reviews for: listing #67299 - Yellowstone, Montana House rental

Yellowstone River-Hot Tub-$1245/wk Fall/Winter/Spring
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,245 - $2,095 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

FABULOUS!

Review submitted: February 25, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

The information and directions provided were excellent. What a lovely log cabin--one of the very best we have stayed at, especially the hot tub!! The views and proximity to the Yellowstone River were both exciting and relaxing--sipping a beverage from the rocking chair on the veranda or from the hot tub. Eagles, geese, cedar waxwings, mourning doves were everywhere.
Everything was spotless and well maintained. The beds were comfortable and lots of room for our family to be either all together--or space to hang out.
The trip to Boiling River in Yellowstone was so great--what an experience. Thanks for the info--just don't forget to bring water shoes (and your camera). Lots of buffalo for entertainment as well.
Thank you for such a wonderful holiday for our family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Can't wait to come back--great winter trip!

Review submitted: February 11, 2014   Date of arrival: February 10, 2014

Our stay at the Yellowstone Lookout Cabin was fantastic. From the very moment I emailed an inquiry about the availability until we left, we were treated like family. Both by the homeowner and the wonderful property management company, Mountain Home, and in particular, Allison. I was kept updated on the rules, the wonderful things to do in the area, how long it was until our vacation, etc. It seemed as if they were as excited as we were about our vacation. The home is so comfortable and even though we were at max occupancy of 8 people there was plenty of room. No one at any time felt as if we were tripping over each other. The weather at the time we stayed was extremely cold and snowy. The cabin stayed very comfortably heated by using the adorable gas stove. Going hot-tubbing in the snow while watching the two bald eagles soar over the Yellowstone River and surprising the two deer that came around the corner was a wonderful experience. We cooked all our meals at home and the kitchen was well stocked and even had brown sugar on hand, which was great since I had forgotten mine for the carmel rolls. We have only two regrets about our stay. One, due to the cold temperatures we did not venture into the Boiling Rivers in Yellowstone National Park (for sure on our next trip) and we had to leave after 3 days. We will be back and I will recommend this home to others. Thank you so much for a great girls weekend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Winter Wonderland and amazing New Year!

Review submitted: January 19, 2014   Date of arrival: December 31, 2013

Left on 01/08/2014 for a stay in December 2013

Though we have made many trips to Montana from Birmingham, Alabama; I would highly recommend a trip in the Winter. Every winter is unique and the scenary is different each visit. However for my family and I; the experience at the Yellowstone Outlook Cabin made this trip memorable. The cabin is very cozy and gives a family space after a long day of sledding, exploring, dog sledding and cross country skiing with so many places that are within an hour away! Secondly the Russells and the Mountain Home Staff were very accommodating. They ensured that are stay was special - thank you! This is truly a wonderful place where memories are made. If you are under the impression that the Summer in Paradise Valley/Yellowstone is the best time to visit - you are missing an opportunity of a lifetime in the Winter. Finally, the Lookout Cabin is the only way to go to make your trip a lifetime experience!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Adventure

Review submitted: July 19, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

Excellent stay, Cabin was great everything you need is there. Beds were VERY comfortable, Emigrant General Store has everything you need, is on it way to the park, very convenient. Only draw back was lack of access to the river in front of the cabin for the kids to fish (narrow path cut through the Russian olives to the bank) while we were at the cabin (most of the time we were at the park). There is access just a couple hundred yards up the road that the boys could walk to and fish.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for telling us about your stay. It sounds like you had a great time! I guess the river was too high to enjoy private fishing right from the home. I am glad you found the nearby public fishing access. I hope you will come back to stay at one of our Yellowstone Lookout Homes again soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Family Vacation!

Review submitted: June 29, 2012   Date of arrival: June 21, 2012

Our family of four from Michigan met my parents and my brother and sister-in-law at this great house on the Yellowstone River. The house was immaculate and each of us had a comfortable bed (my husband and I had so much fun sharing the loft with our kids)! Everything we needed was provided! We had a few adventurous days in Yellowstone and it was so nice to come back to the house to relax with the family. We felt at home and were very pleased with this trip! We highly recommend this house and Mountain Home!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It's great to hear you enjoyed our Home on the Yellowstone River! I hope you can come stay with us again soon. Ronda

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Yellowstone Lookout Cabin, Pray, MT

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Yellowstone Lookout Cabin. We stayed 12 nights. The cabin was very clean and nicely decorated. The beds are very very comfortable. The cabin provided all the necessities. We had all the kitchen items needed to fix our meals. We enjoyed the view of the river from the back deck. We watched the osprey catch a large fish and two deer swim across the river. We enjoyed the unbelievable view of the stars from the hot tub at night. (no light pollution there) The cabin is very quite and private. We watched a mother Robin feed her 4 baby birds until they left the nest. The Cottontail rabbits are so cute. We rescued a baby rabbit, so small it fit in the palm of my hands, from the outside basement window well it had fallen into.
We visited Yellowstone Park, Chico Hot Springs for a white water rafting trip and horseback riding. We drove the Beartooth Highway over the summit more than 10,000 foot elevation.
i hope to return to the Yellowstone Cabin someday. i would highly recommend this cabin .

Owners response: Thank you for the nice comments. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Yellowstone Lookout Log Cabin. I hope you'll come back again soon! Ronda Russell

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Missouri Family

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: May 13, 2012

We stayed at this beautiful place in May for almost two weeks and loved it. Wish we could have made it our own home. Little bit of a drive (35 miles) to Yellowstone but seemed shorter the more we drove it because the road is a very nice one. Always saw elk and deer on drive back to cabin each evening. We loved the park and loved seeing so much wildlife, including of course buffalo, elk, deer, black bear, grizzly several times with cubs, wolf pack and moose and I'm sure more I forgot. We went to every entrance of the park and each had a different setting. The granddaughter loved the hot tub along with her parents. So much room in the cabin and the porch was great. We have so many great pictures of sunsets off the porches. Everything was very clean, beds were great and the wash room was a life saver for keeping our laundry done. We had lunch and dinner several times at Cowboys in Gardiner when we left the park of an evening with really good food. The little convenient store and gas station down the road from the cabin was real handy whether than going back into Livingston. The staff there was really friendly. It was nice to be able to make our reservations so early with such ease and the staff were great with any questions or problems we had. Thank You so much for our wonderful vacation and a very nice place to stay while enjoying it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Log Home on the Yellowstone River. thanks for your nice comments. We hope you'll come back and stay at one of our Yellowstone Lookout Homes again soon! Ronda Russell

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cozy, Clean and Beautiful!

Review submitted: February 7, 2012   Date of arrival: February 5, 2012

The cabin was easy to reserve and was well received by all in our family! It was cozy, the beds were very comfortable, and the kitchen had everything we needed. It was so close to everything we wanted to do over a long weekend - snowshoeing, cross country skiing in Yellowstone, and soaking at Chico Hot Springs. And a quick reply to an anxious grandma about a portable crib for a grandson! We are already talking about how much fun it can be for a summer get together.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

One of the most beautiful places!

Review submitted: January 12, 2012   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

Before, i have always traveled to USA but specific locations like N.Y., DC, Pa., or Miami. For the first time we flew from Peru to Los Angeles and from there by road to the beautiful state of Montana (18 hours!) a journey full of anecdotes. We were the whole family together for the holidays. This trip was memorable not only for the great adventure but because Ronda and Jim´s cabin is located in one of the most beautiful places where I could be. This cabin has everything, is complete! You don´t need to take but your clothes and a toothbrush. Is warm, cozy, neat......... Thank you for everything, it was great to see in real deers, bisons etc. The hot tub is something unique and we will not ever forget the time spent in Pray. Without hesitation I recommend renting this beautiful place. Thanks and greetings from Peru!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This home was awesome!

Review submitted: November 6, 2011   Date of arrival: September 1, 2011

I would say that this home was awesome. The view was amazing, it was nice being ore secluded, and of course the hot tub at the end of each day.
We saw alot of 'Yellowstone National Park' and there is still sooo much more to see. I can't wait to come back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Beautiful Place!

Review submitted: September 4, 2011   Date of arrival: August 30, 2011

We had an amazing time at your Yellowstone Lookout Home. Thank you so much for building and sharing such a beautiful place! I really loved the hot tub and the trail down to the River. Everything was perfect and we hate to have to leave!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Don't miss the star gazing from the hot tub!

Review submitted: September 4, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

Our departure from Yellowstone Lookout will make one sad story to tell. Thank you for the fabulous vacation home away from home! We loved it and we hate to go! For anyone reading this--don't miss the hot tub at night and the galaxy gazing above.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

WOW!

Review submitted: September 4, 2011   Date of arrival: August 19, 2011

All I can say is WOW. My family and I had such a good time staying in your beautiful cabin. The beds are so comfy and the area is just gorgeous. Hope to see you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 30, 2011   Date of arrival: May 26, 2011

We have arrived at the cabin a couple of hours ago and just wanted to let you know how very delighted we are with the accommodation. We have stayed in log cabins before but this is very definitely the most beautiful, it has exceeded our expectations and all we wanted to do when we arrived was close the door, put the fire on and not go out at all (it was raining and very cold). However now the sun has come out and the surroundings are so stunning we can't wait to get outside. We are going to have a wonderful time here. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to stay here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 25, 2011   Date of arrival: May 14, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Yellowstone Lookout Log Cabin. We can only describe it and as beautiful, amazing and awesome. We had a very relaxing time! The bed was super comfy and the house was immaculate!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 19, 2011   Date of arrival: March 17, 2011

Thank you so much for the wonderful Yellowstone Lookout Log Cabin. We enjoyed our stay especially the time spent in the hot tub. The Cabin was extremely clean and well stocked! We hope to come back in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 19, 2011   Date of arrival: March 11, 2011

The Yellowstone Lookout Cabin weekend getaway was absolutely wonderful. The Cabin is beautiful and very well stocked, with anything you could need. We had a great time fishing and caught several fish. We saw bald eagles flying up and down the river and saw 2 deer right off the front porch. We loved relaxing in the hot tub under the bright Montana stars. Drinking our morning coffee and watching the sunrise from the Cabin was breathtaking. We will be back again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 12, 2011   Date of arrival: December 20, 2010

A perfect, picturesque, luxurious winter get-away with mountains!
The drive in was easy. We were looking for a winter get-away in the mountains with views of mountain peaks without having to drive through switch-backs (since we weren't driving a truck). From the easy drive on the valley floor into Pray, the river only a stone's throw away from the cabin, listening to the river flow from one of the most relaxing outdoor hot tubs I've ever sat in, to the 360 deg views of mountains, the vacation home was perfect. The owners left very nice touches throughout the cabin. Everything about the experience was great. I loved the mix of people gathering at the local hot springs at night

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful, Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: January 3, 2011   Date of arrival: December 18, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Lookout Cabin for 5 days during the winter months. The pictures of the cabin are beautiful but they don't do the place justice. You need to see the full view around the cabin to really appreciate it. The mountain valley the cabin is in is breathtaking - gorgeous mountain peaks everywhere you look. The hot tub overlooking the river and the mountains is very private and a magical place to sit.

We were worried about the cabin being remote and inaccessible, but its extremely easy to drive to and from the cabin. Close to town, beautiful hikes, Yellowstone National Park, natural hot springs, etc.

The cabin was clean, well maintained and extremely cozy. Lots and lots of room. We couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay. Detailed instructions were left for everything in the house. The owners were fantastic to work with - really kind and accommodating. They made everything comfortable every step of the way.

This was one of the most perfect vacations of my life. Don't hesitate to stay here if you're considering it. Beautiful, beautiful place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 28, 2010   Date of arrival: December 24, 2010

What a wonderful winter/Christmas retreat! We loved the accommodations and had a very wonderful and memorable time. We loved sitting in the hot tub and star gazing each night.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 28, 2010   Date of arrival: December 22, 2010

We had such a wonderful timehere. The setting and the cabin couldn't have been more ideal. We loved it so much that seeds may have been planted to move to Montana someday.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 28, 2010   Date of arrival: September 10, 2010

Fantastic cabin with amazing views! Everything far exceeded our expectations!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great place to stay!!

Review submitted: November 22, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2013

The house was fantastic. After hiking all day, it was such a comfort knowing how comfortable we would be once we got back to the house. All the directions instructions were clear and conscise. We would definitely rent again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 4, 2010   Date of arrival: October 12, 2010

I have many places I want to visit on my life’s wish list. This was one of the places and your cabin was the ‘gold seal’ to my visit. It is perfectly decorated and perfectly stocked and the bed was superb. It was a perfect romantic getaway for my husband and I. We will return and I will recommend your home to all! Keep us the excellent work.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 4, 2010   Date of arrival: October 9, 2010

A great vacation at Lookout Cabin! This is a perfect location for a visit to Yellowstone Park and a perfect place to return to after a day in the wilderness. Thanks for making this beautiful home available to us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 4, 2010   Date of arrival: September 4, 2010

Thank so much for allowing us to share your vacation home. The Paradise Valley is the most beautiful place we have ever seen. You have a beautiful home with wonderful views! Thank you all for making it possible for us to experience one of the most memorable vacations ever.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 4, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2010

Thank you so much for the use of this amazing cabin. We loved it so much. Everything was far higher than our expectations. From Virginia

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 4, 2010   Date of arrival: September 1, 2010

Fantastic cabin with amazing views. Loved it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 4, 2010   Date of arrival: August 11, 2010

Thank for allowing us to stay in your wonderful cabin! We fished and went horseback riding at Bear Paw Outfitters. We will definitely be coming back. Thanks for opening this home to us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 18, 2010   Date of arrival: September 10, 2010

Gorgeous home and setting!
When we walked in the door we knew we had made a wise choice! We found that the home was immaculate from top to bottom. It was very spacious (we really enjoyed the 2 living rooms and the nook area in the loft so our group could spread out) and was a perfect spot for our group to get together for a long weekend. The location on the river offered great access to fishing and floating. We especially enjoyed star gazing while sitting in the hot tub at night! We wish we could have stayed longer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 18, 2010   Date of arrival: September 1, 2010

The Yellowstone Lookout cabin was perfect for my wife and I. The photos don't do it justice. It appears to be brand new and is literally on the banks of the Yellowstone River. It was spotlessly clean and had every necessity we needed. The north entrance to Yellowstone is about 25 miles away. Though there were only 2 of us this trip, the cabin will easily sleep 8.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great place/great views!

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

We truly enjoyed our 2 week stay at Yellowstone Lookout Cabin.The cabin was very well supplied with all the necessities.The attention to detail in every area is excellent.Breakfast on the porch watching the fishing boats coming down the river and the occasional visits of the mule deer was wonderful.We will always have fond memories of our vacation at Lookout Cabin.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

We truly enjoyed our 2 week stay at Yellowstone Lookout Cabin.The cabin was very well supplied with all the necessities.The attention to detail in every area is excellent.Breakfast on the porch watching the fishing boats coming down the river and the occasional visits of the mule deer was wonderful.We will always have fond memories of our vacation at Lookout Cabin.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 13, 2010   Date of arrival: June 9, 2010

Our family stayed in the Yellowstone Lookout Cabin for one week in June and it was a wonderful experience. The cabin had all of the amenities that we needed and the location was great for our daily trips to Yellowstone. We especially enjoyed the riverside hot tub after long days in the park. The view from every side of the cabin was breath taking. We would definitely love to return here in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Serene

Review submitted: June 10, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

Every time I walked outside the mountains looked different. I spent most of my time just looking at the amazing scenery. It was close enough to the attractions, like the small towns around North Yellowstone, and Livingston that we seen all that we wanted, without feeling rushed. We all agreed it was a relaxing and totally enjoyable visit. The Cabin was absolutely spotless! With all the luxury's of home. And I must add that the beds and pillows were the most comfortable I've ever experienced! I do love my sleep!!
Thank you for a memorable stay. We've told all of our friends about our vacation, and your Cabins.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Memories of a Lifetime!

Review submitted: June 10, 2010   Date of arrival: May 6, 2010

Beautiful rustic cabin,Layed out the way you would have built it for your self.Great location,wonderful view of the mountains,and your right on the Yellowstone River,we awoke each morning with sounds of wildlife,ducks geese on the river.Cabin had everything we needed,coffee on the porch in the mornings to watching the stars at nite from the hottub, we had a great vacation there and we plan to stay again next april, great value,great service,and your only 30 mins. to Yellowstone Nat. Park. It was also a great deal!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 23, 2010   Date of arrival: April 9, 2010

We have enjoyed our stay in Paradise Valley so much! We have really enjoyed the cabin and would like to return again soon. The location is perfect with Yellowstone so close and the view from the cabin is incredible!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 23, 2010   Date of arrival: May 16, 2010

Thank you for the amazing place to stay! The cabin is spotless!!! We really enjoyed sight seeing in Yellowstone and found this cabin offered great access to the Park. The beds were sooooooo comfortable and the surroundings very relaxing and peaceful. We hope to come again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 23, 2010   Date of arrival: May 11, 2010

First of all, I would like to thank you for your extreme kindness in arranging our stay. We really enjoyed this spotless/immculate home. We found it offered good access to the many fun things to see and do at Yellowstone Park. I will tell anyone who wants to visit Yellowstone to stay here!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Place

Review submitted: May 23, 2010   Date of arrival: May 11, 2010

First of all, I would like to thank you for your extreme kindness in arranging our stay. We really enjoyed this spotless/immculate home. We found it offered good access to the many fun things to see and do at Yellowstone Park. I will tell anyone who wants to visit Yellowstone to stay here!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We hope to come again!

Review submitted: May 23, 2010   Date of arrival: May 16, 2010

Thank you for the amazing place to stay! The cabin is spotless!!! We really enjoyed sight seeing in Yellowstone and found this cabin offered great access to the Park. The beds were sooooooo comfortable and the surroundings very relaxing and peaceful. We hope to come again soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Views from Cabin are incredible!

Review submitted: May 23, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2013

We have enjoyed our stay in Paradise Valley so much! We have really enjoyed the cabin and would like to return again soon. The location is perfect with Yellowstone so close and the view from the cabin is incredible!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

WOW...we love this place!

Review submitted: April 25, 2010   Date of arrival: April 18, 2010

A big thank you for such a lovely vacation rental. The home was spaacious and very clean and provided us with plenty of comfort! And the hot tub--what a treat. We felt right at home from the time we stepped through the front door to the time we left. This location provided outstandin access to both Yellowstone Park and Livingston/Bozeman. The fishing from the property was great, too!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Loved this place!!

Review submitted: April 25, 2010   Date of arrival: April 18, 2010

Thanks so much for your lovely home , which we enjoyed alot with my family, it was a wonderful trip and great experience, we definitly want to come back another time, could be in the summer, because we want to see some bears lol.

My family is still talking about the the experience, the beautiful view , the sound of the river and peaceful land, we always liked to ride at night because we enjoy the wild animals around hehe.

Thank you so much for everything you have done for both me and my family it was truly a wonderful experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

LOG CABIN IN PARADISE

Review submitted: April 24, 2010   Date of arrival: April 10, 2010

The place here is wonderful, A beautiful view , peaceful, and comfortable enough to accomodate my family. The weather was a little cold during the season when I came ,but it didn't make any difference because the beauty and tranquility of the area made the diference, I am most definetly returning next time. I was supplied an abundance of information from the owner Ronda must admit that she definetly made a huge difference in my enjoyment of the place.
Overall the time spent there was exellent and the service provided by Ronda was great and rest assured that I will be returning another time

Flory and Fam

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: HI..thanks for the kind words about your stay at our new Yellowstone Lookout Log Cabin. We hope you'll be able to visit again soon. We think the mountain and river views are fabulous, too!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review