reviews for: listing #67218 - Davenport, Florida House rental

Highgate Park 6BR-4Masters-Pool-Spa-WiFi-GameRm-10min Disney
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Highgate Park
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $148 - $198 /nt
    $850 - $1,150 /wk
    $2,800 - $4,200 /mth

sort by:

Wonderful Wonderful Wonderful!

Review submitted: January 3, 2014   Date of arrival: December 20, 2013

The house was beautiful and very well kept, we had a wonderful vacation and my grand children enjoyed the pool and recreation room. We had an exciting time and we were really close to Disney World where the children were so excited about visiting.

Owners response: Thank you so much for sharing your experience… Rebecca and Shawn

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Better than any hotel!

Review submitted: August 20, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

This rental was super clean and well groomed so to speak. I only ended up with a family of 5 and there was so much room for us to all have our own spaces. I was suprised at how well stocked the kitchen was. I didn't need to bring anything.

My only concern was I had an issue getting the outdoor hottub to operate, however when I did call for assistance, it was as easy as pie.

We went for Disney and it was just about a 10 minute drive to each of the parks. The house was centrally located to everything. Dining, shopping, and more was right around the corner.

We would absolutely use and recommend this property.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing, enjoyable experience

Review submitted: August 15, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

The description of the property advertised was accurate. It was clean and very well maintained. Bugs occasionally came into the home but nothing worth stressing over. The property manager was unavailable; however, Rebecca and Shawn were prompt in responding to our Emails. Without a doubt, I would recommend this property to friends and relatives. The pool table, pool, and air hockey kept my children and grandson entertained, as well as, visiting Disney World which was only 7 miles away. A negative was, there was no XBox as stated, the grill was not very clean, and as of today, we have not received our security deposit back. In spite of these, the trip was a very relaxing and enjoyable experience. It would be a pleasure to vacation there again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

JUST PERFECT!!

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 23, 2013

The property was amazing! The house is huge and we had plenty of comfortable space. It was in very close proximity to Disney and all great attractions. My family and I had an amazing time and we are raving to all of our friends on how great the house was! It was very clean and all the furniture, appliance and electronics were all in great condition. The pool was fun and had a safety gate around it for the kids. The kids had a great time playing with the air hockey and foosball table. I would definitely stay here again and again! Thanks!!

Owners response: Thanks Tiffany for the kind words and we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to have the opportunity to host you again in the future...

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place to stay

Review submitted: February 14, 2013   Date of arrival: January 26, 2013

Very nice house. Large bedrooms with a bathroom for each room. Lovely pool and hot tub. And very nice to have the kitchen - we all morning meals at the house and most evening meals. So nice to come back after a long day of Disney and be able to spend time in the pool to relax.
Any questions were answered promptly by the owners via email.
Would definately stay at this house again.

Owners response: Thanks Terry for your review -- we look forward to the opportunity to host you and family in the future! Shawn

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Highgate

Review submitted: November 12, 2012   Date of arrival: November 3, 2012

My family and I had a great time renting this property. It was everything I expected and more. We had 4 different families staying there and everyone was very comfortable. I especially loved the master bedroom upstairs with the balcony. I would rent this property again and again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We'll be back! Shawn

Review submitted: November 2, 2012   Date of arrival: October 6, 2012

We have been to Disney vacation several times before but this was the first time we rented a house. I have to say the accommodation was well above our expectations. The home is located in a quiet gated community, it has everything we needed for 4 families (12 people) and I was impressed that there was plenty of room for everyone. Gown-ups really enjoyed a few beers over pool side BBQ after a long day at scheme parks, and kids had wonderful time playing in the over-sized pool and game room. The 3 bedrooms downstairs made my parents’ (in their 70’s with knee problems) very happy, the kitchen had nice stainless appliances (better than what we have at home). In short, it was most comfortable and economical vacation accommodation we had so far.
Location wise, it is just short drive away from Disney parks, Universal and Sea World. Nearby Publix grocery, 24 hr super Walmart and various restaurants added convenience to our stay.
Shawn, the owner of the property, is simply the best. He is quick to respond to all of your questions. He made the rental booking process quick and easy. I am definitely on board now with the idea of vacation home rental instead of hotels. Highly recommend this vacation home to any vacationers with more than 4 people. Special thanks Shawn the owner. We'll definitely come back!

Owners response: Thanks Liz for the review. We look forward to the opportunity hosting you and family/friends again inthe future... Shawn

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Nicest Home stayed so far!

Review submitted: October 3, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

Just wanted to just let you know how much we enjoyed our stay at your home, your home is just as described and more, we didn't expect to see brand new stainless Samsung appliances in the kitchen for instance. Very spacious and definitely made our party of 3 families feel like home. It was pleasant surprise for us!
Special thanks to Shawn for making leasing process so easy for us. It was the nicest home we have stayed in thus far and I have been coming to Florida regularly over the past 8 years. Clean and had everything we needed. Kids loved the pool after a day out at the theme parks while we relaxed at the very large pool deck. Great time - hope to be back next year…

Owners response: Thanks Vince for taking the time writing your experience. Love to have the opportunity hosting you again in the future. Shawn

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxed vacation - We will be back again!

Review submitted: September 25, 2012   Date of arrival: September 2, 2012

We rented this house from Shawn for a family reunion with 3 generations. The pictures on the website didn’t do its justice. The actual house looks much nicer.

The 2 master suites downstairs worked extremely well for us with grandma in wheelchair and able to access the back patio right from her own bedroom...

The large South facing pool and the extended covered lanai are a big plus since we spent a lot of time at home relaxing by the private pool with no back neighbors watching over us. The 2 game areas kept all kids occupied while we adults could have a quiet time at the minibar with some wine.

The beddings all look very new to us. The entire house was very clean and smells very nice. We rented a vacation house in Kissimmee area before and were not quite happy with traffic there. So we decided to try this largest house at the gated community of Highgate Park. It's safe and quiet, away from the traffics. And it took us 15 minutes to get to the Disney parking lot from this house. There are grocery stores and 24 hour WalMart very closeby. We cooked almost every day at the house. Really liked the new kitchen appliances! Nicer than the ones in our own home:-)

The owners are very responsive and helpful throughout the booking process. They are so nice to measure the downstairs bedroom doors and walk paths for us after hearing about grandma’s wheelchair situation without knowing whether we would book their house or not at all. They also called on our first day to check in to make sure everything is ok. I got my deposit refund within 2 days after we checked out. There has never been a single hiccup throughout the entire process working with them. Everything really exceeded our expectations.

Thank you, Shawn and Rebecca, for allowing us use your beautiful home for our faimly reunion!

We will definitely recommend this house to all our friends and we will be back again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Enjoyable experience

Review submitted: September 19, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

We stayed at this house late August with 2 other families. We really enjoyed the quiet neighborhood and the house itself.

Good: This house is very clean and smells really nice. If you don’t want the nice smell, just unplug the plug-in on the walls. It has a South facing pool which gives us a lot of sun exposure. It’s very nicely decorated with new beddings (both comforters and quilts for each bed which helps me since I do need thick comforter during Summer time as well). Many comforter sets are still in original bag. We were told that the owners just replaced the beddings and deep cleaned the house. The owners are extremely nice and easy to work with. They answered numerous questions from me since it’s our first time renting a vacation home:-) We booked this house way advance and forgot our rental payment when it was due. Shawn kindly reminded me and emailed me the check-in instructions right after we made the payment. We misplaced the check-in instruction and were worried about security so they changed the code for us again right before we checked in. We really appreciate it!

Not so perfect: I think the prior guest might have had a wild party and broke one wall. It was fixed when we arrived but the paint of that corner does not match the wall entirely. Told the owners and they said they would repaint the wall when they have vacancy which is understandable. One AC air vent panel has paint peeling off. We pointed to property manager after we checked in to let her know that it's not caused by us. She said it’s caused by detergent cleaning lady used and they will repaint it. Nothing major, just a little eye sore when you stare at it.

Overall, we really enjoyed our time in the house and the experience with Shawn and Rebecca. We are thinking of coming back for Spring break already:-)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Big Disappointment

Review submitted: September 6, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

This property is in the Highgate Park Community but not part of their association. Yes this does make a difference.

The property was not ready when we arrived at 4pm. We were not able to check in until close to 6pm. I spoke with the owner around 11am the morning of check in to see when the property would be available and to get the instructions to get into the property which were never sent to us. He told me the cleaning crew was there as we speak and it probably would not be ready until 4pm. So after at least seven hours of cleaning we still arrived to a house that was a mess! (I forgot to mention that when we arrived at 4pm the cleaning lady's family was camped on the couch watching TV and the owners wife was there asking if we would mind if they just cleaned around us!)

I can't in good conscience recommend this property, but if someone wants to take a stab at it here is what you can expect:

FOUL odor coming form the AC unit.

Fingernail clippings on the kitchen floor.

Return Vent in the Living Room looked like all the paint was peeling off.

Ton of dead ants on the window sill and floor in the Dining Room.

Caked dust on the ceiling fan in the Living room.

Huge palmetto bug smashed on the floor in the bathroom.

Squashed moth on the wall in the Master Bedroom.

Broken lamp in my son's bedroom that shocked him when he turned it on.

Missing towel bar with holes in the wall in the Master Bedroom.

Packaging tape holding down the carpet in the master bath.

MOLDY shower curtain in downstairs bathroom and mold in other showers

Dirty pool deck and pool.

Stains in the carpeting.

Homeowners personal mail stuffed in drawers.

Cleaning crew left a TON of garbage in front of the house on a Sat. Pick up was on Thurs. Racoons got into the garbage. Well, picture it...

I would suggest bringing things like, hand soap, dishwasher tablets and dish soap, garbage bags for bathroom garbage and kitchen, laundry soap since they ask the guests to wash their own towels on the way out.

There is a management company phone number with a woman's name if there is a problem. Called for three days and left messages with no call back.

The owners came to see our complaints, agreed to refund us all but 100.00 of what we paid. We did get a refund ,but not what was promised.

We actually left early and put three of our six kids on a flight home (that we had to change).

Definitely a stay to remember...

Owners response: As we pointed out in our email directly to you, we are shocked and disapointed that you chose to abuse review process with groundless claims after your ransom demand was not fully met. We contacted Homeaway to report this abuse with documented evidences contradicting all the claims you made in this review. Unfortunately, Homeaway customer support stated "Keep in mind that as a third party advertising venue, we are not able to investigate the truthfulness or accuracy of statements made within user-generated content, such as a traveler review." in their reply to us in 9/13/2012 at 11:19am EST.

We are still working with HomeAway on this matter. we are still hopeful that truth will prevail.

Helpful votes: 1 / 5

 

Enjoyable stay at Highgate

Review submitted: May 12, 2012   Date of arrival: April 29, 2012

I would highly recommend staying at this home. This was my first experience and it shall not be my last. This home was truly remarkable. This home has much character and comfort. The maintenance and cleaning was above my expectations.thank you for allowing my family and guest for staying in your home for one week. We shall return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks you very much for your kind words -- We try our best to make our guest feel at home... Shawn

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Surpassed my expectation

Review submitted: January 26, 2012   Date of arrival: January 7, 2012

Thank you Rebecca and Shawn for the wonderful house, I think you need better pictures for your weblisting – the actual house is actually better than the photo description of the home on this website.

This is my first time renting a vacation home instead of staying in hotel, so it was a bit of gamble on my part. I took the plunge because we had 6 kids from 3 families demanded to stay together, and I am glad I did.

The renting process was hassle free and your home is truly home away from home. It is very well maintained, spacious and is well equipped with everything I needed in the kitchen as well as towels, linens, wine glasses at wet bar came handy for wine lover like me. The large pool was wonderful for kids, they enjoyed it everyday while we were relaxing in spa after long day at scheme parks. Overall it exceeded my expectation and I’d highly recommend it to anyone with kids. You can expect to hear from me again next year.

Recommended for: Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children

Owners response: Great to hear that Dennis. Thank you for the review and we'd love to have the opportunity to host you again in the future...

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great House and even better value!

Review submitted: August 14, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2011

I just returned from my vacation today and I wanted to write my review before I forget anything--I was nervous before booking this property because I had never rented a home before; I need not have worried. Our extended family joined us for 6 days at Rebecca and Shawn's home; there were 13 of us in all: 8 adults, 3 teens, two young children aged 6 and 3 years. This home was a great fit.
The Good:
We never felt cramped. Not once. There was plenty of seating for dining both inside and outside of the home. The grill was great, the pool was as advertised, the Jacuzzi was perfectly heated, and thanks to the netting, we were mosquito free. The home is actually much more attractive in person which was a pleasant surprise.
Logistics:
The home is 22 to 32 minutes away from all the Disney Parks (we went to every park). The drive to Clearwater Beach took 1 hour and 45 minutes (the beach was not worth seeing however as it was littered with garbage). We did not do Universal so I can't comment on that distance. There was little to no traffic everytime we went someplace. There was a Walmart and a Publix as well as Long John Silver's, Taco Bell and Burger King within a 10 minute drive. Not driving? Pass on this house--there is no public transport. The airport is 45 minutes away.
The sucky:
The T.V. Yes there are LOVELY flat screens in the home but the satellite service was abysmal. There was nothing on T.V. or I should say there was but that was PBS, a shopping network and Spanish channels. My sis-in-law was recovering from a broken foot but came to the parks and limped around rather than stay home with nothing to do. There is an X-box which was great for watching videos but she does not play video games...there was an additional DVD player but it had no audio cables so I couldn't listen to the DVD in the room I carried the player to. Also, even if I had been able to find something to watch, the remotes in the rooms did not work. I called the manager but she never responded. I did NOT tell Rebecca and Shawn (I emailed them a lot before I came and was beginning to feel like a pain-in-the-wazoo; they were always responsive and made sure to alleviate all my concerns).
Minor irritations:
Arriving to a dryer of moist towels that I had to re-wash due to sitting there too long and a full garbage can.

Bonuses:
Awesome master suite, 2 strollers, a high chair, a playpen, air hockey, a pool table & Foosball.

I would recommend this property to all larger families.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: We love it when our guests take the time to give feedbacks because it does help us identify/address issues, and help us improve our service.

For instance this review enabled us to address issues on cable TV, replace audio calbe for DVD player, battery for TV remote, as well as improve responsiveness of our property management company.

Thank you for your feedback!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Close and Convenient to Disney

Review submitted: July 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2011

This was a family reunion/family vacation, so we needed a large property and wanted to be close to Disney but avoid the cost of being on-property. The house was lovely and spacious. Getting to and from Disney was 25 minutes in traffic and about 15 minutes otherwise.
When not at the theme park, we had family visiting with as many as 20 people in the house at once, so all those bathrooms came in handy. The master bathroom upstairs with walk-in shower was wonderful as was the spa tub.
Outside was a pool/hot-tub, fully screened backyard. The pool was a good size and there were toys on hand for the kids. A large gas grill was ready to go and the outdoor furniture was comfortable. Nearby grocery stores were a great plus for this property also.
Okay, now the few negatives. The upstairs master bedroom was impossible to cool down. There is a flaw in the ventilation, and the air never moved around. The ceiling fan helped a little but when compared to other bedrooms on the 2nd floor, the master was probably 10 degrees warmer. Second, the game room (pool table, foosball) are in the garage which made them unusable in the warmer summer months. Otherwise, there really were no complaints.
All in all, I would recommend this property to anyone and we would be willing to stay in it again. The quiet neighborhood, being near attractions and the elegant comfort of the property make it well worth the investment.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: This review helped us to address A/C balancing issues we won't know without this review. Thanks for your help. Please keep reviews coming...

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 5, 2011   Date of arrival: April 22, 2011

Hello Rebecca and Shawn! I want to thank you for allowing my famly and I to stay at you beautiful home. The beds were extremely comfortable and the home was spacious. The weather was great and it was nice to return home after a long day at the parks and relax in the pool. I would definately love to stay at your villa in the future. Thanks again and take care!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Disney Vacation 2010

Review submitted: June 22, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

We had an excellent time in this rental house. Lots of space and convenient to Disney. It took us about 20-25 minutes to the Disney parking lots. Enjoyed the pool and hot tub. We had 1 problem with the dish washer and called the Management Company. It was fixed that afternoon. Great home for the value.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

WOW Nice home away for Disney/Golf family vacation

Review submitted: March 16, 2010   Date of arrival: February 21, 2010

We booked this house before the new pictures were posted and were very pleasantly surprised by all the brand new upscale furniture, beddings, etc. The house is very spacious, enough to host our family of 12. We love the South facing private pool which really keeps us warm all day long with plenty of sunshine. And it's nice to have a private backyard not having anyone looking at us when we had our family fun time at the pool/spa;-) We also enjoyed the air conditioned game rooms inside the house that we can really enjoy during cold Winter. During our stay, we went to Disney World as well as golfing which are all very closeby. We would definitely come back and rent this house again! Thank you!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review