reviews for: listing #66872 - Santa Monica, California Cottage rental

Cottage Retreat off Montana
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $160 /nt
    $1,050 - $1,120 /wk
    $3,900 - $4,200 /mth

sort by:

Best Stay EVER!

Review submitted: March 17, 2014   Date of arrival: March 10, 2014

I arrived in Los Angeles on Monday night for a business trip - The listing doesn't do the actual property justice - The unit was much better than what I expected - The property was located 3/4 mile from Santa Monica pier and close to shopping promenade. The owner (Evelyn) was a terrific host (anything needed to make the stay better she can probably accommodate). I told her that I was afraid to tell anyone about the place because I want it to stay a secret - I told her I would be back with my wife - If you are looking for a quiet and cozy place of refuge this is your place - If you are looking for a romantic retreat with your spouse you won't be disappointed - As far as activities, I jogged down Montana street and took the pedestrian bridge to the beach and rented a beach bike for $10 and rode to Venice and back - you can also rent surfboards, roller blades and stand-up paddle boards..

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

8 great days in Santa Monica

Review submitted: December 20, 2013   Date of arrival: December 11, 2013

Booked this cute cottage to be near friends who moved to Santa Monica. I rented it alone. Found it comfortable: bed, linen, sofa, big TV, music, wifi etc. Good size for 1 or 2 people.
Liked the flowers and the fence with roses.
While there I went to the pier twice, visited LA, Venice, shopped on Montana : juice bar Kreation a few blocs away, Pete's coffee on corner, Whole Foods up the street from there, many clothing and home deco stores, beautiful trees... Walked everywhere at least one way. Used bus once and taxi once and got a few rides from friends.
Living in a colder area I appreciated being there in December. Sunset was spectacular in more than one occasion.
I especially enjoyed walking to beach and seeing the beautiful Disney performance center, a Frank Gehry creation.
Restaurants were good and we picked them as we walked on the sunny side of the street. We ate well but did not look for trendy places, we preferred quiet atmospheres.
Dealing with Ms Kelly by email was easy and everything was as described or shown on pictures. No bad surprises.
I am planning to go again next year at same time.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Loved it!!!

Review submitted: September 20, 2013   Date of arrival: September 2, 2013

We had the best time ever! This place was wonderful and very convenient. These cottages are absolutely adorable. The location is ridiculously amazing. It's right off Montana, where are there are tons of great restaurants, fabulous boutiques, coffee shops, Whole Foods... It's also very close to lots of great shopping in Santa Monica and the West Side more generally. The owner was so hospitable. Very clean, beautiful decor, great bedding, amazing price. I cannot say enough great things about this place. I'm a little sorry to give away the secret, but I feel that a great place like this deserves a great review.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Wonderful stay!

Review submitted: September 8, 2013   Date of arrival: September 1, 2013

This is THE place to stay. Fabulous location, adorable cottages, great price, immaculately clean. I want to live here!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect Santa Monica Retreat

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: September 30, 2012

I spent the first week of October here while visiting my daughter at USC and it was a perfect Santa Monica retreat for two. It's just as described and pictured. Classy and cozy inside, a private sitting area outside, beautiful grounds, steps from Montana Ave, walking/biking distance to the ocean ... all this and an incredibly helpful and responsive owner. I hope to return and will pass the word to other USC parents. Thanks for the hospitality!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Montana Avenue Cottage

Review submitted: September 9, 2012   Date of arrival: August 27, 2012

Live like a Santa Monica resident. Perfect location, walk to everything, or a short Big Blue Bus ride.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Santa Monica cottage

Review submitted: May 3, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

I really enjoyed myself at this location. I came out to visit my son who was a short drive of 15 mins. The cottage was so close to restaurants and Whole Foods. It was quiet and relaxing.. Thank you!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Off Montana Cottage Rental

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

Absolutely loved it! My experience there has changed the way I want to travel forever. The cottage was charming, peacefully quiet, fully equipped with anything one might need, and just a stone's throw from Montana Avenue. I loved lighting the fire on the cooler nights and just relaxing by the fireplace. The owner, Evelyn, has taken care of every detail imaginable and then some (including dropping a book off to me during my stay that she thought I would enjoy). I would stay there over and over again. It is absolutely home away from home and I am forever spoiled. Certainly a difficult act to follow. Five Stars!! Barbara Layton

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Highly recommended

Review submitted: August 24, 2011   Date of arrival: September 4, 2010

I'm nearly a year late submitting this review but I'd like to say that the cottage was a great choice for our first trip to LA. It was very comfortable with everything we needed, and completely silent at night, which was lovely after our busy days sight-seeing. We hope to return in the next few years.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

The Perfect Little Hideaway In a BUSY City

Review submitted: April 11, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

I couldn't believe our luck in finding this incredibly charming cottage set in gorgeous gardens just a few steps from one of the most upscale areas in LA!

It was comfortable, quiet, and had everything we needed. Peet's Coffee & Tea just across the street, a Whole Foods 1 block up, and inumerable restaurants, bars and shops. Pure Pleasure!! :)

The owner, Evelyn, is absolutely wonderful and accommodating. Thanks Evelyn, we'll be back!! :)

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Charming place to stay

Review submitted: January 11, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2011

Wonderful little cottage in a very nice area of Santa Monica. Good dealings with the owner - she is very nice and accomodating. The place was immaculate and well equipped for an extended stay. We would most definitely stay here during future visits.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect location wonderful cottage

Review submitted: January 4, 2011   Date of arrival: December 25, 2010

Enjoyed a lovely week in Santa Monica without being bothered by housekeeping or any other hotel noise. Enjoyed walking on Montana, and the comfort of a home with a gracious owner who was wonderful to work with. Almost hate to brag too much since I hope to rent it again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

AMAZING

Review submitted: July 27, 2010   Date of arrival: June 25, 2010

There were so many amazing things about this property. First off was the location. Right off of Montana with all of it's lovely shops and restaurants. The neighborhood is a beautiful tree lined, extremely safe area. Even though it's located so close to Peet's coffee and Wholefoods it is quaint and quiet. The interior is very comfortable with soft linens, a great shower and cozy living room with a fireplace. The patio area off the kitchen is private and roomy enough for an afternoon read or dinner for two. Highly recommended for a couple wanting a weekend escape from the kids or a single person wanting to explore the area and hear themselves think.....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

A Little Slice of Luxury

Review submitted: July 18, 2010   Date of arrival: May 15, 2010

My friend and I stayed in this beautiful cottage as sort of a girls vacation. It was spotless and just plain lovely, exactly as described here. Evelyn was the best in answering our questions promptly,even the stupid ones! There was an awesome flat screen TV and blue ray player,gorgeous bathtub,amazing bed,and breathtaking flowers outside. We are definately planning on staying with Evelyn again whenever we return if this cottage isn't booked up. We would walk around and were just amazed at the number of luxury cars and cute little dogs we saw. There is a frozen yogurt place called Menchies a couple of blocks up from the cottage,which we frequented.I won't even get started on how beautiful that Ocean is. There aren't any fast food places around.Here in TN,they are congested within a 2 mile radius. But,in Santa Monica,it's very easy and even pleasant to eat healthier along with the nice cool breeze when taking a walk. The garage was ample for a small car. My friend and I took photos inside this cottage so that we would always remember its beauty. And once again,Evelyn is absolutely wonderful,from the moment we decided to reserve this cottage to the day we reluctantly departed back to 90-degree Tennessee.We WILL return! Thanks Evelyn!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

So happy we found this, would definately recommend

Review submitted: July 17, 2010   Date of arrival: June 14, 2010

What a find.......
Hubby and I were visiting our daughter who lives in Los Angeles but wanted somewhere to get away from the biz and relax and this charming little cottage fits the bill perfectly. Its immaculate, very tasefully furnished, complete with comfortable bed, linen and fluffy towels fitting only to a 5 star Hotel, eating in was such a pleasure, relaxing with a glass of wine whether it be sitting in the small patio to the side of the house or in front of the huge TV basically with all the comforts of 'home'. The location is perfect too ...You have Wholefoods, a Coffee shop on your doorstep and other gorgeous little shops are within minutes from the cottage. We had such an enjoyable stay there in June of this year that we are going back in October to ..Evelyn the owner could not have been nicer and so accomodating......

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Cottage!

Review submitted: July 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 16, 2010

I wholeheartedly recommend this cottage! The location is fabulous. You can walk to all the great shops and restaurants on Montana, but it's tucked away, quiet and feels like an oasis. It is also beautifully decorated and spotless.

The owner was incredibly graceous and gave us great recommendations. We can't wait to return!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We loved staying here!

Review submitted: June 29, 2010   Date of arrival: June 17, 2010

This was a perfect place for our 4-day weekend in Santa Monica. Believe it or not, my husband, 2-year old daughter and I slept great on the queen bed. And, having a kitchen is such an advantage when you have a toddler - it's stocked with everything you need to cook! The location is ideal for food, shopping and people watching. And, Disneyland (leaving @ 8:30am on Sunday morning) was a 40 minutes drive to the Disneyland exit (we took I-5). The beautiful SM beach is only a mile away which worked for us b/c we preferred driving to the beach and parking close. You won't regret your stay here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lovely Little Cottage

Review submitted: April 29, 2010   Date of arrival: April 3, 2010

We very much enjoyed out stay at this lovely little cottage. The description was very accurate and the location was perfect for us. It was easy to travel around the Greater LA area which we did on a daily basis. LAX was only a 20 minute drive away, without traffic. The cottage can accommodate four guests although two would be ideal. The owner has set-up the cottage to best optimize the use of space. The closet is very large and offers ample storage space. The owner really has provided everything one needs to have a comfortable stay. We loved the bathrooms towels and luxury linens on the bed. We cooked every day in the kitchen and found it to be tiny but well equipped. The boys loved the flat screen HDTV.

Montana is a lovely street and we enjoyed the shops and restaurants. Do not miss one of the great Santa Monica Farmer's Market. We went to the Wednesday downtown market. Parking was a breeze and it was free for up to 3 hours in the parking garage. Great produce, cheese and flowers. Another highlight was our trip to the Getty Villa which was only a 10 minute drive down the Pacific Coast Highway. Overall, we had calm and relaxing week long stay and would recommend it highly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review