reviews for: listing #66838 - Hermosa Beach, California House rental

Luxurious Oceanfront Home and Guest Suite Right on the Beach
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  South Hermosa Beach
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $295 - $1,190 /nt
    $2,495 - $7,495 /wk
    $12,500 - $20,000 /mth

sort by:

Great place

Review submitted: September 11, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

We rented Bill's place for Labor Day, 2013. It is a great place. Great location, great decks (including a rooftop). And Bill was very easy to deal with. My cleaning deposit was promptly refunded, and all of the instructions were right on. We did have a very hot weather weekend and there is no AC. But with the windows and doors opened it cooled off, and we know it was unseasonably hot that weekend.

All in all a great place and I recommend it.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: This Labor Day weekend Friday, was the hottest day of the year! There is no air conditioner in the house since it is very seldom needed. There are windows and doors in the front and the back of the house that let the ocean breeze blow through out the house. There is a forced air heater for the Winter months.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Colorado native, 33rd birthday party

Review submitted: August 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

Bill was a great landlord to work with, He was easy, understanding, and very flexible with my payments (especially when I was running a little late). Gave us specific details about the place and what to expect. The house is amazing right on the beach front of THE STRAND you have access to everything including the beach right in front of your porch!

Love this place and i really enjoyed my birthday. THANK YOU BILL!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Bill, the owner is such a great guy. He will take good care of you.

Review submitted: March 4, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

We had a family reunion and decided to rent a beach villa at Hermosa beach, CA. After reviewing several sites we decided to rent this one and proceeded with the paper work. Bill who owns this place was so great in helping us with the payment and deposits. He was very flexible and down to earth and we felt very relaxed about this whole deal. After arrival, we found the house professionally cleaned and in good condition. There was enough towels and blankets to house all 10 of us. The house is beautiful with several exterior decks as well as rooftop for star gazing. We had a wonderful time there and after our return trip we received our deposit back on time. We plan on going back again . We highly recommend this place.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

EXCELLENCE on the beach

Review submitted: January 25, 2013   Date of arrival: January 3, 2013

My stay at this luxurious home on the beach was an absolute delight! The owner is a lovely man, Bill Flaherty, that met me at the door to show me around and make sure I knew where all the amenities were located.

The house was immaculate & clean and the Guest Book answered any questions I might have had that were not addressed by the owner. My favorite was watching the sunset from the living rooms huge picture windows and being able to see my kids play on the beach w/a watchful lifeguard right in front of the house. My family and I also loved that you could walk to the Hermosa Pier Plaza in 10 minutes and have all the coolest restaurants with the best food & drink so handy.

I would highly recommend this beautiful home to all that want a peaceful yet fun vacation from reality.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Great location but...

Review submitted: December 24, 2012   Date of arrival: November 1, 2012

I travel frequently from silicon valley to visit several friends who live in Hermosa and Redondo. On this trip I decided to book a beach front property to share with 4 friends who were down from Canada. It was a treat for them just getting out of the snow.

Initial impression was not good. Kitchen was full of fruit flies due to a garbage disposal full of old scraps of food. Plus the dishwasher was full of dirty dishes, which required 2 wash cycles to get the crud off. Not exactly off to a good start.

We used the BBQ on the roof, which was filthy and had to be run for some time to clean. The tank was nearly empty and so we had to change the tank. Things were rusted pretty bad and a pain to change in the dark.

For sleeping we had one guy on the small futon chair and one on the couch (sleeping beyond 4 is a stretch).

To top the experience off, the owner accused us of breaking the famous stained glass door in the main entrance! I wasn't asked if we damaged it, but just notified that my deposit was to have the damages subtracted from it! I challenged the accusation and even threatened to dispute the whole charge with my credit card company. The owner finally backed down, but still had the nerve to deduct a cleaning fee.

He could have done the right thing and waived the cleaning fee since we left the property in better shape than we received it...Plus the accusatory nature totally turned me off from renting from vrbo again!

If you decide to rent this property, please photograph everything when you arrive and email yourself and owner to time stamp things....

Owners response: I am a very attentive manager / live in owner and I was NEVER notified of any of the above problems during the guests stay. If I had been notified, I would have rectified the problems immediately. I instruct all guests to call me immediately if there are ANY problems with the house. The guests had my cell # which I give to ALL guests and I talked to them during their stay when they called me to get a late check out time. Why wasn't I inform of any of these problems during their stay? If there were problems as stated they could have been cleared up immediately with a quick visit by my cleaning crew. Why did the guests wait till after they had left the house and had damaged the stained glass front door to mention these small problems?
Shame on you for posting untruths and then being upset because I tried to charge you for the considerable damage you did to my home. The house was left a mess. Dirty sheets and towels were left on the floors and the stained glass front door was left broken. We both know that that door was not broken but in perfect condition (which you agreed to) before your stay.I personally found the door damaged on the day you left. No one else had been in the house but you and your party of 4 guy friends for your BOYS weekend. You threatened me with a bad review if I did not refund your deposit in full. As a courtesy and good will gesture to you, I refunded your deposit in full as you requested even though the damage you did to the house was in the hundreds of dollars I refunded your security deposit in Full and did not charge you for any cleaning even though you left the house in a complete mess and the front door broken. Since you were refunded the deposit in full, I don't appreciate you telling untruths about my home to save your security deposit, which was refunded before you wrote this review, then writing a negative review since you and your party were the ones that caused ALL the damages and problems.

TO ALL FUTURE GUESTS! You are my #1 priority and I have pride in myself and my house. I am here to meet all your expectations and will bend over backwards to make sure that your stay is as enjoyable as possible. I am always available 24/7, for any problems, needs or questions you may have about the house or the surrounding beach areas.

Helpful votes: 5 / 8

 

Fun in the Sun

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in Hermosa in Flairadise house. It has a very unique open interior. Large windows, clear view out the the beach, sunset and watching morning dolphins. 3 levels of decks was fun. This home is close enough that riding bikes to restaurant and shopping area was easy and enjoyable. Keeping the doors open for cool Pacific breezes in the morning and evening was pleasant, but a bit buggy at night. Downstairs tenant in separate home was not around much, making it seem like they weren't there. Only other challenging aspect was open space of master bedroom overlooking living room where someone else watched tv and slept. Pleasant environment, clean and pretty decor. Thank you!

Recommended for: people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: During the summer months there are a few mosquitoes from time to time, if all the doors and windows are kept open. If the doors are closed at night there is no problem.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Super comfortable

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

We celebrated my wife's 50th birthday here over the weekend. We really had a blast. It was fun exploring the different levels of the house and the numerous patios/decks. The house has everything you need and the rooftop deck provided stunning views of the South Bay. The owner Bill was really nice and very agreeable to deal with. The garage and parking pass were great as parking by the beach is always tough. Lots of great bars and restaurants within walking distance as well. My wife had such a good time that she wants to return next year for a whole week!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Bit of Paradise

Review submitted: August 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

Our total experience while staying at this beautiful home was "terrific". It is situated just far enough away from the pier to enjoy the activities but not be disturbed by them. I spent every morning on the roof top patio enjoying the serenity and magnificent views of the sunrise and the beach. It is nicely decorated and the stained glass windows are magnificent. Everything you needed was provided for in the kitchen but the pots and pans need to be replaced. We were surprised that there were no screens as we always kept the windows open for the great breeze but had to deal with bugs coming in. There is so much to do in the area and all in walking distance but staying at the house and enjoying a patio at every level is a vacation in itself. The only glitch was the sleeping arrangements where we had 2 people sleeping on the living room couches with no privacy. We would still highly recommend this home and it was a pleasure dealing with the owner.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Would definatly stay here again!

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 19, 2012

We used this home for a girls weekend and it was great! Bill, the ownder was friendly, helpful and expained the home well. Great views of beach and the rooftop deck has plenty of seating, a table to eat, a BBQ upstairs as well. Plenty of beach towels, sleeping blankets, and washer dryer in garage. The home is in close proximity to the main Pier and attractions that you can walk to. Great place to stay!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Beach Week

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: June 18, 2012

Let's start with that we had a great time! Being right on the beach is fantastic. We biked, ran, and walked the the Strand. Lots of fun.

The pictures are accurate, but we were surprised that the exterior picture indicated a contemporary, up-to-date unit. We found this to be not so accurate but workable with an open mind. Bill is easy to work wtih and very responsive.

The unit comfortably sleeps three adults (one queen and one double bed). We put our two teens on the roof in sleeping bags on the lawn furniture. Bill was helpful about the constraints with dogs on the beach. The nearest dog beach is at Long Beach, which is a hassle to get to as LA traffic is amazing!

Owners response: There is a dog park in Redondo Beach about a half mile from the property and a 4 mile long green belt where you can walk you dog about 2 blocks from property.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

1st time user

Review submitted: June 22, 2012   Date of arrival: June 11, 2012

The view was specticular and we saw dolphins from the front window two mornings. My kids utilized the bikes several days and rented the grandkids smaller bikes nearby. My son got surfer lessons for father's day at the pier nearby. When I had questions the owner responded quickly and was always helpful. We had a great vacation.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place at the beach

Review submitted: July 5, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

My family and I stayed at the beach house June 25 - July 1, 2011. Beautiful home, exceptional views, everything you could possible need. We especially enjoyed spending time on the rooftop deck watching the dolphins and enjoying the gorgeous views. Bill was courteous and helpful, we'll definitely be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Had a wonderful time

Review submitted: October 7, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

We were looking for a relaxing vacation and we got it here. The place is very nicely maintained and had a lot of amenities. You are very close to the pier which includes shopping and restaurants. We would definitely stay here again.

Janet

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 27, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

We have stayed at this wonderful home 3 times in the last year. The location is awesome. Right on the beach. It is an easy walk to all of the Pier Plaza activities. It is a perfect South Bay getaway. Strand crusing, surfing, hanging out at the beach are all right at the door step. Truely a five star location and set-up. We plan to return for New Years

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review