beach for swimming and snorkelling was easy. Internet access was patchy which was a bit disappointing, and we actually lost it altogether for several days, but that didn't take away from the class of the property.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Sunset Shores Maui

Review submitted: January 19, 2011   Date of arrival: January 12, 2011

The location is wonderful! We loved the constant sound of the ocean! The condo is spacious and clean. We enjoyed our stay so much, we hope to return soon! Marilyn was quick to address any questions we had, and Ronette was quick to secure some items we had left behind!

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect place for a wonderful vacation!

Review submitted: December 28, 2010   Date of arrival: November 25, 2010

Thank you for letting us stay in your beautiful condo. We've done quite a few activities on the island, but we were most content right here at 226. The views, the turtles, the rainbosw and much more were so exciting to see. We hope to be back again soon. The place was perfect!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Vacation - Want to return

Review submitted: December 28, 2010   Date of arrival: November 6, 2010

We absolutely loved the condo! Perfect set-up and location! We watched the turtles every morning and enjoyed the sunsets every evening. Easy drive to all the activities we chose to do. We would definitely come back to this spot. The condo had everything we needed for a comfortable, wonderful vacation!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Love at first sight

Review submitted: October 22, 2010   Date of arrival: October 4, 2010

"My family and our friends have just returned from a week at Sunset Shores in Maui and we loved every minute! We felt that we truly lucked out on our accomodation and with 3 kids under 3 feel that it was a perfect fit!
The location of not only the unit within the property (think falling asleep to the sound of crashing waves every night, sipping coffee on your Lanai with unobstructed ocean views while watching sea turtles surfing the waves) but the location of the condo property was ideal. While the small beach at the property is not condusive to swimming with kids, we were happy with the pool and only a short drive away to calmer waters. The loft was perfect for our little family and the kitchen was equipped with everything we needed.
I was however most impresssed with Marilyn's fast replies and all the extra Aloha she showed us before arriving from answering my constant emails to researching where I could get goat milk for my son!
I would recommend this property to anyone looking for a peaceful, beautiful stay in Maui!"

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Great Location / Loved the Condo

Review submitted: October 13, 2010   Date of arrival: September 23, 2010

Our vacation was everything we hoped it would be. We loved the location of the condo. We had one small problem and someone was there within 5 minutes. We couldn't have been more satisfied. The condo was great and all we had to do was step outside to watch the green sea turtles. I've been to Maui twice and I would definately stay here again! Thank you for sharing your condo, we felt at home as soon as we walked in the door.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Paradise within Paradise

Review submitted: September 13, 2010   Date of arrival: May 27, 2010

Absolutely enchanting. It gets better every time we visit, and we have stayed in Polynesian Shores Unit 226 at least 15 times over the years. Each stay is breathtaking. The view from the deck cannot be replicated anywhere in my opinion. The family that owns the unit have invested over the years in keeping it modern and doing everything to esure a wonderful stay for their guests. We have seen new appliances added, the furniture "freshened" and new TV's added over the years. Everything we want in a place to enjoy some precious time off.

Our most recent stay was in late May and early June of 2010. PERFECT--the unit was in great shape, the weather was outstanding, the arrangements were impeccable, and about the VIEW--WOW!

You will have no problem relaxing and enjoying your entire Maui getaway. It is convenient to all that West Maui has to offer. The complex is meticulously maintained and adds to the overall experience.

Nothing is better in my mind than barbecuing on the Ocean Front deck and bringing the food back to your own private deck or joining the others in the complex for an Ocean Front experience.

The combination of Marilyn who is the owner of this unit and Julie who runs the desk at Polynesian shores is an unbeatable combination. The grounds at Polynesian Shores are meticulously maintained and that adds to the overall experience.

I have recommended the Polynesian Shores experience to all my family and friends. Unit 226 is in my opinion the best location in the complex.

Enjoy your stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Paradise and More!

Review submitted: September 2, 2010   Date of arrival: November 1, 2009

When we first opened the door to our beautiful condo, we felt we had stepped into a private paradise! The atmosphere of the condo was light and airy with very tasteful island decor. The lanai (outdoor balcony) wrapped around the condo and felt as if we were standing directly over the ocean. One of our favorite things to do was have our meals out on the lanai and watch the outrigger boats drift by, the turtles bobbing around right in front of us and the gorgeous sunsets (at dinnertime). And yes, I did say turtles! I had never seen so many sea turtles in my life. They apparently like to feed in this area of the shore because we literally would see half a dozen or more poking their heads out of the water or swimming around. That was such a treat and something that excites both child and adult alike. The bedrooms were quite comfortable. One bedroom was actually a loft but there was a bathroom in the loft as well, so it was convenient. The whole condo was so clean and there were plenty of towels (including beach towels!) provided. The kitchen was so well-appointed, we ate in most of the time! Everytime we wondered whether there was a kitchen gagdet (whisk, measuring cups, can opener, the list goes on), it was there! We didn't have to worry about a thing! We did eat out occasionally since we were well-situated close to tons of restaurants but our favorite thing to do was get fish from "The Fish Market" just down the street, bring it back to grill on the tiki deck and then eat it on the lovely lanai while watching the sun dip below the horizon. The view from the lanai allows you to see 2 other Hawaiian islands (Lanai and Molokai) which was just amazing. I couldn't recommend this particular condo highly enough! I've been to other Maui condos and this one really was memorable and felt so homey and special. We would return in a heartbeat.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

la casa piu' bella di maui

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: July 4, 2010

non ho parole per definire la meraviglia di questa casa, semplicemente perfetta. Arredata benissimo comodissima perfetta per visitare MAUI ma in particolere tre cose:
la gentilezza e disponibilita' di Marylin
i tramonti meravigliosi vissuti sul terrazzo
e ho fatto il bafgno tutti i giorni, nella soiaggia sotto casa con le tartarughe...!!!!
grazie Marylin grazie Maui
aloha, mahalo ciao

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo Guido,
Yes the view and sunsets are wonderful! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality and thought that the condo was well furnished. Swimming so close to the turtles each day is really something to remember. Thank you for visiting us all the way from beautiful Italy. We were delighted to share our Maui condo with you and your friends. Grazie, Marilyn

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We LOVE it here & have already reserved for 2011.

Review submitted: August 27, 2010   Date of arrival: February 15, 2010

We actually DO feel like 226 is OUR condo. From the day we walked in 2 years ago, saw the amazing 2-sides view, and started cooking from the fabulously equipped kitchen, we were hooked! We even made a joke of it – can we think of some kitchen tool that isn’t already available in 226? My husband is a fisherman and fabulous fish cook so we do most of our meals here, based on Costco or Safeway fish. We LOVE it here.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Sunset Maui Shores

Review submitted: August 3, 2010   Date of arrival: June 14, 2010

The property was every bit as beautiful as described in the rental description. Everything we needed as far as amenities, was there. The lanai, bbq area and pool area was very relaxing. We were able to watch the turtles as they swam by just a few yards away. The beaches and town was just a short drive in both directions. I would recommend this property to my friends and would return should I return to the island of Maui.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful Stay. I Can Still Hear the Ocean if I Close My Eyes!

Review submitted: July 5, 2010   Date of arrival: June 20, 2010

My family of 6 had the pleasure of staying here for 4 nights in June of 2010. From the moment we stepped in the door we knew it was something special. After a long day of travel, it was an amazing feeling knowing we were going to be staying here. From the spectacular views of the ocean, other islands, sunsets, rainbows, sea turtles, etc., to the beautiful furnishings, wrap around lanai, well landscaped grounds, down to the fresh pineapple waiting for us. Oh, and those sea breezes and the sound of the ocean at night... not sure I will ever sleep as well again!

As far as location, it was great for our sightseeing both north and south. There is a nice little farmer’s market within walking distance and Lahaina is an easy drive. All the conveniences are nearby and lots of nice places to eat, especially enjoyed take-out from Honokowai Okazuya. No need to eat out too often though since no restaurant will have a view anywhere close to the one you can enjoy from your lanai!

The other point I wanted to mention is that Marilyn was a pleasure to deal with. The arrangements were painless and she was helpful beyond necessary and made us feel most welcome. I think that is a huge plus when dealing with condo rental. All in all, we stayed in 4 locations on 2 islands and this was the nicest. Did I mention the sea breezes and sounds of the ocean? Book it now!

The Schencks
Madison, WI

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review