reviews for: listing #66742 - St Simon's Island, Georgia House rental

Little Dawg House
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  East Beach
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $175 - $250 /nt
    $1,050 - $1,400 /wk
    $2,500 - $2,800 /mth

sort by:

great little house!

Review submitted: April 14, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

this well-appointed house was the perfect size for our little family. our six year-old daughter loved the sleeping loft, we caught sunrise over the beach, and sunset over the marsh, and east beach is an amazing neighborhood in general.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Little Beach Cottage

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: October 23, 2013

This cottage is wonderful, quaint, clean and so nicely decorated. All the kitchen appliances and cookware you need! The deck was fabulous for just hanging out and enjoying the view and the view is FANTASTIC!!! The screened in porch was great too!!!
Just a few steps from the beach you can't beat the location, quiet neighborhood with lovely neighbors. Owner was great to deal with and we will definitely look at a repeat rental!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great vacation stay.

Review submitted: September 30, 2013   Date of arrival: September 14, 2013

Location, location, location. Perfect little house very close to the beach. It was charming and comfortable. We would love to return to this very spot.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Girls Week-end

Review submitted: September 4, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

We loved the location and having the beach right across the dune! The house is well-appointed with everything you need in the kitchen, bath, and even had laundry detergent! We loved the deck for watching the sunrise and having our morning coffee. It was nice being in a quiet area of the island yet close to all the activities. This house was clean and comfortable, and we loved the outdoor shower right outside the bathroom door. We loved the wood, brick and tile throughout the house. We will visit again. Billy is perfect to deal with! Restaurants we loved: Half Shell, Catch 228,Gnat's Landing. Must see the lighthouse. Shopping at Redfern Village is the best.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Illinois Family with 2 young children(ages 10 & 13 months)

Review submitted: June 22, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

This was our second stay at this house and it's our absolute favorite vacation spot!!! The house is clean, has just enough space and you'll have everything you need in the kitchen. We've never had any issues and Billy is great to work with! The beach is truly just steps from the driveway!! We enjoyed fishing, walking on the beach, playing in the ocean, and during low tide we found a variety of shells and sand dollars! The kids enjoyed the outside shower to rinse off the sand from the beach. Shark fishing with Caption Tj, shopping in the village and a sea turtle walk at Jekyll island this area has something for everyone!! Southern Soul Bbq and Barbara Jeans in the village are awesome!!! Thanks again Billy for sharing your home with us!!
We'll be back next year :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Indiana couple

Review submitted: May 18, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

This is the perfect beach getaway cottage. It is located in a quiet residential neighborhood, with beach access practically out the front door. The beach is non-crowded, and is wide and flat, with no shells or rocks...perfect for long walks. The kitchen is excellently equipped. The outdoor shower is accessible from inside the cottage, which is an amenity we have never experienced in any beach house. The outdoor deck is a wonderful extra; great for sunning, reading, or enjoying the view of the ocean. The screened porch is comfortable and cool, with ceiling fans. We had a fabulous week, and recommend this cottage without reservation. It is an excellent value.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

A great find!

Review submitted: April 17, 2013   Date of arrival: April 10, 2013

This is the perfect spot for a small family. A perfect, quiet location steps from the beach, this cozy home has it all! A nice screened in porch to enjoy your meals, and an elevated deck to see the Atlantic, a family who wants to relax will find this home will fit their needs. Billy was very accommodating as well!

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Heaven on the Beach

Review submitted: January 16, 2013   Date of arrival: December 20, 2012

Walk on a powdery sand trail 1 min. away to St.Simons most beautiful beach where the tide never keeps you off the beach! Arrived to a clean, well-appointed house with a good supply of necessities laid in so no running off to grocery after driving all day. The most comfortable mattress I've ever slept on in the Master BR. Since we were there for a week over Christmas, one of the most compelling features of the home was the wood burning fireplace which we kept stoked night after night. The owner was readily available and fortunately we never needed any repairs, but when I locked the door w/o the key, he was there, uncomplaining, in a flash on Christmas Eve! Truly a delightful experience and I hope to be back next year, if not sooner.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Cute East Beach house!

Review submitted: November 14, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed my weekend. Had all the required household goodies. House is sooo close to the beach. Quiet but friendly neighbors.....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect for a Week at the Beach

Review submitted: August 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

We just spent 7 days at the beach cottage and thoroughly enjoyed it. It was myself and my two daughters. We had all the comforts we needed and walked to the beach every day. I was even able to walk back quickly for things we might have forgotten. I would recommend this to anyone looking for an affordable beach week on St. Simon's.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Colorado ttraveler

Review submitted: June 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

Thanks so much -- we had a great time and appreciated all of the comfortable touches. We are long time visitors to St. Simons...I grew up in Atlanta and married a St Simons resident. It was good to be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful views, steps to the beach

Review submitted: May 28, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this home. Everything in the house was so comfortable and just steps from the beach. It is perfect for a couple or a family. It was so nice to have everything on the main floor if you have problems climbing stairs. The beds were very comfortable and the kitchen is well stocked for any needs. The screened-in porch is a plus and is cool in the afternoons and at night. The deck is a perfect place to have a cup of coffee in the morning or just watch the sunset. The outside shower is so wonderful to rinse off with warm water and privacy. The owner is very considerate and wants his guest to be pleased with the accommodations and has very helpful information about great places to visit on the island. We are already making plans for next summer.

Michael & Janie Morton

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Honeymoon

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

This was the PERFECT island get away! We loved St. Simon's and loved this cozy cottage. Peaceful and quiet and relaxing. Loved, loved, loved the outdoor shower! We hope to return soon. Thanks Billy, for sharing your cottage with us!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: April 21, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

Our stay here was wonderful. Right on the beach! It was very relaxing and cozy. Thanks Billy!! I know we will be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your review. It is a small cottage. Great for couples and couples with 2 children.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Beach Getaway

Review submitted: November 5, 2010   Date of arrival: October 27, 2010

We stayed for Georgia Florida weekend and could not have been more pleased. When you think of a private beach retreat this is it! Easy walk to the beach and the outdoor patio with an ocean view are make this place special. We will definitely consider staying again.

David, Atlanta

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

A Magic Place

Review submitted: October 5, 2010   Date of arrival: September 8, 2010

This was our fourth year at this wonderful home. You will find adventure and peace here. The house is eclectic and unique. Billy Wolfe is an amazing person and an amazing host. The beach is always changing from year to year - that is the adventure ! If you like the freedom to do as you please, steps from the ocean, quiet evenings, and a smile on your face every day - this is the place ... Michael and Terry Moore -

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Best Beach House!

Review submitted: October 3, 2010   Date of arrival: September 8, 2010

We have enjoyed visiting St. Simons Island for 30 years. This beach house rental is one of our best discoveries! Clean, close to the beach, quiet, and reasonably priced.

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Great Location

Review submitted: September 7, 2010   Date of arrival: July 27, 2010

What a charmer! This cottage was amazing. Very close to beach and I loved the outdoor shower and grill provided. Mr Wolfe was very considerate and willing to help with any needs. Ease of "checking in" and out was a blessing as were the views from the deck.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

LOCATION! LOCATION! LOCATION! Dom & Pat Hilton Head SC

Review submitted: July 27, 2010   Date of arrival: July 23, 2010

If you are looking for a quiet,close to the Beach,Relaxing,and SPECTACULAR VIEWS!!! ,THIS IS THE PLACE TO COME TO!! We live @ the beach in SC and still enjoyed this great get-away. This place will provide everything you need and will create memories for a lifetime!!! Dom & Pat D. HHI,SC

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

beautiful St Simons

Review submitted: April 25, 2010   Date of arrival: March 30, 2010

We really enjoyed our time in this nice cottage! It was great, having breakfast on the sundeck looking over the ocean. We hope to come back some day!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: September 17, 2009   Date of arrival: September 17, 2009

We just got home from our 3 day stay in this very cozy and charming cottage. I would highly recommend it for it's cleanliness and proximity to everything on the island.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: August 27, 2009   Date of arrival: August 27, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed staying in this unique beach cottage. Everything was simple, comfortable and very nice. We had all the comforts of home. The beach is literally 50 steps for the beach.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review