reviews for: listing #66687 - British Virgin Islands, Caribbean Cottage rental

Coppermine Cottage
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Virgin Gorda
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $165 - $257 /nt
    $1,155 - $1,800 /wk
    $3,500 - $4,500 /mth

sort by:

Good

Review submitted: June 24, 2014   Date of arrival: June 15, 2014

The house had everything we needed. It was easy to get to. Property manager escorted us to the house which was incredibly helpful.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great taste of island life

Review submitted: August 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 15, 2013

This was our first time to the BVI and we loved it. The beaches are beautiful and the people are SO friendly!! As expected, food prices are high so plan accordingly. We pack snacks and take them with us, our girls are always hungry after a day at the beach.

The house was very nice and is located in a very quiet neighborhood. When staying here, you must get a rental car. We traveled the entire island and found a couple of beaches that the locals hang out at -- had the best time at those!

We only used the air conditioning to hide the sound of the palm tree rubbing the roof over the master bed. There is always such a nice breeze. It rained briefly each night after we went to bed, I have never seen or heard rain fall so hard and fast in my entire life. The house is well stock with kitchen utensils, toiletries, linens and towels -- both bath and beach towels. The pool is a really nice feature as well, be careful -- there is no shallow area.

The outside dining is great and the view is very nice as well. I only wish there was a citronella candle to keep the bugs away. Take spray with you, most of the restaurants have a can for you to borrow while dining. The house manager is very friendly and helpful. Overall we really enjoyed ourselves. The only bad part of our vacation was leaving.

If you have a chance to stay in this wonderful cottage ad visit Virgin Gorda -- do it, you will not be sorry!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

"Perfect Spot"

Review submitted: June 26, 2013   Date of arrival: June 14, 2013

My wife and I have been to Virgin Gorda 4-5 times over the last 15 years. We usually stay at various high end resorts. This time we brought our 9 year old son and decided to experience something different. We are so glad we did, the Coppermine Cottage was perfect. The spacious residence was quite charming and very comfortable. We rented a 4x4 and discovered every inch of paradise. This property is very close to the Baths/Devils Bay(went daily), Yacht Harbor in Spanishtown, interisland ferry service and most of the best beaches(Savanna Bay/Nail Bay). The neighborhood is very quiet and safe(local homes/Villas). Provisioning can be done at a lovely local market and the cottage is perfect if you want to cook, however most of our dining was at the resorts or the "local spots." This Island and the cottage area are very safe with virtually no crime. The locals are very friendly and know the cottage owner. At the end of the day we couldn't wait to go back to the cottage and relax by the pool and look forward to sleeping with the tradewinds blowing across the beds. We did not even put the airconditioning on ! We were a little hesitant to rent this property as our home in NJ is 4500 sq. ft. but this turned out to be everything we needed and more. From now on - this will be our base in BVI (no more resorts)!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great home base

Review submitted: April 16, 2013   Date of arrival: April 4, 2013

This property was perfect in every way for all, we were 2 couples, which the house is set up for, the pool and porch were key also had a great 9 days there,
While we explored the whole island. EVERYTHING, was as advertized,and spotless.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for a couples get-away

Review submitted: January 9, 2013   Date of arrival: December 30, 2012

We had a great time at the cottage and look forward to returning! The outdoor eating area was perfect for our group. We ate, played games, used the wifi, and basically lived on the porch! We went with one other couple and couldn't have been happier. The bedrooms are (HUGE!) on opposite sides of the house and offer a lot of privacy. We have stayed at many places on the island and have never stayed somewhere so quiet!!! We didnt hear a single rooster or ANY street noise. Also, the property manager was right next door if we ever needed anything. We utilized the kitchen and large outdoor grill by eating in everyother night. WE LOVED THE COTTAGE!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent Stay at Coppermine Cottage

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the coppermine cottage! The cottage was perfect for our family of four (children 11 and 13). Renting the car is a must - and we enjoyed exploring the island, snorkeling at all the beaches and scuba diving. We highly recommend going to the other side of the island to have ribs at Hog Heaven - Titus will treat you right! Having the pool was fantastic - we enjoyed swimming every afternoon before going out for our daily early evening snorkel. The owners were easy to work with and onsite manager was there when we needed him, very pleasant indeed. Did not need the AC, so that wasn't a problem as others noted. The living area is smallish, but worked great for us, wifi was convenient and worked out on the porch - which is a great place for hanging out. We highly recommend Virgin Gorda as a vacation destination (as long as you aren't looking for a lot of organized activities), and Coppermine Cottage, as a great place to stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Charming Cottage in Paradise

Review submitted: December 15, 2012   Date of arrival: December 6, 2012

Copper mine Cottage is the perfect place for 1-2 couples. Just a short jaunt from some of the most beautiful beaches on earth..copper mine cottage has charm and all the amenities one needs..virgin Gorda is a paradise to be explored..we had a lovely time..will return..

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Cozy Simple Home away from Home

Review submitted: October 18, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Coppermine Cottage from Oct 6-14 with our 2 year old son. I have been traveling to VG for almost 15 years but were unable to stay at our friend's home due to construction this year. Coppermine Cottage was a nice change, particularly having a pool which we haven't had in the past. The pool was perfect size- not huge, but not too small. However, as someone else mentioned, it is surrounded by 2 other cottages so there is not total privacy (fine for us). On the other hand, we did not see anyone in either cottage all week.
The location on Coppermine Rd is quiet and convenient to everything, with the Mineshaft Cafe being the closest restaurant and Rosie's Supermarket the closest store. If you really wanted it to be, it is technically walkable to beaches but It is farther than I'd like to walk!
The house is small but has everything you really need. We enjoyed the views off the deck at dinner each night and the BBQ grill. Both beds were very comfortable. Only 1 Bedroom was air conditioned, so we ended up having our son sleep with us as it is always very warm this time of year. In the winter, I would assume that the breezes and temps would be great to sleep with a/c in the other room since it was well ventilated. The TV and wifi worked great and having laundry on site was a huge help!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great cottage, great value, great owner and great property mananger

Review submitted: July 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 27, 2012

We stayed at this prroperty the end of June. It was perfect for four people and well equipped. Basic but everything you need. We were concerned about not having a/c through out the house but we definitely did not need it. There was always a breeze. Everyone was so nice to deal with. It was great having a pool to come back to at the end of the day.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great quiet spot

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 10, 2012

The cottage was perfect for two couples. It was clean, comfortable and well equipped. The covered porch is the perfect spot for an evening meal with the view of incredible sunsets over Tortola island. The rental car is a must to get to beaches and to tour the rest of Virgin Gorda. We would definately stay at the cottage again if we returned to the BVIs.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beyond expectations

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: December 23, 2011

Coppermine cottage is way beyond it's discription, everything you could imagine is supplied the place is spotless.
The owner is a pleasure to deal with and the onsite manager ready to look after all your needs.
More than enough room for the 4 adults in our party we will return

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful vacation!

Review submitted: August 29, 2010   Date of arrival: July 28, 2010

Cottage was very nice - clean and well-maintained. Owner was helpful in picking us up at the ferry and taking us to the cottage. She gave great tips on restaurants and grocery stores. She even came back the next day to make sure we found our way around and to make sure we didn't need anything. My only suggestion would be to add pictures of the inside of the cottage. Very nice and comfortable. Cottage is centrally located and within minutes of great restaurants, grocery stores and beaches. The Rock Cafe at the bottom of the hill has great pizza and the Mind Shaft up the hill has wonderful dinner entrees. Hope to be able to stay there again!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review