reviews for: listing #66722 - Forest Lake, Minnesota House rental

Fridhem (House of Peace)
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Lindstrom
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $366 - $500 /nt
    $2,250 - $3,250 /wk
    $9,000 - $12,000 /mth

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

The perfect spot for a quiet family vacation...

Review submitted: July 2, 2014   Date of arrival: June 22, 2014

We held our annual family vacation in Lindstrom, MN this year and thoroughly enjoyed staying at the charming Swedish cottage. We loved the history and character of the house and greatly appreciated how well stocked with supplies it was including such things as bug spray and sunscreen, all provided for guest use. We rented a pontoon boat and spent many leisurely hours relaxing on the very quiet South Lindstrom lake. Lindstrom is a very sleepy town without many restaurant choices but that didn't concern us as we cooked all our meals at the house. The grill is located on a lovely deck that overlooks the lake. The grandchildren enjoyed fishing off the dock although the fish were small and were all returned to the water. This is the perfect spot for a quiet family vacation, away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful property, exceptionally well-equipped...

Review submitted: June 11, 2014   Date of arrival: May 29, 2014

A completely enjoyable weekend.
Beautiful property exceptionally well-equipped.
Thank you for your hospitality.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The only house we have rented more than once...

Review submitted: June 2, 2014   Date of arrival: May 16, 2014

Four generations of Nelsons and some spouses get together from all over the world once a year for a week. Over the years, Fridhem is the only house we have rented more than once. And we hope to make arrangements for next summer. Even for those of us who like variety, this beautiful site meets the needs of all. The kitchen is laid out well for group cooking. The outdoor seating area is wonderful for morning coffee, sunset wine, and grilling. The beach area is great for campfires and sand castles. At dusk, within 90 minutes, we caught an average of four largemouth bass per evening on simple lures (also northern pike and a stray walleye). So we often had fresh fish for breakfast in the Scandinavian style. We intended to rise at dawn to try the fishing but never made it because we were up late playing cards on the big dining room table with great-grandma, who is a shark. Some rooms reflect the old cottage style, and others, especially the bedrooms, are elegantly re-modeled. Lindstrom is a fun little town with a good bakery, butcher shop, coffee shop, cemeteries full of Nelsons and other Swedes (OK, I’m a little dark), and lots of stores to buy old junk (this reviewer is not a shopper but other Nelsons see treasures not junk). It is a quick trip to Minneapolis and St. Paul, and this year we hit the museums and restaurants in the cities pretty hard. Biking around the lakes was fun, and the golfers were happy also. Overall, the big old yellow house on the lake is a lovely place, conducive to catching up on and playing with fellow Nelsons.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A joy for our mini family reunion!

Review submitted: May 27, 2014   Date of arrival: May 9, 2014

Fridhem was a joy for our mini family reunion! The lake is beautiful, deck is nice, and there is plenty of interior space (including rooms that can be turned into bedrooms if guests don't mind blow-up air beds). The neighbors are great and there is a tasty coffee shop within walking distance. The only downfall - if your family is full of "foodies" you may want to plan to cook in. Local restaurants are "good" but we couldn't find any that were "great" despite our efforts of talking to neighbors and scouring the well-known restaurant apps. The hiking and kayaking at Taylor's Falls is nearby and a fantastic find! Would definitely recommend staying here - Jim is also very responsive and a nice guy.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Perfect Spot for Our Family

Review submitted: May 7, 2014   Date of arrival: April 18, 2014

Hi Jim,
Your home was the perfect spot for our family to welcome our newest member. It is spacious, clean and comfortable. We all felt relaxed. We enjoyed the proximity to both the lake and town. Had an evening bonfire, cooked S'mores, barbequed a leg of lamb for Easter dinner and enjoyed the ever changing lake. Couldn't have been more perfect. Hope we can make it an annual event.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Fantastic Weekend...

Review submitted: March 13, 2014   Date of arrival: March 7, 2014

Our group had a fantastic weekend at this lovely home. There is lots to walk to in town, and the large house is very comfortable for a group.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

My family enjoyed every minute of their stay...

Review submitted: December 16, 2013   Date of arrival: November 26, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Fridhem and would highly recommend it to others looking for a relaxing and peaceful vacation. My family stayed over Thanksgiving and the house had mostly everything we needed to cook a traditional turkey dinner. The double ovens were a huge help and our turkey cooked in only two hours (after a two day prep and brine process)!

The owners of the house made themselves more than available if we needed them and they provided detailed instructions about all of the workings in the house.

My family enjoyed every minute of their stay and my husband and I (who live only 25 minutes away) plan to visit Lindstrom again. The town has such charm and the coffee shop was amazing. We look forward to staying again, perhaps when it is warmer, so we can enjoy the yard, lake and summertime activities. Thank you for everything!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

3 Generations of the femaie members of one famiy (gathering after the loss of a patriarch)

Review submitted: November 7, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

Our gathering included members from all over MN and three from CO. this location was ideal; far enough for those living in MN to not have access to go home and yet not too far to drive. Our weather was absolutely stunning for November with beautiful fall colors, blue sky and mild temperatures. This home was within walking distance of all our needs; coffee shop, restaurant, groceries, tourist exploring and playgrounds. And within driving distances of great Art work, tours, and various activities. The home provided us with a comfortable environment for reminiscing, sharing, card playing and eating together. The rooms were ample for all. The floor plan/layout provided solitude when needed and exercise, as well. The home felt clean and spacious. We were all grateful to be together in a safe and lovely home. The owner was extremely helpful and accommodating.
We would all return to this location and recommend it to our friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Trisha, we are so happy you chose Fridhem for your family event. We're glad you enjoyed your family time and your stay. Please come back again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sisters Weekend!

Review submitted: October 10, 2013   Date of arrival: October 4, 2013

The 8 Polish sisters get together every year in October. We like to find new locations each year that will accommodate that many women. We all loved the house. There was enough bedrooms and bathrooms to satisfy everyone.

The pictures reflect the actual beauty of the house. We had a cool, rainy weekend, but that didn't keep us from enjoying the stay. The kitchen has just about everything you could need for meal preparation. The fireplace provided the ambiance for our evening games and conversation.

We found plenty to do inspite of the rain. We shopped Linstrom and left some cash behind. We drove to Franconia Sculpture. That is such a fun experience!

I would highly recommend The Swedish Cottage for your family and/or friends gathering.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Joyce,
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We've been looking all around the house for the "cash you left behind," but can't seem to find it... ;)

Please come again!
Jim and Caryn

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Perfect House for our Small Family Reunion...

Review submitted: August 26, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

We all loved our stay at Fridhem! This was the perfect house for our small family reunion (17 people for the party on a Sunday/8 people for the entire week) – we grilled out on the beautiful deck overlooking the lake while the kids played in the water and swam to the swimming deck to sun themselves. In the evening, we lit the fire pit on the beach and told stories and shared s’mores. Everyone had a wonderful time.

The kitchen was a blessing – well stocked and set up perfectly for several people to work on meals together and for serving a large buffet like we had at the reunion. We really appreciate the availability of cleaners, paper towels, toilet paper, etc. It is REALLY nice to be in a house where you do not have to go and purchase all the basics for the week. The house is very spacious and we really enjoyed a relaxing, laid back week with the family. I would definitely recommend this house to others.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Wonderful Week at Fridhem...

Review submitted: August 26, 2013   Date of arrival: August 9, 2013

We had a wonderful week at Fridhem. The weather was awesome and the setting was gorgeous. Having a fenced yard for my two dogs was really a plus – I was glad to be able to bring them along instead of leaving them at a kennel. The deck is truly a lovely place to sit and have a relaxing cup of coffee while watching the early morning wildlife. We heard loons calling a few times, and there was a heron that liked to sit on the swim raft for hours. The kids had a great time looking for rocks on the beach and going to the nice little park across the street. My parents really enjoyed the sense of history in Lindstrom and took many long leisurely walks to look at all the lovely homes. My dad went to the bakery every day to get donuts. The house is beautiful and has many spaces to get a little quiet time, as well as many places to gather and enjoy each other’s company. Many thanks to Jim and his family for sharing their beautiful home with us! My kids are already “planning” to go back next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely Perfect!

Review submitted: June 11, 2013   Date of arrival: May 23, 2013

My family celebrated our sons first birth at the Swedish Cottage in late May. we could not have asked for a better or more well run house. Such a great setting right on the lake, great fishing, well equipped kitchen, spaces room and very clean. We cant wait to visit again soon.
The SmithChang's

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The house certainly exceeded our expectations...

Review submitted: June 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 3, 2013

First of all, we had a great time. Thank you. The house certainly met (or exceeded) our expectations. It was a great family reunion for our immediate families. We did a little swimming and fishing despite the cold rainy weather. We even had a campfire down by the lake and made smores. There were puzzles put together and a lot of cribbage played. We met lots of friends and more family. It was such fun showing the kids/grandkids our old church, schools etc. It definitely needed some old time tour guides (like me and Mayor Keith Carlson) to explain what the businesses looked like 40 years ago. Our friend, Neil told us how much you did to the house after you bought it from Helen. It looks great!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We would definitely stay again...

Review submitted: June 1, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

Our family thoroughly enjoyed staying at Fridhem over the holiday weekend. There aren't too many homes that have five bedrooms and 3.5 baths that are on a nice lake and are one block from downtown. We could go down to the lake or go walk to get an ice cream cone. We enjoyed the antiquity of the home along with all of the upgrades you have added. It is very modern and has all of the appliances amd features you would want in your own home.

Your informational booklet was very helpful also. We got to meet neighbors Joe and Mary along with their dogs Maggie and Darby. Our grandchildren enjoyed playing with the dogs and giving them a little love. They enjoyed the kayak as well as water sports. The fact that you have a sandy beach instead of a rocky one, made time at the beach very enjoyable. We made a campfire and cooked up some smores. It was a brief vacation that they will remember for a long time.

My son and I fished and caught several bass and northerns. We saw a couple of walleye get caught, but we wern't fishing for walleye. It would really be fun when the crappie start their spawn.

Thanks again for renting us your Minnesota home. We would definitely stay again and may do so in the future. It is a great home in a great location.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Absolutely Beautiful Home

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

A few friends and I rented this house for a weekend because we were attending a wedding nearby. While we had just been looking for a place to lay our heads, we got a whole lot more. The home is absolutely gorgeous and very comfortable. The weather was not great while we were there so we didn't take advantage of the beach or deck, but even so, the view from the kitchen of the lake is magnificent. The house is spacious, clean and comfortable. I would love to come back some day and enjoy the lake as well.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very Quiet and Private...

Review submitted: May 2, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

Thanks so much for a great stay at Lindstrom. The cottage was great, spacious, very clean and inviting. Our group of 12 had more than adequate room. We were amazed at the well stocked kitchen as well as elsewhere in the house. Even though we were just a block off a busy highway, it was very quiet and private. The grandkids loved walking to the park. This would be a great destination in the summer, the lake access looks very nice. Thanks for sharing your cottage with us. We probably will return again as the location is just right for our family.

Thanks again!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

An Amazing Weekend Together!

Review submitted: April 9, 2013   Date of arrival: April 5, 2013

Just wanted to write you a quick note to let you know that we had a fantastic weekend at your home. It was the perfect place for our celebration! We were celebrating my parents 50th anniversary (April 6th), here's a note of appreciation from my mom...

Our extended family of 15 spent an amazing weekend together at the "Fridhem House" in Lindstrom, MN where we celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary. Being able to all be together in the comfort of that home was fabulous. As we were welcomed by our family members the fire was blazing in the large, but cozy living room and provided a very homey atmosphere. There was plenty of room for all of us - even our 8 grandchildren ranging in age from 13 - 26 found it a perfect place to "hang out." Since the "weather outside was frightful" it was especially wonderful to have all the room inside. The kitchen provided everything we needed from pots and pans, serving dishes to paper towels. The master bedroom was beautiful, comfortable and warmed by the fireplace where we as the honored guests felt were able to rest and rejuvenate for all the active time spent with our family. There were many areas where one could enjoy peace and relaxation. It was truly a weekend that has provided many cherished memories!

-------------------------------

Thanks so much for the great home and great rental experience. Your directions where incredibly thorough and I trust we followed all of the check out proceedures correctly.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Ladies Retreat EVER!

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

Each year the women in my family get together for some time away from life and the kids. Typically we're in a hotel spread out in several rooms and it's chaotic... This was the perfect place to host a Friday night Murder Mystery Dinner!!! Plenty of private spaces to get into costume and get ready. The kitchen was large and had absolutely anything you would need to make meals. The double-oven was awesome as we had several appetizers going at the same time. The old time record player, complete with tons of albums, added a nice touch to our mystery game. Each of the bedrooms and sitting areas were nicely decorated and fun to look at. You could spend the entire weekend just getting lost in the house (which I did) It's pretty big and somewhat confusing at first! Lindstrom was a fun little town and we did the shopping thing on Saturday and of course the wine tasting down the road at Winehaven. Saturday evening we enjoyed catching up with each other by the fireplace and drinking our wine. The dining room was great and we spent a lot of time relaxing and snacking. Friedham was the perfect place to hang out and catch up with each other! We could all be in the same room comfortably and of course there were many quiet places in the house where we could sneak off and have private conversations (gossip) too!!! Would love to be here in the fall with the beautiful leaves and have the opportunity to use the decks. Don't bother bringing anything besides your clothes. This place has it all!!! The marshmallow sticks are in the plastic bin by the back door.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely home

Review submitted: January 29, 2013   Date of arrival: January 11, 2013

Our group of 11 enjoyed our stay in this beautiful historic home! The house is huge with lots of room to spread out and plenty of gathering space. Great modern kitchen stocked with everything we needed. Lindstrom is charming town to explore. We would be happy to recommend this home to anyone!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Kaela. Please come again!
Jim and Caryn

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved our stay at "Fridhem"...

Review submitted: December 20, 2012   Date of arrival: December 6, 2012

We loved our stay at Fridhem -- it is the perfect place for anyone that loves historic homes but still wants the updated conveniences of a well designed kitchen and wifi! The house has many bedrooms but also has great gathering spaces -- we held a family get together here and the layout was ideal. With its location so close to the Twin Cities, it was perfect for feeling like we were "getting away" but still easily accessible to travel to. The house feels very private even though it is only a couple of blocks from restaurants and shops. We definitely plan on renting this home again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Perfect Location for our Thanksgiving...

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

We found this home to be the perfect location for our Thanksgiving gathering. The home was as advertised, clearly loved and cared for by the owners. We traveled from North Carolina, Arizona, Utah, Washington, and the Twin Cities and found the property easy to get to from the Twin Cities airport, AND a great get away even for the Twin Cities people. (As former White Bear Lake residents it was even easy to stop at the Pine Tree Apple Orchard on our way)

We have rented many properties over the years and found this kitchen to be the best equipped, most like home kitchen we have ever experienced which is important for a Thanksgiving dinner! The spaces worked beautifully for us ages 11 months to 68. We spent the daylight hours in the light, sunny, lake view family room and the evenings around the beautiful cozy fireplace in the great room. Both spaces were perfect for the cold, snowy weather. Several of us even tried to be healthy with an after dinner workout in the exercise room following a couple pieces of pumpkin pie!

We remarked daily about our luck and good fortune in selecting this property and would like to return when we will be able to also enjoy the outdoor porches, deck, and beach.

Working with the owner was easy and timely. Instructions and requests were clear, easy to agree to and follow. You can tell the owners love the home and we do to.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Loved the Decor!

Review submitted: November 28, 2012   Date of arrival: September 21, 2012

We had a great time – there were 10 of us and plenty of room. We loved the décor and how well maintained the property was!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Amenities are Phenomenal!

Review submitted: November 28, 2012   Date of arrival: November 8, 2012

Our stay at Fridhem house was terrific! Every year eight of us high school friends get together for a girls weekend. We like to mix it up and try new places, this year I found your beautiful historic home in Lindstrom! The house is perfect for large groups and the amenities are phenomenal!!! As I said we have rented a lot of places, this by far had the best kitchen supplies, it actually gave me some ideas for my own kitchen!!! We were there at the beginning of November so no beach/kayak time but I can tell it would be a great place to enjoy those outdoor sports! I went to D's bakery for fresh Hamburger buns on Saturday morning and I would suggest everyone do that but you must go early, they were delicious!

Thanks again, Happy holidays!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Autumn weekend

Review submitted: October 8, 2012   Date of arrival: September 27, 2012

We had a great time and the home was delightful. It's a great mix of old and new. The rooms were as they had been described and the location was great at this time of year. We had plenty of room and felt very comfortable there. We enjoyed the deck and a few of us went out ont he kayak. Everything was clean and well organized. We'd consider returning someday

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Visitor

Review submitted: October 3, 2012   Date of arrival: September 27, 2012

Loved the home, loved the area, beautiful. The home had plenty of room for all 11 us to fit comfortably.
We drove to Stillwater from here and spent a day there.
Enjoyed the local shops & Catholic church in Lindstrom.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thoroughly Charming...

Review submitted: September 2, 2012   Date of arrival: August 10, 2012

This house is thoroughly charming. Beds are comfortable -- even the blow-up. Warm water is plentiful. Gathering for coffee is a morning ritual for our extended family vacation and the deck here was terrific for that, with adequate privacy, a great view over the lake, a variety of birds, and visiting chipmunks.

Major construction on the roads through Lindstrom diminished its appeal.
We enjoyed Stillwater, about an hour away.

There're more potential private sleeping areas than seem apparent.

So great not to have to lug sheets and towels in, as is required with so many rental houses. Generally, very well equipped. Caring, reachable owner.

Overall, very happy we made this choice.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The view of the lake was breathtaking...

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

What a wonderful vacation in Minnesota. The Fridhem vacation home was a beautiful historic home that offered a modern touch. Our family vacation kept all ages busy with fishing, swimming, shopping, and antique shops. The bedrooms are roomy and private for all. Plenty of bathroom space for the ladies to get ready for that special occasion. The view of the lake was breathtaking from the deck or the house. Anything and everything you could ever want was available. The house was clean, well maintained, and organized. I would recommend the Lindstrom Cottage for any event or family gathering.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fishing, relaxing, biking, canoeing, and more...

Review submitted: June 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 15, 2012

My large family (seven brothers and sisters, spouses, and children) gets together for a long weekend each year and we are always in search of a vacation home that can handle such a large group. Fridhem provided our family a wonderful gathering place that allowed the whole family to enjoy an afternoon together in the large open spaces of the first floor as well as the outdoor lake and deck areas. A number of our out of town family took advantage of this wonderful lake house to enjoy a weeklong vacation together fishing, relaxing, biking, canoeing, and evening barbecues. This rustic yet modern home is a true joy to experience and its close proximity to the St. Croix River and the Twin Cities enables day trips to many sites.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Wonderful Time

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

We had a wonderful family vacation here. Everything was perfect! The house is beautiful and has everything anyone could need or want. My husband and I brought our two grandchildren ages 4 and almost 2 with their parents. It was the four year old's first fishing trip and he had such a good time. He even caught a few fish off the dock:). Having a gas grill, beach area for a fire pit and lovely bedrooms for restful nights made the stay perfect.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous experience!

Review submitted: June 2, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

We were looking for a place for family members to gather for our annual reunion - coming from California, Wisconsin and Minnesota. This was a perfect location, and Fridhem was a perfect setting for our holiday weekend of gatherings. Our group of 7 adults stayed overnight, each couple/individual having our own bedroom. We spent most of our time in the kitchen and family room - preparing food, playing games, reconnecting - and enjoying the gorgeous view of the lake! Some in our group also used the fitness room - what a treat!

We appreciated being able to host an extended family gathering on Sunday, with people driving in from the Twin Cities and Mankato. It made it easy on us (the out-of-staters) to have everyone come to the house. It was delightful to have various shapes of gathering places - in the family room and on the porch swing, on the deck and the beach - allowing us to get together in various groups and settings, and have different experiences on the property!

Jim was absolutely wonderful to work with - responding quickly and thoroughly to all of my questions and requests. He made sure we had complete information about the house - and the town of Lindstrom - so it was easy for us to get around and make ourselves at home. The neighbors were great - very friendly and nice to visit with.

The photos and description of Fridhem were very accurate - it is beautifully renovated and decorated, and the upstairs bedrooms are great. It worked very well for us to have a main floor bedroom with nearby bathroom - as my husband uses a walker. There aren't many properties that have such accommodations, and so much character, as well! The lake view and size of the property exceeded my expectations! And ... the deck was fabulous - that's where we had our family photo taken, to capture the spectacular view!

We discovered Eichten's Bistro - and Eichten's Artisan Cheeses and Bison/Buffalo - which became a favorite destination! My husband and I had a lovely dinner there on Friday, and we went back for lunch with other family members on Saturday. We enjoyed Franconia Sculpture Park, and Northwoods Coffee was as good as we hoped!

I would definitely recommend Fridhem - we are talking about making it our destination for next year's reunion, as well! All of our family members loved it - and want to come back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Memorable, relaxing, and fun bachelorette weekend

Review submitted: May 23, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

I hosted a bachelorette party for a group of 10 women at the Lindstrom cottage in the middle of May 2012. Most of us are in our late 20s, early 30s. Our weekend getaway was absolutely phenomenal!

Leading up to the weekend, the owner, Jim was incredibly helpful. He sends you a handbook on the house that allowed us to get a better picture of the space and nearby areas to plan our weekend. He also emailed us a "tips for your stay" (where to find the first aid kit, umbrellas, location of air mattress, etc) which we used over and over. Everything laid out in the materials was true during our stay and easy to follow. Furthermore, Jim was available for any questions along the way when we were planning our weekend. From the date of booking through following up at the end after our stay, he was very responsive.

Like I stated, our weekend at the cottage was absolutely wonderful. I would not have changed a thing. The cottage was large enough to adequately host a large group (10 of us). The house was very clean, well-maintained, organized, and adorable. I was really impressed with the amount of amenities in the house for our use. We had every kitchen appliance needed to have an elaborate brunch and dinner. The only thing we brought was food. We also used their gas grill for dinner. Every house was well stocked with towels, paper towels, soap, bowls, plates, napkins, etc for our use. The sleeping arrangements were also very spacious and comfortable.

During one evening we ventured out for dinner to the Dinnerbell in which the bride to be was treated like a queen. The food was good (small town bar and grill food), and the service was great. We later drove 2 miles to Chisago City and went to The Roadhouse for dancing, they had a live band that evening was excellent. Keep in mind this is a very small town, but all the people were genuine, kind, and made sure to make us feel welcome when they learned we were from out of town.

Overall, all of us had a wonderful weekend at the Lindstrom cottage. The cottage was spacious, sits directly on the lake, and is nearby anything you need (boat rental, restaurants, bar, shops) to make your weekend memorable. I would highly recommend the Lindstrom cottage for any event.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing lake home

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

We recently spent two delightful nights at this property and just LOVED!!!!!!!!!!!! it!!! The place is large and very nicely appointed with a fabulous kitchen. The bedrooms are very nice and comfortable. We had many other family members come and spend the evenings with us and found the living rooms comfortable and easy to entertain in. The layout was much better than we could even have imagined. Our biggest complaint is that we weren't there long enough! We didn't have a chance to enjoy the beach. All of us are coming from busy lives and having such a quiet and relaxing place to spend the time was fantastic. We went to a couple of the local shops that were cute and nicely priced, and with such a fantastically appointed kitchen, we made all our meals in the house. We are already thinking we will book here again when the next family event happens.

If you're looking for relaxing and gorgeous, this place is THE PLACE!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful historic home on the lake

Review submitted: May 11, 2012   Date of arrival: April 30, 2012

We had an excellent time at this property, enjoying the outdoor amenities from the lake access, the beach fire pit, to the backyard overhang deck with grill, which was perfect for grilling out. Indoors, was just as interesting, with the great room accommodating our whole group for evening time as we played records from the house collection, cooked in the modern and delightfully stocked kitchen, crashed on the comfy couches on the seasonal porch, and escaped to so many nooks throughout this interesting and cleverly designed turn of the century home, when it was time to sleep, before getting up and doing it all again! Now that's vacation! With downtown Lindstrom just a block away, it was easy to walk for anything we needed, which consisted mostly of runs to the bakery and the deli! I would definitely recommend the house for your group or get together, I just hope you don't book it when I want to go back again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wheelchair Accessible...

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

We had an excellent time. We have gone to several different places over the last few years and trying to find a house that is wheelchair accessible can be problematic and many owners tend to think their homes are more accessible than they actually are. Fridhem worked out great for me and everyone else. It just has such a great "feel" to it and made an immediate emotion attachment to all of us. This on top of your commitment to have everything well explained and available made for a great trip.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Family Weekend!

Review submitted: March 26, 2012   Date of arrival: March 23, 2012

My parents and my 6 brothers and sisters and I celebrated our Dad's 90th birthday at Fridhem. We left our spouses, children and grandchildren at home, and re-connected with each other for 3 days. It was the perfect setting! The house is beautiful, and there was plenty of room for all of us. We had a campfire by the beach, and were able to walk to the shops downtown.
A once in a lifetime experience!!

Owners response: Patti,
so nice to be able to provide your getaway venue. We hope you will make it a twice, and third time in a lifetime experience!
Jim and Caryn

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Girls Weekend in Lindstrom

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 15, 2012

This place was perfect for a girls getaway. All that space and all those bathrooms!! Within walking distance of the cute downtown.

We definately will go back!

Recommended for: girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful place to be....even in the dead of MN winter!

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: January 20, 2012

My group of women friends loved this place for our recent retreat. The large great room provided plenty of space for us to gather together, and the many individual rooms offered enough privacy for small groups and alone time. We discovered a frozen pipe in the kitchen the first evening and when I talked with the owner about it, he immediately had a plumber come and fix it so that there was plenty of hot water in the kitchen. Fine, fine service! Already our group is thinking about booking this delightful "royal cottage" for next year's retreat. Thanks so much!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

SSJ

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 27, 2011

Clean, well equipped, perfect space to be together and to have alone time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

New Years weekend 2011 & 2012!!

Review submitted: January 2, 2012   Date of arrival: December 2, 2011

Just wanted thank you for letting us rent your spacious wonderful home. Jim was awesome to work with!!
Would be a great place to stay in the summer, looks like there would be a good sandy beach to play and relax in.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Accomodations!

Review submitted: December 20, 2011   Date of arrival: December 1, 2011

Our family had a delightful reunion at this charming one-of-a-kind residence! The house was beautifully decorated, and included wonderful accommodations. Jim, the owner, was especially mindful of all the details, and was a pleasure to connect with regarding our stay.

Happy Christmas!

Linda

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing, peaceful retreat!

Review submitted: November 27, 2011   Date of arrival: November 12, 2011

My children and I absolutely loved this property.
This is our 3rd, and absolutely favorite VRBO cabin rental.
Every detail and every amenity was perfection.
I highly recommend a stop at the lovely local Lindstrom Bakery first for donuts and delicious ingredients for meals like homemade pizza!
Thank you to the kind owners for opening up their doors and hearts to this phenomenal location.
I can't wait to return!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Thanksgiving Celebration Location!

Review submitted: November 26, 2011   Date of arrival: November 22, 2011

My 85 year old mom, my husband, and I stayed at Fridhem most of Thanksgiving week. While there we hosted a small Thanksgiving day celebration with ten people, including ourselves. It was the perfect setting for Thanksgiving.

The kitchen was the perfect size for everyone to pitch in, with multiple stations for food prep and plenty of outlets. Ceiling fans in the kitchen and family room helped keep the kitchen cool during the long turkey roasting time. The double oven stove was very handy on Thanksgiving! And the stovetop was a breeze to clean afterward. All other equipment (small appliances, dishes, etc.) one would want for a Thanksgiving meal for ten was there and in perfect order.

Sitting around the warm fire in the livingroom woodburning fireplace before and after dinner was perfect for hors d'hourves and catching up on each other's lives. All firewood was provided right outside the livingroom door on the front porch.

The french doors leading from the dining room to the expanse of windows overlooking the lake allowed dinner guests to enjoy the peaceful, calm lake view. By adding a small table to extend the dining room table, we all fit just fine.

My mom has many health concerns at this stage of life. Having the first floor bedroom and adjacent handicap-like bathroom made it comfortable for her to stay the week with us.

Our suite upstairs was heavenly. My feet were dog tired by the end of each day. The whirlpool bath soothed my aching feet and body each night. Not having to build a fire was nice too! The suite's gas fireplace right next to the window overlooking the lake made for a nice view when we retired to enjoy the sleep number bed.

Our dogs enjoyed watching all the geese on the lake and the squirrels in the trees. The upstairs windows and the kitchen windows are the perfect size for normal size dogs to enjoy the outside view. Our great danes enjoyed views from ALL the windows (except for those above the whirlpool bath tub)!

The house is much larger than it appear to be from outside. Yet, it is very cozy and beautifully laid out. We totally enjoyed and appreciated Fridhem. Thank you!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Happy Renter

Review submitted: November 7, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

The cottage was beautiful, warm and homey. The owners were delightful to work with. I plan on returning soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Great to hear! We look forward to having you again.
Jim and Caryn

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

we're definately coming back!

Review submitted: November 2, 2011   Date of arrival: October 28, 2011

6 of us high school girlfriends wanted a weekend away from our busy lives; to get caught up with each other in a cozy home that wasn't one of ours. We found a true treasure! We loved everything about the house and know that we want to come back! The kitchen was awesome, the view spectacular and the furnishings comfy! This would be a fabulous place to come back in the warmer months! We sure didn't mind the cooler weather though. The fireplace and beautiful living room made a great place to drink wine, laugh, cry and dance! Thanks for a great weekend in the Fridhem home!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed your time at Fridhem. In case you didn't know, Fridhem means "House of Peace." I guess we'll add laughter, tears and dancing to the definition! We look forward to having you again! Jim and Caryn

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Girls Weekend - Amazing

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2011

Jim, Thank you so much for allowing 8 amazing ladies to spend the weekend at your place. Everyone had a wonderful time and the weather was picture perfect. The house is a "gem" and we all appreciated the fully stocked kitchen to make our yummy meals. There was plenty of room for us to gather and enjoy each others company. Cheers to you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thanks Beth. We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves!
Jim and Caryn

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Weekend Was Too Short...

Review submitted: October 3, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2011

Thank you again for renting your beautiful home to us this past weekend. We had a wonderful time and as always, the weekend was too short.
We had appetizers down on the beach but did not start a fire. The sun was just gorgeous and then stayed in to watch the movie "Bridesmaids".
The weekend could not have been more perfect...very quiet and we all slept great.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We hope to be able to do this again...

Review submitted: September 25, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

Hi Jim,

We would like to thank you for making your home available to rent. It was perfect for our family gathering. The only possible complaint we may have is that the kitchen was so fully stocked that it was hard to find a place to put our food! We hope to be able to do this again.

Thank you,
Dennis & Pat

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The House is Fabulous...

Review submitted: September 19, 2011   Date of arrival: September 15, 2011

Jim,

We had a great time. The house is fabulous. We are looking to see when we can go next summer. Thanks again.

Bree

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a Great Time...

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: August 26, 2011

Good Morning Jim,
What a great time we had at your place. Just a great property you have.
Geoffrey S.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Could Stay Another Week!

Review submitted: August 26, 2011   Date of arrival: August 19, 2011

Dear Jim and Caryn,
Our lovely week in Lindstrom on the lake is over. Perhaps the nicest compliment came from our oldest Son, Todd, who said, “we could stay another week!" You have never seen such perfect weather. The home was in perfect order and we especially appreciated all the supplies there. Now we need to unpack! Of course, we took too much. Thanks for a great week.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Just Plain Spectacular...

Review submitted: August 19, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2011

Well Jim and Caryn, your house is just plain spectacular. Everything is as you say or better. And the bats made for interesting early evening observations – the grand kids had not seen bats (guess there aren’t any in Alaska)…I felt not one mosquito while sitting anywhere on your property. Because of the bats?? We really had a fine time and certainly hope to be your tenants again in the future! If you have a moment to tell us more history of the house we would be very interested in hearing it. The book of information that you provide is just plain amazing and so very useful. Sincerely Barbara B.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fun Times at the Fridhem House

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

The Fridhem House has so much space with many amenities. We enjoyed the peacefulness of the area and easy access to the beautiful clear lake. The town of Lindstrom is quaint and near the larger city of Forest Lake. Gustaf's is a wonderful place to purchase Swedish gifts and the owner is the best. Our favorite restaurant was Norman Quacks. Excellent steaks and ribs!! We're from Kansas City, Mo so we know our steaks and BBQ. We found Trappers Restaurant to be our least favorite place to dine.

The owners, Jim and Karen, were wonderful and easy to work with. They always responded to any questions in a timely manner. We would recommend this place to anyone. The one thing to keep in mind. There are a lot of steps and there is only one bedroom on the first floor.

It's a wonderful place to stay!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thanks Diane. We hope to have you stay again!
Jim and Caryn

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 20, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

We had a wonderful time at the house on Newell. We were very comfortable and enjoyed the house, the lake and the weather. The dogs loved the water and our arms almost fell off from the throwing the ball so many times. We finally got smart and bought a couple of ball launchers.
Diane B.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 17, 2011   Date of arrival: June 17, 2011

We chose Fridhem because we wanted a get-away that was relaxing and peaceful but close to the Twin Cities. Fridhem did not disappoint! The drive was a short 45 minutes from Minneapolis and the house was beautiful and well-furnished. Jim and Caryn were very accommodating, even letting us check in early to make the most of our long weekend. It could have been because the weather wasn't great, but the lake seemed very quiet, which was nice. For those attending mass at St. Bridget's, you may want to arrive a little early as mass starts a few minutes ahead of schedule. This would be the perfect place for a family or girls trip. Thanks again, Jim and Caryn!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 13, 2011   Date of arrival: June 1, 2011

Hi Jim,

Sorry for the delay in writing this mail. We however wanted to thank you for your wonderful house. We had such a great time there. It was just the right place for our family reunion.

The beach just outside the house was perfect for the kids.

Your neighbor was also very kind and thoughtful & gave us some beach toys for the kids.

All in all, it was a great experience and we would definitely recommend it to others. It was a well kept house and you were so helpful with everything. Thanks again.


Sincerely,
Meenal & Nandan & the rest of the family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 9, 2011   Date of arrival: May 20, 2011

We all loved Fridhem. We celebrated my mom's 90th birthday on Friday evening and the home was wonderful for entertaining. We enjoyed the deck and taking pictures of family on the porch. Everyone commented on your lovely home and wonderful lake views. Saturday we relaxed and our son caught two nice sized Northerns and a Walleye right off the dock! We also visited the local bakery and walked around the downtown. Thank you for everything! Sally

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2011   Date of arrival: May 22, 2011

We thought the house was lovely - warm, spacious, great kitchen, great view of the lake. It worked very nicely for our birthday celebration. We also appreciated amenities like the patio, fire pit and boats - lots of options.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 19, 2011   Date of arrival: May 12, 2011

Hi Jim,
We had a great weekend at the Swedish cottage. You have a lovely home. It was enjoyed by all of us. We did make it to a few shops and the coffee shop in Lindstrom.

Thanks again.
Cathy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 9, 2011   Date of arrival: May 6, 2011

Hi Jim --- oh such a glorious time with our Mom for her 80th birthday reunion and all her children at your home in Lindstrom — all was GRAND!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 30, 2011

I wanted to let you know that our stay was fabulous!!! The house was very nice and it worked out perfectly for us. Everyone commented on how 'homey' it felt - most of the time we just stood around the island in the kitchen gabbing and snacking. Unfortunately, the weather was terrible so we didn't get to enjoy the deck or the lake. We had pie at Trappers and dinner on Sat. night at Tangled in Blue in Taylor Falls - very good!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 28, 2011   Date of arrival: April 8, 2011

We had a great time at the place. It was such a warm and welcoming home and we found the relaxing fireplace, cozy beds, big kitchen, and view of the lake exactly what we were hoping for. Thanks for letting us make it our little home for a few days.

Happy to hear that we are getting the cleaning deposit back! And, not to worry, not a soul even turned on the tvs throughout the weekends so we didn't even notice. (OWNER COMMENT: we discovered after the fact that the cable had been fuzzy during their stay) Who needs tv when you have chatty friends? :)

Thanks again for eveything.

Best,
Elisabeth

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 4, 2011   Date of arrival: March 18, 2011

Jim,
"Fridhem" was wonderful!! We really enjoyed the relaxed feeling of the home. Your home allowed us to have both our grand kids(1 and 3 year olds) spend the night with us. We loved just sitting and talking with a warm fire crackling in the livingroom and kids playing at our feet. The Kitchen was well stocked with equipment, we even made yummy filled cupcakes for a birthday party. We also spent time upstairs lying on the floor in the sitting room reading books to our grand kids. The lake was frozen, but we spoke with some locals out on the lake who encouraged my husband and son-in-law to venture out, so away they went on a new adventure. The park at the end of the street provided swings and slides for many smiles for our grand kids. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay here again.

"Fridhem" is a great place for a family gathering because you are all together but with enough room to have your own space.

Pleasantly pleased,
Barb

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 23, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

The house worked out GREAT for my wife's 40th birthday weekend. The girls had such a relaxing and meaningful time together. And please know that I will be recommending the Fridhem house to anyone I know looking to rent a cottage in the future.

Best wishes,
Andy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 21, 2011   Date of arrival: January 15, 2011

You have a great house and thanks for renting it to us for one night. My family and I enjoyed it very much. My son was participating in a hockey tournament and we decided to try to find a place to stay instead of 3 times back and forth to Orono, which is on the very west side of town. We invited a handful of his teammates/parents over in between games and everyone remarked what a great place it was and asked if it was available for the summer so you may get a few more inquires. Everything went smoothly and the property was left in great shape.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 15, 2011   Date of arrival: January 6, 2011

We loved your house absolutely FANTASTIC!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 7, 2010   Date of arrival: November 29, 2010

The home was exactly what we were looking for. Plenty of room, open and airy. The view from the morning snow out to the lake was gorgeous. The snow removal immediately in the morning was so comforting and accommodating. The instructions that were left made our stay that much more enjoyable. Can't wait to visit again when we can use the lake and be outside more.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 6, 2010   Date of arrival: December 3, 2010

"Fridhem was the perfect setting for a relaxing weekend with my girlfriends. We arrived during a snow storm and couldn't imagine a more cozy place to be snowed in! The home was beautiful and more importantly comfortable. The eight of us all felt right at home and got the fireplace going as soon as we could, then sat around chatting until we couldn't keep our eyes open any longer. We visited Winehaven vineyards for some delicious wine tasting and also did a little shopping in Lindstrom's antique stores. The best times of the weekend, though, were the ones spent in the house, looking out at the gorgeous snow-covered lake and the surrounding trees, crowding around the kitchen when there was plenty of space for all of us in every other room of the house, enjoying our wine or our coffee. You had thought of everything we could possibly need or want and provided it for us, yet we still felt like it was OUR place while we were there. Thank you. We are already planning our next trip!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 30, 2010   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

I just wanted to thank you for allowing us to stay at your home. It made for a Thanksgiving that we will always remember. In spite of the weather, we had some quality family time together. Your home had everything we needed and we felt at home as soon as we walked in the door.

I am going to have to talk to you about renting in the summer since we love to fish and do water sports!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 25, 2010   Date of arrival: October 23, 2010

Thanks for the use of your home this weekend.

We had a great retreat. Your home was a perfect setting, very comfortable, warm and inviting.

Perhaps we can use it again some time,

Shelley

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 21, 2010   Date of arrival: October 13, 2010

Jim, what a wonderful 5 days we had at your home! From the moment we walked in the door, we felt welcome and comfortable. We lacked for nothing, and since the weather was so wonderful, we spent a lot of time outside on the deck. Our plans to explore the area took second place to just being "at the lake". For me personally, it was just what I needed. Thank you so much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 17, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

Jim,

Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home with our family. The relaxing and homey atmosphere at Fridhem was just what the doctor ordered for my siblings and I on our annual retreat. The historic background of the property, beach, deck overlooking the lake, porch/sitting room attached to the gourmet kitchen, wonderful architectural restoration/expansion, WiFi, proximity to the cities, and fabulous "Users Manual" with everything you could ever want to know to enhance your stay, were truly the icing on an already lovely cake! We took good advantage of all of it (well, most of it; we ran out of time before we could do it all). Even the weather cooperated!
I can certainly say without reservation that the entire experience including your prompt attention, follow-up, and professional yet personal contacts made the whole experience one we will never forget. I would recommend a stay at Fridhem to anyone looking for a truly unique retreat in an intimate setting that enhances communication, relaxation, and togetherness for their small group.

Best of luck in the future,

Jim B.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 7, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

My family and I stayed at Freidhem over the long Labor Day weekend, September 3 thru Sepember 6th, 2010. It was an easy commute from the cities...less than an hour. The Casey's have provided everything necessary to ensure that a stay at Freidhem, no matter how long or short, is relaxing and worry free. The home was beautiful and the four of us all enjoyed reading the history of the house. The deck was as beautiful as described on the VRBO site and we thoroughly enjoyed several hours each day soaking up the mild weather. The lake and surroundings were very peaceful, a surprise since it was a holiday weekend. We were entertained daily by bald eagle sightings. The guys enjoyed the kayak.

We would definitely consider a longer visit in the future!

Jenny and Family

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Absolutely Loved Our Stay...

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: August 16, 2010

Jim,
We absolutely loved our stay. The house was perfect and the fact that you got back to us when there was a minor problem was just awesome. Wish we could have stayed longer and next year if we can we will be staying much longer. It is so nice to stay somewhere where our dog can come too. She is family and I hate to board her. The rooms were just beautiful and I can't even go on enough about the kitchen.... Loved the lake and especially the eagles nest.. But I can't finish without saying that we shouldn't have rented a boat... we caught more fish off of your dock than off of the boat. That is the truth! And not to brag but I was the only one who caught a walleye off of the dock.
Anyway thanks so much.... hopefully we will be able to stay next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: June 20, 2010

My family rented Fridhem for a week and had a fantastic time! Fridhem is a large, spacious home with space for everyone to spread out and enjoy different activities; perfect for families with children of different ages. The house has a number of key features that make it stand out, most notably, its size. The house is much larger than it appears in pictures and offers a large kitchen, multiple bathrooms, a workout room, office, porch swings, deck overlooking the lake, and private beach with boat dock and swimming raft. The kitchen is huge and easily accommodated group meal prep and eat-in for the kids. The house has a nice combination of historic charm and modern conveniences and is within a five minute walk to the quaint town just a few blocks away, complete with restaurants, coffee shop, bakery, etc. In addition, the house is a block away from the town beach (with life guard) and play ground in one direction and a second playground in another direction. The lake is connected to a series of lakes that combine to provide over 900 acres for water activities and is excellent for boating, water skiing and fishing. And given Lindstrom is just 45-50 minutes away from the MSP airport, it's very accessible for those coming from afar. Best of all, the owners are super nice, easy to deal with and extremely prompt at returning calls and emails. Every aspect of our trip was a breeze to organize and secure. We highly recommend a vacation at Fridhem.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review