reviews for: listing #66849 - Hilo, Hawaii House rental

Lopaka's Family Lodge in Hilo
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Ainako Terrace
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $110 - $150 /nt
    $700 - $950 /wk
    $2,400 - $2,400 /mth

sort by:

First Time In Hilo--We'll Be Back

Review submitted: April 14, 2014   Date of arrival: April 2, 2014

This is an excellent place to stay: spacious, comfortable, well-appointed, and spotlessly clean. The photos do not adequately convey how nice it is. Bev is a gracious host, warmly welcoming and easily reachable for questions. The view from the lanai is terrific, with lots of lush greenery and glimpses of the Pacific. Be sure to shop for produce at the Farmers' Market, and see Rainbow Falls on a sunny morning.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo for sharing your experience at Lopaka's. I appreciate your taking the time to give your review and am so happy to hear that you would like to return to Hilo again some day. You'll always be welcome here.
Aloha,
Bev

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Winter Get Away

Review submitted: April 12, 2014   Date of arrival: January 1, 2014

This was our second winter at Lopakas and we enjoyed every minute and will return again in 2015. We enjoyed breakfast on the lanai almost every morning. The view from the lanai is awesome and reveals most of Hilo. The location is also great as it is close to the University and its activities, to downtown and our favorite restaurant, Cafe Pesto, and provides easy access to the highways leading to other parts of the Island such as Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, to Kona and to Kohala where we spent a number of hours whale watching this past winter. We found the owner to be very accommodating and easily accessible. In our opinion, Lopaka's is a can't miss home away from home to spend time on the east side of the Big Island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo nui loa!! Always look forward to your return and appreciate your positive comments.
Bev & (Samson)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

An excellent stay in Hilo

Review submitted: January 7, 2014   Date of arrival: December 24, 2013

I highly recommend Lopaka's for anyone looking for comfort of a home away from home. The unit is extremely clean, well stocked with various household items, and conveniently located for exploring Hilo's side of the island. We felt very welcomed and did not want to leave.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo Olga!
I appreciate your very helpful review.
You were excellent guests and I will look forward to your family returning soon....hopefully next year.
Aloha nui,
Bev

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Home Away From Home!

Review submitted: November 29, 2013   Date of arrival: November 13, 2013

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at Lopaka's and had a wonderful, relaxing, and memorable time! Bev was a wonderful hostess, always available when needed, yet we felt we had plenty of privacy. (We wished we could've had more time to get to know this wonderful lady!) The lanai was a beautiful place to have coffee every morning and watch the sunrise. Be sure to check out Rainbow Falls which is only about 1 mile away. The home is just as beautiful and clean as it looks in the pictures (no false advertising! :-) ) We took time to visit several places on the Big Island, but also enjoy our little home away from home. We would highly recommend Lopaka's Family Lodge! (Bev, I already miss Samson and it was so nice to chat with you a bit before we left!) Mahalo, from Scott & Beth

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo nui loa Scott & Beth for your positive comments!
It means a lot to me to know that I've accomplished my goal. I am so pleased that you had a wonderful experience here, and hope you will return someday soon. It would have been so much fun to get to know you better. Samson will be watching for you. :)

Ke Akua pu a hui hou,
Bev

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

One bedroom apartment adjacent to owner's residence.

Review submitted: November 28, 2013   Date of arrival: November 24, 2013

This is an one bedroom apartment that is separated by from the owner's residence by a wide covered porch and walkway. It's located in a calm neighborhood. The term "lodge" seems off but perhaps it makes sense in the context of the owner's family.

The place is meticulously maintained. All the light switches are labeled, all the appliances seem to be the best and the newest and so is the dinnerware and cutlery. There are books and board games to enjoy.

There's a very pleasant view of the airport and ocean from the back porch.

It was a less private than I expected from a vacation rental - it was unclear to us beforehand that we'd be staying adjacent to the owner.

We did have to wash the towels and bedding when we got there. Not because they weren't clean, but because they were so strongly scented it was unpleasant and made us both cough at night. With the wonderful washer and dryer there this was quick and easy, however.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Owners response: Mahalo Michiel for your sincere review. I appreciate your comments.
I am sorry that your experience wasn't perfect. I am rethinking my property description to make it more clear that the lodge is adjacent to my property. This has never seemed to be an issue. However, I don't want anyone to be disappointed with their choice. I do try to balance the privacy needs of my guests with the need to address any concerns they may have. I may have overdone this in your case.
I'm not sure what product was used that gave the bedding and towels a strong scent. I will be checking with the housekeeper to be certain that only unscented detergents and dryer sheets are being used. I wish you had brought that to my attention, because you should never have had to be the one to correct it. I will certainly be checking all of the bedding and linens before the next guest arrives to be certain this never happens again.
I'm glad that you at least enjoyed your time in Hilo, and otherwise found the rental satisfactory.
Aloha,
Bev

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place

Review submitted: November 18, 2013   Date of arrival: October 28, 2013

I can't say enough about our stay at Lapaka's Family Lodge. It is in the perfect location for exploring the Hilo side of the Big Island. Bev is the perfect host and thought of everything. The house is very attractive and has everything you could possibly need not to mention how clean it is. You can not go wrong staying in this house. You will be glad you did.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo Ray & Pat,
It was great having such nice folks as guests. Lopaka's is the perfect place for the perfect people. Please come back soon.
I hope Beatyrest is still making that mattress, otherwise you'll have to come back to get a good nights sleep again.
Aloha,
Bev

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Place to stay on the Big Island!

Review submitted: October 13, 2013   Date of arrival: September 25, 2013

We loved Lopeka's! If you want an amazing accommodation, this is the place to stay on the Big Island. The house is beautifully decorated and has everything one can ever need. From Guidebooks, kitchen utensils, beach towels, extra blankets to washing utensils there is not one thing we missed. You will be surprised at what extras you will discover! This really is a home away from home! The Garden was lovely with all the different kinds of fruits. There even was a fruit basket on our arrival.
The owner Bev was courteous and helped us whenever we needed it. She just thinks of everything and is such an excellent host!
The place is a good base for exploring the whole island! Especially since the Saddle Road is in such a great condition now. You can be in Kona in just over an hour. We loved to stay in a place that is away from all the hustle and bustle, but is still in driving distance to most attractions.(Volcano National Park, Waipi'o Valley, Mauna Kea etc.) It is such a lovely quiet neighborhood and we felt very safe!
We plan to return to the Lopaka's Family Lodge if we get a chance to return to the Big Island!
Thank you for the great hospitality!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Christian & Caroline,
Mahalo nui loa! I appreciate your excellent review and rating, and for mentioning how close we are to everything. It is good to know that the Saddle Road is such a great way to get to the Kona side of the island. The last time I drove over (several months ago) it wasn't complete, so it sounds like they've finished the construction.
I would be happy to see you return to Lopaka's one day; perhaps for another anniversary.
Fondly,
Bev

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We loved Lopaka's!

Review submitted: October 9, 2013   Date of arrival: September 9, 2013

What a wonderful stay we had at Lopaka's Family Lodge! E komo mai, welcome, is how you are greeted by the owner, who showers you with the Aloha Spirit! I believe this was the cleanest, best maintained VRBO that we have had the good fortune to call home......away from home! We also love Hilo! We found so much to do on the east side of Hawaii, two weeks was maybe not long enough! I would recommend this property to all, and would love to return again! Bev-Ke Akua pu a hui hou.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Aloha Susan & Bob,
Mahalo! It doesn't seem sufficient to simply say thank you . I appreciate your review, but mostly I appreciate all you did while here at Lopaka's. The timing couldn't have been more perfect for two such as you to arrive on Lopaka's doorstep. I will indeed look forward to your return, and hope it is soon. Samson says he will too.
You are correct, 2 weeks isn't long enough to see everything. You need at least 3 weeks to do that. Let's make a plan.
Your Hawaiian language skills are impressive!
Ke Akua pu a hui hou,
Bev

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved Lopaka family home especially Bev and Samson!

Review submitted: September 4, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

We were really lucky to have found such a welcoming and warm home to stay at while in Hilo. The condo was more than anything I could have asked for. Bev and Sampson (her dog) takes very good care of property and thinks of everything that you will need during your stay. Everything from her furniture , appliances , kitchen cutlery and utensils might be some of the best I've seen at a rental home. The space is perfect for a couple or a couple with a small child. I will definitely return to the Lopaka family home when I visit Big Island again. I wish I could have stayed longer!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo!!
I appreciate all your positive comments, but most of all I am so appreciative of all your very helpful PT tips. I want you to know that I have put them into practice with very positive results. I wish you much success in graduate school, and many blessings in your life.
Aloha!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Ein tolles Haus in Hilo

Review submitted: August 6, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

Wir hatten uns für die Regenseite der Insel entschieden, da von dort aus unsere Highlights Mauna Kea, Volcano und die Puna-Region besser erreichbar waren.
Empfangen wurden wir von Beverly, einer sehr netten älteren Dame, die uns einperfekt eingerichtetes und sehr sauberes Urlaubsdomizil übergeben hat. Wir waren mit zwei Kindern (13 und 15 Jahre alt) dort und haben uns in dieser geräumigen Wohnung sehr wohl gefühlt. Sie liegt auch verkehrsgünstig gut, ist aber total ruhig (wenn man von leichten "Urwaldgeräuschen" durch Vögel absieht) und hat wirklich ALLES was man braucht, bis hin zu Shampoo und Duschgel und einer Kofferwaage.
Bev ist sehr nett und hat uns alle Fragen gerne beantwortet und uns mit tollen Tips versorgt. Wir können dieses Domizil uneingeschränkt empfehlen.

Owners response: Hi,
I had so much fun getting your review translated into English by my nephew. I appreciate all your kindness, and I am very happy and grateful to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the lodge. i hope your time in Maui was also very enjoyable and that you had a pleasant flight home. I will always remember your lovely family and your tall, handsome, well-mannered children.
With Aloha,
Bev

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lopaka's Family Lodge is a 10!

Review submitted: August 1, 2013   Date of arrival: July 25, 2013

We decided to extend our visit to the Big Island with a 3 night stay in the Hilo area to see the sights. We choose Lopaka's Family Lodge and were very happy with our decision. The lodge was spacious, extra clean, and very thoughtfully stocked. We particularity enjoyed the deck where we spent the majority of our time while at the lodge. Bev's high standards are evident and make a guest's stay extra comfortable. She was very welcoming and helpful during our trip planning. We would recommend her retreat to anyone wishing to stay around Hilo area.

While enjoying the Hilo side of the island, our family experiences included horseback riding with Na'alapa Stables in Waipio Valley, ziplining at Umauma Falls, sunset boat to see the lava with Lava Ocean Adventures, and visiting Volcano's National Park. All receive our highest rating for experiences! We are very happy with our decison to stay longer after diving in Kona.

For dining, we enjoyed Hawaiian Style Cafe in Waimea, Tex Drive In for Malasadas in Honokaa, Hilo Bay Cafe (twice for dinner), Moonstruck Patisserie for breakfast goodies, and Poke to Your Taste for lunch in Hilo. We also enjoyed the Hilo Farmer's Market and Big Island Candy.

We are grateful to Bev for graciously sharing her peaceful retreat with our family

Owners response: Mahalo for your very thoughtful review, and for the suggestions that will be so helpful to future guests. They are invaluable in showing how much there is to do on this side of the island. You managed to take in quite a bit in only 3 nights stay. Hopefully you can return some day and spend some time snorkeling with the sea turtles at Calrsmith Beach Park. I'd love to have you back.
Mahalo nui and Aloha oe,
Bev

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

stay here and lack nothing

Review submitted: July 19, 2013   Date of arrival: July 8, 2013

My family (of 4) had a wonderfull stay at Lapoka's Family Lodge. From the warm greating from Beverly when we arrived untill we left. The lodge was spotless, well organized and everything was clearly marked right down to the light switches. It was very comfortable and was in a great location to see everythig we wanted to see during our short stay (volcano,rain forest etc.) We all thought it looked even beter in person than it did in the pictures. We were very pleased with all the extras that were available to us (at no extra charge) such as big bright and new beach towels (in fact everything looked new), beach mats,reading materials, travel books about the big island, laundry soap coffee, teas ,mamy spices etc.
Shortly after we left, we received a call from Beverly notifying us that we forgot a charger for on of our cameras and asking for an address where she could send it.....wonderful service from a wonderful person.
Our only regret is that our schedule didn't allow us to stay longer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo nui loa for the excellent review! It was a pleasure having your family here. There is a saying in my family that if you visit someone, and then leave something behind when you leave, it means you want very much to return one day. I hope you will return some day.
Aloha,
Bev

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

High School Graduation Present

Review submitted: July 12, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

Amazing hospitality, location, accommodations and thoughtfulness. The special lei with my daughter's high school colors speaks to your hospitality and thoughtfulness. The house was beautiful with everything that one needs as a home away from home. Easy to find and a central location that my family and I was able to use as we traveled all over the big island. Everything about your home made our trip comfortable, memorable and a place to return to some day. Thank you so much for you warmness and incredible thoughtfulness.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Every graduate visiting Hawaii should get a special lei with their school colors. I'm glad she liked it. I hope you do return so that we can finally meet one day.
With Aloha,
Bev

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing home away from home

Review submitted: July 8, 2013   Date of arrival: June 23, 2013

My husband and I had a lovely stay at Lopakas lodge. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer. Everything was beautiful, clean and functional. Bev had thought of everything a guest could possibly want during their stay. We so enjoyed sitting on the Lanai after busy days of sightseeing, sipping a cold drink and enjoying the view across to Hilo. We were out of town and enjoyed that, a quiet neighborhood.

Thank you again Bev and we hope we might get chance to stay here again on a future visit.
K&A

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It would be fun to have you back someday. There wasn't enough time.
I appreciate your review.
Mahalo!
Bev

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful View and Comfortable Home

Review submitted: July 8, 2013   Date of arrival: June 27, 2013

This Hilo home is an excellent choice for your visit. Bev is the best hostess who makes sure that you have everything you need. Enjoy the beautiful view on the lanai throughout the day and the evenings. This is a spacious, clean home in a wonderful neighborhood. The location is very convenient to town, shopping, hiking and local sightseeing. We were very happy with our choice and plan to return to the Lopaka's Family Lodge if we get a chance to return to Hilo.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: You will always be welcome back here at Lopaka's Family Lodge.
Mahalo for your review!
Bev

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home Away from Home at Lopaka's Family Lodge

Review submitted: June 26, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

We have been looking forward to a stay at the lovely Lopaka's Family Lodge and our visit was way too short. We will be back soon for a longer stay. The Lodge was cool and comfortable and just what we needed after a more hectic week in Kona. Everything was perfectly set up with all the amenities you could think of for a one night stay or for a week or more. The Lodge sits up just high enough above Hilo to be a few degrees cooler and the view is wonderful. And only 15 minutes to the airport. We would highly recommend a stay at Lopaka's Family Lodge!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo nui loa for your helpful review! I am looking forward to your return; hopefully very soon.
With much gratitude and Aloha,
Bev

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing property - Lopaka's is 5 star!

Review submitted: June 9, 2013   Date of arrival: April 28, 2013

We stayed at Lopaka's on our honeymoon. From the photos and description, we thought we were on to a winner. When we arrived, we knew we had won! Lopaka's is AMAZING! Bev has thought of everything anyone could ever need, plus a few extras. It is the perfect example of how anyone would want a rental property to be! So stylishly decorated, with all the modcons and loads of room. Kitchen has every pot and pan you'd need, and more besides. Loved the selections of teas provided, and things like cooking oil, which had been absent in other places we stayed. Really, Bev's attention to detail is wonderful!

Location is great - you can sit out on the lanai overlooking Hilo, and be downtown in a few mins drive. Bev is so welcoming, and full of local knowledge. Lovely Samson is a big teddy bear - we loved him!

Book in at Lopaka's, you will not regret it! In fact, you'll want to extend!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo Hannah & Rich,
I am so pleased, humbled, and grateful for your wonderful review!
May you have a very long and happy life together, and return one day for your anniversary.
With Aloha,
Bev (& Samson)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Home Away From Home

Review submitted: May 21, 2013   Date of arrival: May 9, 2013

We spent a total of 10 nights on the Big Island. We stayed the first 7 nights in Kona and spent the last 3 nights in Hilo at Lopaka's Family Lodge. We knew we made a good decision the moment we pulled up. The Lodge is located in a beautiful neighborhood. It is the kind of area we would like to live in if we were fortunate enough to reside on the Big Island.

While we were already happy with our choice before we even got out of the car we were immediately impressed with the beautifully maintained property and the genuine hospitality provided by Bev. Before we even got to the door Bev came out and greeted us with a warm Hawaiian welcome. The unit was perfect for our needs. The bedroom was a good size and had a nice walk in closet for all suitcases. The bathroom was clean and well stocked. The kitchen came equipped with everything we would need. The great room has a breakfast nook that was perfect for morning breakfast and a TV area good for winding down after a long day exploring. The washer and dryer is also really convenient when you are away from home for a long time. While we didn't get to enjoy it that much one of the best features is the large patio and the wonderful view. It is obvious Bev takes great pride in this property.

Bev was the perfect host. She immediately made us feel like family. She is such a wonderful person we could have sat and talked to her all day. She was very attentive to all of our needs Staying here you really get spoiled. You get much more personal attention and TLC than you ever could by staying in a hotel.

The area is conveniently located near Rainbow falls and several restaurants and stores. We spent a good portion of our days exploring Volcanoes National Park and the Hamakua Coast. We found the unit was centrally located to exploring both of these regions.

We really enjoyed our stay at Lopaka's. If we ever find ourselves in Hilo we will certain stay here again. We have already recommended this place to friends and family members.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo Kristen,
I am so appreciative of your fabulous review! I should have hired you to write my property description.
It was a pleasure having you here, and I sincerely hope you will return soon.
Aloha,
Bev

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A very special place!

Review submitted: April 24, 2013   Date of arrival: April 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Lopaka's Family lodge. The lodge had absolutely everything we needed and more. The kitchen was the most well appointed of any place we have ever stayed. Fun and convenient to cook in! The lodge was immaculate and tastefully decorated with all the comforts of home. Bev was most helpful in providing information about the Hilo area and has supplied the lodge with a variety of guide books and interesting publications about Hawaii. Many extra touches make Lopaka's a super place to stay. It is in a quiet residential neighborhood and the drive to town is only a few minutes.Since one must drive to the volcano areas and other Island attractions we found that the location was excellent. When in Hilo - stay at Lopaka's!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo David & Dori,
I am appreciative of your very nice comments! You were wonderful guests, and fabulous cooks, and fun to be with.
Please come back again some day.
Aloha,
Bev

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lopaka's: We had a lovely time!

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: November 28, 2012

Please make my previous review 5 stars. The four stars was a mistake!

Owners response: Don't worry Leslie, it's not a problem. Thank you for taking the time to leave your positive comments.
In appreciation,
Bev

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lopaka's: We had a lovely time!

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: November 28, 2012

We very much enjoyed our comfortable stay at Lopaka's family cottage. Bev was most accommodating and friendly. We feel like we have made a new friend in Hilo! The cottage was very comfortable and the options flexible. Our 10 year-old daughter wanted to sleep in the bedroom with us so Bev graciously brought in an Aerobed and told us to move furniture around any way we wished. The view off the lanai is gorgeous and be sure to get up early and catch the sunrise. The view is worth it!
It is a 10 minute drive to downtown which was a little inconvenient but did make it quieter.
The cottage was immaculate and Bev provided unscented laundry detergent/fabric softener which was most appreciated!
We enjoyed the food at Ponds (great seafood) and Kuhio Grille (fantastic Lau Lau, more traditional Hawaiian food). The food at Island Naturals was also great.

Owners response: Mahalo for the very nice review! I appreciate your comments. It was a pleasure having your lovely family here. Hopefully you can all return again some day.
With gratitude,
Bev

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic accommodations!!

Review submitted: November 18, 2012   Date of arrival: November 6, 2012

Bottom line - you'd be crazy to stay anywhere else in Hilo. Wonderfully appointed kitchen (including a salad spinner, spices, oils, etc), the place so clean you can almost eat off the floor, beautifully landscaped grounds and a hostess who is eager to accommodate your every need. We are currently staying at a condo on Kauai and it can't compare with the Lopaka Family Lodge. We have been totally spoiled, probably for ALL accomodations anywhere. The place is conveniently located to both the Boiling Pots and near the start of the Saddle Road, plus routes north and south along the coast. The views from the Lanai are super and sweeping.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: What a nice review! Your comments have convinced me that it was a great decision to open Lopaka's to travelers. I enjoyed meeting you and hope that you will return soon. But I know that you will also be so happy to get back to your own beautiful home.
Mahalo nui loa (Thank you very much)!
Bev

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lopaka's Family Lodge

Review submitted: November 9, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

Lopaka's Lodge is a very clean, comfortable and beautifully appointed home away from home. Everything you could possibly need while travelling was provided, just as described in the listing. The location, in a quiet neighbourhood on the slopes above Hilo, was easy to get to, had great views and cooling breezes.
Bev is very welcoming and generous with her suggestions and information but only when needed, and very respectful of your privacy.We couldn't have found a better place to stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to our friends. Mahola Bev.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: He mea iki! (You're Welcome!)
I am so pleased that Lopaka's met your expectations and you enjoyed your stay. I appreciate your comments.
Maybe one day I'll get back down to your part of the world. It's on my list of places to go.
Until then, Malama pono (Take care),
Bev

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Words and photos do not do justice to this place

Review submitted: September 18, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

the bottom line...my family is very great full for Lopaka's Family Lodge. It is clean, spacious, and most important of all the owner is wonderful. The architectural features and design of the house makes it comfortable and very cozy..more a less a home away from home. I would move there is I could.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo Ajay & Sangeeta,
There will always be a place for all of you here at Lopaka's. Hugs to Siddharth.
With Aloha,
Bev

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

E Komo Mai..in Hawaiian..Welcome, Enter

Review submitted: September 18, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

Nothing short of Wow! The location overlooks the airport and port of Hilo. The place is exceptionally clean and in a great neighborhood. The most wonderful part of the place is, the owner, who is right there when you need. I say need her because she does not invade your space...but will make suggestions.

Photo's and this review does not do justice to this place. My family is very grateful for such a place in Hilo.

Owners response: Mahalo Ajay for the beautifully written review. I appreciate your taking the time to share your thoughts and impressions of Lopaka's Family Lodge. I am so happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay so much. It was also a great experience for me having you here. I continue to be blessed with the nicest people in the world as my guests! See you again next year. Bev

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely Hilo accomadation

Review submitted: September 8, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

This is a lovely place to stay. The view is great. Bev has stocked the place with everything that you need and more!! And she is a great host, there when you need her. Our stay just could not have been better. I would reccomend this place to everyone. When we come back, we will stay here instead of the Kona side. Many thanks, Bev.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo Susanne!
I will look forward to your return to Hilo. It was fun having you here.
Aloha,
Bev

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A real home away from home

Review submitted: September 6, 2012   Date of arrival: August 24, 2012

This was an absolutely perfect place to stay...immactulately clean, comfortable, and very attractive. Bev was a gracious host that stocked Lopako with every possible item that you could possibly imagine. The attention to detail, down to the night lights in the bedroom, made for a very lovely stay. Beautiful location and a great place to take long morning walks. I would recommend this lodge wholeheartedly and would love to return myself.

Owners response: Mahalo Alison!
You were the perfect guest, and I would love to have you back.
Aloha,
Bev

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Home

Review submitted: August 19, 2012   Date of arrival: August 6, 2012

This rental is quite spacious, very nicely maintained, exceptionally clean and incredibly well equipped - the kitchen has better equipment than I have at home. The location is very convenient for touring the island and accessing Hilo and Bev, the owner, is very helpful. We really enjoyed our stay.

Owners response: I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay! Lopaka's kitchen also has better equipment than I have in my own kitchen. I give the best to my guests and am happy that you enjoyed it. :)
Aloha,
Bev

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding stay.

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

I stayed at Lopaka from June 30 to July 7, 2012. I'd never stayed at a vacation rental before, so I wasn't sure what to expect. What I found exceeded even my best hopes. Lopaka was a beautiful location and Bev the perfect hostess. I was on the Big Island visiting family, so I didn't need much help with visitor info. Bev provided complete privacy and was there only when we needed her. The interior of the rental is even better than the photos. The view from the private lanai is gorgeous with views of Hilo Bay and the airport. We spent nearly every morning sipping coffee watching the sun rise over the ocean and the planes land and depart from the airport. The residential area is very quiet and close to downtown Hilo. The rental is separate from Bev's house, so it greatly increases the privacy. Bev was very thoughtful and it showed in Lopaka having everything a traveler might need and Bev also found a way to add a Texas flair to our stay (we're from Austin, Texas). I highly recommend Lopaka for those traveling on romantic adventures or with children (not sure if they can be the same :) My biggest needs when staying elsewhere are cleanliness and privacy. Lopaka was tops in both areas. Don't waste money on hotels. The price for Lopaka was reasonable and Bev very gracious. While in your Hilo, be sure to check out Ocean Sushi. Fantastic sushi at unbelieavably low prices. It's where the locals get their sushi, so you know it's good and reasonably priced. Enjoy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Howdy Julie,
Thank you so much for the wonderful review and compliments! I'm always so happy to hear that my guests have truly enjoyed their stay. It's guests like you that make this business so rewarding. Come again soon.
Aloha,
Bev

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very nice place to stay.

Review submitted: July 14, 2012   Date of arrival: June 26, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in Lopaka's. The vacation home is very spacious. The washer and the dryer are quite handy for us. The view is great even when you look from the kitchen. Also we found a very nice asian market just nearby. It is the perfect place to stay if you love the lushing surroundings. We will definitely come back again next time we visit the Big Island.

Thank you very much, Bev.

Wei and Mian

Owners response: Mahalo nui loa for your very nice comments Wei & Mian! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Lopaka's and that you plan to return. I will look forward to seeing you again one day.
With fond Aloha,
Bev

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Truly Feels Like Home!

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 19, 2012

Lopaka's family lodge is actually more spacious than the photos show. It was so clean and sparkling that all looked new. The bed is extremely comfortable and the shower was very well designed and very clean.

The owner makes you feel so welcomed and treat you as if you were a long time friend.
She has great suggestions of the area and knowledgeable ..she is very thoughtful and intuitive of your needs.

The lodge is equipped with all the things one needs and much more.
It is located conveniently in Hilo town, but still in a peaceful area with a wonderful view from the private lanai.

I strongly recommend this beautiful lodge .

Owners response: I am so grateful for your very thoughtful and kind review. It was such a pleasure having you as a guest, and I am looking forward to your return; hopefully soon.
Mahalo nui loa (Thank you very much),
Bev

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lopaka's Family Lodge

Review submitted: May 16, 2012   Date of arrival: May 9, 2012

My friend and I stayed almost a week at Lopaka's in May 2012. The lodge is beautifully decorated, very clean and comfortable and had all sorts of extras that I wasn't expecting such as beach towels and mats, a lovely veranda and an excellent view. Bev, the owner could not have been nicer or more helpful. We hope to stay there again soon. Mahalo, Bev from Sherri and Annabella

Owners response: Mahalo (Thank you) for your thoughtfulness and positive comments. It was so much fun having you both here and hearing about your adventures. I am looking forward to your return soon. Aloha, Bev

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lopaka Stay during Merrie Monarch

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: April 11, 2012

Bev,
We want to thank you for your hospitality. Your home is very beautiful, and the view is breath taking. We left some items for you to use. The foam cooler would come in handy for future guests.

We would like to request to stay again next year if that's possible?

Thanks Again!

Owners response: It was a pleasure having you here. Mahalo for the foam cooler. What a nice thing to do. And I'm certain my future guests will appreciate having it available. I'll email you about next year. Aloha, Bev

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

This was one of the best vacation rental experiences we have ever had and we would highly recommend it. It is located in a residential area, but it is a very quiet neighborhood and the lanai is very private. The layout is well thought out and Bev has provided everything you can think of including things like laundry facilities, beach mats, sun screen, guide books, maps, attraction brochures, wifi, etc. The kitchen is well equipped and has everything imaginable. All of the furnishings are new and spotless. Bev is a wonderful person and a gracious host. If you want a clean quiet place to stay in Hilo you can't go wrong.

Owners response: Mahalo nui loa! You made it very easy to be a good hostess. I'm looking forward to your return one day. In the meantime don't forget those pictures. Aloha

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

March 2012

Review submitted: March 26, 2012   Date of arrival: March 20, 2012

Wonderful location central to the Big Island east side locations you want to visit. Quality furnishing and beautifully decorated. Nice lanai to enjoy after a busy day sight seeing and Bev was a wonderful hostess. I would definitely stay there again if I come back to the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I hope to see you again soon. Mahalo! Bev

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from home!

Review submitted: January 19, 2012   Date of arrival: January 11, 2012

I really enjoyed staying at Lopakas! This is definitely a home away from home! The place is impeccable and amazingly beautiful inside and out! Enjoy making yourself a home made breakfast made in the full kitchen while watching the sun rise every morning from the deck! You'll get a great view of paradise with the full greenery you can view as far as the eye can see! Bev was an excellent host and tour guide! She has great suggestions and can show you beautiful land marks and waterfalls just walking distance from Lopakas! I really recommend taking a walk around the block to see the beautiful homes and a quick hike to Rainbow Falls!! Don't forget to check out the Hilo Farmer's Market too! Please come to Lopakas!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for the positive comments. I can't wait to see those awesome sunrise pictures you took. If you don't mind I may post one to the listing for future guests to see. It was a pleasure having you here. I hope to see all of you again very soon. Aloha, Bev

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A true home away from home

Review submitted: January 11, 2012   Date of arrival: January 3, 2012

I have stayed in many places that I have searched for online and thought I have had fair luck with them. However, I must say Lopaka's was far better than I had expected. I found the description of the property quite accurate and it was impeccably clean and organized. One could tell that the owner had put in a lot of thoughts to the place as you notice all the amenities provided. The owner was very helpful and was willing to be available for any of our concerns. The property is located in a quiet residential area but not too far from town. You have views of both the ocean and the mountains.
Having a beautiful full kitchen, we ended up eating in most of the time but went out once to a truly authentic Japanese restaurant hidden in the Hilo Shopping Center(Miwa Japanese Restaurant). We had sushi made by a friendly, veteran chef. Highly recommended!
Our experience at Lopaka's Family Lodge was nothing but pleasant and welcoming. We would recommend this property to anybody who may have the chance to visit that side of the island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I often tell my friends and family that Lopaka's has been blessed with the most wonderful guests. You can certainly be counted among them.
Mahalo nui loa for your kind review.
Aloha,
Bev

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely, well-located apartment in Hilo

Review submitted: December 22, 2011   Date of arrival: December 17, 2011

The apartment is owned by Beverly, who is friendly, responsive, and lives immediately adjacent. The location is excellent: a stone's throw away is Rainbow Falls; just slightly further one finds a farmer's market, Cafe Pesto, and more. There is a pleasant Lanai from which one can see the sea. The home is well-furnished, with a good collection of cookware (even a rice cooker), guide books, and DVDs. The neighborhood is residential and friendly; walking the baby, lots of people stop to say hello. While there is only one bedroom, the sofa in the living room converts to an unusually comfortable bed on which two of us quite easily fit. We stayed only briefly, but were quite happy with the apartment and hospitality. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo for your very thoughtful review. I appreciate your taking the time to share your comments during this very busy holiday. I will look forward to your return one day.
Much Aloha,
Bev

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great stay!

Review submitted: September 2, 2011   Date of arrival: August 30, 2011

The place is truly a home away from home! Bev surely does all of the little things very well that you don't notice unless you stay at other places. We were even welcomed with leis! The place is close to Mauna Kea and VNP and downtown Hilo as well.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo Chris for taking the time to leave your positive comments!
It was my pleasure having you here. Please come again soon.
Aloha, Bev

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

amenities!!!

Review submitted: July 28, 2011   Date of arrival: July 13, 2011

Yes, no 5 star hotel provides the amenities and supplies that Bev has thoughtfully prepared. Convenient location, just 5 minutes by car to town, and surprisingly quiet and private given the suburban location. Spotless, modern, and comfortable. Super value. Thank you, Bev!!

Barry & Lena, Alaska and Tuscany

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Owners response: Aloha Barry & Lena,
Mahalo for your very thoughtful review! It is my goal to provide a comfortable retreat at an affordable price. It is nice to hear that I have accomplished this goal. You were absolutely the best of the best of guests! I hope to see you again on your next trip to Hilo.
Bev

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lopaka's Lodge is Perfect

Review submitted: February 6, 2011   Date of arrival: January 9, 2011

Lopaka's Lodge was the perfect home away from home for our month in Hilo.

The hale outdid all of our highest expectations. We cooked many meals in the fully-equipped kitchen. We spent many hours enjoying the view and the breezes from the private lanai. We even had fresh-squeezed juice from the oranges on the tree in the yard (definitely not something we can do back home).

The house is in a quiet neighborhood on the slopes above Hilo and served as the ideal base for us to see many of the coolest places on the Big Island: Volcano National Park, Waipi'o Valley, Mauna Kea, Puna (for snorkeling with turtles!), the Hamakua coast and, of course, lovely Hilo itself. No matter what strenuous adventure we set ourselves to do, it was so great to know that a relaxing, comfortable house (with a laundry machine) was waiting for us at the end of the day.

And Bev herself is fantastic and welcoming and generous. She thought of everything we might need (including a Hawaiian dictionary, which turned out to be quite handy). She brought up garden-grown tangerines and bananas when neighbors had extras. She basically made our stay here as good as it could be. We also enjoyed getting to know her friendly dog Sampson! We were very sorry to leave and hope we will be able to make it back soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Helen & Chris, & Greg,
Your very thoughtful and kind comments are so appreciated by me, and Samson. It was a pleasure having you here and we will look forward to your return one day. I hope you were able to take some of the warmth of Hawaii home with you.
Mahalo nui loa,
Bev

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lopaka's Family Lodge

Review submitted: September 25, 2010   Date of arrival: September 6, 2010

***
Bev's hale was the wonderful place we hoped for on our first trip to Hawaii, our gift to ourselves for our 50th anniversary. Located in a quiet neighborhood on a hill above Hilo, we opened the doors to the cool ocean breeze to look out on the city and breath-taking dawns.
Bev provided everything: fully equipped kitchen, incl. coffee, tea, even dry soup for when we came in late. All the comforts of home and more: laundry room; walk-in closet, etc, in working order and spotlessly clean. Gracious, Bev lives the Aloha spirit. She provided a Hilo map and, when we asked, told us of places to eat, sites to see (such as Kilauea). We esp. enjoyed the Farmer's Markets, both in Hilo and Puna and will recommend Lopaka's Family Lodge to our friends, hoping to return soon. Aloha and mahalo to Bev. Kathy and Bob.
***

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo! I look forward to seeing you again soon. Aloha, Bev

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Loved this property!

Review submitted: May 7, 2010   Date of arrival: April 30, 2010

We had a wondeful time at Bev's Hale! She is so warm and inviting, just like her " home away from home ' that she has decorated and designed for her guests. She has thought of everything you could possibly need there and then some.It's a great location, and she can give you advise on where to eat, etc. for she has lived there for some time.We will be going back soon,and would highly recommend this rental for a couple or family. it's a bargain for the price!

Mahalo,

Sam an Sandy

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo and hurry back!! Bev

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Home Away From Home - Highly Recommend

Review submitted: March 28, 2010   Date of arrival: March 20, 2010

My family and I (total of 4) had a great time at this Lodge. The owner was very hospitable and had good advice for activities and restaurants. She is truly an example of the Aloha Spirit!
The lodge was clean, very comfortable, and well-equipped. We cooked a lot of our meals and found the kitchen well-stocked and the appliances were easy to use and well-maintained. The beds were comfortable and easily accommodated 4 people.
The property is near downtown Hilo, Rainbow Falls, and Boiling Pots. The description is accurate regarding location and amenities.
We ate at Uncle Don's Ohana Grill in Hilo four times because we loved it. We would recommend the Oxtail Soup - winner!
Would stay here again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: You are a wonderful family, and wonderful guests. I enjoyed having you. Mahalo, Bev

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review