reviews for: listing #6678 - South Lake Tahoe, California House rental

Spacious 8 Bedroom Home, Hot Tub, BBQ, Wifi
  • bedrooms  8
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  18
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $750 - $1,700 /nt
    $4,900 - $10,500 /wk
    $15,000 - $15,000 /mth

sort by:

Great for large groups

Review submitted: July 7, 2013   Date of arrival: July 3, 2013

We rented this home over the July 4th holiday. It was great for our group as it accommodated our large group and was a reasonable price. The location was great in relation to activities (there's a great area for trails off Oneidas Street). The neighborhood was mostly full-time working class residents.

Pros:
Location (close to activities, lake, grocery store, etc - usually 15 mins drive depending on where you're going)
Large patio - great for eating outdoors when it's warm
Portable fans in every room to try and cool the rooms down
Extra toilet paper, facial tissue boxes
Plenty of room for everyone to spread out
Plenty of parking for our six cars
Main floor bedrooms (for elderly visitors)

Cons:
Home is not well-kept (scuffs on walls, dirty carpets)
Home was not in good shape when we arrived (missing hand soaps, meat left in oven, debris on patio tables)
Three of the downstairs bedrooms don't have any windows
One of the upstairs beds is REALLY high (about three feet tall - tough to get in/out of)
There is no door at the top of the stairs to protect little ones from going downstairs
Some windows don't have screens (making it difficult to cool the house during dusk hours due to mosquitoes)
Cracked tiles in game room (dangerous for curious toddlers)

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for being our guest and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate you letting us know about the issues that arose. We have a new cleaning crew that we use for deep cleanings. Now, a few times a year, we have a deep cleaning take place. Sometimes when jobs become too routine, errors are made, as was the case with the cleaning crew who did not check the oven. That had never happened before and has not happened since. We advise them, and they have been much better about it, to be sure to check the soap and containers to make sure they are filled for every guest. The deck is cleaned regularly after each visit. However, sometimes, with or without wind in Tahoe, the pine needles and saplings fall, an hour after everything has been cleaned. It is quite troublesome and something folks in Tahoe have to battle every summer. However, we do our best to be sure it cleaned. You may encounter it clean when you first arrive to the home, then, may have to clean it during your stay.
We have removed the height of the bed so that is no longer an issue. Thank you for letting us know about the difficulty getting in and out of it. You are correct, 3 bedrooms downstairs do not have windows, and we have updated our photos to show those rooms. The home owner has spent a lot money and time in trying to upgrade the house in many ways. He had a bathroom redone, changed the TVs to two 42" flat screen TVs, 10x faster internet just to name a few.
We appreciate your feedback! It has been very helpful to help us improve. Thank you again for being our guest and taking the time to write a review.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great South Lake Tahoe vacation rental home

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 29, 2011

The Ormsby house is a huge house with room for 18+ people. There is a fantastic view and you can experience the outstanding nature right from the veranda or the hot tub. The house is not located very far from shopping and casinos and is very close to Heavenly ski resort as well. My friends and I really enjoyed staying at the Ormsby house and I would recommend it to everyone going to Tahoe.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great South Lake Tahoe vacation rental home

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 29, 2011

The Ormsby house is a huge house with room for 18+ people. There is a fantastic view and you can experience the outstanding nature right from the veranda or the hot tub. The house is not located very far from shopping and casinos and is very close to Heavenly ski resort as well. My friends and I really enjoyed staying at the Ormsby house and I would recommend it to everyone going to Tahoe.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great, big place - beautiful surroundings

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 29, 2011

I had a really amazing stay in South Lake Tahoe this September/October. Great time of the year to be there, with leaves turning but still warm weather. The Ormsby house was everything me and my friends needed. Lots of space, nice and clean, pool table and ping-pong table in the basement provided many fun evenings and the hot tub is of course an extra bonus from where you have a great view of a valley. Beautiful! I would come back any time. Thanks to South Lake Tahoe vacation rental homes for a fantastic vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you! I am glad you and your friends had a great stay at the house and a fun time in Tahoe! Thank you for being our guests and taking the time to write a review.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great, big place - beautiful surroundings

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 29, 2011

I had a really amazing stay in South Lake Tahoe this September/October. Great time of the year to be there, with leaves turning but still warm weather. The Ormsby house was everything me and my friends needed. Lots of space, nice and clean, pool table and ping-pong table in the basement provided many fun evenings and the hot tub is of course an extra bonus from where you have a great view of a valley. Beautiful! I would come back any time. Thanks to South Lake Tahoe vacation rental home for a fantastic vacation!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to hangout

Review submitted: September 8, 2011   Date of arrival: August 24, 2011

Some friends and I stayed at the Ormsby house for 3 nights and had a blast. The large deck on the back overlooking the stream and mountains was beautiful and was very relaxing. The game room downstairs is huge and great, as it was quiet at nights for the neighbors. I would stay here again. It's very clean, cozy house, and the Mgmt was fantastic to work with!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you so much for the review! I like how South Lake Tahoe can be both relaxing and yet if you want to go out and enjoy night life at the casinos, you can. It's like the best of both worlds. In the summer, you have the activities associated with Lake Tahoe. And, in the winter you have the skiing benefits with Heavenly Ski Resort only a couple miles away.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay! And, thank you for the kind words about the management! :) We are great to work with! :) :) .. Thank you for being a great guest!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Rain leak, cold room

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: December 18, 2010

I do not know how this property was rated excellent. I have a very bad experience. One room has rain leak to the room also heater not working well. We could not stay in that room and needed to move to living room. This is not right place. When you called for explanation, no any answer. Poor management!!!

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Owners response: Thanks a lot for writing about the South Lake Tahoe rental house. In the house manual, in the paperwork, and on the fridge has the name of the local maintenance crew in Tahoe. They are available 24 hours a day to assist you while you are on vacation. It looks like you called the rental office which is closed on the weekends. I am sorry about that. We checked on the leak and it was a small leak in the lower left corner of the room by the window. Thanks for letting us know but I think you still could have used the room and the cabin. It was due to the massive snow we received which gave Heavenly Skli Resort 9 Feet of new snow. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fantastic stay in beautiful surroundings in South Lake Tahoe

Review submitted: December 3, 2010   Date of arrival: December 1, 2010

Some friends had stayed at this rental cabin before and loved it and so did we. The jacuzzi is a new addition and a must after spending all day at the slopes 10 minutes away. Enjoyed playing pool, pingpong, two fireplaces and big flatscreen tvs. Loved this vecation rental!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic place that has it ALL!

Review submitted: December 2, 2010   Date of arrival: November 30, 2010

This place is amazing! It is HUGE and each bedroom is spacious with clean, comfortable decor. It is great for relaxing and socializing at the same time. The kitchen is spacious, well stocked, and perfect for making meals for a crowd (although I must mention that some of the best pizza I've ever had is at the Brewery only a few minutes away). It's super easy to get to the slopes and the lake and is simply a perfect location in South Lake Tahoe. Oh and can't forget about the hot tub...looking out over a beautiful, serene meadow, was exactly what I needed after a day of snowboarding. Lastly, I did have to work while there and the wifi worked perfectly! I can't recommend this place enough...enjoy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing Tahoe Mansion

Review submitted: November 9, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2010

This place is HUGE, clean, new construction, well-maintained, and so much fun. There is something for everyone, with luxury and comfort. Huge kitchen with lots of room for group cooking. There is a BBQ grill, and bread warmer.

Special amenities such as ping pong table, hot tub, TV in almost every room. It felt like every bedroom had bathroom. This place is beautiful and huge. It is nested in nature and a quiet side of South Lake Tahoe. We took a cab to the casinos, for a few dollars; but it was so nice to come back to a quiet beautiful place to relax and sleep.

My favorite was the hot tub and kitchen. The hot tub because I was soaking in magical peace. The kitchen because it was huge and extremely highend esp. for Tahoe standards.

This house is perfect for any large group families and friends. Had a wonderful stay and can't wait to go back. Will be dreaming of you from the busy city life.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A great home for a big group

Review submitted: October 26, 2010   Date of arrival: October 15, 2010

I loved this home! The location was perfect - close to the casinos, but set in a woodsy area. I loved the open space and the natural wood-burning fireplaces!! I hardly see that anymore- everybody I know seems to have gas or electric fire places. It is so nice to get out of a hot tub, put on cozy clothes and drink a glass of wine next to a fire with friends around. The game room was great! It would be perfect for a large group of friends or family members. Oh- and the sofa was perfect and the beds were VERY comfortable!!! I had a great time and would definitely recommend this home to people!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great home for a retreat into the woods.

Review submitted: October 21, 2010   Date of arrival: October 15, 2010

I loved this home! The bed was super cozy and I loved the natural wood burning fireplace!! The hot tub was amazing, not just because it was a great hot tub, but, because the view when sitting in the relaxing hot water was so beautiful. The location of the home was perfect- quiet and residential. There were trails nearby the house and a disc golf course that was only a short distance away. Not only do I want to go back, but I would definitely recommend this home to friends and relatives!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very impressed

Review submitted: October 20, 2010   Date of arrival: October 15, 2010

I was very impressed with the standard of this house. It just had everything you could ask for, and all in super hight quality. A huge kitchen with multiple sinks and a large island, an enormous flat screen TV in the downstairs living room with streamable netflix movies, super comfy beds, and of course the jacuzzi, pool, etc that you would expect in a house of this class.

We were 13 people, and the house was almost too big for us :)

I'm just impressed and surprised that the owner dares putting in such high end stuff all around when one can expect a lot of wear and tear from all the guests.

Definitely the nicest vacation rental cabin I've ever stayed at.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful spacious luxury resort

Review submitted: October 19, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2010

I really enjoyed my stay at this resort. It has a huge kitchen, so being a group of several people we had a great evening cooking and socialising. Also the outdoor jacuzzi was a great hit - great view from there too - relaxing there with a beer was great.
The many bedrooms makes it perfect for being several people.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Exactly what we were looking for!

Review submitted: October 19, 2010   Date of arrival: October 15, 2010

What a fun weekend! The house was clean, comfortable, spacious and peaceful (when we wanted it to be). Conducive to so much fun too! I LOVED the indoor shuffle board game (natural talent for a beginner) pool, & ping pong too. Online access to tons of Netflix movies and lots of couches to snuggle in to. Love the big hot tub and my bed was really comfortable. My boyfriend and I also took advantage of the running trails right outside the house. We also were really close to the frisbee golf fields (couple minutes drive).

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a place! Love it!

Review submitted: October 19, 2010   Date of arrival: October 14, 2010

WOW! This house has it all! It is close to the slopes, beautiful hikes and stores, as well as the casinos. I stayed with a big group for 4 days. The kitchen is well stocked with all the tools you'll need to feed a big group. The TV downstairs is super large, hooked up to hundreds of movies online, and the jacuzzi comfortably holds 6 people and smells clean.

I would most definitely stay here again! Love it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exactly what I was looking for!

Review submitted: October 19, 2010   Date of arrival: October 15, 2010

Comfortable, clean, quiet house. Bigger than I had expected. I kept walking around and finding new rooms and more things to do. Example: indoor shuffle board! So fun. Loved the online access to tons of Netflix movies and lots of couches to spread out & find a quiet corner to read my book by the fireplace. My boyfriend and I also loved the easy access to running trails right outside the house!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a fantastic place!

Review submitted: October 19, 2010   Date of arrival: October 14, 2010

WOW! This house has it all! It is close to the slopes, beautiful hikes and stores, as well as the casinos. I stayed with a big group for 4 days. The kitchen is well stocked with all the tools you'll need to feed a big group. The TV downstairs is super large, hooked up to hundreds of movies online, and the jacuzzi comfortably holds 6 people and smells clean.

I would most definitely stay here again! Love it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing house!

Review submitted: May 15, 2010   Date of arrival: May 7, 2010

We stayed for the a couple o days and it was not enough time to enjoy this beautiful home. The house has everything you need to make the experience even better, pool table, bbq and a Jacuzzi! The property itself it's beautiful ,spacious and clean. The rooms were nice with comfortable queen size beds. The location was great, only five minutes from South Lake Tahoe's downtown! I will definitely recommend this house for a pleasant stay in S. Lake Tahoe!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Ormsby House

Review submitted: May 13, 2010   Date of arrival: May 7, 2010

Amazing house; clean and in a great location!
My friends and I stayed at this house for a weekend and each of us were very pleased about what this house offered.
With its 9 rooms, two TV rooms, game room with a pool table, foosball table, Ping pong table, a jacuzzi and a sauna. Our stay could not be more fun!
This house is located in South Lake Tahoe and is 10 minutes away from the downtown, the Casino and The lake; which made our stay even more enjoyable just knowing that we could be at those places and back in no time.
This amazing place also counts with a great deck with a BBQ and a great scenery with a river and a Hiking trail just outside your backdoor.
I would highly recommend this place if you are planning an upcoming trip to Lake Tahoe. Again we had a great time and nothing could have been better at the house!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Nice getaway

Review submitted: May 11, 2010   Date of arrival: May 7, 2010

Really nice house with lots of amenities. Everything is clean and ready to use. The view is even better.Perfect to have a nice vacation. Hotels nd downtown are only couple miles away. Perfect for families and friends. If anybody thinking about visit S lake Tahoe you will def. Wanna check this house

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Beautiful home!

Review submitted: May 11, 2010   Date of arrival: May 7, 2010

We stayed for the a couple o days and it was not enough time to enjoy this beautiful home. The house has everything you need to make the experience even better, pool table, bbq and a Jacuzzi! The property itself it's beautiful ,spacious and clean. The rooms were nice with comfortable queen size beds. The location was great, only five minutes from South Lake Tahoe's downtown! I will definitely recommend this house for a pleasant stay in S. Lake Tahoe!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

A (hidden) Gem in South Lake Tahoe

Review submitted: May 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 4, 2010

I've stayed at this house a several times now and though it was time to write a review. This is definitely one of those houses where you don't expect much when you see it from the curve, but it surprises you once you get inside. It has 7 bedrooms, so it's great for large groups. The downstairs has a huge game room and heated floors (which is very cozy in the winter) Lot's of room to play and relax.

One of the best things about the house is that it's situated next to a nature reserve, which means beautiful views and great hiking right from the back yard and oh yeah, sitting in the spanking new hot tub after a great day on the slopes or on the trails is as good as it gets.

I'll be staying here again the next time I'm in South Lake Tahoe.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Get away from it all...with your extended family

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: January 10, 2010

This house is great for relaxing with the family or group of friends. It has all the comforts of home, plus a bunch of games for those that are competitive. We have stayed there during the winter and went skiing. It was close enough to town to give the feeling that the slopes are in the backyard. Also spent a weekend at the house during the summer with a bunch of friends. It was great weather, bar-b-que on the deck, hiking right outside the door, and overall a really relaxing time. The price for staying in the house easily beats the hotels in town if you are enough people. Will definitely stay again in the house!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review