reviews for: listing #66873 - Santa Monica, California Cottage rental

Quiet, country chic cottage guest house.
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $175 - $185 /nt
    $1,225 - $1,295 /wk
    $4,500 - $4,900 /mth

sort by:

2013 Holiday Stay

Review submitted: January 12, 2014   Date of arrival: December 19, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the cottage over the Christmas and New Year holidays. The cottage is well maintained and has all of the comforts of home. The kitchen is well stocked with glassware, pots and pans, dinnerware, and cutlery. It is also well stocked with linens for the bedrooms and bathroom. The location is perfect -- close to downtown Brentwood, the shops on Wilshire Blvd., and other LA sites. The owner was attentive to our needs and provided information about shops, restaurants, pharmacies, farmers markets, etc. that we found very helpful during our stay. We will definitely return to this cottage for our next visit to LA.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What a way to spend a week

Review submitted: November 22, 2013   Date of arrival: November 14, 2013

Our first visit to the USA with our 2 children. The cottage was the perfect base for visiting Santa Monica and the local tourist destinations. The cottage was beautiful, very clean, everything we needed to spend time "at home" cooking meals and relaxing after a busy day of sight seeing. The neighbourhood surrounding the cottage was lovely and an enjoyable place to go for a stroll. We will be recommending this cottage to everyone we know that plans the long visit from Australia to LA

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reluctant Review!

Review submitted: October 2, 2013   Date of arrival: September 18, 2013

I am writing this review reluctantly as once people discover this little gem there may never be a vacancy again !! Sob..
Brentwood is a lovely area close to Santa Monica. The Cottage was gorgeous and the owner had thought of everthing. It was those little touches that made our stay so special. The owner was extremely accommodating and met all of our needs no matter how small and trival. When I return to LA I will be returning to one of the cottages and I will be recommending it to all my friends as well.
Brilliant.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great cottage

Review submitted: August 8, 2013   Date of arrival: July 24, 2013

This cottage is a comfortable, well appointed, tasteful home from home. Great base to explore Los Angeles.
It is on the border of Santa Monica/Brentwood and we really enjoyed exploring both of these great areas.
We are a family with two teenagers and this was a lovely relaxing base which we highly recommend in an extremely quiet residential area.
Plaudits to the owner for providing all we needed as it is one of the best equipped houses we have stayed in. Often there is a compromise to be had or the rental property never is as good as its description or photos but neither is the case here.
while you are here go to the Paramount Tour, it is so interesting and exceeded all our expectations. Also don't miss the Getty, fabulous architecture, landscaping and gardens. Rent bikes from Sea Mist Rentals, cycle to Albert Kinney Blvd in Venice and eat at Gjelina- delic!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A cosy cottage with a good location

Review submitted: July 23, 2013   Date of arrival: June 26, 2013

We were very pleased og enjoyed our stay at the cottage. Roomy og clean and with a good location when you want to see Los Angeles

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: June 21, 2013   Date of arrival: April 13, 2013

We loved the cottage. After 9 days in New York and a delayed flight, we arrived late and felt at home straight away. We had enough room, extra's and information to make our stay comfortable , happy and relaxing experience. Evelyn left ample information on the area.Highly suggest you get to the Farmers Market. You probably need a car to get about.We drove to Universal Studios on a Tuesday morning and it took about 30 mins. Taxi into Santa Monica was about $13-00.Wish we had more time to wander about.
We have 2 teenagers and there was enough couch space and towels to accommodate us all. Being able to wash our clothes was great and the dryer was the best.
Enjoy your stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Cottage & Fab Service

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights and loved this cottage! It is stylishly and comfortably furnished and Evelyn, the owner, answered all our queries promptly and recommended local events for us. We would definitely return.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent Cottage & Service

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

Excellent accommodation, cosily decorated and furnished in Santa Monica. We stayed for 5 nights and Evelyn, the owner, was extremely helpful and emailed us with information of local events and answered all our queries promptly. We would love to return for a longer break!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

quiet and private

Review submitted: January 23, 2013   Date of arrival: January 6, 2013

We really enjoyed this cottage. It is very comfortable and quiet. When we arrived there was a fire in the fireplace and tulips on the table, very welcoming. There are black out shades in tne bedroom and the bed is very comfortable. The kitchen is large with an eat in area. It is in a lovely neighborhood good for taking walks.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Charming Cottage

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

This lovely two-bedroom cottage is a real find. It is very well located, with easy access to Santa Monica and Venice, but also a quick trip to freeways. There's a Whole Foods less than five minutes away, an amazing farmers market within 3 blocks and great road running around the periphery of the Brentwood Country Club, which again is only a few blocks from home.

The cottage is really well appointed, with a beautiful sitting room with a very large TV and a gas fireplace. It's very homey and comfortable. The kitchen is very well stocked, so no problem eating in if that's your preference. It also has a seemingly brand new washer/dryer. The queen bed was very comfortable, and my two children had no complaints about their twin beds.

The area is very quiet if noise is a concern.

All in all, we loved our stay and would definitely return the next time we're in LA.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

A good place to stay

Review submitted: August 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

We spent a week in July in this cottage. It was a lovely place to stay, very quiet and convenient to visit Los Angeles. It is located in a very attractive neighborhood. The property was very clean and well equipped with dishes, towels and so on.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Tranquil, elegant home away from home

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 8, 2012

This totally charming cottage was the highlight of our driving trip from San Francisco to LA and back along Highway 1. We wished we could have stayed longer and spent more time exploring Santa Monica. It was a lovely place to stay - peaceful, as elegant as its photographs, wonderfully located. I had as much fun exploring the immediate area as I did spending time at the ocean, going to museums or hanging out in Rodeo Drive.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Very nice cottage in a great place

Review submitted: February 26, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

the cottage is very nice and well furnished. location is perfect for one week stay in LA area.

Beds are comfortable, everything we needed was provided. It was an ideal place to stay for a family of 4.

The owner was very helpfull in providing practical information.

A place to recomment

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Home from home.

Review submitted: February 18, 2012   Date of arrival: February 5, 2012

My friend & I stayed here for a 2-wk girls-holiday from England in Feb 2012 & LOVED it. It’s a gorgeous holiday cottage, full of everything you could need & in such a good location.

We were 10mins walk from grocery stores, restaurants & cafes & a short drive took you to the main roads & freeways to anywhere a tourist would want to go.

The roadside parking near the cottage was easy & we felt really safe in the neighbourhood. We felt really safe everywhere except on the Walk of Fame, which was just as seedy as Evelyn warned us it would be in her ‘Welcome Book’.

I think because we were staying in a proper neighbourhood that we loved the holiday cottage so much - we felt like we were living in LA, not just visitors. That isn’t something you can get from a hotel! During our travels we spotted most of the major hotels we were thinking of staying at & we don’t regret our choice to go for a holiday cottage for a second; those hotels weren’t always in the best areas & we were glad of the space & facilities to get over the jetlag.

Evelyn responded really quickly about every query & made things really easy. The photos are exactly what it looks like & it has a great, comfortable atmosphere too.

Can’t recommend the holiday cottage & a LA holiday enough. We would return without hesitation. Go on…book it.

TOP TIPS:
• Whole Foods on San Vicente Blvd for groceries & celeb spotting
• The Farmers Market on Gretna Green Way
• Eat at Literati on Wilshire Blvd.
• Walk around the neighborhood to nosey at the beautiful houses & people
• Whale & dolphin watching
• Paramount Studio tour (we spotted a Cheerio from Glee!)
• Do lunch! Urth Caffee, Toast, The Farm of Beverly Hills, & 17th Street Café are yum
• Shopping @ 3rd St Promenade
• The Original Farmers Market
• Cycle Venice to Santa Monica
• Disneyland (& wear Minnie Mouse ears all day)
• Check the ‘special offers’ on discoverlosangeles.com
• The Black Book & Lonely Planet apps (not the Santa Monica & Wallpaper ones)
• Yes girls, your UK GHDs will work with just a plug adaptor & the hairdryer provided is pretty good
• How ever long Google tells you it will take to drive somewhere, double it & add some more
• Visiting in February? It’ll be warm one day, cold the next – we lived in jeans, layers & converse & it covered all situations
• Order a small or half portion of food, it’ll still be UK-large
• Use the wi-fi in the cottage - there’s not many free wi-fi spots elsewhere

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Comfy, quiet place for our family of 4

Review submitted: February 12, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

We loved this place! Clean and nicely appointed with all the basics and more. It's very conveniently located. Both the 405 and 10 are just a few miles away The beach and great restaurants at various price points are nearby. If you have kids, Douglas Park, about a half mile away, has a fantastic playground. Parking was never an issue.

My husband and I were traveling with our two young children, ages 1 and 3, and this quiet little place worked well for us. We brought a pack n play with us for the little one, and our older son slept well in the twin bed. The queen bed was great - a nice, firm matress with nice bedding.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Very comfortable and convenient apartment.

Review submitted: February 1, 2012   Date of arrival: January 26, 2012

This apartment was exactly as described in the listing. It was clean, comfortable, and very conveniently located. The beds were comfortable, there was an ample supply of towels, wash clothes, paper products, dishes, glassware and cutlery, and the appliances were relatively new and in good working order. Ms. Kelly was very accommodating when we were making the rental arrangements. The apartment is located close to some very good restaurants on San Vicente Blvd. and there is easy access to I-405 to get to the Getty Museum. We would definitely recommend this apartment to friends, relatives or anyone interested. We are hoping to come back this coming June.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful cottage in quiet area

Review submitted: January 10, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2011

We recently came home from a two-week stay in L.A and this lovely cottage. It was clean and nicely decorated. The beds were very comfortable and the kitchen had all the necessary equipment. The area is very quiet and beautiful but it is still walking distance (or a very short drive) to shops, cafés and restaurants. We had our son with us and the cottage works perfectly with small children if you don't mind the stairs leading up to the front door.

The owner replied quickly to our e-mails when we had questions, she was helpful in every way possible. If we come back to L.A, we would like to live here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Immaculate, Cosy, Convenient

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: December 1, 2011

We loved our time in the Brentwood Cottage. The location is quiet but convenient: walking distance to plenty - a rarity in LA. The furnishings are very tasteful, kitchen well equipped, everything was in immaculate condition, and all the little extras were thought of. We wanted for nothing staying for a week with a baby. The owner was responsive and helpful in our dealings. Thank you Evelyn!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place!

Review submitted: June 14, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

Our stay at this home was very pleasant. Great Kitchen, bedrooms and living room. Lots of windows that opened and the screen door for the living room was a nice touch. We spent hours just walking the wonderfully gardened neighborhoods and some of Santa Monica's great streets such as Montana, San Vicente and Wilshire. Plenty of good restaurants nearby and many with meals for under 15 dollars a person. This vacation rental is a great value!!! A very honest listing of what the home has to offer. Parking near the house was not a problem. Thanks for the lovely week.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

A Wonderful Vacation Home

Review submitted: May 12, 2011   Date of arrival: April 30, 2011

My wife, daughter and I recently visited L.A. for 8 days and we chose this vacation home for our stay. It was a wonderful cottage and a true home away from home. The furnishings are lovely and it was well appointed with everything from the towels to soaps and tea in the cupboard. There is a quiet patio in back with a BBQ grill and trees to provide shade from the sun (but you can sit in the sun if you'd like). If you want to watch some TV there's a nice 46 inch Sony LCD. Bedrooms are very nice, beds are comfortable, bathroom was clean.

The location is also ideal - I used to live in L.A. so I know the area well, and this is a great location. There are many cafes, shops and restaurants nearby on Wilshire Blvd. or in Brentwood village. Much of this is within walking distance. There's a great farmer's market nearby on Sundays, and if you want to exercise you can take a jog around the country club about 1 block away. If this isn't enough, it's just a short drive to 3rd St. Promenade in Santa Monica (MANY more shops and sights to see) or a fabulous outdoor shopping mall in Century City. I cannot say enough about the location.

Parking was very easy on the Street, and we never had a problem finding a spot close by. On the first day I had one small question about the TV so I emailed the owner. I received a reply within the hour. I don't think it gets much better than that. This is an ideal home to stay and I hope to return here again on my next visit. 5 stars all the way and very highly recommended!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

wonderful stay

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 23, 2011

Great location, quiet area, really nice and well-fitted apartment with garden. Definitely a place to return! Many thanks to the owner.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Nice place to stay

Review submitted: February 27, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2011

Our family of three (two teen-agers and one adult) stayed at this two-bedroom location in mid-February, 2011. The home was as advertised and very nice. As others have stated, the bed linens were very comfortable and the towels plush. The home was clean and cared for. We really enjoyed staying here.

The only negative I had was that I had asked via email beforehand if there was heat and the owner indicated there was. As it turned out, the heat was not your traditional central gas, oil or electric heat but instead the owner had a small space heater in each of the two bedrooms, both of which only blew cold air, no matter how long they had been running. The living room gas fireplace did provide some heat for the living room but that heat did not spread to the bedrooms/kitchen/bathroom, and I did not feel comfortable leaving the fireplace running overnight. It dropped to the mid-40s each night while we were there. The home would get very chilly at night and would be "see your breath" cold in the morning when we got up. The owner definitely needs to provide space heaters for each room if guests are staying during the "winter" months. For this reason alone I dropped my rating from 5 to 4 stars. If multiple space heaters were provided, the place would be a perfect place to stay for up to four people and I would recommend it highly.

BTW, there was no garage parking offered but it was not a problem to park on the street each night.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Hi,
This is the owner...I had no idea the heat was not working until the next guests arrived. The pilot light had just gone out on the heating system. I had never had a complaint before and didn't know there was a problem. The next guest that checked in let me know immediately that the heater wasn't working. I feel so bad that a renter wasn't cozy and comfortable in my cottage. I can assure any future renter that there is heat and should there be a problem and I know about it, I compensate the traveler for their inconvenience and make repairs immediately.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

A Real Home From Home

Review submitted: December 5, 2010   Date of arrival: November 13, 2010

This 2 bedroom guest house in Brentwood turned out to be probably one of my best decisions I've made in all the trips I've ever been on to California. I think hotels are out of the question from now on when we go back there.

Everything about this well kept guest house was perfect, it was spotlessly clean, cosy, well maintained, beautiful furniture and decor and the beds were comfortable too. You couldn't ask for more it had all your home creature comforts except for a potato peeler! ha ha ha ;-)
We really did feel like we were at home and home is the terminology we referred to it as whenever we were going back to it after a day out.

Four of us stayed there, four newlyweds! Got married in Vegas and spent a perfect week at this cottage. We hired a car and it was great to have a garage to park it in underneath it

It's a perfect location too, we used the car, however if you do not hire or have a car there's plenty of buses that take you to Santa Monica and in the other direction too, Beverley Hills and Hollywood. The owner recommended a trip to the farmers market just off Montana which turned out to be great for fresh produce.

We loved the garden at the back with limes and lemons growing on trees and we enjoyed sitting out there with our breakfast in the sun, took my laptop too and had a few chats on skype via the free wireless connection. I could have quite happily stayed at the cottage forever and I will most definitely recommend this location to any traveler to the area.

The owner Evelyn was very helpful and very friendly too, she made us feel very welcome indeed.
There's plenty to see and do in the area, you will not go far wrong with renting this home. It really is fantastic, in fact perfect!

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

A great place ( a great location )

Review submitted: August 28, 2010   Date of arrival: August 2, 2010

We had a great time in this cottage .the location was central very near to ocean boulevard . Easy to travel to LA hollywood and Beverley Hills.The cottage was very clean cosy comfortable in a nice area . We appreciated the nice soaps clean towels and great bedding in the rooms .The terrace was pretty ,quiet and very nice . This is a gem of a place !!! We had a wonderful time .Thanks to the owner !
Michele and family

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

JULIA UK

Review submitted: August 21, 2010   Date of arrival: July 29, 2010

A really lovely stylish cottage. Very clean and homely, the beds were
very comfortable. The patio area was also quite large and the grill came in handy. My family and I all really enjoyed our stay at this cottage and would recommend it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Perfect Stay

Review submitted: July 7, 2010   Date of arrival: July 2, 2010

What a gem! Our stay was perfect and the cottage is even better in person. The owner is has put in many thoughtful and well-appointed touches. On arrival, the rental is spotlessly clean and welcoming. Everything you need is there - all the furniture, housewares, linens, and toiletries are of taste and quality. The location is really convenient and the neighborhood friendly, quiet, and beautiful. Highly recommended!!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

My new favorite!

Review submitted: July 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 24, 2010

My husband and our little boy LOVED this cottage. It was very comfortable, we had plenty of room. It was beautifully decorated with thoughtful touches - fancy soaps, luxury linens, a gas fireplace (with remote control!)...

The location was supurb. It's walking distance from restaurants and an easy drive to Santa Monica, Venice, West Hollywood, Beverly Hills and other fun areas.

Don't miss the Brentwood Farmers' Market on Sunday morning/early afternoon. It's just two blocks from the cottage and we were blown away by all the amazing local produce, flowers, cheese, homemade tamales, etc. There's a bbq on the patio - we bought fresh veggies and fish to grill - it was so much fun.

We met the owner briefly and she's lovely.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

AWESOME COTTAGE!

Review submitted: May 11, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

The cottage was even better than expected. It felt like home. The cottage was spotless and had absolutely everything we needed and the location could not have been better. It also had a nice large patio with a great barbeque for grilling. The owner of the property was the best! Going forward, this is the only place my husband and I will stay. We highly recommend this property. We loved it!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Amazing

Review submitted: April 10, 2010   Date of arrival: April 8, 2010

I give this place a 12 out of 10. Remarkable. Beautifully appointed, sparkling clean, wonderful outside patio with a new weber. The owner has added all of the right touches to make your stay comfortable. Wonderful neighborhood, plenty of parking. I'm going to keep coming back as I do business in LA a lot.....although this place books fast.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review