reviews for: listing #66988 - Huntington Beach, California House rental

Huntington Beach Bungalow
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Downtown
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $5,000 - $8,000 /mth

sort by:

A Great House in a nice location

Review submitted: January 16, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

A very well-equipped beach house in a nice, quiet neighborhood. Friendly owner who make the rental process easy. A little warm in the house initially but it's okay after adjusting the thermostat. The house has a really good layout and it's perfect for family reunion.

Owners response: Thanks Rhoda, your family were perfect guests. Sorry the weather has been almost cold this winter. We should probably get zoned heat, since the upstairs gets a bit warm. Hope they all enjoyed their family holiday and visit to California.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Stay at Huntington Beach

Review submitted: August 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 14, 2012

Lovely house! great location, lots of amenities (little shampoos and lots of plates and bowls).
It was a little hot, fans in the bedrooms would be great addition, but once we got the routine down of opening windows at night it was good.
Nice neighborhood too, very comfortable! Also, Huntington Beach (4 blocks away) is the best beach in that area!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wow, Perfect Beach House

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

Fran & Chris, This was truely the best vacation my family has had here in Huntington Beach. The house was beautiful and all the upgrades in the remodel were awesome. Very spacious and the sleeping arrangements were perfect for us. Plenty of bathrooms for everyone to shower without conflict. The outside shower was great after a day at the beach. Very close to the beach and even close enough to walk to main st. Fire pit was great for smores or just to sit by a cozy fire. If your looking for your summer rental stop here this one is it.. BOOK IT!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Beach House

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

Fran and Chris,

We truly appreciated your great Beach House. All 8 of us fit comfortably, had plenty of room, and 3 full bathrooms made getting ready easy. The house was very clean, the furniture was nice, the remodeled areas were done extremely well. We did take advantage of bikes and boggie boards which saved us money. Having lived in Huntington Beach in the past I did not expect for parking to be so easy but it was with the set up that you have. We took advantage of the state beach pass which again saved us money. My favorite part of the house was the front patio and fire pit. We sat out there every night except one. Getting to the beach and Main Street was very easy and simple, it was nice to be a few blocks away so you were not in the hussle and bussle. You will be hearing from some friends I referred.

We look forward to our next stay at your house.

Thanks,

Dean

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks for the kind words, Dean. Enjoyed meeting you and your family. Our favorite shower is the outdoor shower, because we never have to clean it!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Clean, well stocked home

Review submitted: June 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 5, 2012

Great house for our vacation. Enjoyed by the adults as well young children. Would definitely visit again. Very clean and maintained. Owner friendly and helpful. Nice neighborhood and short walk to the beach. Kitchen well stocked the extras like beach supplies and linens. Loved the outside heated shower for sand removal, sky lights, patio spaces.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Thanks Nicole and family. Enjoyed meeting you and your family, especially your adorable twins. We think our outdoor spaces are especially nice with our fine climate in Huntington Beach. Thanks for being such great guests.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to relax and enjoy

Review submitted: April 1, 2012   Date of arrival: March 26, 2012

This home is an excellent place to relax and see the sites of Huntington Beach. We enjoyed being able to have enough bedrooms and bathrooms to accommodate our family and grandchildren....they loved the bunk beds. The home was in excellent condition with all of the touches of home. Fran and Chris have done a great job to see that everything you would need was there and available. We look forward to returning in the future and spending time to relax and enjoy again. If your looking for a place to stay there is no reason to look any further, we highly recommend it for a great vacation home!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Fabulous Christmas with our Family & Friends

Review submitted: January 11, 2012   Date of arrival: December 16, 2011

This home was a Blessing to all of us during the Christmas Holidays!! The location is great and we really enjoyed the bike rides on the boardwalk you couldn’t of asked for better weather during out stay. As for cooking we were able to cook up a full Holiday Dinner with all the trimmings. The kitchen had everything you needed and more. Each room was like having your own suite, plenty of privacy.

Thank you Fran & Chris for sharing your beautiful home with us, I am sure we will see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Capielo Family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks Dawn. We are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday in Huntington Beach. Your family and friends are perfect guests, and we hope to see you in the summer to work on your tan.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Property! Highly Recommended!!

Review submitted: October 22, 2011   Date of arrival: October 5, 2011

This rental property comes with our highest recommendation. It's obvious that the owners put thought into making this a great vacation spot with all ammenities you could possibly want. It's very close to the beach and the Pier, just a short walk through a great neighborhood in Huntington Beach. Our favorite ammenities include the outdoor firepit on the front patio (wood log was there waiting for us), gas grill, living room fireplace, and wireless internet. The kitchen was excellent with nice appliances, coffee maker (stocked coffee!), granite countertops, dishes, silverware, plenty of paper towels, and even a wine bottle opener and other useful kitchen gadgets. There was full cable television in multiple rooms, DVD players, and DVD's. The bedrooms were fantastic with nice linens and pillows, plenty of extra blankets and towels available, and even nice soaps in the bathrooms. The garage was stocked with beach gear such as bicycles, boogie boards, and beach towels. The state parking pass provided really came in handy and saved us money. We also really liked the Seacliff Deli right around the corner, about a 30 second walk, great food! The last item to mention is the great interaction with the property owner. She was very responsive and easy to communicate with, and the security deposit was propmtly returned when our visit was over. We can't say enough good things about this place and we hope to return again sometime soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks to you and your family, for being gracious guests. We are glad that you enjoyed our Huntington Beach community, and hope to see you again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 15, 2011

We had such a wonderful long weekend. The house was perfect for my family. The house had everything you needed for the beach, whipping up dinner, to relaxing inside/outside. Clean and comfortable. The neighborhood was quiet and just a short walk to the beach and a quick bike ride to shops. We took bikes everywhere. The miles and miles of beach paths were great and of course the short trek to the shops at Surf City was something we really enjoyed. Lots of restaurants and shops for everyone's tastes. My girls meandered through great shops/boutigues and even explored the night life in Surf City. Fun had by all. We are so looking forward to going back soon.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Wendy and Larry. We are glad that you enjoyed the house and the community of Huntington Beach. Your family were perfect guests.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Everyting you need-just like home only better

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

This property was beautiful. You could tell someone built it as their home, because it was very well taken care of. You could spend a summer there very comfortably. We cooked dinner in each night, and had all the equipment to do so. We had 8 people sleeping there and everyone had enough room, and privacy. Very large home, the pictures do not do it justice.Too bad there was not a virtual tour of this home, it would be booked ever week!!
Kathy from Chicago

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Kathy and Mike. Really enjoyed meeting your extended family. Your family were perfect guests, and a pleasure to deal with.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Look no further!

Review submitted: June 2, 2011   Date of arrival: September 23, 2010

We had a wonderful time at this house. We were able to easily accomodate everyone in our family. Great location. We were able to pack lightly for the beach and take our bikes down there everyday in a matter of minutes! The front patio with firepit is wonderful! Many of us never left the patio. The neighborhood is nice and quiet, so its a great place to relax. Great little donut shop just behind the property. My dad and nephews loved to walk there in the morning. Convenient stores very close for last minute necessities. Although, the owner has covered practically anything you will ever need during your stay.

Very clean. Very nice furniture and bedding. Pride of ownership shows!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

This house has it all!!

Review submitted: April 18, 2011   Date of arrival: April 11, 2011

This was a wonderful rental house for our family. We were in California to celebrate our 40th anniversary...We drove there and flew in the kids and grandkids. The house was the perfect lay-out for privacy and togetherness...and it is in a great location...a 4 block walk to a great beach. As has been said in other reviews, the Vargus's thought of everything!! There were so many thoughtful touches...beach toys for the kids and a wagon to bring everything to the beach...bikes...tons of towels and linens, condiments, toiletries, even spare jackets and umbrellas (not that we needed the latter... the weather was perfect!) Fran handled the booking in a professional manner thru-out and even called to ask how everything was going.
I would definitely recommend this rental to anyone wanting a perfect California beach vacation

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Karen and Family - congratulations on your 40th Anniversary. We are delighted that you had a great time together in the house. We are all about family celebrations. Thank you for being such wonderful guests.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Clean, Comfortable and Safe!

Review submitted: April 14, 2011   Date of arrival: March 30, 2011

I spent about two months planning and researching our vacation to Southern California and spent a lot of time on the computer looking at rental homes. Fran and Chris' vacation home was fantastic in every aspect and our family loved it! First off I have to say that the pictures don't do it justice. The house is very clean, has lots of space and Fran and Chris have provided most every thing that you would need. The included computer and printer we used a lot for directions and printing out our airline boarding passes (also free WiFi). There are also boogie borads, bikes, beach towels, beach toys, beach chairs really everything you need for the beach. The home is only a few blocks to the beach, it's in a great area, safe and quiet.

The other advantage of this house is that is located in Huntington Beach, which in my opinion is the best beach in Southern California. HB has a great Main Street with lots of places to eat, surf shops and the longest pier in California (with a great place to eat at the end of it--Ruby's). About a five minute drive away is a plaza that has an Albertson's which is a great grocery store (tell the check out person that you are not a local and they will use a card that will give you a discount). In the same plaza there is a great Mexican fast food place called Del Taco.

Huntington Beach is a short distance to most every major attraction in the Los Angeles area. Disneyland, Knott's Berry Farm, Angel Stadium, Mission San Juan Capistrano, Hollywood and many other places are all within an easy drive.

Fran and Chris handled the entire home rental process in a very timely and professional manner (which was very important to us). There is a rental agreement, great email communication and there is a blue binder at the house that answers every possible question about the home. Fran and Chris live about 10 minutes away and were easy to reach if we had a question.

We had a fantastic California vacation and Fran and Chris provided us with a home that really felt like it was as comfortable as our own home. I can easily give this vacation home my highest recommendation and as I type this I miss the home and Huntington Beach already. The Ryan family will return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks Ryan Family - you are the perfect guests, left the house in perfect shape, and we enjoyed sharing our little piece of paradise with you. Consider the house "your place in SoCal".

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Clean, Comfortable and Safe!

Review submitted: April 14, 2011   Date of arrival: March 30, 2011

I spent about two months planning and researching our vacation to Southern California and spent a lot of time on the computer looking at rental homes. Fran and Chris' vacation home was fantastic in every aspect and our family loved it! First off I have to say that the pictures don't do it justice. The house is very clean, has lots of space and Fran and Chris have provided most every thing that you would need. The included computer and printer we used a lot for directions and printing out our airline boarding passes (also free WiFi). There are also boogie borads, bikes, beach towels, beach toys, beach chairs really everything you need for the beach. The home is only a few blocks to the beach, it's in a great area, safe and quiet.

The other advantage of this house is that is located in Huntington Beach, which in my opinion is the best beach in Southern California. HB has a great Main Street with lots of places to eat, surf shops and the longest pier in California (with a great place to eat at the end of it--Ruby's). About a five minute drive away is a plaza that has an Albertson's which is a great grocery store (tell the check out person that you are not a local and they will use a card that will give you a discount). In the same plaza there is a great Mexican fast food place called Del Taco.

Huntington Beach is a short distance to most every major attraction in the Los Angeles area. Disneyland, Knott's Berry Farm, Angel Stadium, Mission San Juan Capistrano, Hollywood and many other places are all within an easy drive.

Fran and Chris handled the entire home rental process in a very timely and professional manner (which was very important to us). There is a rental agreement, great email communication and there is a blue binder at the house that answers every possible question about the home. Fran and Chris live about 10 minutes away and were easy to reach if we had a question.

We had a fantastic California vacation and Fran and Chris provided us with a home that really felt like it was as comfortable as our own home. I can easily give this vacation home my highest recommendation and as I type this I miss the home and Huntington Beach already. The Ryan family will return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Vacation Home!

Review submitted: October 21, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

This home is really a beautifully, well kept home. My family of 5 plus my parents enjoyed this home for a week in October. The location is great, just steps away from the beach. We saw the sights in Anaheim and San Diego. The quiet community of Huntington Beach was a great place to go at the end of a busy day to relax.

There was plenty of room for all of us and home is very well stocked with everything you would have in your own home.

Thank you Fran and Chris for the use of the home and we will definitely keep it on our list of homes to rent the next time we are in the area!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Rae - You and your family are ideal guests, and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxation

Review submitted: September 18, 2010   Date of arrival: August 31, 2010

This was a family and friends vacation. My husband and I each brought our moms. We went to San Francisco first; where my mom had a heart attack and his mom fell and broke her hip. We were still able to spend a week at the beach house. The bedroom on the bottom floor worked out perfect for "the moms", and the additional bedrooms upstairs for friends and family. The owners went up and above to make our stay perfect. Elegant design, practical in every way you can imagine. We forgot a few things; which were in the house when we arrived...soap, shampoo, conditioner. All the beach essentials were supplied; which enabled us to pack much lighter. I'm already looking at the calendar to figure out when we can make it back. This beach house is perfect for a romantic gateway for 2 (which is what I'm working on now); or a small group getaway. Can't wait to come back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic!!!

Review submitted: August 23, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2010

We spent 6 days enjoying this fantastic home surrounding areas. The house is located in a peaceful and quiet neighborhood but is only a quick walk to beach, shopping and even a great local donut shop.

The owners have thought of everything. The little blue book on the counter has all the information you could need about the house and how everything works. The home is in beautiful condition and the extra goodies exceeded our expectations by far.

We had multiple generations staying together so the bedrooms on various floors were perfect. My parents could stay downstairs with their own private bath & patio area. The kids stayed upstairs where they could share a bathroom and my husband and I had our own private retreat.

Included in the rental are all the things you would need for a day at the beach. Boogie boards, beach towels, bikes etc. It was perfect not having to buy items or rent them for the day.

It was truly a home away from home and we look forward to returning. My kids fell in love with Southern California thanks in large part to your wonderful home. Thanks for sharing it with us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: July 19, 2010   Date of arrival: July 9, 2010

Spent 10 days relaxing and enjoying this great beach house. We loved the peaceful and quiet location with great proximity to the beach and the action.

The owners are very conscientious and gracious. The home is in beautiful condition and the amenities exceeded our expectations.

The multiple, private bedrooms allowed everyone to sleep in as long as they wanted.....which was great with teenagers! The downstairs suite is a great place for grandma if she's traveling with you.

It was truly a home away from home and we look forward to returning.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review