reviews for: listing #67048 - Branson, Missouri Cottage rental

"The Cottage"
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Branson Canyon
  • sleeps  13
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $300 /nt
    $930 - $1,390 /wk

sort by:

Moore 5 enjoyed it very much

Review submitted: July 29, 2014   Date of arrival: July 20, 2014

Had everything you would ever need. Kitchen was clean and dishes/glasses/pots were plentiful. Washer/Dryer combo was large and worked great. Master Bedroom is the pick-of-the-litter... roomy and quiet. Front Bedroom offers best view and a massive closet. Upper bedroom over master is large and 'kids room' over the front bedroom is perfect for up to 4 kids. Nice TVs in all rooms.

Club House is just up Foggy Bay. Pool has a zero entry that gets up to 6 ft. Plenty of lounge chairs for all. Door by pool gets you in Club House bottom floor with bathroom and pool table. Main level has two more restrooms and a kitchen area if you need it. Top floor is large pit group and TV. We never were able to get anything on the TV, but that was most likely 'user error'.

If you drive down just a bit further on Hwy P you get to the lake. There is a large play area with shore fishing access. Play area has tennis, basketball, and volleyball courts. It also has a playground fort for the kids.

When they suggest to buy your groceries at the Country Mart... do it. This is not a mart in the country - it is the name of the grocery chain. It is large and prices are better than WalMart in Branson.

Branson.... oh my.... don't get me started. Give yourself lots of time to navigate 'Main Street' Hwy 76. Very curvy and hilly. Lights-o-plenty. Two lanes with a center turn lane the whole way. Rush hour traffic 24 hrs a day. Use 265 / 165 to circle around over the dam and pop out on 76 closest to where you are needing to go. DO NOT drive the length of 76... your blood pressure would be too high to enjoy whatever you are there wanting to do.

Silver Dollar City was clean and lots of fun. Get there around 9:00 so you can enter the park at 9:30 after they raise the flag. Grab a locker or two between the 9:00-9:30 time frame. Nice set of them just outside the caverns. Place your food/drink/supplies in the locker and go back to it and get what you need as you need it. Costs 50 cents every time you open the door. At 9:30 head to whatever ride you want to do the most. You can ride it several times in a row the first hour or so. Lines began to back up around 10:30 with those arriving at the parking lots at 9:30 and then walking into the park. Meal prices are reduced at 7:00 pm if you stay the whole day. Burgers were quite fresh and tasty.

You will be doing yourself a favor by staying at "The Cottage" !!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you so much for the review we are always glad to hear our guest
enjoyed our home and all there is to do in and around Branson.
Ray and Mariea

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 

Awesome House and Owners

Review submitted: July 9, 2014   Date of arrival: July 3, 2014

My family greatly enjoyed our stay at this beautiful vacation home and everything exceeded my wildest expectations. The home is beautiful, comfortable and has everything you need and is convenient to the city of Branson. It is such a great house for a big family like ours. Very clean and we had plenty of room for all the kids to play. The pool was so close and worked out great for everyone. Also, the owners are really nice people and easy to work with, answered all of our questions and gave friendly advice. I would definitely recommend this property to all of our friends and we look forward to getting back together there again soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are always very pleased to learn that our guests have enjoyed their stay at The Cottage at Branson Canyon. The only thing that tops that is when they return to stay again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wow!

Review submitted: June 18, 2014   Date of arrival: May 31, 2014

Wow! This place was fantastic! We often vacation in Branson and have stayed in MANY different condos all around the area. This home was the best place we have stayed! The house is absolutely beautiful! The decorations are very homey and tasteful. The kids loved staying in the snowman room! There was the perfect amount of space for our group. We had 4 adults and 3 kids for part of the week and 4 adults with 5 kids for the rest of it. They offer so many "extras" that most places we have stayed have not offered. We never ran out of dishsoap or paper towels and even laundry soap was available to use! The pool is right up the street, which was very handy! There was supposed to be a playgound in the area, but we never did find it. The owners were fantastic to work with! They even called us when they saw the weather wasn't ideal while we were there to tell us of a shelter under the house! Thanks so much for letting us stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you so much for your review, we are always glad to hear good or bad, it
helps us to know what we need to do to help our guest enjoy there stay at or home.
A new playground is the planning at this time.
Thanks again
Ray & Mariea

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Cottage

Review submitted: June 18, 2014   Date of arrival: June 9, 2014

I would like to say that my family stayed in the cottage for 5 nights and it was the best family vacation that we have ever had. The house was perfect. There were 6 adults and 4 children ages 4 to 10. This is the first time that we have ever rented a house and this house was beautiful and had all the comforts of home. Ray and Mariea were helpful when it came to renting their home. They helped me in many ways. They made all the arrangements very easy. I would highly recommend the cottage. Everything was clean and well taken care of. I can honestly say that when and if we make it back to Branson we will stay at the cottage if it is available. So for everyone that is looking for a house to rent I would say that I give this house and the owners a big GOLD STAR!!!!!

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Thank you so much for your review, we are always glad to hear good or bad so that we can continue to help make our guest enjoy their time at our home.
Thanks
Ray& Mariea

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Holiday Ever

Review submitted: January 4, 2014   Date of arrival: December 19, 2013

This house, like the owners, exceeded our expectations. We had some issues in the start back home that nearly cost us our vacation, and the home owners were fabulous in keeping contact and working with us.

Once we were actually on the road and arrived, the house was decorated in a Christmas theme, which made all our worries go away! The home was comfortable, warm and updated. The beds were awesome and more than enough room for us three adults and three kids. Having the ability to fly the American Flag was an added token offered to military vets by the homeowners. We will definitely rent here again.

This is not strike to the owners because I do not know the POA rules, but when we arrived, the house was well lighted, but the cul-de-sac was very dark making it difficult but not impossible to find the house. BEAUTIFUL HOUSE !!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from Home

Review submitted: July 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 18, 2013

It was very late once we arrived at the Cottage, and I had to make some call to the owner (which was late and I hated to) but the stay was great! The pool was fun, the house was just the right size. We liked the secludedness that the Cottage offered. We still had neightbors, but it wasn't on the strip. A great place for relaxing.
Thanks again Ray & Mariea!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Summer Celebrations

Review submitted: June 23, 2013   Date of arrival: June 5, 2013

The Cottage was perfect for our summer getaway! It provided all the comforts of home with a vacation feel. The owners were very accommodating and easy to work with!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Vacation get away

Review submitted: March 31, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

We have a wonderful time at the cottage, the living space was so much larger than it appeared in the pictures, we had everything we needed and more! The four bedrooms were very spacious, beds very comfortable and plenty of seating in the open living floor plan for all of us to be together in the large open area! We loved coming with our three grown children and six grandchildren and plan to stay when we make a return trip to Branson! Thanks to the owners for making our stay a great one!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Christmas Vacation

Review submitted: February 3, 2013   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

You will not be disappointed with this property or the owner's. They were very attentive and helpful but stayed out of our way so that we could enjoy our family. We have in-laws in several different states and Branson is centrally located for all of us. We felt right at home and had everything we needed. The pictures do not do this house justice. The house is more beautiful in person, and they added all the little things that you would never think to bring. We were there for Christmas and were amazed when we walked in at all of the beautiful holiday decor. For the family vacation that we had envisioned, this far surpassed our expectations. It felt more like being at home and less like being a guest at a hotel.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. These help us out alot. We try hard to make our guest feel at home. So glad you enjoyed the holiday decor.

Thanks again
Ray and Mariea

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Branson Wedding

Review submitted: September 17, 2012   Date of arrival: September 14, 2012

We had 6 in our group and absolutely loved this home:) It was immaculate, well thought out and well decorated. We did not have to search for anything. The beds were super comfy too.
Great place to escape everyone. The entire location is very well maintained.
Thanks for sharing your home

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

A Wonderful Fit for Our Family

Review submitted: September 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

The Cottage was the perfect fit for our family. Owners Ray and Mariea were a dream to work with. They were super sweet to install a baby gate at the bottom of the stairs for our young children. They had recently added a sleeper sofa in the living room area, this made it easy for our family (5 adults, 2 children) to lounge around watching movies. The kitchen was well stocked. The pool was a short walk away. Branson was a quick drive. We hope we are able to rent "The Cottage" for our next Branson trip.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Wonderful fit for our family

Review submitted: September 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

The Cottage was the perfect fit for our family. Owners Ray and Mariea were a dream to work with. They were super sweet to install a baby gate at the bottom of the stairs for our young children. They had recently added a sleeper sofa in the living room area, this made it easy for our family (5 adults, 2 children) to lounge around watching movies. The kitchen was well stocked. The pool was a short walk away. Branson was a quick drive. We hope we are able to rent "The Cottage" for our next Branson trip.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Wonderful place to stay

Review submitted: September 6, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

The cottage was a great place for our family to stay for a weekend trip to Branson! Not far from the lake and grocery store (in Hollister)and just short distances to the Branson strip and landing and Silver Dollar City. It was very clean and well decorated, and stocked with all the ammenities of home. I would highly recommend a stay at the cottage.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

4th of July Week

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

The Cottage was perfect for my group of 8( ages 64-15). We had more than enough room. Kitchen was stocked with great equipment and utensils. Paper products, kitchen spices, plenty of bath towels, and masterbath were a few highlights. Pool area was wonderful, and we were into Branson in less than 10 minutes. Owners gave great advice on shopping for food, as well as being great to work with all of the time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place for friends to relax.

Review submitted: April 24, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

Myself and five friends get together every year to fly fish Taneycomo. The accommodations and location are perfect for us. Fishing, shopping, and the Branson strip are all within reasonable driving distances. For all you fishermen out there who need a place to relax after a hard day, The Cottage is perfect.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place to relax

Review submitted: October 15, 2011   Date of arrival: September 28, 2011

If you are looking for a peaceful place to unwind, you have found it. The cottage is nicely decorated and well maintained. Plenty of room to move about. We took our parents and grandkids and all had a wonderful time. Not far from anything and yet just far enough away to relax and enjoy the outdoors. We got there to late in the season to use the pool, but the views were great. All the amenities you could ask for. The owners, Ray and Mariea were very gracious. We would recommend this place to others and rent this place again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Branson Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 18, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2011

The Cottage was a great place to stay for our family vaction. The property was tastefully decorated and comfortable for our group of 8 - 5 adults and 3 kids. We had most everything we needed at the property. The club house and pool were really nice. The zero-entry pool was perfect for little kids and the pool area had more than enough lounge chairs for everyone. The Branson Canyon location is great if you want to avoid the craziness of the Branson Strip yet close enough to venture in for all the various Branson adventures. The owners, Ray and Mariea, were very gracious and even made a follow up call after we arrived to make sure all was good with the property. I would definitely recommend this property. This was a great value for our vacation dollar!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful week in Branson

Review submitted: July 27, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

Your home provided the perfect place to relax after spending fun days in Branson! We had plenty of room to spread out and have time to ourselves and at the same time, we could all convene in the living room and hang out as a family! The swimming pool was awesome and such a short walk away. Quiet neighborhood and great ambiance! Thanks a million times over!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: July 23, 2011   Date of arrival: July 11, 2011

The cottage is the perfect home away from home. My family (5 adults and 5 almost adults) had a wonderful stay! We had a family reunion there and we were located just minutes away from the major attraction. We love to fish and just minutes away from the lake and pool. The almost adults enjoyed the pool and the quietness in the evenings. The men enjoyed cooking out on the deck and the women had enough room in the kitchen to cook meals and not get in the way of things! We had every utensil we needed and enough space so that everyone can eat at the same time. Everyone had enough space and sleeping was fantastic. The beds was very comfortable. The property was clean and well maintained! The owners was very friendly and helpful! The home is just as beautiful as the pictures! What you see is what you get and more! Thank Ray and Maria you're the best! I will recommend and return again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest's email comments

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

Ray and Mariea,

I wanted to take a moment and thank you both for sharing your wonderful home with us. It was PERFECT for what we needed. We were able to let the children sleep upstairs and the adults downstairs. The kids were so happy to see their friends, we hardly heard from them except at meal times. The guys grilled and sat on the deck, while the women sat at the island doing the other prep work. (My only regret was staying up to late playing cards.) It was an excellent time of fellowship with friends.

We also enjoyed sitting at the pool. It did get a little crowed at time, but the convenience of location just made it easy to leave and return later. The cottage is also located so close to HWY 65 that it was easy for us to run to the store or anywhere else we wanted to go without fighting the "in town" traffic usually associated with Branson.

We look forward to visiting The Cottage again in the future and I know that our friends do also. Thank you for your hospitality.

Laurie and Chris Thompson

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very Nice and Clean

Review submitted: March 26, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

The Cottage was a perfect home for us! It had lots of space and was very clean. We had 5 adults and 5 kids. It was a perfect spot being close to Branson for entertainment but far enough away that we where not in the traffic. The drive into town was only about 10 minutes. The grocery store was close to get food. They provided almost everything you could need. We look forward to returning in the future. The oweners was awesome to work with. They always answered my e-mails very quickly and we got our deposit returned fast. I would encourage anyone looking for a home to rent.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Exceptional Home, Exceptional Owners! Thank you.

Review submitted: December 31, 2010   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

My family of 6 adults were in need of a getaway, and "The Cottage" was just perfect. It was immaculate, well stocked, all the way down to the ironing board and iron, and plenty of toilet tissue and trash bags that had previously been mentioned in reviews. It had everything we needed even Christmas decorations, including a Christmas tree. The holiday treat bags that greeted us on the dining table were just one of the many thoughtful things the owners had thought of for us. The entire cottage had many special touches, which included candles and candle warmers. The beds were comfortable and the bedding itself was quality. Each of us had plenty of room, and we would not hesitate to rent it again. I have rented other rentals before from similar sites, but believe me you will not be disappointed if you choose "The Cottage". As a part of our stay, I cooked our traditional Christmas meal. I had everything I needed to make a memorable meal for my family. This was our first time to be away from home for Christmas, and we were a bit concerned that we would miss home or feel we may have made a bad decision. "The Cottage" was such a comfortable place, that we were able to experience the same sense of family closeness and the holiday spirit. It truly was a wonderful experience, so much so that we are already thinking about doing it again. We hope to visit "The Cottage" again in the near future. The area is private and somewhat secluded, yet all the activities and attractions of Branson are just minutes away. God is good and life doesn't get much better than this rental in the canyon of Branson, MO. Thank you very much Mariea and Ray for making this a holiday we will always remember with fond hearts. Blessings and Happy New Year to you and yours.
The White's

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Fabulous Home!!

Review submitted: December 7, 2010   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

From the moment we walked into your home we were in awe. Pictures did not do your home justice and we could not believe that we would be spending six days in such a cozy spacious home. We could not get over how large the bedrooms and bathrooms were and how absolutely fabulous the house is. There were 12 of us and we never felt cramped or crowded,the only thing we had to go out and buy was more toilet paper and black garbage bags. The kids had a wonderful time exploring and playing and although we only had one day of bad weather (Thanksgiving Day)and that was even all good. We enjoyed preparing, cooking and sharing our family traditions on Thanksgiving and we are so thankful for you for giving us such a wonderful home to do it in. We have rented homes before and none of them has ever been as wonderful as yours. We definitely overpacked and so we left some kitchen utensils, spices, pantry staples, cookie sheets, storage containers and coloring books behind for your next guests.
There were so many things to do right around in Branson Canyon and being so close to Branson (less than 15 min) we were there many times. We will definitely be back again!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Cozy, comfortable, immaculate

Review submitted: November 30, 2010   Date of arrival: November 19, 2010

Thank you for a wonderful weekend in your lovely cottage. We arrived on Friday evening and found everything just as described. Everyone commented that your cottage just seemed to "fit" our group so well. It has a very comfortable and relaxing feel. The decor is lovely, everything was clean, with lots of nice details to give it the feel of home. Branson Canyon is not too far from Branson activities, yet you feel you are "away from it all". We hope to rent again!
Jeanie

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Former Guest's Email Comments (second stay)

Review submitted: October 30, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

I haven't had a chance to send you a note thanking you again for our stay this past weekend. We were very impressed with your fall decor...thank you for those little touches. We did not experience any problems. We played a little pool in the clubhouse and were able to access it via the code you gave us earlier this summer. I used the WiFi for my class and to check on some tickets on the web. We used the air mattress and it worked great. Everything seems to be in working order. We are all still talking about our wonderful stay.

Thank you again for the opportunity to stay at your house. We plan on coming back sometime in the winter so we may be touching base.

Deborah

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

"The Cottage"

Review submitted: August 24, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2010

The cottage was very roomy and accomodating. We found everything we needed for our stay except for an iron and ironing board which we purchased for the week upon our arrival. Ray was very, very helpful before and during our stay, checking on us to make sure we were comfortable. We found that the cottage location was very convenient to all of the tourist attractions in Branson. I would suggest that you purchase the 3-day pass package offered for Silver Dollar City and White Water. The package saved us money. We really enjoyed Dolly Parton's Dixie Stampede as well as the Titanic museum. The setting made you a part of the Titanic experience which was especially enjoyed by my two 10-year and 13 year-old grandchildren. The swimming pool at this facility is excellent. We really enjoyed our visit and when we return to Branson, we will hopefully be able to secure this cottage for our stay...it will be our first choice.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: New iron and ironing board now provided.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guest's email comments

Review submitted: April 25, 2010   Date of arrival: April 2, 2010

Hey Mariea,
We had a great time. Thank you.
By the way, the house is awesome.
Thanks again for everything.

Wendy

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review