reviews for: listing #66659 - Palmetto, Florida House rental

Vacation in the Sun
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Bay Colony
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $175 - $225 /nt
    $1,150 - $1,250 /wk
    $3,200 - $3,800 /mth

sort by:

A Wonderful Family Gathering Place

Review submitted: February 11, 2014   Date of arrival: November 9, 2013

The owner is so friendly and accommodating. She even left little surprises around the home for the children. It was hard to want to leave the house during the day because it was so relaxing and so easy to entertain everyone. A canoe, a kayak, bikes, a pool, toys for the kids, a tree house and a lot of nice rooms to read and socialize with the group. The location was great for visiting our family, but we also found it close to two of our favorite places to visit, DeSoto Beach and Emerson Point. We highly recommend families stay here. It is spacious, clean and very inviting.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect family vacation spot

Review submitted: January 31, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

We have stayed in vacation homes from Hawaii to Bar Harbor to Sorrento, Italy and this was without a doubt the most welcoming home we have been in. The property was impeccable yet comfortable and inviting. The house was spacious and their was plenty of room for 5 adults, 3 kids and the dog. We came for a family Christmas vacation and Susan put up a tree for us to decorate and left little touches of Christmas all over the place. There were games for kids aged 1 to 101. The location was perfect on a cul de sac in a quiet family neighborhood situated right on one of the canals leading to the Bay. We all agreed this is a vacation home we would return to.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

D & J

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

We stayed for two and a half weeks and thoroughly enjoyed our time. The home was clean and was the 'best stocked' home we have ever rented. The location was ideal, with short drives to Anna Marie Island, Bradenton Beach, Longboat key as well as Sarasota, St. Pete, etc. The house can handle a large family. The owners were accommodating, very easy to deal with. Restaurants: River House & Kostas in Palmetto, The Waterfront on Anna Marie Isl. were great along with many others. We enjoyed the pool and lanai that had a lot of lounge chairs, pool toys, etc. A manatee was seen in the canal almost daily and you can fish off the dock. This home is on our recommended list.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Palmetto Vacation

Review submitted: June 18, 2013   Date of arrival: May 26, 2013

WOW, this place is large! The lawn was beautifully maintained. There were sitting areas everywhere. There were 5 sofas arranged for entertaining in the living area. I loved the open floor plan. The game table was a source of entertainment for our older grandchildren. The kitchen was stocked with all of the bells and whistles for cooking for a crowd. Lots of table and chairs for dining. We celebrated with our daughter and her 3 small children from MS. Our son lives in Palmetto and their family of 6 joined us for meals. We never felt crowded and never were short of chairs etc. The family area overlooks the pool and the canal and dock. It was so relaxing, it felt like a vacation! The bedroom with 3 single beds was huge and so beautifully decorated with a large closet with lots of toys etc to entertain the 3 children. This room would also work well for 3 adults! The children all loved the outside tree house with swings and slide. The master bedroom was huge with a huge walk-in closet. We were able to store all of our luggage out of our way with lots of storage room left! The pool was wonderful with more setting than we needed, nice table and chairs and a bathroom right there! We had fun fishing off of the dock with poles furnished as well as canoeing and the kayak for two. We never found time for the bicycles. The whole house was beautifully decorated and again I must say huge! It was nice to park in the garage and to have a opener to take when we shopped. We celebrated our grand daughter's high school graduation, our grandson's 20th birthday and my husband's 70th birthday. Susan young is great to work with! I would stay there again!!

Carol from TN

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Easey Access

Review submitted: March 22, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

We spent the month traveling between Orlando, St. Petersburg, Tampa, Clearwater, Bradenton & Anna Marie Isand using this rental as home base & it was extremely convenient!! The owner, who was easy to do business with, supplied everything from linens, paper supplies, cleaning supplies, stationary supplies,seamstress supplies,first aid suppllies, easy to access WIFI, maps & brochures of local interests. Located on a canal, you could even try fishing - we did! My 3 year old grandson thoroughly enjoyed the 'toy closet' and outdoor gym set when we were home. I found a baby product rental agency in Sarasota,that delivers, for a small charge, for our 5 month old grandson's baby needs. . .even set up & dismantled the crib. The game table, board games, puzzles and cards were also well used by family and friends. Our medium to large dog enjoyed the neighbors pets and had no problem feeling protective of the rental property. We would recommend this home to our friends traveling in the area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent location

Review submitted: November 14, 2012   Date of arrival: November 3, 2012

We just returned from our stay at this home and we were very pleased with it's location. The house was quite spacious and very well appointed with all the comforts of home and more. The home owner Susan was amazing to deal with and definitely goes the extra "mile" to assure your stay is perfect. We highly recommend this home and look forward to returning soon.
Terry

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay !

Review submitted: May 11, 2012   Date of arrival: April 12, 2012

I am happy my wife found this beautiful home to stay in while we visited Florida. We have stayed in many VRBO homes in the past few years from Hawaii to Florida and I can honestly say this was the best we've seen. The home has everything a family needs and met our every need. Susan was very accomadating through-out our stay. We had family members come in from a few northern states and they were very impressed with the house, the pool and the dock. Our nephews and neices that lived locally loved the swingset and tree house in the back. The house has a great layout and is close to everything in the area. We will definitely stay here again !

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful House!

Review submitted: March 25, 2012   Date of arrival: February 7, 2012

We rented this home for four weeks and could not have been happier. The home was extremely well equipped with everything you could ask for. The home owners provided us with literature a month before our arrival on interesting things to see and do. Susan and her husband were very helpful. We particularly enjoyed having the fenced in yard for our small dog. The neighbors were also extremely friendly and helpful. There was also great fishing right off of the dock in the backyard. We would not hesitate to return to this home.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

WOW! Super House, Super Comfort, Super Location!!

Review submitted: October 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 1, 2011

My husband and I have stayed in this wonderful house several times over the past year in order to attend to nearby family-related needs. We are so glad that we found this great property. It provided a super respite for us after rather stressful days!

This home is huge -- it has four bedrooms and can easily sleep 8. There were only the two of us, and we loved having all of the space. The design of the home is open and airy. If you are in the kitchen or den area, you have a terrific view of the water and canal. There are several TVs in the home, with a huge one in the den/living area with tons of channels -- perfect for couch potatoes like us. However, if you aren't a couch potato, you have a lovely enclosed swimming pool to use, and you also can dock your boat -- or bring your fishing rods (or use the ones the owners have thoughtfully provided) to catch some fish.

The furnishings in the home are just right for a Florida location, and everything is very comfortable. The house is extremely clean and well maintained.

Palmetto is a small town in a great location. You can easily get to points of interest in Sarasota, Bradenton, or take a quick ride across the bay to go to Tampa and St. Petersburg. If you are into touring and shopping, this location is right in the middle of everything! (The VRBO review tips recommend listing activities, attractions, and restaurants nearby. There are SO many excellent ones of each in the area that they would take up this entire review if I listed them!)

We honestly cannot think of one negative thing to say about this "home away from home." The house is great, the neighborhood is lovely, the location is super, and the owners are more than accommodating -- very thoughtful and solicitous of their guests' needs.

You won't go wrong if you choose this home for your work-related or vacation stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Highly recommended for vacationers

Review submitted: June 1, 2011   Date of arrival: May 19, 2011

The property was excellent in every respect. Large airy rooms with a beautiful view of the canal and boating activity. The swimming pool was very nice, lots of pool furniture, a BBQ, canoe, kayak, pool toys, everything clean and well maintained. The owners were terrific, responsive to our arrangements prior to arrival, and solicitous of our comfort during our stay. We would recommend this rental to any group of family or friends who might be looking for Florida ambiance with proximity to shopping, services, and entertainment.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: May 1, 2011   Date of arrival: April 24, 2011

We went back and forth on the idea of renting a home vs. staying at a hotel, but we decided to rent this home and we are so glad we did. The amenities this house includes weren't even listed, as there are too many to list! We truly felt like this was our home away from home, as it had everything and more we ever needed, and even things we didn't think we would need, and ended up using anyway! The convenience of being in a home far outweighs the little extra money it costs to stay in a home! The owners mailed us maps and brochures weeks before our arrival, met us at the home at check in, and were easily accesible whenever we had questions. Owners were incedibly easy to get along with, and we truly felt at home in their home! We can't wait to come back and stay in this home again! A fun time was had by all, and many memories made in this home! Thank you so much!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review