reviews for: listing #67078 - Zion National Park, Utah House rental

Luxurious Appalachian Style Log Home near Zions Nat. Park
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Mount Carmel
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $399 - $399 /nt
    $2,499 - $2,499 /wk

sort by:

Perfect large family vacation spot

Review submitted: September 26, 2013   Date of arrival: September 19, 2013

This place was fantastic. We had two large families (9 in one and 7 in the other). Plenty of room for all to sleep and play. The house is beautiful and well equipped. It is between Bryce and Zion, so it is perfect for those who want to visit both National Parks. The dishwasher does not work well but other than that everything was great. We are hooked on VRBO properties!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very nice place to stay for Zion's and other national parks.

Review submitted: August 27, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

The home is spacious and very nice. The location is very close to Zion's national park and you can also easily visit Bryce Canyon and the Grand Canyon (both located within an hour or two from the property). It is located in a beautiful area with hiking/ATV trails that roam the hills and lead to slot canyon. While on the trails you will see rabbits, deer, and even wild turkeys. The area is quite pretty.

The home is nicely furnished and includes a pool table which is great for the family. The only issues we had related to the supplies in the home (the only reason for 4 and not 5 stars). This is probably attributed to the local person who does the housekeeping. Upon arrival we had to call the individual and ask for more firewood, hotdog roasting sticks, and some baking pans. Not wanting to bother the person further, we went to the local store in Orderville (a great little grocery store) to purchase things like paper towels, laundry soap, and hand soap. Not a big deal, but a bit of a bother.

There were a few knobs off kitchen drawers and a couple of the stove knobs were also stripped and had to be removed so you could twist the control to use the stove. Again, not a big deal and can be easily remedied.

I recommend anyone wanting to stay in the area to rent the home. The home and the surrounding area are both beautiful and great for family vacations. If you do rent the home, be cautious on the wood floors. They can be slippery if you are wearing socks.

We loved working with Vern. He was great from start to finish. I'm certain you'll have a great experience with him as well!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the review...we always want to know the result of our guests experience at our rental home.

We would like to clarify a couple of items:

a) We do not advertise that we furnish laundry soap, roasting sticks, or paper towels, but as a courtesy we always leave one roll of paper towels for arriving guests.
b) We do not furnish fire wood in the summer months and we are not actually suppose to be furnishing wood for the fire pit, as we have outdoor fire restrictions at this time.

As for the stove knobs, we will order new ones immediately, as I did not know they had been "twisted" off...don't know how this happened on the stove?

Also, we do furnish hand soap...so will check with our cleaning person to see why it was not out in every bathroom.

Again...we want our guests to have a great "experience" when they stay at our Appalachian Style Timber Home, so will follow-up right away on items we can fix.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

WONDERFUL FAMILY VACTION HOME

Review submitted: August 22, 2013   Date of arrival: August 6, 2013

WE HAD A WONDERFUL TIME STAYING AT THIS LOVELY UTAH HOME. THE PHOTOS AND THE DESCRIPTION DO NOT DO JUSTICE FOR HOW SPACIOUS AND BEAUTIFUL THE HOME AND PROPERTY ARE. WE HAD MORE THAN ENOUGH ROOM FOR OUR FAMILY WHICH CONSISTED OF 2 OLDER ADULTS 8 YOUNG ADULTS AND ONE BABY.WE HAVE TRAVELED AND RENTED VACATION HOMES ALL OVER THE UNITED STATES , THIS HOME WOULD BE ON THE TOP OF OUR LIST. THE HOUSE WAS CLEAN AND WELL CARED FOR, THE BEDS WERE COMFORTABLE. WE ENJOYED HIKING AROUND THE HOME AND WISH WE HAD MORE TIME TO EXPLORE ALL 3 OF THE CAVES. WE SPEND A DAY AT ZION, TUBED DOWN THE VIRGIN RIVER, THE BOYS HIKED TO ANGELS LANDING. WE SPENT A DAY AT LAKE POWELL, A DAY AT THE NORTH RIM OF THE GRAND CANYON, A DAY AT BRYCE, A VISIT TO THE PINK CORAL SAND DUNES, AND THE TOUR AT BEST FRIENDS. SOME OF US TOOK A HUMMER TRIP TO THE PEEK A BOO SLOT CANYON. WE NEEDED A VACATION FROM THE VACTION. THE SCENERY IS BREATH TAKING. I WOULD RECOMEND DOING ALL OF THESE. IF WE HAD TO PICK OUR MOST FAVORITE PLACE IT WOULD BE BRYCE CANYON. WE ALL WOULD COME BACK.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks to our wonderful guests for the great reviews. We want every guest to have a "great experience" while staying at our home.

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Great vacation home for the whole family!

Review submitted: August 9, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

Spent a couple night with friends and family and wished we would have been there longer. Such a big and beautiful home and very well kept. The master bedroom is huge with a walk in closet, double head showers and double sinks...really loved it! Had a great experience and everyone in my group enjoyed this beautiful home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: Thanks for all the nice comments. We always strive to make sure our guests have a "Great Experience" when staying at our log home near Zion National Park.

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

great vacation

Review submitted: July 15, 2013   Date of arrival: July 9, 2013

Great location. Nice amenities. Cute pond on site. We had young kids, grand parents and teenager with us. Everyone had a great time. Game room downstairs was perfect for kids. You can get groceries in orderville, we found no need to go to Kanab for store. Little café in orderville has great food and excellent service.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Great Location with privacy

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 3, 2013

Directions were a bit sketchy but we managed to find same. Once we arrived at cabin, we were overjoyed to find out that it was even more beautiful in person. The cabin was very clean and had every luxury you could possibly think of. We enjoyed breakfasts on the balcony, bonfires at night for s'mores and roasting hot dogs. Location was great as it was only about a 15-20 minute drive back into Zion and then only about a 40 minute drive to Bryce. Stores/restaurants were limited but the ones that were available and near the cabin had what we needed. Cabin is very spacious and would definitely recommend it to families as we enjoyed some great bonding time there. It is definitely spacious enough to find even time for yourself!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Highly recommended !!

Review submitted: June 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 23, 2013

We had rented this property during our stay at Zion for the memorial day weekend.Overall, we were really happy with our stay there.We were 4 families(with kids) , and this place was very spacious .Some of the highlights were the pool table, the deck and barbeque. We had a couple of stores close by , that we could count on to buy some essential stuff during the stay. However, we had a couple of things that we thought could have been better. One is the directions to get to this property itself. Since we were reaching late in the night, it was very challenging. The address of this property does not show up on the GPS yet. It picked some different address and we were stuck in the middle of nowhere at almost midnight... What makes it more challenging is that there is hardly any phone connectivity , so your mobiles don't work in most areas. Luckily we managed to get hold of the Direct Ranch number . The lady managing this property who lives right across from this property was very kind enough to answer the call and give us right directions to get there. That was a saving grace. So I would highly recommend anyone who rents this property to talk to them in advance and get clear directions to avoid this kind of situation.But after this, the property was really could , that we thought it was worth all the hassle :) One other thing I want to mention here is that the floor in the basement rooms and the common area with the pool table seemed to be a little untidy.It would be great if you could fix this next time on.
Overall, I would definitely recommend this vacation home to my friends since we really enjoyed our stay there.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Delightful week

Review submitted: April 18, 2013   Date of arrival: March 31, 2013

Directions were excellent; house appeared as listed. Property was pretty clean although the dust build-up under the master bed or something else caused major allergic reaction. Room separation was excellent for our 14, ranging in age from 9 months to 75 years. Pool table, pond & rope swing, bicycle paths all great additions. Very nice, especially for the price. Thoroughly enjoyed both Zion & Bryce. Bring food or plan to go to Kanab. Owner was there cleaning when we arrived. Very generous with cleaning supplies, coffee, toilet tissue, etc. Even brought brownies & wine mid-week.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Spring Break

Review submitted: April 8, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and found the house very clean and our host (Vern) very helpful and gracious--thank you! The location was excellent, with easy access to Zion and not a terrible drive to Bryce Canyon and Grand Staircase, and we explored the trails around the house on foot, which led to some very nice views.

We felt the kitchen lacked a bit...could have used another pot with a lid, the plates are looking a bit worn (chips), etc, and the dishwasher didn't work well at all. We also felt a bigger dining room table, or at least more dining room chairs, would be an improvement. The house slept the 10 of us comfortably, but every night two of us had to stand to eat dinner.

All in all, a very pleasant, quiet stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location for Zion & Bryce Parks with tremendous views

Review submitted: November 7, 2012   Date of arrival: October 24, 2012

Our group spent 6 days at this amazing house. The group included 3 couples and 2 granddaughters, ages 10 & 12. This is a great house in a most convenient location, close to Zion & Bryce, both of which are spectacular. We also made a day trip to Glen Canyon Dam, Lake Powell, and Page Arizona. The Glen Canyon Dam is a must-see experience. We found the house very comfortable, spacious and well equipped. We did some hiking in both Zion, Bryce, and hiked around the Quarter Circle H Ranch. Our son and daughter-in-law brought their bikes and did some biking. Out granddaughters loved the fire pit, cooking hot dogs and making s'mores. They also enjoyed the pond near the house. We made most of our meals at the house. We purchased food at CostCo & the Albertson's store near the CostCo in St. George on the way to the house. We had a meal at the Buffalo Grill Zion Mountain Resort (near the house) in Mt Carmel. The meal was excellent. The stay at the Quarter Circle H Ranch will always be remembered as a very enriching time of our life. We will be back. The only negative was - the coffee pot needs to be replaced.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location for Zion & Bryce National Parks

Review submitted: November 7, 2012   Date of arrival: October 24, 2012

Our group spent 6 days at this amazing house. The group included 3 couples and 2 granddaughters, ages 10 & 12. This is a great house in a most convenient location, close to Zion & Bryce, both of which are spectacular. We also made a day trip to Glen Canyon Dam, Lake Powell, and Page Arizona. The Glen Canyon Dam is a must-see experience. We found the house very comfortable, spacious and well equipped. We did some hiking in both Zion, Bryce, and hiked around the Quarter Circle H Ranch. Our son and daughter-in-law brought their bikes and did some biking. Out granddaughters loved the fire pit, cooking hot dogs and making s'mores. They also enjoyed the pond near the house. We made most of our meals at the house. We purchased food at CostCo & the Albertson's store near the CostCo in St. George on the way to the house. We had a meal at the Buffalo Grill Zion Mountain Resort (near the house) in Mt Carmel. The meal was excellent. The stay at the Quarter Circle H Ranch will always be remembered as a very enriching time of our life. We will be back. The only negative was - the coffee pot needs to be replaced.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location for Zion & Bryce National Parks

Review submitted: November 7, 2012   Date of arrival: October 24, 2012

Our group spent 6 days at this amazing house. The group included 3 couples and 2 granddaughters, ages 10 & 12. This is a great house in a most convenient location, close to Zion & Bryce, both of which are spectacular. We also made a day trip to Glen Canyon Dam, Lake Powell, and Page Arizona. The Glen Canyon Dam is a must-see experience. We found the house very comfortable, spacious and well equipped. We did some hiking in both Zion, Bryce, and hiked around the Quarter Circle H Ranch. Our son and daughter-in-law brought their bikes and did some biking. Out granddaughters loved the fire pit, cooking hot dogs and making s'mores. They also enjoyed the pond near the house. We made most of our meals at the house. We purchased food at CostCo & the Albertson's store near the CostCo in St. George on the way to the house. We had a meal at the Buffalo Grill Zion Mountain Resort (near the house) in Mt Carmel. The meal was excellent. The stay at the Quarter Circle H Ranch will always be remembered as a very enriching time of our life. We will be back. The only negative was - the coffee pot needs to be replaced.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Convenient location for Zion and Bryce Canyon

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 16, 2012

This house is situated approximately mid-way between Zion and Bryce Canyon which allowed us to stay in one place for the whole week. We were greeted warmly upon arrival. The place is kept clean and they provide extra bed sheets and towels. Kitchen utensils were adequate but previous tenant scratched up the pans pretty badly the owner had to replace them with better ones. There were 5 bedrooms and they all had double beds, then there is a sofa bed in the basement that sleeps 2 so I would say this house sleeps 12. If you had 14 people then 2 people will have to sleep on couches. I had an issue with kids not willing to share bed and owner provided air-mattress for us. If this house has single beds or bunk beds then it would be great for families with children. The way they have all double beds is probably good for 5 couples or girls' getaway.
Children enjoyed roasting marsh mellows while watching stars at the fire pit outside.
Not a lot of choices for restaurant so the big kitchen and BBQ grill came in handy.
Owner returned security deposit promptly.

Owners response: We appreciate all guest reviews, as they are helpful for us to make sure our property is always maintained and serviced to an elite level. As for this review, there are some inaccuracies that we would like to make note so that future prospective guests are confident in renting this beautiful home:
1) We have 5 bedrooms, as fully promoted on our web site, with the Master bedroom having a King size bed while the other 4 bedrooms have all Queen size beds.

2) Plus we do have a hide-a-bed that is also a Queen size.

3)Then we have two very large couches that can each sleep one person.

4) Beyond that, we often have guests that would like to use a blow up mattress for additonal guests...the blow up mattress is also a Queen size.

We do not have any Double beds in this rental home.

The bed and sleeping facilities are always communicated clearly to any guests which inquire about such for this property. We also show pictures of every bedroom on our web site.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Robert

Review submitted: July 22, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

House was amazing. Great place for a big family. Somewhat secluded but very tranquil and excellent for relaxation. Close to the better parts of the national park (west side). Kids were extremely entertained with the pool table even after having a exhausting day of hiking or canyoning. It was just what we needed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Zion Best plave ever

Review submitted: July 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

One of the best vacations ever!!! Amazing, spectacular and was very difficult to leave. Will defintely be going back. My wife and I were thrilled with the canyon trail tour with the rappelling and had a blast with our grandkids.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Majestic Views and the Location is Ideal

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 28, 2012

Nine adults were together in this wonderful home for a week. We prepared meals about half the time and found everything we needed for fabulous dinners. We enjoyed the outdoor grill and fire pit. Vern provided hiking trail maps on his property which were amazing. Our hike to the "ladder assisted" slot canyon made a tremendous memory for all of us. Many trips to Zion and Bryce gave us hundreds of keepsake pictures. Our horseback ride from the rim to the bottom of Bryce Canyon will never be forgotten. This home is all we envisioned for a wonderful stay in Southern Utah.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The perfect Utah getaway

Review submitted: May 12, 2012   Date of arrival: April 13, 2012

This Luxury home was way more than we expected, and our expectations were high. We were 3 families of 4 each, came to stay for a week in this luxurious log house. It is a huge house, each floor easily accomodates a family, huge bathrooms and showers, huge communal spaces in each floor, amazing porch outside, a great bon-fireplace outside which we used every night, garage for the cars. we wish we had all this at home....
The house is located perfectly for the parks of SE Utah - 40 min from Zion NP, 1 hr from Bryce NP and 1:40 from lake Powell.
The owner is next door (so 100 yards away in the forest), very friendly, helpful in all ourlittle questions and requests but totally kept our privacy.
Long story short - If you are a party of 10 or more - It's your best choice by far in South Utah.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Was terrific!! Very recommended.!

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 15, 2012

We loved the place!!
The house is beautiful and the area as well!
We were three families altogether 6 kids.
Stayed at this house and hiked around every day (Bryce, Zion, Lake Powell etc.)
A lot to do around and very happy and warming to come back to this home.
Was fabulous!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic place!

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: April 8, 2012

We had a lovely time at this property, we hope to return soon! It is well located to visit Zion and Bryce as well as many other interesting locations in this area. The standard of the accomodation is very high.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely Amazing.... We will be back!!

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

Pictures do not do this justice... This far more exceeded our expectations in every sense. This cabin could not have been in a better location. We were more than impressed and pleased with every inch of this home. Every room is impressively decorated with a different theme and the beds are so comftorable you will not want to get out of bed in the morning. Every bathroom in the home is more than comftorable, showers to die for and with 4.5 bath's there is plenty of room. The porch/deck that goes all around the cabin has the most breathtaking views, you can sit anywhere and be happy with what you see.
We have already recommended this property to so many people and without a doubt we will be back. We couldn't have asked for anything better. Vern gave us wonderful directions and a map that was just perfect and when Dotti called to check in she was more than pleasant.
We will for sure be back, We took our kids to see Zions but us adults decided we could go back and just enjoy the cabin. There is so much room you can enjoy each others company or escape to your own areas.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

House is Awesome -the backyard is incredible!!

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: January 5, 2012

Group of eleven adults spent the weekend here for a church retreat. You walk in the door and instantly feel at home. The accomodations were great, everyone had plenty of space. The chairs in the living areas, and the beds are so comfy. We took advantage of the fire pit in the back and full supply of firewood. Vern and Dottie are great and very accomodating.

The great bonus about this place are the trails surrounding the home. Such incredible country to explore. We followed a couple of the quad trails on foot and had a blast. The only thing we were short on was daylight.

The location was perfect, just a short drive into Zion and about a mile from a small town to grab any extra supplies and food. Yet it feels as you're in a very remote setting.

Owners response: Just wanted to say "Thanks" for the great review!
Vern Ratzlaff

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great way to spend Thanksgiving!

Review submitted: December 30, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2011

With family spread between California/Utah/Texas we were looking for a place to escape from it all and enjoy time with family. With 6 adults and 4 kids the house was perfect! The surroundings were breathtaking and the location ideal for somebody looking to enjoy the beauty of the Southwest. Enjoying a glass of wine on the expansive deck, roasting marshmallows by the fire ring or hiking the trails surrounding the area you can't go wrong. Vern and Dotti were more than accommodating, checking in with us to make sure everything was to our liking. Thank you for a great place for our family to reconnect, we all look forward to visiting again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Christmas

Review submitted: December 20, 2011   Date of arrival: December 17, 2011

This was our gift to our children to be able to spend a few days together for Christmas. Everything was absolutely perfect. There aren't words to describe how beautiful this cabin is with all the extras to make this a wonderful memory for all of us. The cabin was even decorated for Christmas which was a very exciting surprise. The owners of this cabin are precious and even came by to say hi and see if we needed anything. All 14 of us would highly recomment this cabin to anyone wanting to stay near Zion. Thanks Vern for a great week end wish we could have stayed longer! We will be back!
Glenn & Terry and Family

Owners response: Just wanted to say "Thanks" for the great review.
Vern Ratzlaff

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This wonderful house and it's stunning setting was the site of our most unforgettable family reunion

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 21, 2011

When looking for a site for a reunion with our 3 children, their spouses and our grandchildren we were thrilled to find this wonderful house in such an incomparable location! There were 12 in our party and all were very comfortable. We flew into Las Vegas from Pennsylvania, Washington, DC and Seattle and made the scenic drive through Zion to Vern and Dottie's wonderful property. When our children were very young we took them on the same trip which they all remembered fondly so we were all looking forward to returning to such a beautiful part of our country. Our oldest child is now 43 so needless to say this beautiful house did not exist then.
We all loved our stay and while we were toasting marshmallows and watching the magnificent display of stars and the milky way our daughter-in-law summed up all our feelings when she remarked she would come back here again to this exact place in a heartbeat! Our grandkids loved exploring the property looking for geodes, toasting marshmallows and telling stories around the fire, playing in the creek and by the pond, and a great atv ride Vern led us on to a slot canyon. Some of us went horseback riding for the first time. My daughter and daughter-in-law enjoyed shopping for Indian jewelry at the nearby Shell station with a gas purchase discount!
We all enjoyed hiking in Zion and Bryce, my husband and I took our youngest grandchildren to Cedar Breaks while our other children and grandchildren hiked in Kodachrome Basin and Red Rock Canyon and we all continued on to the north rim of the Grand Canyon after leaving the house. We cooked many of our meals at the house but had some great dinners at places Vern recommended
nearby.
Vern and Dottie are wonderful people and we are so glad to have met them! We'll never forget that wonderful trip he led us on. Our first time on atv vehicles . We hope to return again in the future. It will be very hard to top this place for a reunion site!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfwct private retreat

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2011

This was the best house i have ever rented! Four couples left the crowds and bright lights of Vegas and wanted to see real beauty. Privacy unlimited, but still close to everything. We saw Zion, Bryce, and the Grand One. The house is beautiful, so much so that we all wanted to take it with us. Five very spacious bedrooms and enough living areas for a large crowds, but the best were the decks with wonderful views. Please add a hair dryer, did not think to bring one since hotels have one and had to do without. Best place ever!!!!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for the review...we have added the hair dryer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Five Star Lodgings!

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2011

We hosted my husbands family reunion at this wonderful property. We had 8 adults and 5 children (ages 5-15) There was plenty of room for all with the kids camping out in the family room. The bedrooms were large and well furnished. The kitchen was well equipped with plenty of storage for the bounty of food we brought and anything forgotten was picked up at the local store or in Springdale. Though a larger dining table would be nice, we were able to seat the adults inside and the kids out on the porch for meals. During our week at Quarter Circle H we made day trips to Zion, Bryce Canyon, and Grand Canyon National Parks as well as Coral Pink Dunes State Park. With so many amazing landmarks so close, we had plenty to do and with our fabulous base camp we could split up during the day and meet back at the ranch for an evening of family activities. We hiked the property and enjoyed the suspension bridge and island at the pond. We had a fun campfire and roasted brats and marshmallows in the fire pit. Our guests from Germany and Missouri were very pleased with our lodgings. Thanks for the vacation experience of a lifetime!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Five Star Lodgings!

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2011

We hosted my husbands family reunion at this wonderful property. We had 8 adults and 5 children (ages 5-15) There was plenty of room for all with the kids camping out in the family room. The bedrooms were large and well furnished. The kitchen was well equipped with plenty of storage for the bounty of food we brought and anything forgotten was picked up at the local store or in Springdale. Though a larger dining table would be nice, we were able to seat the adults inside and the kids out on the porch for meals. During our week at Quarter Circle H we made day trips to Zion, Bryce Canyon, and Grand Canyon National Parks as well as Coral Pink Dunes State Park. With so many amazing landmarks so close, we had plenty to do and with our fabulous base camp we could split up during the day and meet back at the ranch for an evening of family activities. We hiked the property and enjoyed the suspension bridge and island at the pond. We had a fun campfire and roasted brats and marshmallows in the fire pit. Our guests from Germany and Missouri were very pleased with our lodgings. Thanks for the vacation experience of a lifetime!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful, relaxing getaway!

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 3, 2011

We hosted my husbands family reunion at this wonderful property. We had 8 adults and 5 children (ages 5-15) There was plenty of room for all with the kids camping out in the family room. The bedrooms were large and well furnished. The kitchen was well equipped with plenty of storage for the bounty of food we brought. Though a larger dining table would be nice, we were able to seat the adults inside and the kids out on the porch for meals. During our week at Quarter Circle H we made day trips to Zion, Bryce Canyon, and Grand Canyon National Parks as well as Coral Dunes State Park. With so many amazing landmarks so close, we had plenty to do and with our fabulous base camp we could split up during the day and meet back at the ranch for an evening of family activities. We hiked the property and enjoyed the suspension bridge and island in the pond. We had a fun campfire and roasted brats and marshmallows in the fire pit. Our guests from Germany and Missouri were very pleased with our lodgings. Thanks for the vacation experience of a lifetime!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Home

Review submitted: May 23, 2011   Date of arrival: May 13, 2011

We rented this wonderful home for a week, the pictures don't do it justice. The rooms are spacious, comfortably furnished and well maintained. We had several families come together here and it worked out perfectly, we spent our days traveling the area seeing all the beauty southern Utah and northern Arizona have to offer. We visited Bryce Canyon, Zion, the north rim of the Grand Canyon, Glen Canyon, Lake Powell, the Coral Pink Sand Dunes and Antelope Canyon ( a must see ) and many more places. Then we spent a couple evenings around the fire pit. There is a small but efficient grocery store just a short distance away and also a nice family restaurant. We fixed most of our meals in the house but did eat in nearby Kanab a couple times. Overall it was a fantastic experience and having this beautiful home to come back to each evening made it so pleasant and relaxing.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Superb rental

Review submitted: August 25, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

We stayed here for a week visiting from the UK. I have rented through VRBO for a number of years and have never been disappointed, but this is one of the best. I completely agree with all the other comments here and my family generated a similar reaction when they saw inside. It was great grilling on the deck and no mosquitos (unlike Yellowstone!). The property is well located for the parks and Vern was very helpful (just make sure he knows which time zone you live in if he calls!).

Overall, as good as it gets!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 

Gorgeous cabin in a beautiful setting

Review submitted: July 6, 2010   Date of arrival: June 30, 2010

This is one of the most beautiful, finely built and spacious cabins we have stayed in. The pictures online can't accurately show the size and quality of it. We had 5 families in our party from different parts of the world and the US, and all commented on how well worth the trip was to stay in such a fine place in such a beautiful area of Utah. We searched for many cabins before choosing this one, and it is definitely the best quality for the price out there in the Southern Utah area. Vern and Dottie were so prompt, friendly and helpful with the reservation process and questions we had during our stay. They sent us brochures prior to our stay of local activites in the area which we very much appreciated.

We loved the large open kitchen and living area on the main floor where all could gather for meals. The large wrap around deck is AMAZING and we enjoyed many evenings sitting and watching the sunset after dinner. We grilled on the gas BBQ and ate meals out on the deck as well. The walls are so thick in the cabin that each room is so quiet, you can hardly hear anything going on outside your room. The beds were very comfortable and everyone slept great. We were amazed how well stocked the bathrooms were with towels and paper. There was even bubble bath for the tubs! The gourmet kitchen was well stocked and had all of the finest applicances.

We all had fun making s'mores at the firepit and playing pool. All of the children and adults had a great time exploring and hiking in the beautiful area surrounding the cabin. Our teenagers had many great geode hunting adventures and found more than they could carry back. We went on many bike rides in the area. We took day trips to Bryce Canyon, Navajo Lake, Zions National Park, and the north rim of the Grand Canyon. We recommend getting a National Park pass that covers entrance fees to all of the parks.

There is a small local grocery store - Terry's Food and Drug, that was well stocked with all essential items that we needed during our stay at reasonable prices. There is also a gas station, church and city pool within 5 minutes of the cabin. When we returned to the cabin, it seemed that we were hundreds of miles away from any civilization. Overall, we would highly recommend this cabin to all. It was a fabulous time, and the hardest part was coming back home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Mt. Carmel, Utah - escape from city life!

Review submitted: July 1, 2010   Date of arrival: June 3, 2010

We spent three fabulous days in June at the Quarter Circle H Ranch in Mt. Carmel, Utah. The cabin was beautiful! Spotlessly clean with all the amenities one would possibly wish for. The scenery of their extensive property was just breath-taking! From early morning walks, afternoon ATV expeditions, and even a quick jaunt over to Bryce Canyon – the views were unbeatable!

Our hosts Vern and Dottie made us feel right at home! Delicious food prepared with Dottie’s organic touch, evenings sipping wine, playing pool, and enjoying Dottie’s musical talents – it all made for true relaxation far from the rush of city life!

The experience is truly reflective of the phrase: “God’s Country.” Serene and majestic! We heartily recommend this vacation getaway to all who appreciate the beauty of nature!

Bryan & Caryll
Las Vegas, Nevada

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

AWESOME!

Review submitted: April 13, 2010   Date of arrival: April 2, 2010

This house is very large and awesome. Location is just East on Zion National Park. We went with another family(4 adults/8 kids) and still had plenty of room. We flew into Las Vegas and the other family from Salt Lake City. Both drives to the house were beautiful.Surrounding views around the house were beautiful. Great location for visiting Zion National as well as Bryce Canyon. Very clean house, beds very comfortable especially after a long day of hiking. Night sky was breath-taking!!!! Just 2 miles down the road small grocery store that had a decent selection for us (Terry's Food and Drug). Owners great to work with. Would definitely stay here !!!! Enjoy.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Cabin

Review submitted: April 13, 2010   Date of arrival: April 9, 2010

Beautiful cabin, it was built with "all the options". Enjoyed a few nights there, close to Zion and Bryce National Parks, good roads to and from cabin. Important amenities such as toilet paper and towels were provided.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceeds Expectations

Review submitted: April 13, 2010   Date of arrival: April 9, 2010

This place is amazing! Upon arrival, my sister looked at me and said "Where did you find this place? It is INCREDIBLE!" It was clean, perfectly maintained and wonderful in every way! This is essentially what I would build if I were building my dream cabin! The wrap around deck, fire pit for roasting marshmallows, jetted tub in the master suite. There was a lot of space around the cabin, and my kids loved wandering around the property, exploring in the Juniper trees. Everyone in our family was very comfortable, and we enjoyed the open gathering area. I loved how the cabin smelled like wood, and it was fascinating to just sit and admire how all the pieces of wood fit together. The architecture and design of the cabin (how the stones are fitted on the fireplace) show what a gem this is... it is truly a work of art! ENJOY... you just found the best cabin in Southern Utah!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Exceeded Expectations!

Review submitted: April 13, 2010   Date of arrival: April 9, 2010

This place is amazing! Upon arrival, my sister looked at me and said "Where did you find this place? It is INCREDIBLE!" It was clean, perfectly maintained and wonderful in every way! This is essentially what I would build if I were building my dream cabin! The wrap around deck, fire pit for roasting marshmallows, jetted tub in the master suite. There was a lot of space around the cabin, and my kids loved wandering around the property, exploring in the Juniper trees.I love how the cabin smelled like wood, and it is fascinating to just sit and admire how all the pieces of wood fit together. The architecture and design of the cabin (how the stones are fitted on the fireplace) show what a gem this is... it is truly a work of art! ENJOY... you just found the best cabin in Southern Utah!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We want every guest to have a "great experience" when they stay at our Appalachian Style Timber home. We work hard to make sure every detail is considered, including all the "extra" things in the home, as well as helping our guests with wonderful outdoor activities and sightseeing trips in the nearby spectacular National Parks.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review