reviews for: listing #67146 - Hunter Mountain, New York House rental

Hunter/Windham Comtemporary Ski/Lake House, CC Accept
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $100 - $500 /nt
    $1,200 - $2,500 /wk
    $2,500 - $5,000 /mth

sort by:

Great Ski House, Great Location, Great Value

Review submitted: October 14, 2010   Date of arrival: January 29, 2010

Liked everything about the house for our ski weekend. We've rented a few houses over the years and this one was by far the nicest in it's price range. Plenty of space for our group to feel comfortable in. Woodburning stove/fireplace was nice and the big open feel from each of the three floors to the outside views of the mountain were EXCELLENT. Also, close to everything yet very private. I'd recommend this to any group that wants to ski Hunter Mountain.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Very Nice Experience

Review submitted: November 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

We enjoyed this lovely home this past weekend and the lake as it was nice enough to use the rowboat. The only thing that we did not see were the garage remotes. Either way we didn't use the garage except for the disposal of the garbage. We hope to do business with these owners again and we recommend this house to any prospective renters, it was a very nice experience. Thank you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wow!

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2012

WOW! Just got in and wow the house is absolutely beautiful! We arrived right before sunset and the lake view was amazing. We'll take extra good care of everything- appreciate all the Christmas decorations! Merry Christmas Alison and thanks again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Experience Here

Review submitted: November 26, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

Our group gives this house 5 stars for ''excellent'' because that's what it deserves based on our experience here. The owners were both professional and prompt to respond from the start. We booked the house with ease and then received a ''welcome package'' that really was helpful during our stay. You can tell the owners put a lot into renting their home and actually care. The house itself when we arrived was fresh and clean and updated!! I thought this was a really big plus because we felt it was a hotel-type experience but a nice sized house up in the mountains (really nice views by the way). In other words, we've stayed at other houses in the area and the bedding and decor looks very ''mountain'' and dated. The beds/decor, etc. in this house made you feel like you were staying at a hotel,really liked it! Our group was 10 people and I thought a bathroom on all three floors of the house was convenient. Thought it's worth mentioning to anyone that is considering staying at this house. Oh, and the price was a really great value- we will definately be back for a ski trip, hopefully in February if the house is available!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Experiance Here

Review submitted: November 26, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

Our group gives this house 5 stars for ''excellent'' because that's what it deserves based on our experience here. The owners were both professional and prompt to respond from the start. We booked the house with ease and then received a ''welcome package'' that really was helpful during our stay. You can tell the owners put a lot into renting their home and actually care. The house itself when we arrived was fresh and clean and updated!! I thought this was a really big plus because we felt it was a hotel-type experience but a nice sized house up in the mountains (really nice views by the way). In other words, we've stayed at other houses in the area and the bedding and decor looks very ''mountain'' and dated. The beds/decor, etc. in this house made you feel like you were staying at a hotel,really liked it! Our group was 10 people and I thought a bathroom on all three floors of the house was convenient. Thought it's worth mentioning to anyone that is considering staying at this house. Oh, and the price was a really great value- we will definately be back for a ski trip, hopefully in February if the house is available! We'd recommend this house to anyone looking to stay in the area:)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Already Looking Into a Return Trip Here

Review submitted: September 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

Just wanted to let the owners and more importantly, prospective renters, know that we had a fantastic time during our Labor Day Weekend stay here a few days ago. The house was perfect. We will definately be looking into coming back again soon, perhaps this winter for skiing. Thanks again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Lake House Getaway

Review submitted: May 16, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

We just stayed at this house and what a terrific weekend we had! The house was easy to get to and once we were there, was so quiet, so private and such breathtaking views of Hunter Mountain. The house, location and property were everything we were looking for really. My son was able to fish at the small dock at the bottom of the lake. Very pretty little lake with the backdrop of the mountain behind it and my husband and I loved the master bedroom with the two large sets of sliding glass doors onto a deck, also overlooking the mountain! The top floor with the kitchen, same thing and even the lowest level of the house had it's own deck also from one of the bedrooms (we didn't need to use those two bedrooms). The house was big and we are already talking about when we can come again with more of our family this time. Thank you to the owners who were nothing but courteous and professional. Makes a big difference when you're looking to rent a private house. We would recommend this property for anyone looking for any or all of what it has to offer.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: It is our pleasure and we thank you so much for your business! We are so glad to hear you'd like to return. We value each and every group that stays with us and especially repeat renters as we offer a discount for your next stay. Let us know when you're ready- so happy to hear you enjoyed your weekend there and would like to return again soon. The summer books quickly and is a very nice time of year there as well!
Thank you again.
Alison

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Weekend Getaway

Review submitted: December 20, 2010   Date of arrival: December 3, 2010

My group and I had a fantastic time on the slopes, but an even better time warming up by the fireplace of this beautiful and spacious home. The view over the lake with the mountains backdrop is absolutely gorgeous.
The homeowners are wonderful to work with and made sure that we had everything we could need for a worry-free weekend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Highly Recommended- Our Third Time Here...

Review submitted: October 27, 2010   Date of arrival: August 27, 2010

We've rented this house now during the last two ski seasons and again this summer for a family weekend away- we just booked AGAIN for this upcoming ski season because we really appreciate this house for our getaways. I haven't been one to take the time to post reviews in the past really, but know how hard it can be to choose a house and trust both the process and what you get once you're there. The owners are always great to deal with and put a lot into what they do. The house always exceeds our expectations each time. Also, we ski both Hunter and Windam and so it's great for groups or families that like both mountains- right near both. If it helps anyone out there when making a decision, you can take comfort in knowing this house remains consistant with our higher expectations!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Had a Wonderful Time!

Review submitted: October 13, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

Thank you for the use of your house for our annual spaghetti dinner- we really enjoyed it! The location for us was perfect, the views are wonderful and your backyard is fabulous! The bedding looked new and it was really nice. The TV was terrific. The stove and refrigerator worked out fine. Thank you again and we hope to come back next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Back Again...We Love This House!

Review submitted: September 30, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2010

This is our 3rd consecutive year renting this house during both the summer and ski seasons. We take our two young children and stay with 4 other family members to enjoy both the lake and views and slopes in the winter. The house always feels as fresh as it does spacious and the owners have always been a pleasure to deal with (professional and prompt). Looking forward to yet another ski trip here this winter!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review