reviews for: listing #67183 - Austin, Texas House rental

Heights Hacienda - Inviting Retreat Off South Congress
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Travis Heights
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $150 - $500 /nt
    $1,200 - $1,400 /wk
    $3,200 - $4,200 /mth

sort by:

Fabulous Austin weekend!

Review submitted: March 14, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

This was the perfect spot for our girls' weekend in Austin. We could walk to South Congress and to other fun spots (Lucy's Fried Chicken!, and the house was great for us. It's comfortable, clean, and a relaxing place to spend time with friends. We had a great time and would highly recommend Heights Hacienda for other groups.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: We're so glad you all enjoyed your stay. Come back and visit Austin again! Eric

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Hacienda = home away from home

Review submitted: March 4, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

The Hacienda was the perfect spot for our recent girls' weekend. It had loads of room, lovely public spaces and a terrific location. We particularly enjoyed the courtyard and beautifully landscaped backyard retreat.

If you enjoy walking, you can easily get by without a car. We frequently walked to South Congress, and other necessities (Starbucks, grocery store) could also be reached on foot.

The Hacienda is spacious enough to be suitable for a longer-term stay. It is great for either groups or families.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great girls weekend in Austin

Review submitted: March 3, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

Had a great girls weekend in Austin at the "Hacienda!" The house and the large yard were perfect for our group of 4--had everything we needed and then some. Eric was a great landlord--responsive to any questions we had. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

I didn't have a car but thought the property was in a great walking spot. A Starbucks was a 5 minute walk, Taco N'Madre for breakfast burritos was a 2 minute walk and South Congress was 10 minutes (in particular Lucy's Fried Chicken!).

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Getaway!

Review submitted: October 15, 2013   Date of arrival: October 10, 2013

This great rental is in a fantastic location for everyone that appreciates all about the best parts of S. Congress St, away from 6th Street. Convenient to low cost cab rides to and from downtown, this is a perfect spot to bring a couple and kids to vacation in Austin. The gardens are a great touch with a very pleasant down-home feel in the heart of Austin. Plenty of space to relax and spread out, while close enough to enjoy all the perks of Austin.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you. We hope that you found the property a welcome respite from the "energy" of the ACL festival. The fact that you've already contacted us about another stay is the best recommendation of all!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks!

Review submitted: August 29, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

Thank you for such a great place for our memorable family get together.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Heavenly retreat in Austin

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 26, 2012

I stayed at "Hacienda Heights" with a few friends in April 2012.
We fell in love with the place as soon as we arrived. It's a fantastic house and perfect for groups of friends as there is so much party space.
There's a convenience store and restaurants within a five-ten minute walk, and also The Whip Inn, which is an excellent bar also within a similar distance.
We honestly couldn't recommend this place highly enough and will definitely return next time we're in the area, we just wish we could have stayed longer.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fantastic House for a large group.

Review submitted: May 9, 2012   Date of arrival: April 26, 2012

I stayed here with several friends in April 2012.
The house is amazing, and it was absolutely perfect for our stay, we just wish it had been for longer.
The Whip Inn is only a five-ten minute walk too, and very much worthwhile. There are also convenience stores within the same distance.
I would definitely recommend this property to groups of friends as there is so much chill out space.
We will definitely be returning.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect for us!

Review submitted: June 2, 2011   Date of arrival: May 19, 2011

The Hacienda was a perfect location, a home away from home, for us. We need a place to relax away from the crowds on graduation weekend at UT. Eric was helpful in all respects. The hacienda was located close to UT, to groceries for feeding friends and families, and for relaxing on our own. A wonderful retreat and economical too!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect oasis

Review submitted: May 17, 2011   Date of arrival: May 13, 2011

We found this home to be perfect for three couples. The little courtyard was very private, and we enjoyed eating our breakfast outdoors with the pleasant sound of running water from the fountain and goldfish pond. The home was well equipped with plenty of towels in the bathrooms and all the utensils and appliances necessary in the kitchen. We were within walking/biking distance of downtown Austin. We hope to stay there again in the future!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very comfy and convenient

Review submitted: April 7, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

This house was perfect. Our car club was in town for the Lonestar RoundUp car show. So we wanted quick and easy access to South Congress and all things in that area. The location was perfect. The house itself was clean, well equipped and big enough for all 10 people to sleep comfortably and quietly. The only thing is that we didn't have time to enjoy the beautiful courtyard/bar-b-q area. Next year we are doing it again and will make time to enjoy this great house. (Only one complaint from the girls was that there were no full length mirrors in the rooms or bathrooms, not enough mirrors to check them selves out in. Girls are so picky)

Thanks for a wonderful stay!!

Jenny and all of LaNeta Car Club

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place for a Family Get Together!

Review submitted: October 28, 2010   Date of arrival: October 21, 2010

We could not have found a more perfect place to stay for our son's wedding in Austin. Being mother of the groom and part of an extended family, my 90+ years-old father , my sister and I stayed in the smaller front unit of the duplex and my ex-husband and his wife stayed in the larger back unit with my other two married sons. The two units are so private we were there a night and half of the next day resting from the drive over from Louisiana before anyone in the back unit knew we were there. Yet it was just a short walk up the driveway for my sons to visit back and forth and for all of us to walk to the back for the garden party, in the wonderful back yard, after the wedding. That back yard with its gazebo, wisteria-arbor covered brick deck, BBQ pit and lawn space for tables and chairs was an amazing surprise and a great place for all the new and extended family members to get to know each other better. It wasn't until my Dad brought out his guitar and my brother his washtub base that we discovered just how many of our young family members were amateur musicians and the party ended at dusk in an acoustical jam session. I can hardly wait until the next chance to come to Austin to stay here again, visit with my son and his new bride and explore more of the SoCo and Travis Heights area. Everything we needed was a short drive or within walking distance from the Hacienda and the owners responded immediately to our questions or needs. I would recommend this property to anyone traveling to Austin!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

perfect stay for our large family!

Review submitted: October 19, 2010   Date of arrival: October 14, 2010

We stayed in the Hideaway unit for our trip to Austin for our daughter's wedding. It was PERFECT for our large family - we used both units (1 and 2) and the family was able to congregate in the sitting room and living room in the larger unit (#2) at our leisure, while also having our privacy and quiet time as we needed it. The ambience was wonderful - the paint colors and decorating are cheerful and relaxing at the same time, and the house was located near the highway, near So Congress and near the downtown 6th St activities. We will definitely plan to stay here again the next time we visit our daughter and son in law!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent Location and Plenty of Space!

Review submitted: September 30, 2010   Date of arrival: September 18, 2010

We found this house to be the perfect getaway for our family (2 toddlers included). The charimng yard provided great entertainment for our little ones with the butterflies, birds and occasional cat. The location was perfect for a quick trip to all the great restaurants on South Congress and downtown was only minutes away. The next time we are in Austin with the family we will definitely look to stay here if available.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: July 23, 2010   Date of arrival: June 28, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay here. We loved the spanish style inside and out, especially the beautiful courtyard/patio area. The home is perfectly located as a base to explore Austin from. It's just blocks from the fun SoCo area, yet it's a nice and quiet retreat. It was so nice to come here after a long day instead of a hotel room. The owners were very helpful in answering all our questions. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends and family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review