reviews for: listing #66886 - Big Bear Lake, California House rental

FamilyFunHome,SPA,70"TV,Pooltble,WiFi/Pets
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $349 - $699 /nt
    $2,000 - $4,000 /wk

sort by:

Bed Bug Lodge

Review submitted: July 25, 2014   Date of arrival: July 13, 2014

BED BUG LODGE!!!

It's funny because I read all these positive reviews and I think....you must all be friends of Mary's because it's utter crap.

I agree with every negative comment I've read.

1) Backyard doesn't look how it did in the pictures. Wood pilings everywhere which was a hazard for the kids. No grass.
2) Furniture was old dusty. One couch had major rips in it.
3) Cob webs everywhere. Light fixtures, curtains, bathrooms, etc.
4) Foose Ball table was falling apart.
5) The windows had missing screens or the screens had holes. It made it difficult to cool the place down in the afternoon.
6) Refrigerator by the washer didn't cool enough and our meat was spoiled in two days.
7) The big 70' tv is even crap. It's so old it doesn't even have HDMI cables and the lamp is going out. Also, what Mary doesn't tell you is that you can't touch any wires that means no gaming systems. She doesn't tell you that in the description of the place.
8) The downstairs bathroom has mold all over it. I don't think it has ever been cleaned. It's just gross.
9) Washer stopped draining after one load of wash. Mary claimed that it was a $1,000 washer. When the repairman came he said the registration number had been filed off, so they got it cheap. Mary is a liar and she tried to give me a hard time when it broke...... Which brings me to number 10.
10) The reason we had to do laundry on day one of the trip was because we thought the house has ticks, but it turns out the are BED BUGS!!! I have picture to prove it. Luckily I figured it out before I left, I was able to take precautions when entering my house. My friend wasn't so lucky. She found new bites on her kids the other day. I have pictures of the bug and of bites.

Mary's response to this has been nothing. I've emailed her 3 times and she hasn't responded. She doesn't care about you or your families.

DONT STAY HERE!!!! I PROMISE YOU WILL BE DISAPPOINTED!! My fiends and I planned this trip a year ago. You think the she would have made sure it was clean

Btw. I have lots of pictures of this place to prove it!

Owners response: OK well for starters I would like to apologize for some of the things that did happen. There was a change in housekeeping 3 months ago , some of the things you mentioned are now being addressed by the owner, so thank you. I will now respond to things on your list.

1) Check pictures of yard in two weeks and grass is discouraged to conserve water.

2) The couch was recently torn and has since been replaced by a NEW leather sofa.

3) The house was sprayed to control the cobwebs

4) Last group broke the leg and now its being removed

5) Out of 6 bedrooms only one needed 2 screens, now replaced

6) The refrigerator was set on low, had you called me and addressed the situation I could have remedied the problem

7) The TV is 4 yrs old JVC and bought at Costco. Sorry about the HDMI cables but for an extended stay I do make allowances. All you had to do was ask me on one of my 3 trips to the house during your stay. In planning a year in advance and it was essential to your trip you should have brought it up. A new bulb has been installed for a brighter picture. As for the advertizing goes I tell people what I provide for them and not what I do not have.

8) The downstairs bathroom is in fact clean, but it did endure a fire 35 years ago. Yes I agree it should be remodeled.

9) I was called, and said I would pick up, clean and return all sheets, blankets and pillows that afternoon and when I got there my machine was already stuffed with a bedspread and broken. Repairman was called and problem was fixed.

10) Yes there were bed bugs, we were unaware of them at the time. I went right over to the house and wanted to help you any way I could but you only allowed me to pick up the linens you set on the pool table. I tried to help you further but you refused my help and advice.

We have done everything to take care of this problem, and it will and will keep an eye on the situation.

Yes, there were problems during your stay, I understand and I thank you for letting me know all of your concerns, but I do not think it was necessary to finally communicate with me after your stay, NOT during your stay. I visited the home 3 time during your stay and the last thing I said to you was "Please call me if there is anything I can do for you". Once again I am extremely sorry.

All comments are real, I have earned all bad and good comments.

Sincerely
Mary Power

Helpful votes: 28 / 28

 

Family Ski Vacation

Review submitted: June 20, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

Excellent Home! Mary made sure EVERYTHING was take care of. Had a great time in this spacious family friendly home!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 6

 

Great Cabin!!!

Review submitted: March 3, 2014   Date of arrival: February 28, 2014

If you are looking for a cozy cabin for a big group this is it!! We just got back form our stay at The Moose Lodge and had an amazing time! First the weather was perfect!!! We got at least 2 feet of fresh snow. The cabin is spacious with an open living area to watch TV, play cards, read a book, or watch the kids play in the back yard. The back yard was perfect for us. There is a little slope and the kids were able to go sledding and big a snowman, we did not have to leave the cabin unless we wanted to! The location of the cabin is great, right by the Lake and just a quick drive to The Village. The pictures for this cabin does not do it justice. My whole group was pleasantly surprised. All the rooms are private, the bathrooms had plenty of towels and soap. Very clean. Mary was great to deal with. We will definitely be renting out this cabin again next winter!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you for all the kind things that you had to say.

Mary Power

Helpful votes: 0 / 5

 

Spring Break 2013

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: April 1, 2013

Our group of 5 adults and 5 kids just returned from the Moose Lodge after a week of fun and relaxation! There was plenty of room for us all plus the dogs. Everything was as promised. Plenty of beds, blankets, towels, dishes, etc. The Jacuzzi was a plus too. The kids loved the huge TV, foosball, and the pool table. We will definitely use the Moose Lodge again in the future. The location was perfect too...near the lake and close enough to the slopes! Thank you Mary for letting us use your home!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 4 / 8

 

THE BEST PLACE TO STAY

Review submitted: March 27, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

I went on a family reunion trip to Big Bear and stayed at Mary's awesome house. Everything was as described. Rooms were great, everything was available. Everyhting was VERY clean and tidy. Comfortably fit all of us, babies and grandparents included! It is very close to everything! Everyone in the family (skiers and snowboarders, kids who wanted to go snowplay, grandparents who preferred to go to the village to wine and dine and parnts with babies who just wanted to sroll by the lake) could comfortably go to their destination! The best place ever. Will rent again next year! Thank you Mary!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 8

 

Wonderful place

Review submitted: March 24, 2013   Date of arrival: March 22, 2013

We love the cabin, very lovely, clean. Owner kind, very responsible and helpful, I am a frequent travler and smart shopper, know what is the best deal, and this is one of the best deal i have. Our next trip is santa barbara, wish Mary has another property there for us hehe...

Helpful votes: 2 / 6

 

Great price and location

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

The place looks better than the pictures. The place is big, the bedrooms and nice and clean. Close to the village and Alpine snowplay. The only bad thing is the shower head sucks, low water pressure and NOT ENOUGH HOT WATER. Otherwise the place is great for the price and location.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for the review and I appreciate the heads up on the shower head so that I can take care of the problem. I will be sending someone over to take care of the problem today.
Mary

Helpful votes: 4 / 7

 

Excellent Cabin

Review submitted: January 19, 2013   Date of arrival: December 31, 2012

This cabin was perfect for our family of 16. Mary was very good at keeping us updated to the availability of the cabin and as she instructed the cabin was clean with towels dishes blankets etc. Upon arrival she was their to greet us and made sure everything was perfect for our stay. It was more comforting to know i could call Mary at anytime if I needed anything. We didn't leave the cabin much since we had small children and it was comforting to know that we could watch them play in the snow from the backyard. Our kids loved the cabin as did we. Cooking was easy since all we needed was just to bring food since dishes pots and the grill were already provided. Being that we were a large family there was enough bedrooms for all of us and bathrooms too, which made taking a shower a lot easier. The t.v was big and the pool table and foose ball were very entertaining. It was close to the lake, restaurants, and shopping which was also a plus. I will definitely look into returning.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 6 / 10

 

Great cabin for large groups

Review submitted: December 24, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

We had a group of 16 people stay here this past weekend and it was great! The cabin is well set-up and stocked for large groups, plenty of utensils, pots, pans, plates, as well as plenty of towels were provided. The cabin is plenty big for everyone and has a lot of seating available for board games, movies, as well as entertainment with the pool table, Foosball table. I will add that if everyone in the party wants a bed then I would limit the size of your group to about 13-14. Although there is enough sleeping space for 20 if some people don't mind a pull out couch and an actual couch.

Overall this cabin is well set-up for large groups, is cozy, and provides a great big bear experience. I would recommend you stay here.

Helpful votes: 5 / 9

 

Excellent time

Review submitted: October 7, 2012   Date of arrival: October 4, 2012

We are a group of 11 women and used this wonderful cabin for our annual get together. Everything was in excellent order and as described on the listing. Mary was there to meet us upon arrival and answered every question we had. The beds were comfortable and rooms spacious. We had plenty of everything to make our stay spectacular. We will definitely plan another stay here very soon. Thanks.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 

Beautiful stay!

Review submitted: September 28, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

My friends and I had a great time. The owner was very sweet to us (about 16 people), and accomodating regarding check-in/out. There were fresh towels, toiletries, and the place was very clean when we arrived.

The place itself is as described, to a T. Very spacious. Lots to do: huge tv, sound system, pool table, lake nearby, hot tub, foosball table, huge open kitchen and dining area. And LOTS of room to house lots of people. If you have a large group, you won't be disappointed. Rooms up and downstairs.

Not much else to say, but we loved it and will be returning for sure one of these days! Can't give a better recommendation than that!

Helpful votes: 4 / 7

 

DISAPPOINTING!

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: August 3, 2012

I would highly discourage renting this house. There were several things about the house that were disappointing. I booked this house based off the positive reviews but should have more seriously considered the reviews from August 2011. I am posting these items so you can make the best decision for your family. I sent all of the below feedback to the owner but have received no response.
1) Wood Piles/Backyard. THE BACKYARD DOES NOT LOOK LIKE THE PICTURES POSTED. We had 6 young kids with us and we found the backyard to be a HAZARD! I encourage you to ask the owner for current photos of the yard so you can make an informed decision. The backyard is comprised completely of dirt with multiple piles of discarded wood, an ugly/old blue tarp covering random debris, a set of 4 cement stairs that lead to nothing and (2) unsightly "storage sheds". On 3 different occasions (once via phone, once in person to my parents and once via email to me) the owner indicated that the wood piles would be removed...just 3 weeks before our stay I received an email confirming they were removed...not the case!
2) Trash under the deck. There were empty soda cans and misc garbage under the deck.
3) Hottub. The hot tub was murky and looked unclean. Additionally there is a filter on the side of the hot tub (where someone would sit) that doesn't have a screen on it and while I was sitting in the hot tub with my niece (age 4) the filter started to suck my arm/back in with a very strong suction. This was very SCARY to say the least! I was glad that it was me that discovered this and not one of our small kids. It was very frustrating that the hottub was in this condition and there was no sign about it or warning.
4) Upstairs bathroom: There was a weight limit of 150lbs for the upstairs tub. This made using the shower/tub for almost all of the adults impossible. The house should not be advertised as having 3 showers.
5) Screens. Several of the windows were lacking screens. This made leaving the windows open at night to cool off the rooms impossible.
6) Mouse: We found a mouse in the kitchen on 2 different nights during our 3 night stay. I understand that we are in a wooded area but this combined with everything else was just annoying.
7) Fridges: One of the 2 fridges BARELY keeps cold enough to keep food.
Overall the house is shotty and not as advertised. The backyard is a hazard for small kids and disappointing. I would recommend spending your money elsewhere!!!

Owners response: Disappointed is exactly what I felt when I walked into my home. There was trash left behind. I stuck to the kitchen floor as several spills were not attended to at all. A $75.00 frame was missing as was towels, pillows and pillow cases. The carpet had red licorice ground into it because nobody picked it up over a 3 night stay. Out side trash was left in the back yard. I found red licorice in the showers, it looked like someone had died or was killed in it. The spa looked like an elephant sat in it. It was $150.00 to drain the spa, $75.00 for my frame, $175.00 for carpet cleaning and the list goes on.
I am sorry they feel disappointed but I will address her complaints. The banded pile of wood to the side of the yard is for the deck that is going in the back of the yard and yes it is covered with an older tarp. I have picked up all the trash under the deck. The spa needed to filter a liitle longer is all, the spa guy came by and added the chemicals and it sounds like they went in it. The suction on the spa is by the filtering system and not at all a risk. I had 3 window screens installed last week to the home. We do have a shower upstairs that is older and some guests are quite heavy and it bends the plumbing so I ask that only average size people use that one shower (150lb). When its humid people leave the doors open and we do get little critters in a times. I put bait out when I can to take care of that situation. I have two full size refrigerators and this weekend was one of the cooler ones this summer. I feel this women was just looking for money back because that's how she started her email to me. If my home was not damaged I would have offered her a discount or a free night stay on her next visit but I do not believe that would be in my best interest.

Helpful votes: 17 / 20

 

Great "BIG" Family Vacation

Review submitted: February 6, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2012

Great time at this wonderful cabin. We had a party of 20 people. Plenty of space for a big group with children. Great location as you're only a 5 minute drive from the village, slopes, sledding, grocery stores and starbucks! Mary was great and assisted with any of our requests. The cabin has 2 fridges which helps with a big party. The bedrooms were big and great for a family to share. I highly recommend this cabin if you are looking for location, relaxation and fun!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 5 / 8

 

Our Whole Group Had a Great Time!

Review submitted: December 20, 2011   Date of arrival: November 18, 2011

There were 17 family members coming together for our mom's 80th birthday. Everyone fitted comfortably. We had a wonderful time and had great weather. Everything was just as described! Very roomy interior. We hung out watching TV and playing games. The pool table and foosball table were great to have. Be aware that the 6th bedroom downstairs does not have a door and does not have a bed. Instead, it has a pull out couch. We had trouble with the propane tank, but the situation was remedied by the owner. We needed specific instructions for the hot water heater because the shower got cold. We would definitely go back because we really enjoyed ourselves. There are lots of extra fold out beds, towes, linens, blankets etc. Everything you need is there. Bring trash bags, ziploc bags, foil paper, paper goods, and paper towels. We would definitely go back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: A wonderful group. I am sorry that a few problems. My sixth bedroom is described as a den and drapes were added for privacy. The sofabed is comfortable. The tankless water heater at times needs to be rebooted, simply unplug then replug, its the altitude. I am sorry that Laura did not find the supplies that were in a drawer next to the refrigerator, the new foil and baggies are still there. A new kitchen is always a challenge. For a two night stay I supply 9 rolls of toilet paper, 3 paper towels and 6 trash bags. Mary from the Moose Lodge

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

Cozy Pet Friendly Home

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: December 9, 2011

This home is perfect for big groups. We had a total of 15 people stay the weekend of December 9-11. The house was clean and fully stocked with your every day supplies. The location was a few blocks from the lake and a short drive to the sledding parks and slopes. We would definitely book this home again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for your review and thanks for noticing that I supply all the shamppoo, cream rinse, toilet paper, soap, detergent, trash bags, spices paper towels etc. I also supply all the sheets, blankets and pillows that you might need. I want visitors to feel at home when they stay at the Moose Lodge.
Mary

Helpful votes: 4 / 7

 

Great time at the moose lodge!

Review submitted: December 8, 2011   Date of arrival: December 3, 2011

We just got back from our weekend trip at the moose lodge and we had a blast! Everyone in our group loved the cabin. All of the little details made it so cozy and felt like home for everyone. The best part of the moose lodge was that the kitchen, living area, and pool table were all on one floor. So we were able to hang out together and gather around the beautiful kitchen. The large dining table was able to accommodate our large group. We will definitely be back to the moose lodge for our next group trip!

Helpful votes: 1 / 4

 

Great Fall Getaway!!

Review submitted: October 5, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2011

This is the first time I have stayed in Big Bear with my family and had no complaints. The majority of the rentals we end up staying in are nothing like the description but this cabin was everything and more. Moose Lodge comfortably accommodated my family of 9. The cabin is very large and spacious. The kitchen was fully stocked and the amenities were spot on(fooseball, pool table, hdtvs). My children had a blast in the jacuzzi and the location was ideal for evening walks with the family and just a short drive from the village. The backyard was spacious and had plenty of room for the dogs and children to run around. I would definitely recommend this cabin to anyone making a trip up to Big Bear this winter!! You will not be disappointed!! We definitely plan on coming back next fall!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 5

 

A Great Weekend Away

Review submitted: September 26, 2011   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

Our weekend at Moose Lodge was great! The house was large and accommodated a good sized group comfortably, but was still cozy. The deck is also large and was a great place to bbq, eat outside and even had room enough for several members of our group to do some yoga! My friends and I rented a house in Lake Arrowhead before, but Moose Lodge far surpassed it in quality, amenities and location. Lake access is a fairly short walk down the road and we rented two pontoon boats, which was a blast. We were also kept entertained with the pool table, foosball table and hot tub.
The house is a great deal and the owner was very flexible and communicative. Overall, Moose Lodge was a great place to spend an early fall weekend and we hope to come back again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our new favorite vacation spot

Review submitted: September 16, 2011   Date of arrival: July 25, 2011

The Lodge was just what we needed and wanted. We had plenty of room for our family reunion. We had 12 adults and 8 children and there was plenty of room for everybody.
The place is welled stocked with sheets, blankets, towels, and toiletries. Everything in the place was in good working condition. Mary was here when we arrived and she showed a private beach around the corner, which was a big hit with all the kids.
We used the backyard and the patio the most. The deck has it all. It has a Spa. BBQ, 2 lounges, 2 sets tables and chairs and an outdoor bar. The weather was perfect during out stay.
Mary the owner, had fresh picked flowers waiting for us when we arrived and was very accomodating during our stay
We took a vote and I think we finally found our new home away from home. We can't wait for our next family reunion.

Thank you for opening
your home to us.

Carol

Helpful votes: 1 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our new favorite vacation spot

Review submitted: September 15, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

I just wanted to write a little note to you how much we enjoyed our stay at the Moose Lodge this last weekend. The house was Perfect for our 4 families and offered us plenty of room to spread out. Thank you for the soccer, football and volleyballs left for us in the Lodge. It was great to have all the towels, blankets, toiletries left for us as well.

It was great having everything so close to the house. The marina, the Village and Alpine Slide the kids loved it. The kids didn't want to go home.

This place is our new favorite vacation spot and plan to come back. Thank you for the wonderful stay at the Moose Lodge. It was fantastic and I'd love to come back again next holiday.

Helpful votes: 2 / 8

 

NIGHTMARE CABIN

Review submitted: August 19, 2011   Date of arrival: August 15, 2011

My family just concluded our vacation at Big Bear Lake, and although we made the best of our living quarters there are many concerns for health and safety that should be discussed.

Upon arriving the rental place was INFESTED with spiders so bad that we had to spray over four cans of raid throughout the 3500 square foot house of cobwebs, bugs, and large spiders. Not only was it infested with bugs, it was also dirty, poorly cleaned by the housekeeper, and not an accurate representation of what was portrayed online. The backyard was not a green lush landscape with swings for children to play on as advertised by pictures; instead it was dirt, filled with construction materials, and swings hanging half attached to a beam. There are open wall sockets, showers that are unclean, water heater malfunctions so that half way through a shower it will go ice cold, no use of upstairs bathrooms without it leaking into the downstairs bedroom, fire hazardous leaks into the downstairs bedrooms, musty smell throughout the house, cable that doesn't work to all television sets, a cold jacuzzi, dangerous and faulty furniture with bolts hanging loose, dirty appliances, refrigerators that do not work, busted water lines that provide a fountain like pool of water in the backyard, and overall a very stressful and disappointing experience. When you do call the owner about the water flowing into the downstairs bedrooms from the ceiling their response is "well I knew about that but I can't give you a refund, maybe a discount on your next stay with us." Before considering this property please think about the safety of your family and children.

Helpful votes: 22 / 23

 

Has great potential but needs cleaning & maintenance

Review submitted: August 13, 2011   Date of arrival: August 5, 2011

We recently stayed at Moose Lodge for a family reunion. There was plenty of room for 10 grown-ups and 4 small children. The deck was very big with nice patio furniture. The house has potential to be very nice however it is sorely in need of a thorough cleaning and attention to maintenance/upkeep. There was broken glass, nails & construction debris in the yard and piles of lumber in the yard and on the upstairs deck that made those areas hazardous for children. Bedsprings on the top deck; a broken down & rusty shed right outside the large backyard window; and a scary cement deer with no face looked tacky & unsightly for a vacation rental home. Only one sink in the upstairs main bathroom double-sink vanity worked; the back bathroom sink only had one faucet that worked; light fixtures were missing bulbs and shades; many of the blinds & window coverings were inoperable; several upstairs windows had no screens; inside the cupboards & oven were dirty when we arrived; the pool table felt was very worn and had a large tear. The pictures on the website are much brighter than the reality which is rather gloomy. We had a good time here because Big Bear has lots to do and the location was convenient for lake access & getting into the Village, however we were disappointed in the cabin after having read the other reviews.

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 12 / 14

 

Great Ploace for Large Family!!

Review submitted: July 23, 2011   Date of arrival: June 28, 2011

This house was the perfect place for our family of 20! It is a very cozy, spacious and comfortable place, with everything you need. It was the perfect for our early summer stay (Jun 28th to July 3rd). It's nearby to pontoon and boat rentals. We had such great weather, and enjoyed the patio, bbq,and hot tub to their fullest. Our dogs had a ghreat time too! The backyard is shaded most of the day. Plenty to keep adults and kids fully entertained. Mary was a wonderful and a very helpful host. She was very accessible. Mary was at the cabin when we arrived, and she was so gracious in giving us a complete tour of the cabin. WE HOPE TO BE BACK!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 5

 

Nice Cabin

Review submitted: January 3, 2011   Date of arrival: December 24, 2010

Mary was a very helpful person, very nice and clean cabin everything exceeded our expectations totally recommend this cabin to everybody, and actually im going to come back and rent the same

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 6

 

Pre-Christmas Vacation Wekeend

Review submitted: December 21, 2010   Date of arrival: December 17, 2010

This house is very welcoming, large, spacious, and with plenty of amenities. Mary is very easy to work with and very accommodating, quick to respond, and helpful.

It's unfortunate that during our stay, it rained all weekend, but even with the rain, the house itself had plenty to do inside that it wasn't really necessary to go out!

The house is larger than expected and can definitely house 16 comfortably (even with pets and elder citizens).

The lake outside the house is beautiful and deserves a brisk walk during the day. BUT, expect to drive if you plan on going snowboarding and/or snow-tubing.

The house is easy to find with ample parking (but if you have 5 cars, you may have to squeeze because the property is only meant to hold 4).

Plenty of TVs, the HDTV was huge and can easily be hooked up to a media system (like a PS3 for videogames and/or netflix). The pool table, Foosball table, and hot-tub were used all weekend -- it was the perfect touch to an already nice house.

Clean and well-maintained, excellent customer service, recommended for large groups, groups with pets, groups with elders. Short drive to The Village with all the shops, dining, and attractions. Willing to work with Mary again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 6

 

Pre-Christmas Vacation Weekend

Review submitted: December 21, 2010   Date of arrival: December 17, 2010

This house is very welcoming, large, spacious, and with plenty of amenities. Mary is very easy to work with and very accommodating, quick to respond, and helpful.

It's unfortunate that during our stay, it rained all weekend, but even with the rain, the house itself had plenty to do inside that it wasn't really necessary to go out!

The house is larger than expected and can definitely house 16 comfortably (even with pets and elder citizens).

The lake outside the house is beautiful and deserves a brisk walk during the day. BUT, expect to drive if you plan on going snowboarding and/or snow-tubing.

The house is easy to find with ample parking (but if you have 5 cars, you may have to squeeze because the property is only meant to hold 4).

Plenty of TVs, the HDTV was huge and can easily be hooked up to a media system (like a PS3 for videogames and/or netflix). The pool table, Foosball table, and hot-tub were used all weekend -- it was the perfect touch to an already nice house.

Clean and well-maintained, excellent customer service, recommended for large groups, groups with pets, groups with elders. Short drive to The Village with all the shops, dining, and attractions. Willing to work with Mary again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 3

 

Early Thanksgivings Wknd

Review submitted: November 24, 2010   Date of arrival: November 19, 2010

Mary is awesome...We had a blast over the weekend...The place is spacious with plenty of amenities..The pool table and foosball was a plus for entertaining..The kitchen space was perfect, it was open to the living room and pool table area...hot tub outside was definitely the icing on the cake..

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 3

 

We had a memorable weekend!!!

Review submitted: November 3, 2010   Date of arrival: October 29, 2010

A large group of our family and friends stayed with us at this cabin over the Halloween weekend and everyone was very impressed. We were welcomed with a basket of goodies left in the kitchen to start off our weekend. Then we took a tour of this wonderful place and could not believe that there was actually a bed for everyone like the website said. The jacuzzi out on the patio was already heated up and ready for us when we arrived. The jacuzzi fits 6 adults comfortably. Also, we enjoyed watching sports on the big screen HD TV that was in the living room adjacent to the kitchen. Overall this was one of the best rentals that we have stayed in and we have rented at several other places before. If you get a chance to head up to Big Bear anytime of the year be sure to check out and see if Moose Lodge is available.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 

Great Cabin

Review submitted: October 8, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

This was a great cabin! Very close to the lake with a big back yard and nice deck to BBQ on. We had 12 people staying for the weekend and never felt crowded. I would recommended this rental to anyone.

PS Mary is very easy to work with...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 7

 

Nice cabine for family reunion

Review submitted: August 30, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2010

Mary is very a nice lady who owns this cabin. This cabin is very congenial and best suited for a big family reunion. Kids have lots of space to pay with. Also, it's well equipped with great amenity around the cabin. I left my phone charger at the cabin. Mary even mailed it back to me for free of charge. Strong recommendation for people who want a nice vacation at big bear to dwell in.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 

Amazing Cabin

Review submitted: June 30, 2010   Date of arrival: June 25, 2010

This was a great cabin. We had 16 people, five different families at this cabin for the weekend and we had a blast. There was enough room if people wanted to have some quite while others played pool or fuse ball. The cabin sleeps 16 easily and all beds were comfortable. The cabin was clean and well taken care of and stocked with all necessities. The kitchen had all the equipment needed to feed 16 people and even had tuperware for leftovers!!! The kids played outside in the backyard and also enjoyed being on the deck in the morning watching the birds and squirrels. Since the world cup was on during our stay the big screen HD TV came in handy for the sports fans!! Great picture and easy to use. We loved this cabin and look forward to coming again for 10U all-stars and renting it again. :-)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: This was an Allstar group of people and they plan to come up again next year
Mary Owner of the Moose Lodge

Helpful votes: 4 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review