reviews for: listing #67043 - Durango, Colorado Condo rental

Purgatory Townhome at DMR - awesome location all 4 seasons!
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Durango Mountain Resort
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $99 - $275 /nt

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a great time at your condo.

Review submitted: August 19, 2014   Date of arrival: August 7, 2014

Hi Roxanne,
We had a great time at your condo. The place was clean. The kitchen was well supplied with everything one needed to fix food. The gas grill worked great. The memory foam on the beds was excellent.
Thanks so much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great for a small family - or just the two of you!

Review submitted: August 4, 2014   Date of arrival: July 23, 2014

This is clearly a well cared for property. The place was clean and ready for us when we arrived. The instructions that the owners sent prior to the visit walked us through step by step how to get in and make ourselves at home.

On the second or third day of our stay, we discovered the gas grill was out of propane, so I contacted the owners and were pleasantly surprised to see someone with a new propane tank within 2 hours of inquiry... now THAT's some great customer service!

There are no issues that one wouldn't expect in a property of this age and used by so many. There were all the amenities one might need in the kitchen, there were plenty of towels and the linens on the bed were fine.

With so many options for things to see and do in the Durango area, we didn't really spend much time at the Resort, but the option was nice to have.

I would absolutely recommend this property to friends and relatives. In fact, we intend to inquire about another stay for our family again soon!

Thanks Steve and Roxanne for making our first experience to the area one that we can look back on fondly.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice Condo For Summer Rental Off the Beaten Path

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: August 20, 2013

This is a nice property about half way between Durango and Silverton in a large resort complex with many different condo buildings. The only downside for our stay was the bathtub drain was plugged and the tub was kinda gross when we arrived. The owner worked with the maintenance man across the way and had a couple of fellows out to fix it by 4 pm. Cheers for the maintenance guy! He followed through on getting the drain open and even bleached the tub even though he wasn't responsible for having to do that. We would stay here again at the same low rate.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Location

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

Myself and my friends stayed here while skiing and we found it to be a great place to stay for DMR. It was clean and the owner worked with us under very short notice due to issues we had with the original cabin that we were staying at (not associated with this owner). The location is very convienent and you can get the slopes with a small walk, it is probably 200 yards to the bunny slope and 300 yards to the main lifts. Ski lockers were also very helpful.

Nothing but good things to say, I thank the owner again for working with my wife to ensure we had a nice place to stay for the remainder of our trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our trip was Awesome!

Review submitted: January 15, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2012

Hi Steve & Roxanne,

Our trip was Awesome! The Condo had all the items necessary to cook wonderful meals and we had a great time. Usually, we have to eat out alot, because we had no kitchen. This gets really expensive. We have never had the opportunity to stay slopeside and it was so much better. The condo was very clean and homey feeling. . Wish we could come more often!! We will definitely stay at the Condo verses a Hotel next time we go to Durango. There was plenty of wood for the Fire, and plenty of towels, etc. Overall, it was a wonderful Vacation. Thanks Steve & Roxanne for our stay at your Condo. Love Colorado ~

Thanks Again,
Cherie

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great vacation spot!

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 25, 2011

What a great place for my family to vacation. The condo looks just like the pictures. The kitchen is well stocked with appliances and utensils which made it real easy to eat in. The condo is located outside of downtown but was still close enough for us to do all that we wanted while visiting. If you want to stay in for a day the resort offers a variety of activities for all ages. My family was sad to see this vacation end, thanks for providing us a great space during it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place for family!

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 25, 2011

What a nice place to take our family for vacation. The condo looks exactly like the pictures- a true "what you see is what you get" place. The kitchen had a great variety of appliances and utensils which helped when having meals in. We enjoyed the outside of the city location, as it was still close enough to do all that we wanted. If you want to stay at home for a day the resort offers a variety of activities for all ages and seasons. Our family enjoyed our stay and was sad to go.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Vacation Ever!

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

I just wanted to express my sincere "thanks!" in opening up your condo to my family. It was truly the best vacation ever. Everything, from the time that we arrived, until our departure, was perfect. You had everything right there, available to us. It can be somewhat of a challenge to leave behind all the ammenities of home, especially traveling with 2 children (8 and 10). But when the time came, they didn't want to leave! We didn't want to leave! With all of the adventures yet to explore, we can't wait to go back. We haven't even been there in the winter, yet! I can't wait to go back! Your place is awesome!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Purgatory Condo

Review submitted: July 25, 2011   Date of arrival: July 18, 2011

If I could select 3.5 stars, I would. After confirming our reservation, we received an informational packet that was very thorough and useful. Steve and Roxanne were very gracious, even after we mistakenly arrived a day before we were supposed to. The condo is definitely better located for winter stays being close to short ski slopes and away from the crowd of Durango. It is well-equipped if you plan to cook for yourself/family. As advertised, the condo is a minimum 20 minute drive from any sizeable stores or restaurants. It is obvious from the cabinet doors, the carpet and other features that show wear, the condo has been used extensively.

The major "bad" feature of the condo are the mattresses, which were very hard and had no mattress pads. After three nights on these mattresses, we could barely move and anyone who slept on a bed had either a stiff back and/or and stiff and sore hips. The only member in our party who was not stiff slept on the couch, without pulling out the hide-a-bed.

Steve and Roxanne request that guests remove shoes upon entry into the condo. While we respected this request, it was obvious that numerous others have not as the carpet is filthy, with many stains and spots.

Sliding glass doors are a feature of both rooms, but the doors open to the parking lot, thus every car that parked after dark illuminated the rooms. The bedroom sliding glass door has vertical, venetian blinds that did not eliminate any light, so once daylight arrived, the room was completely lit. If light causes you difficulty in sleeping, this is not the location for you.

Prior to agreeing to the use of this condo, we inquired as to A/C and were assured that the mountain temps alleviated the need for A/C. This might normally be true, but floor fans would have been very useful to cool the condo from mid-80s temperatures every evening when we returned from sight-seeing.

All in all, the condo was serviceable, but not really comfortable for summer activities. Based on the other reviews, it sounds much more suited to winter use.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway

Owners response: We provide a very comfortable and affordable place to stay in one of the most gorgeous areas that I have ever traveled to and love for others to experience it. Summer is one of the best times to come to the San Juan Mountains. This particular guest mixed up his dates and arrived a day early to a condo that had not been cleaned yet. He was irate and even though it was his error, he obviously wants to continue to vent his anger. We are very attentive to our guests, provide a great lodging deal for this amazing area, and upkeep the condo to a very high standard. It is not luxury, but it is clean and more than comfortable; we have never had a complaint about the comfort of our beds and slept in them myself in late June and it was very cozy. We have receipts of getting our carpets professionally cleaned in May of this year, we have large ceiling fans and large glass sliders in each room to get plenty of air flow at 9,000 ft in elevation, we bought nice down comforters to replace the bedspreads so the duvets could be washed after every guest, the cabinets were redone many years ago and have absolutely no wear on them, new blinds in the bedroom in November 2010, and we have virtually no traffic in the resort area to deal with lights from cars. If you see 2 cars pass in a night, it is busy. I feel this review is very much tainted by people who chose the wrong location for their vacation since they obviously would have preferred to be in the downtown area and they also started their vacation on a negative note by arriving on the wrong date. We truly care about the happiness of our guests and do not let our property get worn down so families can have an affordable, comfortable vacation.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great condo!

Review submitted: April 3, 2010   Date of arrival: March 26, 2010

This is a great, convenient, quiet condo. It's just a short walk to the chair lift and you can basically ski right to it. Excellent value!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Purgatory Townhome

Review submitted: March 30, 2010   Date of arrival: March 8, 2010

I just wanted to write and say thanks for renting us your condo. We couldn't have had a better time! The place was perfect for us, and the mountain was amazing!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Purgatory Townhome

Review submitted: March 30, 2010   Date of arrival: March 8, 2010

I just wanted to write and say thanks for renting us your condo. We couldn't have had a better time! The place was perfect for us, and the mountain was amazing!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review