reviews for: listing #66672 - St Simon's Island, Georgia House rental

Big Dawg House
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community  East Beach
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $450 - $650 /nt
    $2,800 - $4,000 /wk
    $6,000 - $7,000 /mth

sort by:

Great property

Review submitted: October 2, 2013   Date of arrival: September 21, 2013

Looked around for a last minute trip and found this property. Had everything we wanted and more. Can't beat the views from the front balconies, the beds are comfortable (all of our co-guests slept well), the jetted bath in the master is amazing, the pool is a nice and fun touch. Short walk to the beach and even with my disability, it was no problem. Having the elevator makes this house very accessible for those who can't do stairs, but it is small so someone in a chair will find it a tight fit but very doable. The only issue was no gas in the tank for the gas BBQ grill but we fixed that by just running out and getting charcoal and using that grill instead. The Winn-Dixie is well supplied and not a far drive at all. Be sure to bring extra TP, paper towels, trash bags and dishwasher detergent if you will be staying more than a weekend with a full or close to full house, since you are given (as is stated in the rental agreement) a starter supply of these items. For a short stay or a house of 5 or less for longer it won't be an issue. Just about every room has a ceiling fan, which is GREAT and the AC is top notch with separate controls for the 2nd and 3rd floors. Wifi in the house works great, allowing folks who weren't up to playing a game to stream movies on their laptops with ease. Only improvement that could be made is to have a second frig/freezer combo in perhaps the billiards room or garage, since keeping the food AND drinks cold for a group of 5 for 5 nights was a wee bit of a challenge. We would totally stay at this house again with no second thoughts! We all loved the house and recommend it without hesitation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous House!

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

We planned our summer vacation a bit late this year and lucked out when this property was available. Top notch from top to bottom, it proved to have plenty of space for our families (3 families and 8 people total). The pool was great and the beach was accessible without a terribly long walk. Billy was very friendly and accommodating. Recommended!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great House exceeded all expectations

Review submitted: August 4, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

We had a great family vacation in St. Simmons Island. The house had everything and Billy helped on any questions and information. The house has the best access to beachs, allowing for daily walks and short swims, just steps away from outside shower and pool. ""Great House" we will be back. We had two other houses rented durring the re-union of our families total 35 in three houses. This house was the the house everyone thought was the best!!! Great time for all.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Comfortable, Clean, Well Equipped, and Great Location

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

We had four senior (over 60) couples that have vacationed together several times. All are very discriminating (particularly the wives) about accomodations and all were more than pleased with this lovely home. With four bedrooms and four baths, it is perfect for 4 couples. The combination of living, dining and open kitchen kept everyone in on all discussions. Back deck grill was in regular use. The large garage provided space for my boat and trailer so we never had to unload the fishing gear from the boat and the location seems very private and secure. Also, plenty of room for 3 other vehicles in front and rear parking areas. Biking (we brought our own) was a favorite group activity with great paved bike trails to the village and beyond and beautiful scenery along the marsh. Access to the beach for evening strolls was very convenient. We will look forward to renting this home again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great week at the Big Dawg!!!

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

The Big Dawg House was all we had hoped far-- lots of room, well appointed and cared for and great location. Very short walk to the beach and great private pool. Giant 2-car garage with elevator were icing on the cake. our three generation family (2- 60 yrs all had a great time and will come again! Billy the owner was very helpful and easy to deal with.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Had a great time!

Review submitted: August 12, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2011

My family and I spent 3 nights at this beautiful home! We all had a great time!
The house was perfect for a family gathering. The large back deck and private pool were a great gathering place. We enjoyed walking on the beach at night and the neighborhood was ideal for running and/walks.
Thanks Billy for all of your help!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great House and Location

Review submitted: August 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

We go to St. Simons nearly every year and this was the best location and house that we've rented. The ocean views from the 2nd and 3rd floors was wonderful. The beach was only a short distance and we really enjoyed the private pool. We had family ranging from 92 years old to 21 months old there and everyone was comfortable. The parking was also great. We had 4 vehicles, a boat and trailer, and a golf cart and trailer with us and we had plenty of parking for all of it. Billy was very nice to talk to and very helpful before and during our stay. We would absolutley recommend this rental.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A Great Vacation House!

Review submitted: June 13, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

I agree with the previous reviews...it's a wonderful house with beautiful views of the ocean. In the past, we've had some disappointing vacation rental experiences but this one is as advertised. The house is spacious, clean and well furnished. The private pool is a great amenity and the beach access is only a half block away. Billy was always helpful in responding to questions before and during our vacation. I would definitely recommend this house as a great place to stay at St. Simons Island.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Couples Getaway

Review submitted: March 7, 2011   Date of arrival: March 2, 2011

Just returned from a fabulous 4 day vacation at Billy's house - great location, wonderful open floor plan, comfortable beds, great porches. It was a great house for gathering with our "baby boomer" buddies and having fun. St. Simons offered multiple restaurants to enjoy - loved Crabdaddys' fried shrimp and Brogens for casual lunch. Took a day trip to Cumberland Island that was awesome. Thanks for your attentiveness, Billy, to all of our needs. Hope to be back soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

absolute luxury

Review submitted: October 11, 2010   Date of arrival: September 15, 2010

This home is just the most relaxing place we've ever stayed. We enjoyed all of it. Great views -the water from the front porches; the pool from the big back porch. We loved having a pool to float around in and be totally lazy. Just a very short walk to the beautiful beach. Great for walking! Plenty of room for meals, games, or puzzles in the dinning room. It has a whole house sound system, great for listening to the game if you're outside. The elevator is great for getting all the luggage and groceries to the right place. No problem with the wireless either. All the bedrooms were very comfortable. The home was very clean. It's a great location, in a neighborhood, and very close to dining and shopping. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Beautifull Home

Review submitted: July 28, 2010   Date of arrival: July 15, 2010

This home is just as the pictures show. Very well maintained. The owner was very helpful with any questions or issues. We rented additional bikes (2 were provided at the home) and biked around the area everyday. The beach is a very short walk away. For those of you not familiar with this area there are big rocks lining the beach area to prevent if from washing away and the water is brown and you cannot see the ocean bottom. For us it was not a big deal because my kids like to be on the beach but not so much in the ocean. We really enjoyed the not crowded beach and the beautiful home. The pool is a nice plus after spending our day at the beach we would come back and swim. We cooked some meals in and also dined at area restaurants. The kitchen is well stocked with essentials as well as an outdoor grill. The only things we needed and brought from home were our beach towels, a small cooler for the beach and fishing poles. We would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wow!

Review submitted: May 25, 2010   Date of arrival: May 21, 2010

This house, the location, and the hospitality of the owners & island are amazing! Billy was always available via cell phone and lives on the island as well so he's not far away.

You will be hard pressed to need or want something that the house and location don't have. The house is beautifully appointed and the views are stunning. The elevator was a welcome amenity when moving in and moving out. We only wish we could've stayed longer!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Couldn't have been better!

Review submitted: May 12, 2010   Date of arrival: May 4, 2010

Beautiful is an understatement. You couldn't want anymore. The house even looks better in person. The location is wonderful. Beautifully decorated. The mattresses are amazing. You can enjoy an afternoon bicycle ride around the area. Walk to the beach, enjoy the gorgeous pool. The house and grounds are spotless. This is a great vacation place for famlies or couples. There are plenty of places to have lunch or dinner nearby. The lighthouse, Coast Guard Station, or The Fort are all nice attractions to see. The owner was a pleasure to deal with. We will definitely, definitely be back. Not kidding, outstanding!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful HOME

Review submitted: April 30, 2010   Date of arrival: April 22, 2010

My sisters and daughters vacationed in this "Wonderful" beach home. The pictures do not reveal the beauty of this home. We truly enjoyed every minute of this home and the wonderful island. We dined at the local restaurants in the evening and enjoyed breakfast and lunch on the balconies of this home. Thank you for a wonderful weekend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: April 18, 2010   Date of arrival: April 6, 2010

This was our first time at St. Simon's Island and our stay at this property made it even more memoriable. It was spotless and very accommodating to our whole family. The children even swam in the pool even though it wasn't heated. There is a lot to do in the near area and the town is wonderful. We loved being able to ride our bikes into town on great bike paths and play grounds near by for the kids. We were very close to the beach too. We have already recommended this property to friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Fabulous Beach Vacation Home!

Review submitted: October 12, 2009   Date of arrival: October 3, 2009

Our family stayed at this property for 1 week and could not have asked for nicer accommodations. Everything about the property was as-advertised and even better. The home was spotless when we arrived and is obviously very well-maintained. The furnishings were beautiful and the home was very open with tons of natural light. The ocean views were terrific, particularly from the third floor balcony. The owner was very responsive as we were a little challenged with the TV remote and he sent someone over to walk us through it. The location of the home is great as its across the street from the ocean in a neighborhood that's great for riding bikes and the downtown area is only a 5-10 minute bike ride away. The house has great amenities such as a pool, jacuzzi in the master bath, pool table in the recreation room and an elevator (important for us as a member of the family is disabled). We could not have been happier with our choice!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Review submitted: June 22, 2009   Date of arrival: June 22, 2009

Our family plans a beach vacation together every summer. There are eight of us and we all travel from different cities. We thought St. Simons Island would be a great place to visit and we weren't disappointed. This lovely house exceeded all our expectations. The house is very large and each of the four couples had their own bedroom and bathroom. On the nights we didn't go out for dinner at the wonderful local restaurants, each couple took turns making dinner in the large, beautiful kitchen which had everything you needed to cook up a gourmet meal. We loved to sit on one of the many balconies which overlooked the ocean (which is across the street)or the swimming pool, which we enjoyed every day. After dinner, we enjoyed a competitive game of pool. The house was spotless which made this "neat freak" very happy. Thank you, Billy, for the use of your home and for always being a phone call away if we needed anything. We loved our vacation on SSI!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review