reviews for: listing #66702 - Emerald Isle, North Carolina Cottage rental

Carolina Clipper
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Emerald Isle, NC
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $140 - $175 /nt
    $795 - $1,995 /wk
    $1,900 - $1,900 /mth

sort by:

Exceeds all expectations of a Beach Vacation Home!

Review submitted: July 28, 2014   Date of arrival: July 13, 2014

We were looking for a large home for multiple families to be able to stay comfortably and this was it. HomeAway gave us every description and the location so we could plan our vacation from out of state. The manager/owners went above and beyond with customer service and providing everything needed at this beautiful home. Everything that you need or want to do is very close by and you don't ever have to venture too far. This was a fabulous vacation experience and we all hope to be able to return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A perfect family vacation!!!

Review submitted: July 2, 2014   Date of arrival: June 22, 2014

Great Stay!! The Carolina Clipper was the perfect beach house for our family vacation. Traveling with elderly, active adults and 2 kids. The beautiful sandy beach is just seconds away from this house, with great views from the decks. My favorite spot was the hammock outside the master bedroom, reading, napping, or just enjoying the breeze and salt air I was in heaven!! Perfect spot between downtown Morehead City and Emerald Isle. We will be back!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

. Clean, roomy, spectacular views.Beautiful home.

Review submitted: June 24, 2014   Date of arrival: March 28, 2014

Beautiful, clean and spacious home. The views are fabulous. Even caught a glimpse of dolphins everyday! Price is fair. Would definitely stay here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sensational Beach Trip

Review submitted: June 24, 2014   Date of arrival: June 15, 2014

We had a sensational beach vacation at your wonderful house!!! It was so nice to have an elevator to use for carrying food and clothes both up and down; otherwise, we did not use it. The beds were very comfortable and the privacy was so nice with sharing bathrooms. THe Family Room/Kitchen were awesome!!! THe view was spectacular and we enjoyed the space for the family. Getting back and forth to the beach was easy and just sitting out on the big deck was simply marvelous!!! The bicycles were used by my daughter and her husband. We enjoyed watching movies and spending time just being together. We used the kitchen daily. It was great to have a garage for our cars. Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home with us so that we could make a memory of a lifetime!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Value; Great Owners

Review submitted: June 24, 2014   Date of arrival: May 11, 2014

Overall this place is excellent, good location, great views, very near ocean front views and super easy walk to the beach. closer than other ocean view houses i've stayed in. great parking area. AC died on us but Tommy was a quick phone call away and it was fixed asap the next morning. The one thing that should be noted, if you have young kids, is the balcony rails are a) too short, and b) the slats are spaced too far apart. We couldn't let our 1 or 3 year old on the balcony at all because of this since they could fit through the slats. I didn't even feel comfortable on it with the rails as low as they are. That's the only complaint so if you don't have children by all means stay here-- it's great.

Owners response: We built our beach house when our children were very young and safety of our family and friends was and still is of paramount importance to us. Our home, including our decking, was built to required state building codes and inspected prior to occupancy by the local building inspector. All beach homes in North Carolina were built to the same standards.

Tommy Roberson
Owner

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Carolina Clipper Rocks!

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2013

We had a wonderful vacation at the Carolina Clipper. The place is clean and upstairs is spacious with plenty of seating for our large family meals and games. Ocean views are fabulous from two decks. Everyone enjoyed the hammock off the master bedroom. It felt private and cozy. The porches were wonderful. With linens and towels provided, a washer and dryer, and everything you need in the fully equipped kitchen - it made our week especially easy. The outdoor shower and hose is super convenient too. It is close to the stores and restaurants. The beach is very clean and not overly crowded. We loved our first stay in Emerald Isle. Thank you so much!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Clipper Rocks

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2013

We had a wonderful vacation at the Carolina Clipper. The place is clean and upstairs is spacious with plenty of seating for our large family meals and games. Ocean views are fabulous from two decks. Everyone enjoyed the hammock off the master bedroom. It felt private and cozy. The porches were wonderful. With linens and towels provided, a washer and dryer, and everything you need in the fully equipped kitchen - it made our week especially easy. The outdoor shower and hose is super convenient too. It is close to the stores and restaurants. The beach is very clean and not overly crowded. We loved our first stay in Emerald Isle. Thank you so much!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great beach house that's super clean-relaxing!

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 9, 2013

My family had an absolutely fantastic vacation at the Carolina Clipper. This beach house has everything needed for a great stay. We were amazed at all that the owners provided like a variety of kitchen supplies. The owner is very organized and reliable to work with and we would recommend this home to other friends and family members. We are planning to return again for our next beach vacation. We loved it!

Owners response: The Carolina Clipper is our second home and we keep it like our home of residence . We are glad that our renters have enjoyed the amenities which we provide and we look forward to having them return in the future.

Tommy Roberson

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Relaxing family vacation.....

Review submitted: November 21, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

My family had a wonderful stay at the Carolina Clipper. The views were breathtaking, and exactly as described by other renters. This trip was a much needed tranquil experience. The accommodations were perfect for our family of four, as well as my husband's parents. My boys and I had great walks on the beach...looking for sea shells, watching the dolphins play, and looking for sand crabs. I would recommend this home to all renters visiting Emerald Isle. :-)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: October 12, 2012   Date of arrival: September 23, 2012

Our stay at this fantastic place was perfect. The house is spacious. The views of the ocean from the decks are wonderful. It was good to be able to see both the ocean and the sound from both the decks and the living area. The owner of the property was attentive and wanted to make sure that we had all of the informations that we needed. Two of us mostly stayed on the property and enjoyed the views and the facility as well as the the time spent with each other. The other two went walking on the beach, fishing, swimming, and kayaking. We also rented scooters down at Atlantic Beach. All of us would have liked to have stayed longer. The place was even better than described.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Greensboro

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 19, 2012

Great house, great vacation, great time with my family and friends.....including BOTH of our sons! The view from this house is wonderful! Communication with the home owner was excellent! We hope to visit the Crystal Coast again soon and stay at the Carolina Clipper!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Can't say enough

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

Very close to beach, excellent views of beach, incredible layout for parking, loved the outside shower and all of the extra beach supplies, including bicycles. Enjoyed the hammock, the beach butler (outdoor elevator) was a great addition for GRANDPA. I can't say enough positive things about this property and location to the beach.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: The Carolina Clipper Beach house was built on one of the highest lots in Emerald Isle. The views of the ocean are spectacular and their are also views of the sound.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Place to Stay!

Review submitted: August 2, 2012   Date of arrival: July 15, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to everyone! The house was clean, very well equipped -- we didn't need to haul half our house there! -- and would definitely stay there again. It was so much roomier than our friends' places that we visited while at Emerald Isle. The stores on the island had everything we needed; no need to shop off the island. Thanks for an enjoyable and memorable trip! Wish we had the money to buy a place like that of our own!

Owners response: We constantly strive to enhance the enjoyment of staying at the "Carolina Clipper". Recently we installed a residential platform lift (elevator) which has become an important amenity to the beach house.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

swept away!

Review submitted: July 25, 2012   Date of arrival: July 15, 2012

Upon arrival to the "Carolina Clipper" we were mesmerized with the view of the ocean from the third level deck! Then pleasantly surprised with how beautiful the inside of the house was... clean and well thought out. It's well equipped with eating utensils and cookware....most of the time we made our meals there. There's a good grocery store nearby.

The elevator was a great addition especially bringing up our luggage and groceries.

The beach access is across the street. Bogie boards and sand toys are provided as well as bikes. There were two turtle nests nearbybut we didn't get to see the hatchlings. Afterwards we used the hose and outdoor shower to rinse off after our expeditions.

Emerald Isle is a fantastic beach for families and the "Carolina Clipper" is the best way to enjoy your stay. I would definitely recommend it!

Thanks! :)

Owners response: We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our beautiful home at the beach. The view is breathtaking.

Tommy & Lou Ann Roberson

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Carolina Clipper

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

We had a great time in Emerald Isle it is great for family or friends for a relaxing vacation. The views of the ocean are great. No need togo out to eat when you have a great place like this. Well maybe acouple time. beach is just across the street. The owners are very helpful. Hope to come back soon.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Carolina Clipper: home away from home

Review submitted: June 13, 2012   Date of arrival: June 3, 2012

Our week staying in the Carolina Clipper was heaven on earth. The accomodations were excellent. We had six adults and four young children in our party and there was plenty of room for all of us. The outdoor platform lift made getting all our groceries and luggage up to the main levels of the home a breeze! It's a great feature and would be especially helpful to those who have difficulty climbing steps.
Access to the beach was perfect. We loved watching dolphins swim off shore and saw them daily with good observation from the upper deck. The home includes all the amenities of home and we were quite comfortable in the home.
I would highly recommend this home and can't wait to stay there again sometime!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

A Great Beach House!!!

Review submitted: June 13, 2012   Date of arrival: June 3, 2012

Our 7 night stay at the Carolina Clipper was amazing! You have a great view of the ocean. We saw several dolphins on multiple days from the deck of the beach house. There's plenty of deck space with plenty of chairs for multiple people. We had three families and were all able to sit on the deck at once. There's a great hammock that we made use of. The storage closet downstairs has plenty of beach toys for kids. Our kids, all under the age of 6, had a blast. The ocean is a short 1/2 block walk with no busy road to cross. We brought our own beach chairs, but didn't need to because the property had several in the storage closet. There's an elevator to help haul luggage upstairs. The owner called to check in on us and asked if everything was going well.

My only slight complaint is that the living space seems bigger in the picture due to the wrap around deck, which by the way is awesome. The top floor has plenty of room (kitchen, couches, etc.) The middle floor with the 4 bedrooms is a bit cramped. The hallways are smaller and the rooms are not too large. But I say a slight complaint, because the only time we spend in the bedrooms was for sleeping and showering. Despite my slight complaint, I wouldn't let this stop me from staying here again.

After spending a week here, I would definitely recommend the Carolina Clipper. It's also very reasonably priced compared to other beach houses of similar size. We found this to be one of the cheapest for the dates we traveled, yet it had everything we could have wished for in a rental house.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

GREAT PLACE!

Review submitted: May 1, 2012   Date of arrival: April 26, 2012

My group thoroughly enjoyed the rental. There was plenty of space inside and outside on decks! I would highly recommend using this rental for large group gatherings.

Thanks Carolina Clipper

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family vacation

Review submitted: July 27, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2011

The views from this home were breathtaking, even nicer than depicted. The great room/kitchen area was very open and a perfect place for everyone to gather. The Roberson's were a pleasure to deal with - very helpful, honest people. We were able to entertain extended family while on our vacation and everyone enjoyed the home, the area and attractions such as the aquarium and the visit to Fort Macon which a very educational and enjoyable site to visit and it was all free.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The week of fun and relaxation

Review submitted: July 25, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

My friends and I had a wonderful time. 6 adults and 6 children fit comfortably in the house. The description did not do the house justice. The main living floor was immaculate for space, ocean views, dining and family/group gatherings. The wrap around style decks were a huge hit and perfect for catching a 360 degree view of the area. The bedrooms and bathrooms were the size we needed for everyone to be comfortable. The walk to the beach was a breeze with 6 kids in tow and plenty of space for everyone to run around in the sand. The area was not overly populated and actually very quiet and peaceful during the nights. There was a short drive to shops, putt-putt, the aquarium and other activities, but to have the quiet atmosphere, we were perfectly happy with that. We have already recommended the area and especially the house to many people and would definitely return in the future.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful vacation

Review submitted: July 24, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2011

We appreciated the welcome feeling we had during our vacation. The spotless beach house was everything we expected and more. Thank you for allowing us to enjoy this time with our family and friends. We enjoyed the quiet location and proximity to the beach as well. Enjoyed the aquarium, Fort Macon and Beaufort.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

perfect location!

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

This is our second year here. The house is in a convienent location to be able to sightsee in Beaufort or Swansboro. The best location is that the house is just across the street from the walkway to the beach. The views from the deck are fantastic. We loved sitting in the rocking chairs and enjoying the view. The house is very comfortable and well equipped. We hope to make this an annual vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Long weekend stay

Review submitted: April 20, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

We stayed for 3 or 4 days in late March/early April. The weather was still a bit chilly, but we had a wonderful time. The house was beautiful (and extremely well stocked - more than we had expected!), the walk to the beach was short, and the island was very pretty. There was more than enough room for our group (4 adults/1 toddler) and the kitchen/dining/living areas were wonderful with their open plan that we could easily cook and eat in. We found some weekend activities to enjoy on the beach - we went to the Aquarium and the Fort and a yard sale - and my husband and brother enjoyed the provided bikes for using on the island. The porch was beautiful to sit out on and read a book and the private deck off the master bedroom gave us a GREAT ocean breeze at night. We loved our stay and hope to return in the Summer! Thank you!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Long weekend stay in the Spring

Review submitted: April 20, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

We stayed for 3 or 4 days in late March/early April. The weather was still a bit chilly, but we had a wonderful time. The house was beautiful (and extremely well stocked - more than we had expected!), the walk to the beach was short, and the island was very pretty. There was more than enough room for our group (4 adults/1 toddler) and the kitchen/dining/living areas were wonderful with their open plan that we could easily cook and eat in.
We found some weekend activities to enjoy on the beach - we went to the Aquarium and the Fort and a yard sale - and my husband and brother enjoyed the provided bikes for using on the island. The porch was beautiful to sit out on and read a book and the private deck off the master bedroom gave us a GREAT ocean breeze at night.
We loved our stay and hope to return in the Summer! Thank you!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

marvelous holiday house

Review submitted: March 15, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

We have rented houses three times in NC, and this was our best beach house yet. You can watch waves hit the beach from the living room; because the house is situated between the sea and the sound, you can see water from every window, on both floors, of the house. The rooms are spacious, clean, accommodating, with lots of couches and chairs. The wireless internet and cable TV worked perfectly. The location is great. We have two children (ages 5 and 9), and they were happy going to the beach, the aquarium, the Civil War era Fort Macon, the maritime museum in Beaufort, and rambling around. We were there in March during "spring break" but would like to rent again in August to enjoy a summer's week there. Again, the house is in great shape, no old odd smells or fungus; no bad beds; nothing amiss. I wouldn't want to share this house with another family, but I imagine one could do so and still have a great time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

best beach house we've rented yet

Review submitted: March 14, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

We have rented houses three times in NC, and this was our best beach house yet. You can watch waves hit the beach from the living room; because the house is situated between the sea and the sound, you can see water from every window, on both floors, of the house. The rooms are spacious, clean, accommodating, with lots of couches and chairs. The wireless internet and cable TV worked perfectly. The location is great. We have two children (ages 5 and 9), and they were happy going to the beach, the aquarium, the Civil War era Fort Macon, the maritime museum in Beaufort, and rambling around. We were there in March during "spring break" but would like to rent again in August to enjoy a summer's week there. Again, the house is in great shape, no old odd smells or fungus; no bad beds; nothing amiss. I wouldn't want to share this house with another family, but I imagine one could do so and still have a great time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Carolina Clipper

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2011

My family and I were spending time with my grandson who is a marine stationed at Camp Lejune. We had a wonderful long weekend, loved the house, enjoyed the beach, the house was better than pictured. We all have a terrific memory of our time together , thank you so much

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wanda Aug. 2010

Review submitted: September 7, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2010

I would highly recommend the Carolina Clipper to any Beach lover. The house had the most beautiful view of the ocean. It was only about 100 yards away from the beach access. The house was very clean and had more than sufficient supplies on hand, especially in the kitchen. We all loved the hammock. It was just a delight to relax with a book in the evenings before the sun went down. The house has enough bedrooms for our gang of nine adults. We also thought the notebook in the kitchen area with local restaurants and places to go visit was very helpful. The supply closet on the ground level was full of chairs, umbrellas, and even bikes. We used them a few times during the week. Most beach houses don't have bikes. We even thought it was super to have the American Flag to put out in the mornings and take down at night. I can't say enough about this house, except sign up for a week and find out for yourself. It was our little bit of heaven on earth, the week we were there. Thanks so much to the Roberson Family in sharing their beach house with us. Hope to come again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Always a wonderful place to stay

Review submitted: July 11, 2010   Date of arrival: July 4, 2010

My family and I have been enjoying this home annually for about the last 10 years. We just arrived home from another wonderful week at Emerald Isle. I'll be booking next year's stay soon.There is no better view or value than this home. The owner has always been efficient in the rental arrangements.We have never had any problems. This property has a comfy homelike feel. You will not be disappointed. Love the addition of the linen & cleaning service and WIFI. Thanks for continuing to share your beach home with us!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Wonderful Vacation Home, As Seen and as Promised, Excellent Vacation

Review submitted: June 22, 2010   Date of arrival: June 13, 2010

My Family (ages 48, 48, 23, 25 and 75) and I just returned from staying a week (6/13 to 6/18) in this home. Everything about the home was as promised and the entire rental process (from security deposit to final payment) was smooth. We were a little apprehensive about renting a vacation home online and sight unseen.

As 1st time VRBO users, the owner answered all our questions and stayed in contact with us through the entire process. The property was very well maintained and in excellent condition. The photos of the property are very accurate, however the ocean view is MUCH BETTER than the picture reflects.

Everything about this home was as promised. Beautiful views from the two decks, and very close to the beach, less than a minute walk. Wireless internet worked excellent as did everything within the home. We would definately stay here again. From bbq on the top deck to lounging in the hammock, the home was a delight..

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review